Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.79

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I love that when new features are released it really adds to the already easy to use system. We always have head great customer service."
  • icon"Their customer service and tech support are excellent."
  • icon"The Matching Algorithm and the flexibility to tailor the weighting of the various criteria is highly effective in guiding the participants to the relationship that would be most suitable."
  • icon"There aren't many downsides to the software. If I had to give it one criticism, I wish it would retain the metrics on users who we ultimately remove to open up seats for new users."
  • icon"We can get some of this data by surveying our mentors/mentees; however, I’m not sure there is anything that can be done about this from the Chronus perspective."
  • icon"Can't think of much I don't like. Some of the admin functionality is a mystery."

Have you used Chronus and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Chronus Reviews

1-25 of 75 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Emily

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Great Innovative Product!

Very supportive knowledgeable team. I was always impressed with their consistency and follow through. The product has made a great impact in the development of our employees.

Pros

easy to use, innovative, fun, and makes the administrative burden of mentoring no longer an issue.

Cons

There was not anything I did not like. The product is easy to use and makes sense for our business.

Reasons for choosing Chronus

Their product was proven, robust, and innovative. They're also the only company that had an app and could handle multiple administrators allowing me to be able to expand mentoring outside of my company to partner with other companies.

Heidi

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Growing Mentorship Programs

Our Chronus representatives have listened to and incorporated much of our feedback throughout implementation and ongoing support conversations. We have been able to support upon historic programs and launch new initiatives, especially those supporting diversity in the workplace, through this platform that might not have had a more difficult time launching if it weren't for the availability of this platform and the support provided by Chronus.

Pros

We were able to dramatically increase the capacity for participation in our mentorship programs through the ease of matching and communications provided by Chronus.

Cons

The program is on the expensive end and it took a while to get buy-in for broader implementation. Getting set-up on the platform can take longer and require a few more coding skills than expected and there are so many functions that sometimes it can be overwhelming to track everything.

Reasons for choosing Chronus

We chose Chronus for the diversity of functions, especially the customizable matching algorithm, communications tools, and program options, data collection and reporting, and integrations with other platforms.

Reasons for switching to Chronus

Our matching process grew unwieldy the more participants joined the program so we needed a solution to make the matching and communication process more efficient.

Stacy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Chronus Tool Useful for Supporting a Learning Culture

Overall, Chronus has been helpful in creating a learning culture for our business. I just wish there was a way to incorporate the application into employees' everyday tool kit so it is used more often (currently it's used once then mostly forgotten). I do realize that mentoring isn't a constant thing employees seek, so it's nice to know we have a tool in place to address their need when it arises.

Pros

My team and I enjoy how customizable the tool is and how helpful Chronus's Customer Success Managers have been in making sure we succeed with the system.

Cons

The software is a bit clunky. As an admin it can be difficult finding the right field/feature as there are several areas to look. Also, the matching algorithm seems a bit off.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Scale Your Mentoring Initiatives

excellent!

Pros

Intelligent matching, connection plan, admin tracking, admin reporting, and ease to "invite" new members

Cons

Would like to see aggregate satisfaction scores on the admin dashboard

Reasons for choosing Chronus

Functionality and UI.

User Profile

Julie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Great product for large physician-based association!

Our online mentorship program has turned into a valuable benefit for our members, especially those early in their careers. We are now taking it to the next level, by highlighting topics each month within the forums and incorporating a live meet and greet event at our annual meeting.

Pros

There were two things we were looking for in an online mentorship program…1) integration with our single sign-on (such that our members can use their member login and password) and 2) automated matching for mentors and mentee. The Chronus system fulfills these requirements very well. It is critical that our mentorship program is a significant benefit of membership and that logging in should be simple and easy. We also have a complex membership consisting of trainees interested in many different areas, as well as members that are generalists and subspecialists, from a variety of practice settings and a variety of interests and experiences. The platform itself is very intuitive and the Chronus staff continues to be responsive to needs for assistance or training. They also present an amazing arsenal of online tools and resources that train our staff and educate our members on the varying capabilities of the system. The reporting functionality is robust and very easy to use. The pre-established reports are incredibly useful. The forums within the platform have helped us develop an online community of our mentorship program participants. This aspect of the program continues to reinforce mentorship activity, idea sharing, and ultimately adds to the member value. We have been utilizing Chronus for our online mentorship program since October of 2014. We continue to be impressed by their receptive updates to the product and how they truly listen to their customers.

Cons

The only con we have with the platform is the inability to track those mentors/mentees that take the relationship outside of the program (e.g. don’t utilize the timeline tasks and/or messaging features). We can get some of this data by surveying our mentors/mentees; however, I’m not sure there is anything that can be done about this from the Chronus perspective. Another limitation we have found is that currently users are not able to switch between mentee and mentor roles on their own; it has to be done by the administrator.

Response from Chronus

Julie, We're glad to be enabling your program as your membership grows and deepens. It's been great working with you to scale the program while meeting the needs of your mentors and mentees. We look forward to meeting your future goals! In regards to the 'switch between mentor and mentee roles' we've got good news. We've turned on a feature to allow you to overcome this challenge. Your CSM will be in touch to show you what that looks like for the end user. The Chronus Team

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Ryann

Verified reviewer

Industry: Judiciary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Chronus consistently exceeded our expectations. They are a valued partner to our mentoring program.

A major reason we chose Chronus over other software vendors is because the technology is nimble enough to grow with our program. Unlike other software vendors we considered, we felt like Chronus was able to provide the technology we needed today as young program and will want down the road as our programs grows. The future growth of our program won't be impaired by the limits of our technology. We can trust that as we evolve to meet the needs of our participants, our technology will easily evolve with us. Chronus has been unbelievably invested in innovating ways to adapt the technology platform to accommodate the unique work flow of our mentoring program. It has been fantastic to move to a technology platform without having to give up the personal, unique touches our program prides itself on providing our users. Our program doesn't fit the mold of most corporate mentoring programs and Chronus has been able to adapt their technology, problem solve, and develop creative ways for our work flow to be successful in a software based paradigm. For a voluntary mentoring program like ours, it is imperative that the user experience be top notch. Our users love the interface because it is intuitive, completely mobile friendly, and actually beneficial to the mentoring relationships. From day one, Chronus has felt like a partner to our program not just a vendor. We have a dedicated team of people who have taken the time to actually understand our program; its goals, its operations, etc and our Chronus team is as invested in our program's success as we are. They ask the right questions, provide valuable suggestions and insights, and genuinely seem to take an interest in making our program better. While our users love the experience they receive through the platform, the administrator experience is also wonderful. Our program landing page is the first thing I open (after my e-mail) when I get to the office every day and it stays open all day. I love the ability to see what is happening in the program and in the mentoring connections in real time. I am able to respond quickly and easily to user questions and I am constantly improving our platform as we come up with new resources, mentoring plans, and matching criteria.

Pros

1. Chronus is nimble enough to grow with our program. Unlike other software vendors we considered, Chronus was able to provide the technology we needed today as young program and will want down the road as our programs grows. We can trust that as we evolve to meet the needs of our participants, our technology will easily evolve with us. 2. Chronus has been unbelievably invested in innovating ways to adapt the technology platform to accommodate the unique work flow of our mentoring program. It has been fantastic to move to a technology platform without having to give up the personal, unique touches our program prides itself on providing our users. Our program doesn't 'fit the mold of most corporate mentoring programs and Chronus has been able to adapt their technology, problem solve, and develop creative ways for our work flow to be successful in a software based paradigm. 3. From day one, Chronus has felt like a partner to our program not just a vendor. We have a dedicated team of people who have taken the time to actually understand our program; its goals, its operations, etc and our Chronus team is as invested in our program's success as we are. They ask the right questions, provide valuable suggestions and insights, and genuinely seem to take an interest in making our program better.

Cons

There aren't many downsides to the software. If I had to give it one criticism, I wish it would retain the metrics on users who we ultimately remove to open up seats for new users. As it is now, when a user is removed from the system, the metrics collected on that user are removed as well.

Response from Chronus

Thank you for the kind words, Ryann! We're excited to help CAMP grow and continue scaling to meet the evolving needs of your mentors and mentees. As far as retaining the data on removed users, you absolutely can while still opening up a license seat. Your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out shortly with instructions on how to do this. -The Chronus Team

Replied April 2018

User Profile

Mark L.

Verified reviewer

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

The eMC team was incredibly collaborative in helping us design content and implement.

Pros

We partnered with eMentorConnect to help create a circle mentoring program to meet the requests of a specific employee group that desired cross-divisional networking as well as specific knowledge and skill development. The eMentorconnect team was incredibly collaborative in helping us match the participants, design the content and implement the platform to ensure high participation. We are thrilled with the results! Engagement is high and speaks to a very thoughtfully designed program as well as platform features that are directly aligned to our goals. I highly recommend eMentorConnect.

Cons

We partnered with eMentorConnect to help create a circle mentoring program to meet the requests of a specific employee group that desired cross-divisional networking as well as specific knowledge and skill development. The eMentorconnect team was incredibly collaborative in helping us match the participants, design the content and implement the platform to ensure high participation. We are thrilled with the results! Engagement is high and speaks to a very thoughtfully designed program as well as platform features that are directly aligned to our goals. I highly recommend eMentorConnect.

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Brilliant mentor program support platform

Pros

The platform is user friendly and the analytics are really powerful. The support received from the Customer Success team is very impressive. Our customer success rep is very responsive, detail oriented and a true expert on the software and capabilities.

Cons

A few challenges with integration to other products but likely more on our end than Chronus.

Response from Chronus

Jessica, thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you find the software to be user friendly. We hope the analytics you're getting is helping you make better decisions around your program. Thank you for your feedback about integrations. We're always looking for ways to streamline work processes so making sure it works with other tools is important to us.

Replied November 2022

Anna

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Intuitive & Easy to use System

Pros

The data insights are really helpful for us to make decisions.

Cons

The mentors are not able to see their matching % with the available mentees.

Justin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Chronus review

Great service overall. The support team really makes the product excel

Pros

The total package of the mentorship software and the great customer support from Chronus.

Cons

As a global administrator, I often feel as if I have to run everything past Chronus to implement even minor changes. I understand this has a lot to do with making sure that the service functions properly across all programs, but being a middleman between local admins can feel frustrating for seemingly quick changes.

Response from Chronus

Justin, thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that our customer support and software are meeting your needs. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is to make your experience as seamless and efficient as possible and your feedback helps us understand the needs of our customers.

Replied November 2022

CJ

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Technology Enabling the Human Element

The people and support structure at Chronus are excellent. The tool and system continues to provide new functionality and features, which is great. We are able to tailor the program and tracks to our particular interests beyond, but related to, mentoring.

Pros

The most substantive value in mentoring (or coaching) can be found in the dynamics of the relationship. As such, the most labor intensive, but critical step, is creating this relationship. The Matching Algorithm and the flexibility to tailor the weighting of the various criteria is highly effective in guiding the participants to the relationship that would be most suitable. The assumption, of course, is that people complete their profiles honestly and not how "they imagine others would want them to answer."

Cons

Organizational elements. We would like the capability for alphabetical sorting in all areas/functions, we would like the system to retain the mentoring ranking preference once submitted (for ease of reference) by the mentee, we would like an archive functionality for surveys of previous time periods, we would like more functionality for attaining data segments from the Executive Dashboard (aka survey and data from a single track rather than all licensed users).

Reasons for choosing Chronus

More focused capability and better price performer.

Response from Chronus

CJ, we're glad to hear the configurability of the matching process is meeting your criteria for successful mentoring. Thank you for highlighting the areas you see for continued optimization, and your CSM is working to elevate these desired adjustments.

Replied January 2021

Tara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

BBBS Chronus Review

Overall, our organization has had a successful partnership with Chronus as a way to help mentors and mentees connect through online activities, video conferencing, and messaging. We value most how easy to use it is.

Pros

That the tool is easy to use and has both a url and app for users. That we have tech support through a very engaged manager. That there are multiple features to help with keeping our matches/users engaged. The virtual conferencing feature has been a huge added bonus during social distancing. Very much enjoy that the messaging feature has the ability to include attachments.

Cons

Would like if the video conferencing feature worked in the App. Recommend that it is more visually appealing/engaging for youth programs.

Reasons for switching to Chronus

We wanted the ability to edit our curriculum and serve more youth.

Response from Chronus

Tara, thanks for your insightful feedback. We appreciate you continuing to be a collaborative partner. We'll make sure to pass this along to our Product team, as well as your Customer Success Manager, to make sure they know how you'd like to see the platform evolve.

Replied December 2020

Philip

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Mentoring for Emerging Leaders and New Hire Managers

We have enjoyed partnering with eMentorConnect to utilize their on-line mentoring program to deliver leadership learnings for our emerging leaders program and for new managers. The eMentorconnect team was instrumental in helping us design and implement the platform to ensure consistent participation of our leaders, while ensuring everyone understood how to get the most of their mentoring tool. Their Client Success Team made themselves readily available to fully train our mentors through hands-on webinars and to educate our mentees on how to get the most out of their platform. The flexibility of their cloud-based platform allowed us to customize the content and look and feel of the landing site so our participants felt confident using the tool to elevate their leadership development. The eMentorConnect team consistently reached out to me regarding updates, utilization, and effectiveness to ensure the needs of my programs were being met. The eMentorConnect team brings a wealth of mentoring and leadership knowledge. This program has been an integral part of our management development for the last several years and is key to pulling through live and virtual leadership development content.

Pros

The program was easy to customize to our needs. It is intuitive for the team to use, and has communication benchmarks in place to notify the mentors and mentees to follow up on conversations.

Cons

It's been a solid program, with great customer support.

Reasons for choosing Chronus

I knew members of the team and felt confident with their customer relationship engagement. The product was so easy to customize to my needs, and was cost effective, that it was an easy choice.

Response from eMentorConnnect

We work hard to keep our tool intuitive - our mentors and mentees are busy and don't have time to learn a new tool every time they participate in a program. Our participants always remark on how easy it is to navigate our tool, and work with their partners. Happy mentoring!

Replied January 2021

Diane

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Chronus helped us scale our mentoring program & connect more students to professional mentors

We have been able to scale using Chronus and match thousands of students to mentors each academic year. The system makes it easy to set-up the mentoring connection plan ahead of time, communicate with participants regularly, survey participants and collect event rsvps. Chronus has been an exceptional partner and we would not have been able to grow our program without them.

Pros

-Ease of use, templates, mentoring connection plan and emails available to use to guide mentoring for participants -Easy to communicate with participants -Has multiple ways for students to request a mentor, admin match and recommend mentors to students -Open to feedback and updating product in timely manner -Customer support is a great resources to offer best practices and keep up on mentoring trends

Cons

Need better admin permission levels Search features could be improved Email system could be improved to more easily track emails/messaging to determine effectiveness

Nikki

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5