AppFolio Property Manager Software Reviews

AppFolio Property Manager Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.55

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I love that they are keeping up on the time. It helps to have it at our fingertips no matter what."
  • icon"The intuitiveness is remarkable and our time savings are significant. Amazing product, service and company."
  • icon"It really helps keep everything in one place, organized and accurate. I love that they are always improving by upgrading or adding new features."
  • icon"We have to pay them back and it can be very frustrating for them as they have to wait days for their funds."
  • icon"NO notifications when an e-mail is unable to send."
  • icon"The accounting side can get confusing at times when there is a problem and we need to trouble shoot to find the solution."

All AppFolio Property Manager Reviews

1-25 of 1,796 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

MariAnne

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Hands down the best software

User Profile

Drew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Amazing Property Manager for Small-to-Medium Companies

The biggest issue my company had was advertising vacancies. We were relying on walk-in tenants, which has not been a good source for 5-10 years. AppFolio is one-click to post to multiple free websites and syncs with Apartments.com if your company goes that route. Ease of use and great training/help files will keep us with them for years to come.

Pros

First and foremost, the value of the product. You get everything you need for cheaper than most of the other products out there. For my company, we transitioned from Buildium to AppFolio and instantly reaped the rewards. AppFolio provided us with an inexpensive company website, a quick and easy tool to post our vacancies to multiple websites, and great assistance during set-up.

Cons

I know some of the more expensive options offer more competitive pricing tools and a little more automation. Also, AppFolio had a few issues (like maintenance personnel not being able to see pictures on work orders using their mobile devices) that took AppFolio a while to start addressing.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

Cost vs. benefits. We are a medium size company (750 multifamily/single-family units) and did not need as many bells and whistles.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Cost was a factor, but mostly not having good advertising with Buildium.

Response from AppFolio

Dear Drew, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy that your transition to AppFolio was a good one and that you are already reaping the benefit!

Replied December 2019

Tammy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

AppFolio PM review

I truly do like the system and once we are fully up and running I hope it will be easier to do reporting and making sure things are correct.

Pros

The software is easy to access from different parts of the system/program. I can easily find residents, owners, and vendors as needed. This allows me to not waste time searching for items that I need.

Cons

The least appealing has been the transition to AppFolio from our current system of Propertyware. Things that were promised would be integrated were not and we have had several issues with payments, late fees, etc. transferring over to the new system when they said it would be effortless. It has not been effortless.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Propertyware was not as user friendly. It was harder to look up information in the system and did not offer all the quality promises that Appfolio does.

Sheri

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

No support help-takes weeks for them to get back to you-BEWARE

BAD, looking at other software programs now, I'm selling company and cant get them to call back with exit plans- no help from them whatsoever.

Pros

Somewhat user friendly- NO SUPPORT HELP-BEWARE

Cons

Customer service never calls back, weeks go by before they ever reach out to you. Poor service

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

Will be transferring to Buildium, at least they call back with support

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Thought appfoilio was better and it was back in 2014, fast forward to 2022 and the support from them is zero.

Sean

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

A must-have for any property management company

AppFolio has been great overall. The product does have a steep learning curve. It took at least 6 months for our whole team to get comfortable using the software, but once they bought into it, it has completely transformed the way we do business.

Pros

Online rent payments, online maintenance requests, customizable reports, robust accounting features, dedicated support team, software is constantly evolving.

Cons

eCheck payments being returned as NSF when they shouldn't be, credit card payments are able to be cancelled months later after we've already given the money to the owner, owners aren't able to sign leases through their portal, steep learning curve.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

I read a lot of reviews for various property management software solutions, and most of them pointed to AppFolio as being the best one. It might not be the cheapest one, but in my opinion it is well-worth the investment.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

We used QuickBooks prior to getting AppFolio. As a property database, QuickBooks was highly limited. The accounting features in QuickBooks are fine, but we were overwhelmed with the amount of rent checks we had to handle every month. And QuickBooks does not help at all with keeping track of work orders. As the size of our staff and the size of our portfolio both started to grow, it soon became evident that we needed a software solution that was specifically designed for property managers, rather than a generalized business software like QuickBooks.

Ryan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Appfolio review

very positive

Pros

upgrade from Propertyware. Easy to use interface, easy to access pages, just a more updated and comprehensive software.

Cons

couple of features can be updated. Ability to send pictures via text, ability to provide owner real time reporting.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

propertyware was outdated and slow to make changes.

Brian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Way Better Than QuickBooks!

Appfolio has been great for me.

Pros

I went from QuickBooks and separate services for screening and renters insurance programs, to Appfolio which offers everything in one.

Cons

I didn't like that the accounting is handled by property rather than by company, but I got used to it.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Ease of Use and convenience

David

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Appfolio - Highly Recommend

Great for running the buildings. We are presently trying to transition our management company into Appfolio from QBs. If we can will save significant time as we will not need double entry

Pros

Appfolio is very easy to use compared to other property management softwares, and is easy for tenants to use the product

Cons

Some of the accounting features are very basic but they seem to always be coming up with new things which is great.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Appfolio is much more user friendly

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

AppFolio meets the needs for property management - it helps us stay on top of tasks.

We do have a good handle on tracking billable hours for our maintenance staff. Out leasing group is able to keep up with vacancies and upcoming potential vacancies to help renew leases.

Pros

It is generally easy to use. Teaching new techs is pretty simple as it is intuitive.

Cons

When trying to use the software for a specific use that may not line up with the general use, it is difficult to get answers for how to modify how we use it or how to specify the trouble with tech support.

Sara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Great option for smaller companies

Pros

Easy to use and navigate. Continuous product improvement and focus on customer wants and needs makes this a great tool to grow into.

Cons

While there are some customizable features, there isn't an option to design your own reporting. Some industry standard leasing and financial performance metrics aren't tracked in the system and it's difficult to pull together some of this data without a lot of manual work.

CHARLIE

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

April 2020

CANNOT PROVIDE DETAIL REPORTING

They dont seem to have a handle on their data. Their accounting is extremely cumbersome. They lump transactions together. They sometimes put credits as negative income. So you have to look in 2 places . Their reconciliation process is difficult.

Pros

EASE OF USE.

Cons

APPFOLIO IS UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO PROVIDE DETAIL REPORTS. We received a 1099-k IRS report and Appfolio could not provide us with the detail of what made up the report. The reporting they gave us was OFF by almost 5%. We asked for detail. This is their response: I promise if we had such a granular report that you are requesting, I would gladly send it over. We simply do not have such a report. Keep in mind we have been adhering to these IRS 1099-K guidelines for years with tens of thousands of clients operating in every state of the country. Not once has this been presented to us as a blocker by any CPA in their ability to execute a tax return or cited as a compliance issue. We can isolate credit card transactions as well as chargebacks for you but the final figure is not going to tie back to the exact dollar of the 1099-K for the previously mentioned reasons in the letter you received. This is not a minor discrepancy. Over $13,000. Which CLIENT do I credit that income.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

Ease of use. Did not realize their accounting would be so cumbersome.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

Cloud based

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

With this tool, you can even decide to start a career in the real estate from zero.

Pros

This tool It’s very simple and easy to understand and allows great control over the properties.Is not just a management tool but even allows residents to take advantage of it, which positively impacts your market audience and delivers a better customer experience.

Cons

Maybe can add a community feature, and if I can suggest something, I would suggest replicating this tool on agricultural land management

Traci

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

November 2022

Appfolio

I do enjoy it, the customer services has been amazing to work with. We are still getting used to the program, and how to best use it.

Pros

I like the ease of use, and the easy access for tenants. I love the dashboard, and unit turn. It would be nice to see some tweeks on the dashboard to make it more personable. Texting feature is by far our favorite.

Cons

The way deposits are processed. We run ours in/out of that account. I don't like that it meshes into the owners account and makes their reports really sloppy and full of info they don't want to be bothered with. I wish the owners reports were easier, P & L version is the ones my owners like, but they are really difficult in appfolio, becuase they are 1-31st of the month only.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

I liked the online signature option, and the texting

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

We had the really old version of yardi and did alot of our stuff with paper trails. It was time to update and get on cloud

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Using AppFolio for property management

I have been very pleased with AppFolio. For several years we have used it as its minimum abilities but more recently discovered it has many other features that make managing properties easier and more efficient. The online training articles are very helpful and most of the time answer all of our questions.

Pros

The software was easy to use. I started using it without any training but because I was familiar with several pother software programs was able to navigate through pretty easily. It's intuitive and user friendly. The self help articles are also very handy and most of the time answer my questions.

Cons

There is a minimum number of units we had to maintain in oder to begin using AppFolio. And a minimum monthly amount to spend. For serval years we had to pay for more than we needed to meet this minimum amount monthly. Because we bill our properties back per unit, our company had to incur the additional expense until we were large enough.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

The pricing was better. Also, RealPage does not allow you to directly send ACH payments to owners. You have to download an ACH file and send it to your bank. This requires additional work for us.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

AppFolio offered more reporting and features and property owners we were pursuing as clients were already familiar with AppFolio.

Vivianq

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

If you are in Property Management AppFolio is the best choice!

We all love using AppFolio!

Pros

The program is super user friendly and quality life changes are being made regularly to make the software better. Between adding features and their support system makes workflow with AppFolio easier than ever. They take suggestions made from customers/users and do their best to implement them. Training new employees to use AppFolio has gone from taking months to get someone able to use to just a few weeks.

Cons

They do make changes behind the scenes that sometimes effects the way you have something set up and you don't know it until it gets brought to someones attention.

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

AppFolio had the best price at the time for the features they provided.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

The program was not user friendly at all.

Paola

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2022

Appfolio Property Management Review

Overall, we were expecting to achieve more efficient reporting results that would help us present better information and financials to our Board members. This backfired on us. However, end users (owners and tenants) seem to be happy with their online portal experience. They have sent us good reviews on the way we've made it simpler for them to pay their dues/rents which has resulted in lower ageing receivables.

Pros

I value that unlike many other Property Management programs, Appfolio does not integrate with many 3rd party platforms. 3rd party platforms can adversely affect the overall user experience of your clients; furthermore, the service Company with whom you signed the contract, can't control the quality of service of the 3rd party. So basically, your software company might be selling you a service that they have little control over. Invoice payment is great. It has saved us a lot of time from our previous program. I also really like the communications function.

Cons

Customer Service. Once you are enrolled, you are on your own. Although Appfolio claims that have great online training videos, we all know these are too generic, and real life situations are not generic. It is also impossible to get reliable over the phone support. It takes a support agent about 2 days to get back with you (if they ever do) Once you have them on the phone, they are not sufficiently trained to answer many questions regarding anything from reporting to accounting to program usage. This is a BIG con. We also don't like the fact that we are unable to receive over the phone payments

Reasons for choosing AppFolio Property Manager

They promised great customer service and reporting (lol)

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Property Manager

3rd party platforms ruined it for us. Their collections provider in charge of receiving payments and depositing them into owners accounts were commingling owner's funds making us look highly unprofessional. Although Rent Manager is a great program with fantastic customer service and reporting, they were unable to do anything about their 3rd party performance.

Valerie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY