User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(34)

34

4 stars

(57)

57

3 stars

(11)

11

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "I love the fact that I can easily extract data. I also like that I can setup account restrictions and distributions to make sure data is correct and accurate, not to mention it saves time!"

  • "Easy to use Wide range of training available Excellent customer support"

  • "Being able to add attachments easily, record journal entries easily, and add vendors easily are great. The report looks a lot cleaner, and having click-through capabilities on the reports is huge. "

  • Cons

  • "Very expensive. Annual cost has gotten to the point where it almost matches what it would cost us to implement another software suite entirely."

  • "The only big drawback with Financial Edge has been cost. The initial install and annual maintenance are a hefty price for a nonprofit struggling to serve its constituents."

  • "It has a steep learning curve; however, once you understand the basics of what it can do. You'll absorb a lot."

Browse Financial Edge by Blackbaud Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 106 results

March 2018

Cain from Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Financial Edge - Hands Down the Best Nonprofit Accounting Package

Listen, price is always a concern, but so is the time you'll spend manipulating reports in Excel when you work with lesser software packages. I guarantee you, pit me on Financial Edge against an accountant on any other software, and I can get the job done at least twice as fast, and if it's QuickBooks, five times as fast, and without ever having to go into Excel to do anything.

Pros

I've worked with Blackbaud's Financial Edge for over 2 decades now (even back when it was called Accounting for Nonprofits), and it's the best for nonprofit accounting. Its chart of accounts can be changed at any point to accommodate as many segments as you need (I have worked with as many as 4 segments), and reporting of any kind is easily accomplished with the variety of accessible reports and queries. A lot of journal entries that you'd need to create in other software packages are easily handled through invoice entry in accounts payable, at the time of invoice entry, through miscellaneous distributions. Customer service is excellent as well.

Cons

The annual support for customer service is a bit pricey, and designed to keep you on the hook forever (if you don't pay for a year, because you don't think you will need support - and after the first year or two you may not - as soon as you need support, you've got to pay a large percentage of all the years you missed). Not a con, but Blackbaud's products get a bad rep from bookkeepers who are more used to the silliness of QuickBooks than the accountant's dream that Financial Edge really is.

October 2016

Robert from UOF

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Blackbaud Financial Edge (BBFE)

BBFE has both strengths and weaknesses, as might be expected. It is a true fund accounting software with the ability to handle thousands of funds. Being able to push data in and exporting data out are 2 features that are usually very important, and BBFE mostly does that well. BBFE allows for attaching various homegrown codes to the data at the fund, account, and transaction level. This is not a panacea but can be helpful. The software can be used in a fairly high volume a/p environment and the g/l functionality is also pretty good.

Pros

Exporting data is easy, so long as the export you are looking for is available. Importing fund codes is do-able but may require some significant preparation of the upload. BBFE allows for a seemingly unlimited amount of codes to be attached to funds, accounts, and transaction lines. This is very helpful. BBFE has some built in custom reporting facilities that can be helpful. BBFE has a detailed security model that can help with internal controls.

Cons

Reports: many of the builtin reports do not contain running totals and grand totals as well as header information page-to-page as one would like. Exports: the data exports are not true sql type, but are a simplified version, which is sometimes adequate. You might need another sql facility to adequately access the data and control the data joins. BBFE imposes credit memos and disallows negative invoices--depending on what you are doing, that could be a big problem that will need to be addressed. BBFE automatically computes and shows balance forwards and each year does not stand on its own, so for some data analysis you might have to compute balance forwards in order to avoid having to download all historical data. BBFE doesn't enforce cash balancing for JEs (if 2 funds are exchanging cash, the JE can give more cash to the recipient than was removed from the payer). BBFE doesn't seem to understand control funds (a fund that holds detail information that belongs to a pool of other funds)--this will require booking JEs that would be unnecessary in some other fund accounting software. BBFE enforces using an outside service for production of 1099s.

February 2020

Tina from Country School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great Product That's Getting Better

Pros

Easy to use Wide range of training available Excellent customer support

Cons

Expensive Exporting reports and spreadsheets is cumbersome

March 2017

Brian from Birch Family Services

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2017

Financial Edge NXT Not Ready for Primetime

After seeing the NXT demo, it was clear that moving to the new platform would provide our business with all the functionality we were missing in our on premise thick client version. THIS WAS A BIG MISTAKE! Although during the demo it was clearly stated that some of the modules would not be moved from the old version to the new, it was not stated that features in the NXT migrated modules would not be available... so if you are working in say AP and rolling along with your work, you might hit a feature set that does not exist in NXT and requires you to switch to the Citrix version think client. It turns out that only a small percentage of the system has been migrated to NXT. This plan to migrate the modules and functions within the modules in realtime is a massive failure. The performance hit moving to the cloud was intollerable. GL uploads take twice as long even after assessing bandwidth and attempting to do the uploads on the local Blackbaud servers in the cloud. Its as if they did not build the environment robust enough to support the client base. There were features that simply did not work. Printing is problematic and the WebPortal for purchases and requisitions simply does not work. It fails with a web browser error. They said they fixed it as they had identified a node that was not turned up (you would have though they would have a monitoring tool to know this was the case) but this did not solve the problem in the end. Screen lockups, and crashes began to occur and yet there was no one who could effectively analyze the issues and solve the problems. We now have to roll our database back to our on premise version and search for a new solution. We will not be using Blackbaud. Their support is horrendous; forget telephone support your could be on hold for an hour or more; we were able to get on chats but that took some time as well. It was not until we started yelling and escalating that we finally got some response because the number of open incidents was ridiculous. I'm sure their bread and butter CRM and Grand management apps are probably fine but hosted Financial Edge/NXT definitely not worth the money.

Pros

None...

Cons

Product just does not work.

July 2016

Cain from Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

The best nonprofit accounting software, period.

Pros

FE is quite flexible, especially its chart of accounts and the number of segments you can report on. Setup is easy, and unlike other packages, you're not glued to what you set up originally. If down the road you find you need to add a segment to your chart of accounts for reporting purposes, you can do that on the fly. And you don't need to be concerned at set-up with adding future account segments. But make no mistake: you've got to have a basic understanding of accounting in order to appreciate this product for all it can do. Customer support, through annual maintenance contracts, is excellent.

Cons

I too would like to be able to export financial reports into Excel without having to re-format when I get to Excel. That's a mild inconvenience, but there are times when you want to put stuff, data onto financial reports that can't get there any other way than through manipulation in Excel.

September 2016

Emily from Beacon Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Great product for Non Profits

Pros

The versatility of the product was great. You are able to track data on several levels using account numbers, and several transaction codes that you are able to define yourself. Despite all of that information that was housed individually, the software also would allow you to consolidate information across multiple entities. Report writing was fairly simple as were day to day processes of entering journal entries, AP invoices and AR invoices. A nice feature of the reporting was that you were able to create one report and filter it by the transaction codes before running the report. This meant you did not have to have 100s of reports for different scenarios. Instead you could create one report and filter it each time by the transaction codes or entities you were interested in viewing. We also integrated the software with PaperSave which allowed us to go paperless.

Cons

The support was not always the best. If you had an issue, sometimes the support had a difficult time understanding your issue and resolving it in a timely manner.

July 2018

Daniel from Memphis Union Mission

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Full featured software but not cheap

Pros

Great functionality, and able to handle everything our local non-profit organization needs it to do, including integration with the donor management side, Blackbaud Raisers Edge. An example of the good integration is that gifts recorded in Raisers Edge then can be posted over to Financial Edge, to avoid duplicate entry. Good audit trail for all transactions, with inability to change posted items.

Cons

The desktop version is being phased out with customer support and account reps strongly encouraging a move to the web based version, which is in fact more user friendly (per the demos I've seen) but is also more expensive, and it already was not cheap.

November 2017

Claire from Prelude Behavioral Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

A top accounting software for non-profit

Blackbaud really values users' opinions. It connects all non-profit users together. It also emails me helpful tips every week.

Pros

Very good customer service. Comprehensive training program. I took all courses and mastered the software within 3 months. Those courses gave me an in-depth view of the software and simplify my work process. Financial Edge has easy-to-use features that meet our organization needs. I like the query function, VCO and various reports. VCO allows me to build reports in certain format, and query allows me to extract data quickly. The query function helps me survived this year's auditing. When an account was off, I used query and easily found the problems to fix it.

Cons

It logged me out and ran very slow sometimes. I'd like it to be able to communicate with excel easily.

September 2019

Nancy from Operation Smile

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

BB Financial Edge - a Perfect Solution for non profit accounting

So many ways in which FE is the best solution out there. I love how it integrates and makes each task seamless.

Pros

Ease of use. Ease of implementation. Ease of customer support.

Cons

AS our company has grown, we have become accustomed to finding work arounds to use because of the integration with Raisers Edge. Attributes in Raisers Edge helped us so many times.

July 2019

Monica from Midlands Technical College Foundation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Financial Edge is a Great Product

I haven't used Financial Edge often but enough to run a few reports and post over daily batches.

Pros

Financial Edge is the best product especially if you are working with Raiser's Edge. It's the perfect companion to Accounting.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve; however, once you understand the basics of what it can do. You'll absorb a lot.

June 2018

Sharon from Historical Society of Central Florida Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Maximizing Time and Effort - Minimizing Paper

If you are having issues, contact support staff. Work with them. If you need to refine your initial setup do so earlier than later, you will appreciate it the long run.

Pros

The integration between Altru (our sub-ledger), BB Merchant Services and FE/NXT is superb in my opinion. You have the ability to track a transaction backwards and forwards. We use the visual chart feature to create our budget in five different views - relating to the grants we are using, thereby eliminating errors in data collection by excel spreadsheet creations not getting updated. Someone mentioned that thinking about the creation of your organization and GL was a big con for them. I disagree. We came on board with expert advice from BB and created a cohesive database that allows us to close the month within two-three days. I think the effort that is put into creating a tool should be as important as the information that you hope to receive from its use.

Cons

A few spotty delays when I an running an exceptionally detailed report as you watch the Jeopardy button go around in circles.

September 2017

Mark from Landmark Christian School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

FENXT is Getting There

Pros

It's web-based format is simple to use and navigate. The product is quick and responsive and their GUI does a good job at delivering content in an easy to see/read format. The chat and email support is very helpful and their response time to initial inquiries is one of the best in the business.

Cons

FENXT is a step up from the Education Edge product but it is still in its infancy. Blackbaud's development model is sound, but they need to continue to develop their current products in lieu of adding additional features. The data support team can get bogged down, causing delays of days before data can be corrected.

April 2013

John from Evangel University

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2013

Blackbaud's FinancialEdge is fantastic. We here at Evangel University has been using FE since 1997 and have no problems to speak of. It is very easy to use; very easy to customize your account number structure; very stable. You can create any report you want, from very detailed to summary information. All this is capable through the Chart Organizer. It has the capabilities to create PivotTables, charts, and update with just a click of a button. It has a dashboard which allows you to put reports, queries, or charts on one page and all the user has to do is hit a button to update - which saves me a lot of time when individuals call me to send them updated information. We purchased the option to have View-Only Access. I have setup our department heads and admin assistants with the option where they can view their GL accounts and create reports and queries on what they want, when they want. The best feature is that they can view the activity in their GL account anytime with current information. If you have to send out reports, which I still have to do for some, it's all done with the Accounting Que module. This feature is the best thing about the Financial Edge. I start the que and it runs by itself in the background, and I can go about my day. No more spending hours generating and distributing reports. It will run just about any report or process, including posting to Accounts Payable. You can set up your que to run anytime you want. Support is excellent. With the few problems I have had, they always were on top of it and never went more than a day or two with out hearing from them or receiving a solution. They have the capability to log into your machine and fix, or show, where the problem is. Top notch people that are easy to understand; they speak in common terms not that techy stuff. I recommend Blackbauds Financial Edge to anyone looking for an excellent and stable accounting software.

May 2015

Candace from The Bernard Zell Anshe Emet Day School

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

May 2015

Financial Edge, Student Billing and Raiser's Edge - Powerful Tools!

Pros

I have used Financial Edge for over 10 years in both "traditional" non-profit settings, as well as a school. In all of these organizations, we also had Raiser's Edge - which was integrated with Financial Edge. Through the canned reports, as well as building custom reports, I have been able to accurately report on my organization's finances. The Student Billing module allows a school to record all payment activity for a student and tie that directly to the GL.

Cons

I have encountered many organizations that purchased Blackbaud Software without being properly trained. As a result, they become frustrated with the product which leads to negative comments. The sales reps should not be allowed to sell the software without a training package included.

January 2018

Angie from Greater Joliet YMCA

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2018

FE- no thanks!

We were pushed into FE after our original program, Fundware, was "sunsetting". In hindsight, we should've researched other programs before settling with this one.

Pros

I guess if not being "too complex" is a pro, that would be it for Financial Edge. It is a simple product and doesn't have too many bells and whistles so its pretty easy to pick up on.

Cons

Hmm where to being.... I will preface this by saying that our implementation of FE was a nightmare. They had people leaving the company left and right and in our 3 month implementation and data conversion, we were passed along to 3 different Project managers. Because of this we were playing a constant game of catch up and I don't think we were ever really given a good training of how to use the product. Also, employee support is HORRIBLE with this product. Blackbaud parcels out their support to 3rd party companies and we were working with Zobrio. They were of no help to us. The prduct doesnt intergrate with our other platforms well, so importing info in to our GL is a process that could be made much easier. We also used them for payroll for a while which was an absolute nightmare. Our W-2's were wrong due to wrong info being imported during our data conversion. We also spent many late nights working on payroll issues in the program and again, had no response when calling Zobrio or Blackbaud. ( Blackbaud did get back to us once and worked well with us, but it was quite an undertaking to even get to a person at Blackbaud. The accounting side of the software is probably the best, but overall, I am sure there are much better accounting programs out there.

March 2018

Ashley from Kairos Northwest

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great Work in Progress

Pros

Easy to use. Very straight forward. Customization, you can access it wherever and whenever you need. Very user friendly, if you have questions or not sure where to look for something support is always there to help but there is also classes available and a lot of 'how to' documents. With the ability to duplicate an invoice it makes it easy to enter in multiple invoices for the same vendor if very minimal changes are needed. As a company with a lot of credit card activity the credit card feed that is currently in testing is great! It used to take 3 days to enter in all of our credit card receipts now it only takes half of a day since all I have to do is code the receipt that get's pulled in directly from the credit card company.

Cons

There is no module for accounts receivable or payroll so both of those individuals do not use it. And there is no FAST way of entering a bulk amount of invoices at one time so the database view is more beneficial for accounts payable.

September 2016

Lawrence from Van Andel Institute

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

An holistic way to view your financials.

Pros

Financial Edge offers a holistic way to view your organizations financials from payroll to charitable contributions and accounts payable to fixed assets. Because the product can integrate with Raiser's Edge it's a great way to improve efficiency and communication between your finance and development departments while eliminating duplicate work in terms of data entry. It's a robust system that can replace less flexible systems such as Quick Books.

Cons

Initial set-up and integration with Raiser's Edge can take a very long time. Before you're up and running smoothly, it's estimated that you'll need to invest 6 months to a years worth of work. While comprehensive, Financial Edge is inflexible in terms of account coding. You have to know your financial structure before beginning to set up. This isn't a learn as you go type of software.

May 2018

Jennifer from City of Clayton

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Powerful

I would like to see NXT have all the functionalities that the database view has. I cannot do everything I need to do in just NXT, so we have to use the database view daily.

Pros

I like most of the reporting. I also like the functionality in the database view. I really like the last invoice input view in NXT to help me keep my obligation description consistent.

Cons

NXT does not do everything I need it to and there are a lot of mouse clicks to finish a transaction, although I am seeing improvements as time goes on.

May 2017

Lisa from Two Ten Footwear Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

FENXT - Changing with the times

Keep listening to your customer base. This is a great product and it's getting better all the time.

Pros

FENXT is a very robust product. This web-based product is being enhanced constantly. The folks at Blackbaud have been very responsive to customer feedback and if there is a functionality that isn't there, they do their best to make sure that if it's possible, it is implemented. Very happy with how the product has evolved.

Cons

My suggestion at this time would be to wait until features are closer to being released before announcing them. Very frustrating when you know that something you need is going to be added but then it take six months for it to be ready.

May 2017

Jennifer from Senior Resource Association

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Cloud based software with your needs as their top priority

Blackbaud is very customer focused. It is important to Blackbaud that the client voices are heard. Every year they hold a conference that not only addresses the software but also gives us tools that we need as non-profits.

Pros

I love the fact that I can easily extract data. I also like that I can setup account restrictions and distributions to make sure data is correct and accurate, not to mention it saves time!

Cons

Currently, accounts receivable and payroll are not in the cloud. I look forward to when all the modules are in NXT.

April 2018

Katina from The Lexington School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Education Edge - Blackbaud

Pros

The ability to create new customers, make deposits, and create statements is extremely easy with this software. Of course, the success of any program is dependent on the proper training

Cons

It is sometimes a little difficult to look up a payment when searching by certain criteria. Running a query on a specific set of customers can be difficult if you don't use certain filters. Despite some of the cons, I am satisfied with this product.

November 2015

Jeff from Tennyson Center for Children

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2015

The Cadillac of Nonprofit Software

Pros

Financial Edge is both user friendly and robust. It has significant available features to tailor your needs for reporting, querying, lookups, and of course importing and changing journal entries. The additional modules such as AR and AP are a must and integrate seamlessly for GL posting. Raiser's Edge, Blackbaud's sister product, posts directly into FE and contains significant available data for our development team. The two systems are fully linked, so that if there is a RE batch posted in FE, I can click on it in FE and bring up the record in RE.

Cons

The only big drawback with Financial Edge has been cost. The initial install and annual maintenance are a hefty price for a nonprofit struggling to serve its constituents.

February 2018

Nate from TMACOG

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Good Software but Pricey

Financial Edge does everything we need in office except for a few minor things. However, because the annual cost has gotten so high, it does not feel like we get much value for what we are paying anymore.

Pros

Software is powerful and fairly easy to use. Support is generally quick and helpful. Can do everything from payroll, to AR to AP.

Cons

Very expensive. Annual cost has gotten to the point where it almost matches what it would cost us to implement another software suite entirely.

March 2018

Heidi from GPS Education Partners, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Database Administrator

Pros

The FE NXT webview is a great improvement over the database view and I am looking forward to the continued delivery of new features as they role them out.

Cons

Cost. The software does allow for more complex reporting than some others I have used but the cost continues to rise and due to the development and we continue to review the ROI year over year.

March 2017

Angelo from International American University

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Raiser Edge Platform

Raiser's Edge is a very useful tool for any Non-Profit Business owner who wants to keep track of their donation and any important contact in the database.

Pros

I like how easily it can track donors donation and give us a complete data of the earnings for the month

Cons

It would be nice if we can scan a business card and easily enable to automatically populate the person information in the system

April 2013

Nora from The ALS Association Greater Philadelphia Chapter

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2013

I work for The ALS Association Greater Philadelphia Chapter. We provide support and services to persons with ALS and their families. We also support research to joining in the fight to defeat ALS. We've been using Financial Edge for over 10 years. We also use The Raiser's Edge and other Blackbaud products. We moved from an old DOS based accounting system so we could use a real chart of accounts and produce great financial statements. We researched many options, but decided that FE would meet our needs best. I think we are somewhat unusual in that we moved to FE before we chose RE. We keep up the patches to stay on the latest version of FE and RE. The two systems are integrated and provide a great way to assure that we get our revenue from RE into FE. We have a wonderful audit trail and good processes. The implementation went very well. In fact, we were so impressed with FE it helped make our decision on using other Blackbaud products. Blackbaud's excellent support and customer service convinced was one of the convincing factors. Other benefits come from ease of use and the link between applications. In the last few years, we moved to accrual accounting and really started to use FE fully. We even purchased F9 to allow our new Controller the ability to write custom reports for our Board that update every time FE is changed. We're very happy with FE and all of our Blackbaud products - we now use BBNC, Sphere FAF, ResearchPoint and many of the data enrichment offerings. We also benefit from using partner applications such as Papersave and Import-O-Matic. It's a total solution for us.

March 2018

Crystal from Marist School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

We Love Blackbaud's Products

Pros

Blackbaud has created a real community. You can talk with people in your industry, from others, and anyone who works for Blackbaud. Support is great and their followup is refreshing.

Cons

I wish they were based here in Atlanta. BB HQ is awesome and I wish they were closer, but it gives me a destination when I am looking to go to SC.

May 2017

Karyn from Shepherds Ministries

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Blackbaud Financial Edge is easy to use.

Pros

Financial Edge is user friendly, and offers a variety of customizable reporting formats. Built in links from sub-ledger to general ledger allow for drilling to move along quickly.

Cons

We recently upgraded to a hosted database from housing on our own server. There have been some issues with processing delay and getting kicked out.

October 2018

Joyce from City of Raytown

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Previous User of this product

Pros

This product works great for fund accounting. Also like the features available for tracking or researching GL items.

Cons

The only problem we had was with uploads from other software programs to Financial Edge. We used this product for several years and it served us very well.

June 2018

Margaret from Family centered services of alaska

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Good training program

Pros

Really enjoying the training available for leArning financial edge. Accounting software is easy to use.

Cons

Customer service tickets could improve. I placed a ticket and they could not help me. But I met someone at the conference and he is going to push the issue forward.

June 2018

Latonya from NextEnergy Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Streamlined Accounting

I am positive this tool will be the excellent complete package once the transition in completed!

Pros

-Ease of Navigation -Intuitive -Multi-level Filtering on Displays/Dashboards -Detailed Filtering in reporting -Ease of Report Export -Inclusion and detail of Accounts Payable Subsidiary Ledger (Module)

Cons

-Slower transition from Database version, forcing the switch between the two versions to complete all tasks.

May 2015

Geoffrey from Southwest Chicago Christian Schools

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2015

Business Office Specialist

Pros

We have been very pleased with our selection of Blackbaud products for all aspects of our business over the past 20 years. Financial Edge is a fully-integrated solution that is flexible enough for all the variations that come up in our particular office. Blackbaud has phenomenal customer support. I like their specific focus on non-profits.

Cons

Because Financial Edge is so flexible, there are many ways to accomplish similar tasks which sometimes makes the initial setup and early use of the system a challenge for newer users.

May 2017

Gregory from Fellowship Bible Church of NWA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

A step in the right direction

FE NXT has greatly improved the efficiency and productivity of our finance department. We no longer have to generate reports for each individual department manager at the end of each month now that they have access to them 24/7.

Pros

- Access anywhere from any device - Drill down capabilities - Easy report creation - Sleek desktop design

Cons

- Needs more concise mobile interface - Can take some time to load information - Inability to schedule report runs

October 2017

Stephanie from Bloomsburg University Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

FE and all

Pros

Easy to use and similar style across all Blackbaud products. Many different features and functionality of the product line.

Cons

Reporting can use some upgrades. We are needing to build crystal reports for some of the items we need to report on

January 2017

Charlene from Agricultural Research Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Financial Edge

We are in the process of switching over to Financial Edge. This has been a quite a setup. The features that this offers for reporting are just insane! You may still need to customize a few reports but if you play with the system long enough you can manipulate what is there to work for you. The support team is amazing! They are right there to answer calls and if you are lucky enough to get a good one they might just share an email address with you.

Pros

Customer support Upload your data input or do data entry, you can do either. Reports are easy to use and read. Cloud-based = work from anywhere

Cons

We had some issues but with the help of customer support we are working thru them and putting them behind us. Set up is a little pricey but in the end, it will be worth it.

June 2018

Ashley from New York Philharmonic

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Very intuitive

Pros

The Visual chart organizer makes it easy to shuffle our numbers into different formats depending on the purpose and the audience.

Cons

I dont like having to click multiple tabs to see all related information abt something (budget and actuals for an account, or vendor info and payment activity) but looking forward to NXT which will solve this.

October 2018

Ailyn Mae from Aprisa Business Process Solution Inc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

great app! very useful.

Pros

What I really like about this product is that you dont need to process your financial transaction in manual, it has a tools that automatically provide processes you just need to input details.

Cons

I dont see any problem in this product it is very useful especially in financial fields and it is worth the price.

May 2017

June from Saint Andrews School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Accounting Support

The exporting from the cloud requires multiple steps.

Pros

The dashboard and real time updates enable us to get an accurate update on accounts. We can get an immediate picture of budgets etc.

Cons

Exporting excel spreadsheets and crystal reports is an issue. Files must first be saved to a cloud folder and then opened and processed on your hard drive.

January 2018

Laura from GrantLinkX

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Blackbaud Works Efficiently

Overall Blackbaud stores all your information and makes your accounting transparent and easy to input.

Pros

Blackbaud is a very clear and straightforward software which helps track all donations, and donors and dates and amounts in which the last donations where made. It can also pull reports depending on different queries which can be great for board meetings and financial reveiws.

Cons

Blackbaud Financial Edge's only downfall is the complication on which to easily pull a querie. For new users or users that don't use the software on a regular basis to pull reports it can be tricky to pull new queries and can occassionally even delete or change previous queries.

October 2016

Mark from YWCA of Minneapolis

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Very good software for nonprofits of all sizes

I have used Financial Edge 7 for Nonprofits after having used QuickBooks Online, Abila (fka Sage), and Microsoft GP Dynamics for nonprofit financials. I find Financial Edge to be the best of the four softwares that I have used. It is the most intuitive of the four that I have used. The biggest help to me is Blackbaud's outstanding support system. In addition to a great FAQ section on their website and many paid training sessions, Blackbaud offers a free chat service with knowledgeable tech representatives able to assist in most questions.

Pros

Intuitive mapping of how to complete processes, dynamic reporting and general ledger options, excellent support.

Cons

No ability to "drill down" into reports (something that is fixed in Financial Edge NXT), some slower processes in general.

April 2018

Saima from LAMPLIGHTER SCHOOL

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

FINANCIAL EDGE NXT

Financial Edge NXT is well suited for educational institutions.

Pros

We are a private school and use Financial Edge NXT for our daily accounting/finance operations. Very self explanatory and easy to use. A variety of reportings available. Easy to add new vendors in the system. Adding a new invoice is fairly simple.

Cons

Hope they quickly change to the web view faster, so we don't have to switch between web and database view.

May 2017

Randall from PHA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Excellent upgrade of legacy financial system

Pros

Being able to add attachments easily, record journal entries easily, and add vendors easily are great. The report looks a lot cleaner, and having click-through capabilities on the reports is huge.

Cons

There are still features that have not been migrated, including some we use regularly. I'm hoping all AP and budget features are migrated soon so we don't have to keep toggling between the interfaces.

May 2015

Christine from Keith Country Day School

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2015

I have been working with The Financial Edge program for 15 years.

Pros

The program does so much that makes me more efficient at my job as MS/US Administrative Assistant at an Independent school. Whenever I am stuck and can't figure out something, the people at Blackbaud are quick to lead me to an answer and they are ALWAYS personable & friendly.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like. There are facets that I still need to learn or to master, however.

April 2013

Melissa from Forterra NW

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2013

Financial Edge is a program that is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It provides great functionality by allowing reports to be created ad hoc using the visual chart organizer, which is helpful for producing reports specific to audit or tax prep. Also, the ability to run queries which can be exported into excel format makes reconciliations simpler. It would be nice if functionality across modules were similar. For example, adjustments to AP and AR are clear and easy to do but it is more difficult for adjustments to cash management. Requests to the support center are returned quickly and with positive results. The combination of Raiser's Edge and Financial Edge creates a seamless process between constituent (donor) management, including contributions and the subsequent recording in the financial software. This is very helpful as you can search directly from FE and it will open a donor record in RE. Blackbaud also hosts an annual convention which allows users to meet with other organizations to discuss solutions to common problems and they also hold many short seminars during the convention which were extremely valuable. All in all, it is much improved over QuickBooks, which we used prior to FE.

October 2017

Lakeisha from GHS

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Game Changer

Blackbaud products are so innovative

Pros

FENXT is next level. I love the professional design and the fact that nearly every accounting feature that you could possibly ask for is available in the software or as an add-on. It makes reporting and compliance a breeze

Cons

I would like more report customization, but I know this is coming in the pipeline. This is the only con...

February 2017

Emilee from Champion Window

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Awesome Program For Small Churches

We used Financial Edge at the church I interned at in college. They had just switched over to this program and I liked it a lot, but it was very difficult for staff members who were not used to the cloud-based software. If you have a team of people who are easy to train or can adapt to a new program easily then this could make a world of difference in your church if you have used excel sheets or paper bookkeeping methods.

Pros

I loved how customizable everything is. You can create your own reports and it's easy to run them.

Cons

It's completely internet based so if you are caught without the internet you can't access the program. It's hard to make the switch from whatever programs you're using before switching to Financial Edge.

August 2016

Barb from Zigler Hospitility

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

FE review 2016

Pros

You can continue to work after the month end date.

Cons

A little high in price. The recurring journal could be setup to generate in a batch instead of individually. Report dates for month end are time consuming to change. Wish that in the A/R system you could remove old clients.

November 2016

Bill from Kohl Children's Museum

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Functional and Stable with little enhancements

I am speaking about FE 7. I understand FE NXT offers more enhancements but from what i can tell the reporting blocks stays the same.

Pros

It is a stable platform and not difficult to understand.

Cons

Maybe because there are only around 4,000 clients using FE compared to RE's 15,000 clients the software appears to be built with functionality in mind. It feels like the software was made for those who wanted to integrate RE (that is why we have it) and not enhanced further to attract non-RE clients.

June 2018

Andrea from Childrens trust of SC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Many wishes

Ready for FENXT to become fully functional.

Pros

Like the ease of use as well as the availability of reporting. Like the connectivity between RE and FE.

Cons

Creating budgets is cumbersome. Wish there were more excel like functions for calculating totals. Getting issues resolved can be very time consuming.

July 2018

Matt from EE International

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Overall a very good experience with this product

Pros

Best feature with financial edge is that you are guaranteed to have assistance throughout your process

Cons

The cost factor is more on the pricey side compared to other competing products. If you can spend the extra money then go for it

Displaying 1 - 50 of 106 reviews