VolunteerMatters Software Reviews

VolunteerMatters Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.78

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I love having the ability to add graphics to different projects and signing up for a shift is straightforward."
  • icon"This goes beyond shifts and positions and will allow us to reach more people with our mission message."
  • icon"We recently upgraded to the newest version of VolunteerMatters and we LOVE how easy it is for volunteers to use. The software is clean and simple."
  • icon"Volunteer Matters suggests using Zapier, which charges and additional fee for Salesforce."
  • icon"There is no option to bulk delete shifts if there has been a schedule change in our programming."
  • icon"It was a little hard to transition information over from our old system, but even that was at no fault of the program."

Browse all VolunteerMatters Reviews

  • Have you used VolunteerMatters and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 20 of 20 reviews

Curtis

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Great Volunteer Management Tool

The largest benefit is having all volunteer data in one location. With 19 locations, we were previously using different methods across the Association. VolunteerMatters has given us the tool to be able to house everything in one location and make the experience for volunteers the same no matter which location they engage at

Pros

Scheduling and hours tracking to make sure that we are managing volunteers to be the most effective in support of our programs and our organization as a whole

Cons

There are a few features that would be nice to have for both the administrative and end-user aspects. But having said that, the team at VolunteerMatters is great to work with and open to listening to thoughts/ideas/suggestions that may help improve their platform

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMatters

VolunteerMatters gave use the best-fitting solution and customizations that would fit the needs we were looking for. It also had the capacity to handle multiple locations with many volunteers with a structure that was easy to set up, easy to manage and allowed flexibility for the volunteer to match their skills with a volunteer role

Response from Closerware

Thank you Curtis! We love our YMCA customers. We are so grateful to be working with such a great organization. Thank you for such an awesome endorsement for larger volunteer organizations that have distributed requirements across an enterprise of locations and departments. We like the hard stuff. We are weird like that :P

Replied November 2022

Megan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

All in One System

We moved our volunteer system from paper to online with VolunteerMatters.

Pros

This software is user-friendly and is ever-changing with feedback from the consumer.

Cons

There has been no 'kiosk' option to check-in volunteers but I hear that changes are in the works.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMatters

It had the right functionalities with the right price for our organization.

Response from Closerware

You'll be happy to know, there is a kiosk option and has been for some time! We'll have your account manager reach out today to provide you with details. :)

Replied October 2020

Barona

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Volunteer Matters Is Crucial To Our Organization

Pros

Since we started using Volunteer Matters, our volunteer program has grown to become a more significant and substantial component of our organization. The ease of use of Volunteer Matters makes our volunteer opportunities approachable and appealing. I use Volunteer Matters every day and am easily able to gather information about the status of our current volunteer shifts as well as our volunteer community. Our organization also regularly uses the communication tools which have proved to be very effective in recruiting volunteers and staffing shifts at the last minute. Lastly, the portal insigns and feedback features have provided much needed information to our organization that allows us to develop our volunteer program based off of input from volunteers.

Cons

What I would like to see most from Volunteer Matters is further developed communication tools. I would like the ability to communicate directly with volunteers for a specifc shift regarding shift changes or cancellations. I also would like the ability to see previous communications with volunteers, including the text of the email. Lastly, it would be helpful to be able to adjust the date range for the data displayed in the Portal Insights. This would be helpful when our grant reporting requires information for specific date ranges.

Response from Closerware

Thank you for the very kind review and suggestions :) With regard to emailing volunteers assigned to a specific shift, you can absolutely do this today! You can easily send communications to all assignees to that shift or a individual assignees. Go to the volunteer project, click manage needs, click 'Assign' next to the shift in question, and click email at the top of the list! I will have support reach out directly with more information.

Replied November 2022

Genita

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

VolunteerMatters Streamlines Our Volunteer Management

Streamlining volunteer registration and paperwork was the number one goal and it has been met through the use of VolunteerMatters. An added benefit is being able to better track various aspects of the many projects we have going during our busy seasons.

Pros

First, VolunteerMatters simplifies volunteer registration. The software collects all of the "paperwork" for us, saving us hours of manually tracking down signatures and drivers' licenses!Second, VolunteerMatters is useful as a central location where volunteers can upload required documents, especially our CDL volunteers who have to provide us with current required documents throughout the year. Additionally, the email function within VM functions as an efficient tool to email large groups of volunteers using the report filtering tools within the software all at once. It also works well to email just a few persons.The list views within the software overall work well and it is helpful to be able to sort by several fields instead of just one (as another major CRM software restricts us to).The project feature has given us a mechanism to track many details regarding the cases at which our volunteers serve.Finally, the customer service is exceptional. I nearly always receive a response within an hour to my inquiries. The immediate "chat" feature is super helpful and the technician is also available to do zoom calls if need be.

Cons

The report ("list") feature could be improved. We are not able to manipulate the filters as precisely as we would like to.

Response from Closerware

Thank you so much for your flattering review! We absolutely love having you as a customer. You are the best :)

Replied November 2022

Anu

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

A Platform that Grows with our Organization

We are able to communicate more directly with individual volunteers, keep up with them if we haven't seen them in a while, and receive clear feedback on their experiences.

Pros

The seamless integration into our website, branding, and user-friendly experience is by far the best feature of VolunteerMatters.

Cons

There is no option to bulk delete shifts if there has been a schedule change in our programming.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMatters

Pricing

Response from Closerware

Thanks for your great review! I'm happy to let you now that in addition to bulk edit of shifts (which you've been able to do for quite some time) we will be adding bulk delete in our next quarterly release!

Replied November 2022

Courtney

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Volunteer Matters makes your job ridiculously easy!

Wonderful!! No complaints! They made the transition from my former VMS a breeze with weekly Teams Meetings and easy step by step instructions.

Pros

For a year in my current position, I had to suffer through another VMS because we were under contract. The reports were pre set and did not reflect the information I needed....PLUS when I had a question, I had to email them, they then sent an email to confirm, THEN hours later they would respond with a video to "help", which rarely did. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at Volunteer Matters is usually available via their live chat and if not, he responds within an hour to your question. The level of customer service at Volunteer Matters is a huge game changer for me!

Cons

The ability to connect data from Volunteer Matters into our CRM Salesforce is clunky. Volunteer Matters suggests using Zapier, which charges and additional fee for Salesforce. However, after talking to Salesforce, we have figured out a way to upload the csv export I produce from Volunteer Matters. Not automatic, which would be ideal - but infinitely better than me entering the info myself.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMatters

I had used them in a previous position and knew how amazing their product and team was

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMatters

The customer service with Galaxy was crap and the reports could not be customized.

Jacqueline

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

An Excellent Volunteer Management Tool

Pros

We found VolunteerMatters at a time where we needed it most. We are an immigrant services and refugee resettlement organization, and during the Afghan Evacuation of 2021, our lines were blowing up with volunteers. We had an unmanageable amount of volunteers wanting to get involved and needed a way to harness the support for the many needs of our new clients. VolunteerMatters allowed us to have a user-friendly platform where volunteers could easily upload their clearances and sign up for a range of opportunities. I have been told that we have the most approachable volunteer system that out volunteers have seen, which I credit almost entirely to VolunteerMatters. I take pride in showing volunteers our project catalog because it looks clean, sleek, and accessible. Lastly, I would like to shoutout [SENSITIVE CONTENT] from customer support, who takes every question I have seriously and gives me a quick and accurate answer. Thank you VM!

Cons

I would like a more straight forward way for people to upload their credentials onto their profile without having to go through he project catalog.

Response from Closerware

Thank you for this awesome review. We are so honored to be associated with such a great cause and humbled to be a part of your success.

Replied November 2022

Chris

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

VolunteerMatters - Review

Our organization is very happy and satisfied with our switch to VolunteerMatters. It has made our administrative, communication, and tracking task much easier and time-saving, which has given us more time to focus on our volunteers' needs.

Pros

Most impactful are the features for easy application submissions and the degree to which we can customize our applications for our needs, the ease with which we can run statistical reports for attendance and volunteer hours, and how easy it is for volunteers to use and sign up for shifts.

Cons

As with any software switch, the change to VolunteerMatters meant rebuilding and starting from scratch. But, this process seemed to be expedited with the availability of meetings with our Success Coach, [SENSITIVE CONTENT], to help us along the way.

Response from Closerware

We love Pasadena Humane Society! You are a great customer! We were very happy that we were able to easily migrate 500,000 hours of volunteer history from your previous system. And yes, your Success Coach is a gem :)

Replied November 2022

Lara

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Volunteer Matters is a great software for volunteers!

Pros

We had no volunteer software before and Volunteer Matters made such a big difference in that was we structure our non-profits volunteer management and the hours in the community that our volunteers work.

Cons

There are some limitations but the support has helped to work around them to do the best they can to get what we need with what the system can provide.

Response from Closerware

Thank you for this fantastic review! We're glad to hear support has been able to help you to address your needs. Our support team truly believes in the power of volunteerism so they are intrinsically motivated to help. Thank you for being awesome!

Replied November 2022

Emily

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Great Software

Pros

Streamline tasks, track hours, and pull reports easily

Cons

Recording group volunteers could be easier

Response from Closerware

Thanks Emily! We have some great things on the horizon for group volunteering :)

Replied November 2022

Dana

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

The customer service and ease of use for volunteers are top notch!

I am so thankful to the support team at VolunteerMatters. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has helped us set up our new system and allowed us to take as much time as we needed. He answered a million questions that I asked and always followed up when he said he would. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the support staff and how they will bend over backwards to help you.

Pros

We recently upgraded to the newest version of VolunteerMatters and we LOVE how easy it is for volunteers to use. The software is clean and simple. I love having the ability to add graphics to different projects and signing up for a shift is straightforward. Setting up new projects is easy once you get the hang of it and you have control over what and when volunteers can see in the system.

Cons

There's not a ton of customization you can do on your own (aside from graphics and the view for different pages). I wish you could see all the shifts for a project immediately without having to scroll to the month they've been scheduled in. I also wish you could delete multiple shifts or projects at once instead of doing it individually and having to scroll through the months again. All of these are small complaints but if these were fixed it would make our experience a lot better!

Response from Closerware

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. Stay tuned for some new features. We have a new release coming out this week. :)

Replied October 2020

Liz

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Great platform for volunteers!

Overall our experience with VolunteerMatters has been great and what really stands out is customer service of the VolunteerMatters team. At any point when a question arises, the VM team is quick to help us and will hop on a call at any time. We've enjoyed our experience with VolunteerMatters and would recommend it to other organizations.

Pros

Our organization loves the ease of creating volunteer opportunities, the option for integrated background checks, and the ability to design the application as we need. It is simple from both the administrator side and the volunteer side.

Cons

The VM software is simple, but as with any software it takes some time to learn the in's and out's of everything it can offer. But once we made sure to set aside time to train our employees and go through the online trainings we discovered that is was fairly simple and offered a wide range of help on their website.

Response from Closerware

Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are so happy you've discovered so much value with our service. Yay!

Replied October 2020

Linda

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Great volunteer management system

The overall management of volunteers is getting easier as we continue to build a volunteer base in Volunteer Matters. It has the ability to electronically onboard volunteers through the application, policy sign-off, background check, reference checks, online training, and other credentials. It allows the organization to post what we need, and the volunteers sign up for projects. Volunteers can track their own hours, or it can be set to credit them for a set number of hours for the task they complete. Nice flexibility options are available.

Pros

Volunteer Matters works well to create awareness of volunteer opportunities with our organization. It was easy to learn how to administer, and their customer support is very good.

Cons

Their online classes on how to use the system are extremely helpful in getting familiar with all that the system can do. Some features are administered by Volunteer Matters, rather than being available to the company's administrator. Their customer service is very responsive, so this is a minor "con."

Response from Closerware

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, Linda! We're glad to hear we're helping bring awareness to your cause.

Replied September 2020

Kevin

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

YMCA of Greater Vancouver

Very positive. Good Customer Service.

Pros

One place for all of our volunteers to got to.

Cons

Compatibility with other software we are using in the organization.

Response from Closerware

We have many options for integrating with 3rd party systems including Zapier triggers and actions along with APIs and webhooks. We'd love to discuss your integration needs. We'll have your account manager reach out soon! :)

Replied October 2020

Lisa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Great System and Customer Support

Pros

This software is very intuitive, easy to train to, and looks nice. The customer service is some of the best I've ever experienced.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to upload documents. Maybe that is a feature, but I just haven't figured it out yet.

Response from Closerware

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, Lisa. Thank you so much for your kind words about our customer service.

Replied September 2020

Jill

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2020

Allow to work at our pace

They have been so patient. We have a HR Dept of 1. Combine that with COVID set backs and it has been a slow start, sometimes a start again. They have been so patient and are so kind to repeat things they have already told us. Support requests response is so fast.

Pros

This goes beyond shifts and positions and will allow us to reach more people with our mission message.

Cons

don't know if there is anything yet, new to the platform

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMatters

does all we needed and more - the support was the key deciding factor.

Response from Closerware

Thank you for your kind review. We are fully committed to your awesome volunteer program!

Replied October 2020

KC

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Free Trial

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5