User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Ease of use, continued updates, and great customer service."

  • "Ease of use is my favorite part about this software. This encourages staff as a whole to use Foundant to see what is going on, make better decisions and has also allowed us to engage donors more. "

  • "We really like how the modules integrate with each other."

  • Cons

  • "The CRM is still not as robust as say something like SalesForce, but it is improving. Also, some system settings can be a little more robust."

  • "The custom reporting still gives us some troubles mainly due to us not really using much of this feature. I'm certain as we learn more about it our ability to use the reporting will improve"

  • "What I like least? Small stuff that is on the list to be improved. "

Browse CommunitySuite Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -32 of 18 results

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A unified system that delights both internal and external users

Overall, a great experience. The team at Foundant is very responsive and the software is easy to use.

Pros

Unified solution, clean & simple interface, the dev team is very open to suggestions and using IdeaLab, users can submit and vote on desired features/functionality. Tech support and service is phenomenal. Going from a non-unified system to a unified system has been like night and day. Being able to offer our Fund Advisors an online portal where they have 24x7 access in a clean site has been a long-awaited feature for us.

Cons

That we didn't have it implemented sooner. It has saved so much staff time.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied April 2019

Thank you for your review! This will be greatly beneficial to others who are exploring community foundation solutions .

February 2021

Alicia from Community Foundation of the Gunnison Valley

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

CommunitySuite is a lifesaver

Before migrating to CommunitySuite, my organization had to use two separate solutions - a fund accounting software and a CRM software - and staff had to duplicate work to get data out of and in to each system. The fund accounting software was antiquated and not user friendly, and the CRM software was great for donor management but terrible for accounting. Plus, the customer service was impersonal and not always helpful. CommunitySuite brings it all together in one package, which has streamlined our operations and allowed staff to spend more time on more productive tasks and projects. And, we feel like we personally know the folks at Foundant and can rely on them anytime for anything. We are planning to eventually purchase two other solutions that Foundant Technologies offers to have complete integration of our operations.

Pros

Fund accounting is unique even by accounting standards. Using other solutions that weren't made to do what we needed them to in order to cobble together our operations was a nightmare. CommunitySuite brings it all together in one easy-to-use solution that is constantly being improved - and they take customer feedback to heart when making improvements. Additionally, the personalized training and the absolutely stellar customer service Foundant Technologies provides, coupled with the opportunities to meet and work with their team one-on-one, makes purchasing CommunitySuite a no-brainer!

Cons

CommunitySuite is great for fund accounting, but it's lacking a little on the CRM side. It works, but not as well as some other solutions (but those solutions don't have the robust fund accounting capabilities, which was the priority for my organization). However, Foundant Technologies is constantly working to make improvements on the CRM side, and I am confident that it will only get better and better!

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

It was pretty clear early on that no other solution could provide what CommunitySuite does, so to us there really was no choice!

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

FIMS was completely antiquated and not user-friendly (and was about to cease being supported), and Raiser's Edge could not provide us with the accounting solution we needed. And using two systems was inefficient and ineffective!

July 2018

Hank from Los Altos Community Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2018

It's a frustrating system that is missing so much compared to other options.

Pros

It is cloud-based. Unlimited Users. The accounting system seems to work, though I am not an accountant so who knows.

Cons

Donation pages are not customizable or user-friendly. There is no way to track the source of donations (even though the description says donation tracking). If you want to track ROI on your website, ads or communications, you can't. There's no integration with ANY other software(other than Stripe). They do not verify users by email address, so you constantly have to be on top of duplicate accounts from donations. The ticketing system is barebones and difficult to set up. There's no custom reporting.

February 2021

Merrell from Chaffee County Community Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Purpose-built, incredible, responsive customer service make this an easy decision to buy

We needed a fully integrated suite without trying to cobble together multiple packages like QuickBooks and Salesforce. I have worked in ERP/Financial software for over 20 years with Tier 1 firms (BaaN, Infor) as an implementation consultant. NONE of these firms can touch CommunitySuite for responsiveness, rapid development of new features, ease of use and support. I have direct links at the VP Product level and feel that the corporate culture is first-rate. Community Suite (and the GLM module we also license) are growing with us and we look to adding SLM as well. Cannot imagine how we would have handled hundreds of business, nonprofit and individual grants during COVID-19 without this product and their team.

Pros

CommunitySuite combines solid financials with good CRM/donor management and tightly integrated grant and scholarship management modules, if needed (extra cost). Extremely easy to implement and use. With excellent support from Customer Success Manager team, we were trained on key functionality and brought foundation from spreadsheets to state of the art systems in less than two months. That support has never waivered and after 2 years of use , they only keep getting better, with more features .

Cons

Donor management and integration with third party payers (Stripe) may not be quite as robust as a standalone boutique module, but it is steadily getting more robust. Newly enhanced custom reporting tools are also filling a gap that existed two years ago.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

Too complex, too costly. The team that ultimately selected CommunitySuite had first hand experience with Blackbaud in a large foundation and found it cumbersome and did not want to use it again.

February 2020

Aaron from Permian Basin Area Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Finally, A Modern Software Solution Catering Specifically to Community Foundation Needs!

We have what I would call "a beautiful relationship". Not only do we know our team at Foundant, we like them and enjoy hanging out with them. They are constantly seeking ways to improve their product and provide the best customer experience possible. They do that by seeking to better understand the way we function and anticipating industry trends. Additionally, they have made allowances for direct buy-in/investment from a number of community foundations, thus insuring that the company and the company's interests will remain true to community foundations for years to come. No other software provider in our field has taken that step so far as I am aware of.

Pros

There are three things I like most about this software: 1) It is designed specifically for use by community foundations - they get "it"! 2) The customer service. Second to none. Responsive. Knowledgeable. Experienced. Resourceful. Caring. Oh, and they are a heckuva a lot of fun, too! 3) Migration. Rarely is the term "easy" used in close quarters with discussions of transitioning from one core software package to another. However, the good folks at Foundant specialize in this process. In fact, it may be the only company out there that has customers who consistently use the term "flawless" when describing their data migration (at least from FIMS to C-Suite). Basically, Foundant has built itself upon the idea that community foundations are their niche market. Make that "only market". Community foundations (CF's) are their only customers. What's more, a large portion of their staff have past personal work experience either with CF's or with the former industry-specific software, FIMS, from which the majority of community foundations have or are in-process of migrating from.

Cons

There is no perfect solution (yet) for community foundations. While Foundant comes fairly close by providing a ready-made solution, it is not as customizable as our particular organization would prefer. While it appears to be able to handle all of our required needs, we will be employing a few work-arounds and changes to our processes to make it fit those needs. Ideally, a software solution would allow the client to change the program to suit its workflow. Not exactly so with C-Suite. That said, it is a HUGE improvement in terms of integration and report generation over FIMS. It also increases functionality at least 10 fold. Not looking to purchase an additional CRM solution (cough...Salesforce...Raisers Edge...cough)? C-Suite is still a huge upgrade over FIMS.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

Our pre-requisites included accommodation for all of our essential accounting functions. But, following that, customer service and price.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

FIMS no longer fits the growing needs of our community foundation. However, the customer service is virtually non-existent (thank you, Blackbaud). Additionally, our donor portal software provider is closing its doors mid-2020.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied February 2020

Aaron, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is so helpful for others looking to understand our company and for us to continue improving our processes. As always, please let us know if we can help in any other way.

February 2021

Gary from San Antonio Area Foundation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Almost perfect database software for community foundations

Pros

Relative ease of use. Cloud-based. The software integrates a CRM and financial accounting databases into a cohesive platform. It also works seamlessly with Foundant's Grantmaking software, GLM and SLM.

Cons

The CRM is still not as robust as say something like SalesForce, but it is improving. Also, some system settings can be a little more robust.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

needed move to a more modern cloud-based financial and CRM database platform.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied March 2021

Gary, thank you for taking the time to review CommunitySuite!

February 2021

John from Community Foundation of Elmira-Corning & The Finger Lakes

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

CSuite Makes Our Work Better

Since implementing CSuite my ability to do additional work has increased greatly. The time I spend doing my normal work routines has dropped by over 30%, freeing me up to work on other projects.

Pros

We really like how the modules integrate with each other.

Cons

The custom reporting still gives us some troubles mainly due to us not really using much of this feature. I'm certain as we learn more about it our ability to use the reporting will improve

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

Community Suite made the most sense for our Community Foundation's work flow. We also heard many good things from several existing users prior to selecting it.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

FIMS was outdated and cumbersome

March 2021

Tami from Decatur County Community Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Instant Friends

CS has a robust reports feature that has helped make my job as director much easier.

Pros

The product is amazing and the company is always open to ideas that could make it even better. I was seriously impressed with the training process. BEFORE we could begin to implement, we HAD to go through a series of training modules that introduced all facets of the software. What a great way to make sure that we were aware of everything available on our new purchase. So many times, I've worked with software that may have had capabilities that we were unaware of. Not so with Foundant's products. You do your homework before you implement so you KNOW what it can do. Great way to get all of us on the same page! And, the people who work for this company are top notch, down-to-earth, very wonderful people. You gotta love people who feature their dogs on their calendar!

Cons

I truly don't have anything that I view negatively with the software.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

I had my entire office look at it once we narrowed it down. It exceeded our expectations once we started really digging into its capabilities. It was cloud-based, it was intuitive, the support staff seemed so eager to help.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

Pearl was an extremely glitchy Access-based software that was difficult to use, was not user friendly. It was difficult to correct mistakes and creating reports required help from a Help Desk.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied April 2021

Thank you for your review, Tami! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Grant Lifecycle Manager onboarding process and that you've enjoyed working with us!

March 2021

Bill from Fairfield County's Community Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Community Suite Software

Overall, our transition to Community Suite created informational transparency in the organization resulting in increased efficiency.

Pros

The product is intuitive and comprehensive. My entire organization can use the same platform for grantmaking, accounting and customer relationship management. The accounting software allows for easy reporting and analysis. What I truly like best, and what separates Community Suite from other software products I have used, is the Customer Service. Their team walked us through implementation and provides both technical and real world help in a timely manner. And, Community Suite is constantly working on upgrades, some suggested by users, that make it a real world tool for success.

Cons

An area for improvement, which is being mitigated by Community Suite's communication that changes are in process, would be in traditional financial reporting i.e., having a financial report that looks like financial statements. Such reports can be made currently but they lose some of the functionality that makes Community Suite so powerful. To be clear, all the information is available but I find myself using Excel more than I would like. I expect that these concerns to be addressed in the next few quarters.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

I was not involved in the decision but I am told that the prior product was dated with decreasing customer support.

March 2021

Kol from Blue Mountain Community Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

CommunitySuite is built specifically for community foundations; nothing is as good for CFs

Pros

It is built specifically for community foundation accounting. It has made our financial accounting so much more efficient. It more than pays for itself in terms of saved staff time. Having it seamlessly connected to our grantmaking system and scholarship system is an important added bonus. We love CSuite.

Cons

The donor database portion of the system could be better. It is workable. It's not bad. But it is not as good as dedicated donor databases. It would also be nice if the system included a user-friendly way to track the opening of new funds, starting from a donor showing interest and going all the way to executing the fund agreement and sending a welcome packet.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

We made the switch because of the benefits of CSuite that I've already mentioned. I think CSuite is also cheaper than the other options.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied April 2021

Thank you for your review, Kol! We are happy to know that CommunitySuite has helped make your financial accounting more efficient!

February 2019

Debbie from Community Foundation of the Northern Shenandoah Valley

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

CommunitySuite provides platform to grow our foundation

CommunitySuite allowed our Community Foundation to fully automate our operations relatively early in our growth as a Community Foundation with very limited resources. It set the stage for the rapid growth that we've experienced and was definitely worth the investment.

Pros

CommunitySuite provides an integrated platform to run our Community Foundation at a price that is affordable for even a very small Community Foundation. The support and training provided through the implementation process made it possible to implement the software with very limited staff. Once implemented, the simplified fund accounting process made it possible to offer more options to our donors, including the introduction of non-endowed funds and multiple investment portfolios. These increased options have helped us to more than double the size of our foundation in less than two years. We could not have accomplished what we have without CommunitySuite.

Cons

The campaign process is my least favorite part of the software. While it is nice to have an integrated system to manage events, mailing lists, etc., those who are accustomed to using dedicated event management systems may find the features somewhat limited. It works fine, just without a lot of bells and whistles. Since we generally don't need bells and whistles, and we appreciate the integrated aspects of campaigns, we happily use the features provided. It is simply an area that has room for improvement.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about CommunitySuite, Debbie! We appreciate your feedback and thorough review that will help other community foundations researching solutions to support their organization.

March 2021

Amy from kidsPACK

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

CommunitySuite took us to a new level!

Professional.

Pros

CommunitySuite has allowed our little non-profit to dominate our Donor Management process! We have donor information, gifts, pledges at our fingertips and can talk and provide statistics in real time with accurate, documented information. Gift letters are sent out within days of money being received and recorded. So much time saved!

Cons

CommunitySuite is not specifically for Non-Profits but it fit for our Donor requirements better than any other software. As the majority of non-profits do not use fund accounting, there are some fields that could be adjusted where right now they have to be filled in. But guess what? Foundant listened and is now working on a non-profit version!

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

Donor profile process - allows an organization to grow into other software elements without an increase in cost because it is an entire software package (example accounts payable). On-Boarding timing took into consideration the organizations skill level and was priced and timed accordingly.

February 2021

Jennifer from Community Foundation of Northeast Alabama

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

CommunitySuite Perfect for Community Foundations

A+

Pros

Everything. My entire staff likes it. Our auditor said CommunitySuite is the only software product liked by the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], Accounting Department, and staff. Our conversion was easy. Shut down on Friday afternoon and up and running on Monday morning at 8 am. Lots of hand holding during the preparation. Customer service is really good. Software is intuitive.

Cons

What I like least? Small stuff that is on the list to be improved.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

It was the best option. Love the Donor Portal.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

If you know FIMS, you know why we switched.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied March 2021

Jennifer, thank you for your review of CommunitySuite! We are happy to hear that your staff is enjoying the system.

March 2021

Haleigh from Community Foundation of South Lake

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Moved forward with this change and have never looked back!

We have been very happy with CommunitySuite from the training, continued communication and update trainings offered, and the added functionalities.

Pros

Ease of use is my favorite part about this software. This encourages staff as a whole to use Foundant to see what is going on, make better decisions and has also allowed us to engage donors more.

Cons

I wish the build-from-scratch reports were a little cleaner and easier to use.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

The entire staff could use CS, we were not happy with customer service and FIMS was just not user friendly.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied April 2021

Thank you for your review, Haleigh! We are happy to know that CommunitySuite has helped your organization to better engage your donors!

February 2021

Jodi from Armstrong County Community Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Wonderful product

The more I use it, the more I love it! Do I get frustrated...sure, but the support staff always comes through and works me through it!

Pros

The sandbox (practice site) has been extremely helpful to me. I am an office of 1 with the most knowledgeable user resigning without notice. Foundant/Community Suite support was the best getting me through the end of the year! Their support is the best they are patient and kind and they explain items thoroughly. The product is easy to maneuver and understand.

Cons

They are improving all the time from ideas that the we, the users submit through the idea lab.

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

Growth of the Foundation.

February 2021

Michael from Catholic Community Foundation of Southwest Florida

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Very Pleased with product and support

We were looking for an end-to-end solution for our foundation and CommunitySuite met and/or exceeded all of our expectations.

Pros

For us, CommunitySuite addressed all of our needs as a community foundation and the customer support has been wonderful throughout the process.

Cons

There is nothing that I would identify as a negative with the system.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

CommunitySuite is a cloud-based, integrated solution at a competitive price.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thank you for your review of CommunitySuite Michael! We love to hear that you are receiving "wonderful" customer service.

February 2019

Marcus from Community Foundation of Central Wisconsin

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Outstanding Software Solution

Great experience from the beginning and have made many personal connections with many of your employees.

Pros

Ease of use, continued updates, and great customer service.

Cons

Due to business growth on your end and staff changes on our end there have been a few times that has caused some stresses but everyone continues to be helpful.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied March 2019

Thank you Marcus, for taking the time to provide your review and feedback!

April 2020

Eliese from CFFC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Community Suite is an amazing solution

Our reporting, which is vital for an organization like ours, is so much easier. Training was spectacular. They CSM folks continue to be super helpful.

Pros

This software consolidates everything a foundation needs to function fully and efficiently. Our staff is thrilled with it.

Cons

Some of the task descriptions are a little confusing. But otherwise, it's been easy to navigate through and to search for things. Creating merge templates for automated tasks has been challenging.

Reasons for Choosing CommunitySuite

More robust financial integration

Reasons for Switching to CommunitySuite

FIMS had a high cost with much less functionality.

Response from Foundant Technologies

Replied April 2020

Eliese, thank you for taking to time to give CommunitySuite a review! This helps other community foundations find the right solution. Thanks!