All CommunitySuite Fund Accounting Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Aaron

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Finally, A Modern Software Solution Catering Specifically to Community Foundation Needs!

We have what I would call "a beautiful relationship". Not only do we know our team at Foundant, we like them and enjoy hanging out with them. They are constantly seeking ways to improve their product and provide the best customer experience possible. They do that by seeking to better understand the way we function and anticipating industry trends. Additionally, they have made allowances for direct buy-in/investment from a number of community foundations, thus insuring that the company and the company's interests will remain true to community foundations for years to come. No other software provider in our field has taken that step so far as I am aware of.

PROS

There are three things I like most about this software: 1) It is designed specifically for use by community foundations - they get "it"! 2) The customer service. Second to none. Responsive. Knowledgeable. Experienced. Resourceful. Caring. Oh, and they are a heckuva a lot of fun, too! 3) Migration. Rarely is the term "easy" used in close quarters with discussions of transitioning from one core software package to another. However, the good folks at Foundant specialize in this process. In fact, it may be the only company out there that has customers who consistently use the term "flawless" when describing their data migration (at least from FIMS to C-Suite). Basically, Foundant has built itself upon the idea that community foundations are their niche market. Make that "only market". Community foundations (CF's) are their only customers. What's more, a large portion of their staff have past personal work experience either with CF's or with the former industry-specific software, FIMS, from which the majority of community foundations have or are in-process of migrating from.

CONS

There is no perfect solution (yet) for community foundations. While Foundant comes fairly close by providing a ready-made solution, it is not as customizable as our particular organization would prefer. While it appears to be able to handle all of our required needs, we will be employing a few work-arounds and changes to our processes to make it fit those needs. Ideally, a software solution would allow the client to change the program to suit its workflow. Not exactly so with C-Suite. That said, it is a HUGE improvement in terms of integration and report generation over FIMS. It also increases functionality at least 10 fold. Not looking to purchase an additional CRM solution (cough...Salesforce...Raisers Edge...cough)? C-Suite is still a huge upgrade over FIMS.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Our pre-requisites included accommodation for all of our essential accounting functions. But, following that, customer service and price.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

FIMS no longer fits the growing needs of our community foundation. However, the customer service is virtually non-existent (thank you, Blackbaud). Additionally, our donor portal software provider is closing its doors mid-2020.

Vendor Response

Aaron, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is so helpful for others looking to understand our company and for us to continue improving our processes. As always, please let us know if we can help in any other way.

Replied February 2020

Eliese

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Almost 100% spot on

PROS

SO much functionality in profiles and profile maintenance make it a dream for creating donor and other profile lists, and linking people, organizations, and funds together. Fund profile also has such incredible detail and linking.The ability to drill down on figures is also wonderful.

CONS

The only thing I miss from FIMS was the Columnar Fund Balance report. Seems like the auditors like that, and it's very difficult to reproduce in CSuite.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Easy transition; good value; great training and support.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Blackbaud was discontinuing FIMS. Since we were hosting it locally, we could continue to use it, but it was time to consider another product.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Eliese! We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with CommunitySuite!

Replied October 2023

Hank

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2018

It's a frustrating system that is missing so much compared to other options.

PROS

It is cloud-based. Unlimited Users. The accounting system seems to work, though I am not an accountant so who knows.

CONS

Donation pages are not customizable or user-friendly. There is no way to track the source of donations (even though the description says donation tracking). If you want to track ROI on your website, ads or communications, you can't. There's no integration with ANY other software(other than Stripe). They do not verify users by email address, so you constantly have to be on top of duplicate accounts from donations. The ticketing system is barebones and difficult to set up. There's no custom reporting.

Dori

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Hello Foundant Goodbye FIMS

Our overall experience has been nothing but positive. The employees at CommunitySuite are smart problem solvers and with this software, we have been able to grow over 200%. Our efforts now go into donors and grantees instead of spreadsheets.

PROS

Foundant is very flexible. We have several users with different levels of computer knowledge all can navigate in Foundant. The training is great and the programmers are always looking to make the software more user-friendly. The time we save using this software allows us to spend more time in donor and community development.

CONS

There is not much that I don't like about Foundant. The only thing is new releases and it's really not a negative. It's just that so many good things get implemented that I don't always keep up.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Pricing, user-friendly, and support

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

FIMS had gone up in price and was very laborious.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Dori! We are happy to know that CommunitySuite training was helpful for you and the software allows you to engage more with donor and community development!

Replied February 2022

Merrell

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Purpose-built, incredible, responsive customer service make this an easy decision to buy

We needed a fully integrated suite without trying to cobble together multiple packages like QuickBooks and Salesforce. I have worked in ERP/Financial software for over 20 years with Tier 1 firms (BaaN, Infor) as an implementation consultant. NONE of these firms can touch CommunitySuite for responsiveness, rapid development of new features, ease of use and support. I have direct links at the VP Product level and feel that the corporate culture is first-rate. Community Suite (and the GLM module we also license) are growing with us and we look to adding SLM as well. Cannot imagine how we would have handled hundreds of business, nonprofit and individual grants during COVID-19 without this product and their team.

PROS

CommunitySuite combines solid financials with good CRM/donor management and tightly integrated grant and scholarship management modules, if needed (extra cost). Extremely easy to implement and use. With excellent support from Customer Success Manager team, we were trained on key functionality and brought foundation from spreadsheets to state of the art systems in less than two months. That support has never waivered and after 2 years of use , they only keep getting better, with more features .

CONS

Donor management and integration with third party payers (Stripe) may not be quite as robust as a standalone boutique module, but it is steadily getting more robust. Newly enhanced custom reporting tools are also filling a gap that existed two years ago.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Too complex, too costly. The team that ultimately selected CommunitySuite had first hand experience with Blackbaud in a large foundation and found it cumbersome and did not want to use it again.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Merrell! We are glad to see that our support has remained consistent over the past two years and that you have enjoyed working with us.

Replied April 2021

Leeann

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Best tech decision we made!

CSuite has been a game-changer for us - we are now able to generate more robust reports and dig deep into our data. This software will enable our Foundation to grow at an exponential rate.

PROS

We had been using Quickbooks and spreadsheets to do fund accounting. The transition to CSuite has been transformational for our office!

CONS

The software isn't the most inuitive and reporting functions are somewhat difficult to learn, however, Foundant has a great support team that is able to assist us as needed.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Strong history, many other Community Foundations in our area also utilize this software.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Quickbooks isn't structured for fund accounting.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Leeann! We love to hear the CSuite has been a "game-changer" for your foundation!

Replied October 2023

Laura

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Real Time Money Management for Nonprofits

I love that it integrates so well with the GLM and the SLM (Grant and Scholarship Management platforms) and that our accountant can send us the data reports we need instantaneously.

PROS

I love all the data you can accumulate and process in Csuite. The reports are easy to create, they look nice and they are accurate. You can rely on them for new donors, investors and auditors.

CONS

That they use Stripe as a processor. It is hard to get reports out of and takes a larger fee than our other processor.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Ease of accountability, ease of conversion, ease of payments.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

FIMS had the worst reporting (to Notepad) and produced unreliable data

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Laura! We are happy to hear that you are benefiting from CSuite's reporting features!

Replied October 2023

John

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

CSuite Makes Our Work Better

Since implementing CSuite my ability to do additional work has increased greatly. The time I spend doing my normal work routines has dropped by over 30%, freeing me up to work on other projects.

PROS

We really like how the modules integrate with each other.

CONS

The custom reporting still gives us some troubles mainly due to us not really using much of this feature. I'm certain as we learn more about it our ability to use the reporting will improve

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Community Suite made the most sense for our Community Foundation's work flow. We also heard many good things from several existing users prior to selecting it.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

FIMS was outdated and cumbersome

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, John! We are happy to see that CommunitySuite has eased your workload so you can focus on other projects!

Replied April 2021

Gary

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Almost perfect database software for community foundations

PROS

Relative ease of use. Cloud-based. The software integrates a CRM and financial accounting databases into a cohesive platform. It also works seamlessly with Foundant's Grantmaking software, GLM and SLM.

CONS

The CRM is still not as robust as say something like SalesForce, but it is improving. Also, some system settings can be a little more robust.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

needed move to a more modern cloud-based financial and CRM database platform.

Vendor Response

Gary, thank you for taking the time to review CommunitySuite!

Replied March 2021

Amy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

CommunitySuite took us to a new level!

Professional.

PROS

CommunitySuite has allowed our little non-profit to dominate our Donor Management process! We have donor information, gifts, pledges at our fingertips and can talk and provide statistics in real time with accurate, documented information. Gift letters are sent out within days of money being received and recorded. So much time saved!

CONS

CommunitySuite is not specifically for Non-Profits but it fit for our Donor requirements better than any other software. As the majority of non-profits do not use fund accounting, there are some fields that could be adjusted where right now they have to be filled in. But guess what? Foundant listened and is now working on a non-profit version!

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Donor profile process - allows an organization to grow into other software elements without an increase in cost because it is an entire software package (example accounts payable). On-Boarding timing took into consideration the organizations skill level and was priced and timed accordingly.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Amy! We are happy to see that ComunitySuite has allowed your nonprofit to excel within the donor management process.

Replied April 2021

Tye

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Community Foundation recommendation

Overall, we have had a terrific experience with this software and have no regrets at our organization for making the switch back in 2021.

PROS

The feature that our organization liked the most was the ease of use for the software. We apprecaite having the sandbox feature to "test" before submitting in the live system.

CONS

The feature that our organization likes the least would be the balance swap process. Still needing further understanding of this process.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Efficiencies and support.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Tye! We are so happy to hear that you are satisfied with CommunitySuite!

Replied October 2023

Erin

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Great for Community Foundations

We have been very happy with our CommunitySuite Fund Accounting purchase. It has facilitated more donor and fundholder engagement. It has also allowed us to move in the direction of a less paper office environment.

PROS

The fund accounting features make it easy to track transactions, allocate investment income, and administer fees by fund. CommunitySuite Fund Accounting has the ability to create multiple allocation, fee, and cash management structures to meet the unique parameters of each fund.

CONS

Features are constantly being improved based on user-feedback. These upgrades are often helpful in allowing more flexibility and efficiency in our processes. Sometimes the releases are not relevant to our foundation, and that's ok. Occasionally, releases cause more work - either learning a new process, or on rare occasions, feel like a step backwards in product development.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

We were impressed by the features of the software and the responsiveness of the Foundant team.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

We were looking for a system that allowed more user access, donor and fundholder portals, and more intergrated donor managment.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Erin! We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with CommunitySuite!

Replied October 2023

Bill

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Community Suite Software

Overall, our transition to Community Suite created informational transparency in the organization resulting in increased efficiency.

PROS

The product is intuitive and comprehensive. My entire organization can use the same platform for grantmaking, accounting and customer relationship management. The accounting software allows for easy reporting and analysis. What I truly like best, and what separates Community Suite from other software products I have used, is the Customer Service. Their team walked us through implementation and provides both technical and real world help in a timely manner. And, Community Suite is constantly working on upgrades, some suggested by users, that make it a real world tool for success.

CONS

An area for improvement, which is being mitigated by Community Suite's communication that changes are in process, would be in traditional financial reporting i.e., having a financial report that looks like financial statements. Such reports can be made currently but they lose some of the functionality that makes Community Suite so powerful. To be clear, all the information is available but I find myself using Excel more than I would like. I expect that these concerns to be addressed in the next few quarters.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

I was not involved in the decision but I am told that the prior product was dated with decreasing customer support.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of ComunitySuite Bill! We are happy to see that your entire organization can use the same platform for grantmaking, accounting, and customer relationship management. We're also glad to see you're happy with Foundant's constant upgrades!

Replied April 2021

Alicia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

CommunitySuite is a lifesaver

Before migrating to CommunitySuite, my organization had to use two separate solutions - a fund accounting software and a CRM software - and staff had to duplicate work to get data out of and in to each system. The fund accounting software was antiquated and not user friendly, and the CRM software was great for donor management but terrible for accounting. Plus, the customer service was impersonal and not always helpful. CommunitySuite brings it all together in one package, which has streamlined our operations and allowed staff to spend more time on more productive tasks and projects. And, we feel like we personally know the folks at Foundant and can rely on them anytime for anything. We are planning to eventually purchase two other solutions that Foundant Technologies offers to have complete integration of our operations.

PROS

Fund accounting is unique even by accounting standards. Using other solutions that weren't made to do what we needed them to in order to cobble together our operations was a nightmare. CommunitySuite brings it all together in one easy-to-use solution that is constantly being improved - and they take customer feedback to heart when making improvements. Additionally, the personalized training and the absolutely stellar customer service Foundant Technologies provides, coupled with the opportunities to meet and work with their team one-on-one, makes purchasing CommunitySuite a no-brainer!

CONS

CommunitySuite is great for fund accounting, but it's lacking a little on the CRM side. It works, but not as well as some other solutions (but those solutions don't have the robust fund accounting capabilities, which was the priority for my organization). However, Foundant Technologies is constantly working to make improvements on the CRM side, and I am confident that it will only get better and better!

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

It was pretty clear early on that no other solution could provide what CommunitySuite does, so to us there really was no choice!

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

FIMS was completely antiquated and not user-friendly (and was about to cease being supported), and Raiser's Edge could not provide us with the accounting solution we needed. And using two systems was inefficient and ineffective!

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of CommunitySuite Alicia! We're glad you've enjoyed our solution and that you're happy with our continuous improvements.

Replied April 2021

Courtney

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Community Suite Lite for the Win!

Overall it has been a great experience and we are very satisfied. There is not another vendor on the market right now that we could consider!

PROS

This software is intuitive. I came into my role with zero training. Our foundation was in the process of switching from FIMS to Foundant. I am so grateful they decided to make this change. I had to do very little work in FIMS before we were up in running in Foundant. With no one to help me, FIMS was so hard to navigate and understand. I immediately felt comfortable in Foundant and through their available online trainings easily taught myself the program.

CONS

My one complaint with the program is financial statements. They are great within the software, but when it comes to preparing reports for donors or board meetings I have not found a style I like. I have made my own in Excel for the time being. It's not that they do not have the capability to do reports; it's the look of them that I do not like.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Courtney! We are happy to know that the CommunitySuite training videos were helpful for you!

Replied February 2022

Tami

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Instant Friends

CS has a robust reports feature that has helped make my job as director much easier.

PROS

The product is amazing and the company is always open to ideas that could make it even better. I was seriously impressed with the training process. BEFORE we could begin to implement, we HAD to go through a series of training modules that introduced all facets of the software. What a great way to make sure that we were aware of everything available on our new purchase. So many times, I've worked with software that may have had capabilities that we were unaware of. Not so with Foundant's products. You do your homework before you implement so you KNOW what it can do. Great way to get all of us on the same page! And, the people who work for this company are top notch, down-to-earth, very wonderful people. You gotta love people who feature their dogs on their calendar!

CONS

I truly don't have anything that I view negatively with the software.

Reason for choosing CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

I had my entire office look at it once we narrowed it down. It exceeded our expectations once we started really digging into its capabilities. It was cloud-based, it was intuitive, the support staff seemed so eager to help.

Reasons for switching to CommunitySuite Fund Accounting

Pearl was an extremely glitchy Access-based software that was difficult to use, was not user friendly. It was difficult to correct mistakes and creating reports required help from a Help Desk.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Tami! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Grant Lifecycle Manager onboarding process and that you've enjoyed working with us!

Replied April 2021

Debbie

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT