All Denali Fund Reviews

1-25 of 59 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Abdelati

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

The strongest product in good work, unparalleled..!

Through work and my great desire for this product, it can be the most powerful program for working in the best financial and mathematical conditions, as well as facilitation.

PROS

The product is characterized by accuracy in work and correcting financial matters in order to produce positive results.

CONS

This program cannot be said about anything except that it is amazing in its work and unparalleled.

Janice

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Great Product

Overall I like using Denali Fund. It allows my company to smoothly carry out our accounting processes - everything from accounts payables to generating annual W-2s.

PROS

We use payroll, general ledger, and accounts payables modules. They are paramount in keeping our accounting department organized. The software is relatively easy to use and allows us to keep track of our daily accounting processes.

CONS

Sometimes it's hard to correct an issue such as future dates in the Accounts Payable module.

Reason for choosing Denali Fund

Denali Fund allowed for more functionality for my company.

David

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2016

Fund accounting and Cougar Mtn. customer service

The thing that frustrates me the most about your program with the issues it does have is not the program. It is the customer service as it pertains to how you justify your billing me. Recently I had an issue with the payroll module and sent information in to be reviewed. This turned into a 2-hour phone call that cost me. The instructions in your help and field names is misleading. So misleading that the rep and I couldn't figure out what was going on during that 2-hour phone call. I finally figured it out and sent a follow-up email to you guys. What I got was a wasted two hours and a bill on my training hours. Not happy at all as well when it cost me to point out errors when your system has errors in it, like the new drill down report in the Audit Trail, and I get billed for it. Do not only do I get billed for something that wasn't even clear to Kevin. I get billed for pointing out calculation problems with your program. Why should I get billed for bringing things up that are incorrect in the way your program works or process errors that your staff can't point out? I am not happy with the end result of your customer service! Those who help me are great in the eagerness to help, but those who make the real customer service calls on the billing I am very disappointed in their decisions. So much so... I would warn any prospective client of yours to beware. You do not seem to be able to take ownership of your issues. You pass them on to your customers.

PROS

I like how it allocates. But I hate it that once in the system, the system treats every transaction in the allocation as a separate transaction instead of an allocation.

CONS

The accounting program has to be accurate and data usable. I have found problems in your program and was told it that it was not meant to be used as an auditing tool. My response is it should be accurate! It is an accounting program. On the data useful side, it is not as useful as your sales staff made it out to be for FUND accounting. To get our billing out last month I had to sort through 40 pages of transactions and do hand calculations to meet the requirements of our fund managers. I get to do that again this month. Makes me wonder how this is supposed to be a program that is for FUND accounting. Yes, your company is aware of my frustration here and the kind of reporting is needed.

Dennis

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Complete Package

Our experience as been excellent for the start to going live.

PROS

Ease of use, software is designed to support GAAP and Accounting Standard for all companies.

CONS

More standard report for non profits would help.

Reasons for switching to Denali Fund

Out of date and they trying to switch users for the bad online version. Online version is incomplete.

Jodi

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Denali Fund

Overall the software works well for us. I rarely have issues but when I do tech support is great and relatively quick to respond.

PROS

The software is relatively easy to use. It can easily accommodate very large charts of accounts. The PR module supports all the state and federal reports with the option to file your own reports and has the availability to use the system's vendors to file the reports for you. I use both for various reports and it's a great value.

CONS

There is no way to correct descriptions of transactions in any module if you make an error. In the AP module, when voiding checks, the system shows the voided transaction as still being payable to that vendor. There really isn't any support for questions that arise when creating your own customized reports.

Reasons for switching to Denali Fund

We switched to be able to accommodate current options like direct deposit, laser printing, etc.

Sue

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

The Wonders of Denali

Overall my experience with Denali Fund has been exceptional! Like I stated before, it is probably the most user friendly system that I have experienced.

PROS

This is a very easy to use system. The product is very reasonably priced. The integration from this system to outside electronic time keeping systems is very easy and effective and can be done without a lot of time used. The customer service is top notch and very helpful. They respond quickly and are very eager to explain their process and help with any problem that you may have. Again, this is one of the easiest to learn and use systems that I have had the experience to use.

CONS

The budget part of the general ledger module could be easier to enter data and set up.

Elena

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

CM for Bethany Theological Seminary

It has ups and downs, the remote app keeps crashing due to firewall issues. It has some processes that are overcomplicated. It doesn't interact with other websites, apps or programs.However, we managed to streamline some of the processes, and bank reconciliation is very helpful.

PROS

Bank Reconciliation and General Ledger reports and functions, easy Revenue over Expense and Audit Trail reports

CONS

Cumbersome AP process for multiple invoices to one vendor, billing to the student body, no credit card processing.

Reason for choosing Denali Fund

We didn't have other options

Lezah

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Denali Fund Accounting is accurate

Denali Fund Accounting is very accurate. I rarely have a software issue. I have been using this product over 20 years. I have used other Fund accounting programs and have come back to Denali. It is straight forward and easy to use. It does not have tons of bells and whistles, but it is reliable and accurate. The program works. I use GL, AP, BR and Payroll modules. They integrate well together. You can have custom reports built for your specific use. I like their CD service for upgrades.

PROS

It is accurate. Easy to use. I trust the software . My reports are accurate.

CONS

Sometimes you cannot print in a module by using "Ctrl P

Debbie

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Town of Cheyenne Wells Denali Fund Use

Having used Cougar since 1996 which changed to Denali Fund. I have appreciated tranistion style the fund has when it came to change the software image and features was easily grasped by myself. This software is user friendly and I have enjoyed working with the support system. [sensitive content hidden] has been amazing help on this.

PROS

I love the AP, PR, BR, and GL features they can be tailored in the detail one needs for their operation.

CONS

The batch numbering system. I would like to taylor that to the Town's number way.

Denise

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Denali Fund Accounting

Gets the job done.

PROS

This is the only accounting software I have ever used outside of QuickBooks.

CONS

It is not the most user friendly. It is a more robust type of accounting software. To correct a GL it takes another complete entry and all of those transactions show up in the audit trail reports, which can be cumbersome.

Reason for choosing Denali Fund

We were using Cougar Mountain Fund Accounting and that aged out.

Christy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Good software Great customer service

PROS

I like the software and the customer service has always been very helpful.

CONS

I don't like that when you search something you can't just search by name, when you write a check you can't just type a name you have to actually look them up. If you put something in the GL it doesn't flow to other modules but everything flows to GL. The product could be a little more user friendly.

Reasons for switching to Denali Fund

The other software could not do the things Cougar can.

Melissa

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Denali Fund Input!

PROS

I like that it is web based and the ability to work from home at times.

CONS

Wished that you could have parameters for running Client statements so that they don't have to see all the past invoices and payments that they made throughout the year. The only way to get around it is to purge and sometimes that is time consuming because if a client has an outstand balance we don't want to loose the information so we purge 1 client at a time instead of bulk.

Mary

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Support is Wonderful

Reporting is always a big problem. With Denali FUND we are able to export into files that import easily into Excel and then we can produce reports that make sense for our municipality.

PROS

The support has been fantastic. From implementation to ongoing use, all we have to do is call for help. We almost always get an answer within an hour.

CONS

Payroll setup felt cumbersome but in the long run, the setup was worth it. We now get reports with each payroll that split taxes between departments.

Uvalde

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Denali Fund General Ledger

Very Pleased - I could not do my work without it!

PROS

Denali is very easy to use, and it produces great results. The software works in a way that my auditors like. I can't post a transaction unless it balances.

CONS

A little difficult to export data, but the technical people at Denali helped me work through the process. The help guides are not detailed enough to make up for inability to understand.

Reasons for switching to Denali Fund

My auditor said my old software was not strong enough to handle the volume and complexity of the work that I was doing.

Mary

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2016

Pro vs. Denali

We have been customers for about 15 years. The transition to Denali was very unacceptable. The Denali software was more of a beta version that was rolled out. The software had way too many glitches that needed to be "worked around" as opposed to resolved. Even though we are "comfortable" with using Denali, there are still new errors that take a while for the patches to be released on. Customer service has always been accommodating and the staff is great.

CONS

Not web-based. Only one person to do customized reports. Patches take too long to roll out.

Wendy

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

The staff are very helpful.

PROS

I like that it intrgrates with the other modules or that you can use each module individually. I am interested in how the payment process will work with our desk top in the sales module.

CONS

It is a bit more costly then our other software was I do not like that I cannot take a debit payment and have it integrate directly with Denali. We use Moneris and I do not know what we could use that would do that.

Kim

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Denali Fund Cost Effective for Small Municipalities

We have used Cougar Mountain for many years and Denali FUND since its inception. Cougar Mountain is very open to feedback and suggested improvements. Their customer support is terrific!

PROS

We get full functionality for our small town government office at a cost we can afford.

CONS

Lack of regional training. Thankfully, it is very user friendly and the HELP features are effective.

Georgina

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: