All Donorbox Reviews

1-25 of 238 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Pam

2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2022

Can't get along without Donorbox!

User Profile

Zach

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

NGO Donation Platform

It has been good. We have used since 2018 and they have rolled out more and more features. It has accomplished the couple things we needed it to do successfully. Beautiful forms that are customizable. I didn't see need for use of WP plugin even though we use wordpress, it didn't really add much there.

PROS

We loved giving donors the ability to login to recurring gift management. It also allows donor to cover processing fees (and they use it if it's there!).

CONS

Still being developed out dashboard. I've been wanting to see on receipt how much donor paid (like a split) of donation fees. Not able to do that yet.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

Pricing at the time.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

Better forms.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback! We'll be sure to share this with our product team. If you ever need our help or have any ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied April 2021

James

Broadcast Media, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2023

Useful Tool, Could Use Some Improvement

Im glad i chose it and we will continue to use it but I hope they will continue to refine the important features. The extremely qualified customer service department is super helpful, and able to operate by email which is important to me as I am hard of hearing.

PROS

Its very easy to establish and distribute a fundraiser, and the html codes are user friendly even to a novice. The customer support by email is superb.

CONS

Many features are buried in menus, there are not enough customization options, the banking and payment aspect is a bit muddy.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

these others have serious glitches and meta refuses after years and much correspondence to add us to their nonprofit list so we need to go with a company that supports small nonprofits if only through functionality and communication.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

research told us donor box might be better for nonprofits

Robert

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2020

SSEL

PROS

Integration with current donor tracking tool Automated contribution notification.

CONS

Limited in features to be fully functional with more current needs

Vendor Response

Hi Robert! Thank you so much for your review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback. We would love to learn your thoughts on specific features that you would like to see in Donorbox. Please feel free to reach out to us at https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We are always open to chatting about features that are important to you. It would be great to hear from you!

Replied April 2020

David

Fund-Raising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Trustworthy and simple

DonorBox has been instrumental in increasing our fundraising donor base and cash flow.

PROS

It was easy to set up and is trusted by our customer base.

CONS

I really haven't found a downside. There was a learning curve setting things up but it wasn't insurmountable. We have multiple forms now.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

Because first, DonorBox came so highly recommended. Then, when our monthly revenue was below a certain amount there was no charge for the DonorBox services.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

DonorBox is much less cumbersome and easier to use. PayPal doesn't allow automatic deductions.

Vendor Response

Hi, David! Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. If you ever need our help or have any ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied July 2020

Lyndsay

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Love the Ease of Use

PROS

Easy to customize. Love that donors are able to cover the fees.

CONS

I wish I didn't have to go to a separate PayPal or Stripe page to check on donations.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

Ease of use and recommended by website designer.

Vendor Response

Hi Lyndsay! Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. We do understand that it would certainly be more convenient to check your donations directly within the Donorbox dashboard. Thanks for the suggestion! If you ever need our help or have any more ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied April 2020

Kathy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

An outstanding, creative and easy platform to grow funding, donors and engagement!

Do the fox gave me an easy, fast, creative solution to setting up online donations quickly and easily, managing my donors, giving great ways and tools to grow my donors and revenue, give great tools to expand online reach, give great ideas about peer to peer fundraising, and overall how to grow and expand my online revenue, campaigns, and engagement so I can have maximum impact

PROS

It’s so easy to set up what is otherwise a complex set of functions to engage donors, engage your audience, manage campaigns, set up all types of giving options, and give you lots of great ideas at the same time to keep growing and engaging!

CONS

Keep more videos on how to keep growing and engaging online company! Keep the customer support as fast and knowledgeable as it currently is!

Reason for choosing Donorbox

Slow to respond to initial inquiry, more difficult and clumsy to set up, not as professional looking, not as clear as to how to integrate into existing web site

Brian

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Simple, Easy, Intuitive, Cost-Effective

Donorbox has allowed us to seamlessly integrate the giving into our accounting system and even has the option to integrate into the donor system should we choose that route. It makes the flow very simple and less time consuming for a small non-profit.

PROS

This software is very simple to setup and integrate into a website to accept donations. The options included to create giving buttons or categories are intuitive and easy to use.

CONS

I had to read several of the help files of how to make the connection between Donorbox, Stripe, and our bank account to accept ACH payments. However, it worked well. We have had a couple of donors who wanted to give by ACH, but could not find their bank in the stripe / plaid system. That was unfortunate, but hopefully they will find another option to give.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

The simplicity and low cost was why we ultimately chose Donorbox.

Vendor Response

Hi, Brian! Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we'll work on improving our info about how Donorbox works. We're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. If you ever need our help or have any ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied July 2020

Jacque

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Best Choice| Best Price | Easy to Use

PROS

As a nonprofit, DonorBox is the best choice for my organization. It checked all the boxes and makes my accepting donations, designing the donor form, providing auto-generated receipts, and record keeping, a seamless process. As a start-up, this frees up so much time to devote to running the programs.

CONS

No issues at all so this far. Donorbox offers other features I will incorporate in the near future as we grow.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

Donorbox allows me to use Stripe, PayPal, and Venmo at the same time, which ultimately gives my donors more options to give.

Prisca

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Great experience with Donorbox

It's great having a donation form we can just embed into the website. It makes monthly donations so much easier, as well as tracking donors.

PROS

I really appreciated the ease of setup along with the variety of features offered. I am not super tech savvy, but even I was able to configure our campaign easily. I only remember having one question about set up, which customer support resolved for me quickly and helpfully. One of my favorite things about Donorbox is that they allow the donor to cover processing fees.

CONS

I can't think of anything off the top of my head.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

It is inexpensiveIt allows donors to cover processing feesIt integrates with Stripe

Anubhav

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great platform for crowdfunding

PROS

The UI of donorbox is very user friendly. It is very easy to start a campaign and link it to a payment gateway. Even as a donor it is quite easy to understand the campaign and then donate using one of the several available payment options.

CONS

Only Stripe and PayPal are supported payment gateways. While these are largely popular, not every country is supported by them.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

GoFundMe is supported only in certain countries

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. If you ever need our help or have any ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied May 2021

Lauren

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Donorbox's Customer Service Sets Them Apart

Overall, I would definitely recommend this product. Donorbox has helped my organization raise lots of money with their simple and easy to use platform.

PROS

Donorbox is a newer, free platform for allowing donors of your nonprofit to make a gift to your organization. By far, the best thing about them is their customer service. If you or your donor(s) has an issue, you submit a ticket through email and they get back to you generally within one hour. They then work quickly with you to solve whatever problem you're having. They have sent out surveys to clients and asked what features we would like to see added.

CONS

Donorbox has a login system for recurring donors, but none for donors who make a single gift or are regular givers. It would be great if that feature was included, as other companies that offer this type of service have. It would allow my organization to be more efficient and timely in other things we have to do.

Vendor Response

Hi there! Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. If you ever need our help or have any suggestions on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied November 2019

Rudy

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Donorbox is great for our small non-profit

Outstanding; I get much better than I deserve with Donorbox.

PROS

I like how easy it is to set up forms. I am happy with their rates. I really appreciate the webinars they produce, so I can learn more. Really, I wonder why they do so many nice things for their customers; they are charitable to charities!

CONS

Donorbox does all I want it to; I'm sure it does other cool things, but I don't need those things and I'm very happy with the service.

Reasons for switching to Donorbox

Because OSV was unattractive, uninviting, hard for donors to figure out (and you want it to be easy for people to make contributions), hard for me to figure out, and their reports were awful. I made the switch just a few years (maybe 3) into my time in this job and I didn't bring any experience in the field to this job; but even my neophyte self recognized we needed a far better system than the one we had. Donorbox was a MAJOR improvement.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Donor box review

Even if text-to-give is not yet an option, I'd still recommend Donorbox over other donation systems. It's rare, from my research, to get this much of functionality, simplicity, safety, and speed for so little financial investment.

PROS

Really appreciate that Donorbox is so simple to use and so affordable. It's very helpful to have the option of suggested donation amounts as well - since starting to suggest amounts to our donors we've noticed an increase in donations! Really value the integrations with Salesforce and Mailchimp as well. This has allowed us greater functionality while keeping the cost of a donation system low.

CONS

There are many great things about Donorbox that I thoroughly enjoy. However, a built-in text-to-give technology would really take it to the next level.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! It¿s always great to hear that we¿ve helping our customers be more productive and successful. You¿ll be happy to know that we¿ve actually already started plans for a text-to-give feature. As soon as it¿s ready, we¿ll be sure to let you know. We¿re always working to make Donorbox better, so your feedback is really helpful and much appreciated. If you have any other ideas or features that you¿d like to see, please feel free to let us know. We wish you all the best with your fundraising efforts.

Replied November 2018

Gerben

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Donorbox: the right choice for nonprofits

We really enjoy using Donorbox for fund raising. The support is very good. Each question we had was answered very swift. Great product and a great team. Recommended!

PROS

This products is very easy to implement. We've got it ready in a few hours. It is easy to use, adjustable to your specific requirements. Connected to Stripe Payments nonprofit as we are can get a deduction of fees which makes it more attractive. We have integrated it in our Weebly website as our own page so people do not even notice we use Donorbox. It has all the features we need as a nonprofit trust and even more than we use.

CONS

One thing we would really like to see as a new feature: the possibility to have check boxes for choosing goals and give visitors the option to give money for each goal. Currently a visitor can only pick one goal and donate for that goal.

Vendor Response

Hi, Gerben! Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. We've taken note of your suggestions for more functionality around goals - thank you for that! If you ever need our help or have any ideas on other features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied October 2020

Traci

Political Organization, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Fast deployment!

Donorbox enabled the organization to quickly accept online donor contributions.

PROS

The ability to add questions on donor form to capture required donor information for campaign finance reporting, the goal meter, and ease of integrating with website. I used Donorbox once before last year and had some memory of how it worked. I was able to get the organization setup to accept donations online in 2 days. Support staff responding promptly to inquiries by directing me to available resources.

CONS

Adding questions wasn't intuitive, it took trial and error. Also, as the organizations treasurer and not a website developer, deciding on how best to integrate with the organization's website was confusing. I had to get the process up and running very quickly so admit I didn't spend alot of time exploring Donorbox user resources. It would be helpful if there was Donorbox for Dummies for people, like myself, not on social media, not a website developer, and new to fundraising to get the big picture of how various products are integrated and for what purpose. Thank you.

Reason for choosing Donorbox

I was familiar with Donorbox and had to act quickly so didn't have the luxury of time to shop around.

Emily

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

User Friendly Software

I appreciate how easy it is to work with Donorbox and that they genuinely care about their customers.

PROS

I appreciate that I can log in easily to check on donor accounts. The setup is user friendly and easy to make changes to.

CONS

I can't think of any cons at this time because Donorbox has served us well for what we need and we have not had problems that I am aware of.

Vendor Response

Hi Emily Thank you so much for your awesome review of Donorbox! We really appreciate your feedback and we're thrilled that you're enjoying your experience with us. If you ever need our help or have any ideas on features you'd like to see, please feel free to contact us on https://donorbox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We'd love to hear from you!

Replied April 2020

Chuck

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Great Software and Simple to Use

We have a non profit website and have run various fundraising projects from our site and Donorbox makes it super easy to set up custom donation campaigns and take payments. We use Wix as our website and it was very easy to set up on our site. Also, Donorbox makes it very easy to connect with our payment processor (Strype). In short, donorbox is awesome and critical to enabling us to take donations on our website.

PROS

Very easy to set up, manage and create donation capabilities on my website. Also, super easy integrations with my third party payment processor. I also like the data and reporting. I can see all of my donors, their status, their history, etc.

CONS

I would like to see some improvements to email capabilities. Emails are easy to set-up, use and execute but they are pretty generic. Would love to have some template options to chose from.

Jesse

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY