All DonorSnap Reviews

1-25 of 358 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Tara

1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed August 2022

Great database for small nonprofit!

User Profile

Katelynne

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great Donor Management Platform

I found DonorSnap to be extremely user-friendly. There are many resources to learn the system. You can do a lot with the system, and it is fairly customizable to meet the needs of the organization and even individual users. On the rare occasions that I've run into issues, customer service has been extremely helpful and prompt in responding.

PROS

Easy to use, plenty of resources to learn more, excellent customer service, impressive amount of features

CONS

I honestly can't think of anything. Whenever I have had a problem, customer service promptly addressed it. Even features I wished existed are in the design process.

Kim

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great Support!

Donorsnap has worked well for our organization. The team at Donorsnap goes above and beyond to make sure we are successful!

PROS

The software is easy to use and pretty comprehensive in all its features. If we ever have a question or need help with a feature, support responds very quickly! We appreciate having access to the app, we can access contact information from anywhere.

CONS

There is nothing we do not like about Donorsnap.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Cost, ease of use, seemed like the right size product for our business.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

The version of software we had was very antiquated and difficult to use. The upgraded software they offered did not have fundraising features.

Cass

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2021

Great basics, but communucation tools lacking or are too generic

Sales, data transfer, and workshops have been good. I feel like the staff does its best to fully answer questions and solve problems. But with the overall limitations of the communications functions, there's only so much they can do.

PROS

The client database is straightforward and easy to use. The fields are intuitive and you can adapt or add per your own needs. Screen layout when searching can be tough because of long rows but pulling up individual contacts is easy. I love that you can copy data right from the viewing screen without having to open the editable contact. The help features are user friendly and usually address the most common problems. I like that there are videos as well as written materials on various topics.

CONS

The communication tools are sorely lacking. Email, letters, and forms are way too basic and challenging to edit. There does not seem to be a feature allowing you to change line spacing within a form or in the Automated Task Manager. In addition, I had to keep canceling the project and restarting because after one attempt to edit an ATM task, the system won't let you make additional edits. You have to start over. The emails come out looking like you emailed directly from your email provider. You are limited to one image insert, they are hard to edit, and you cannot add a form directly into the email. I have yet to send out an email from DonorSnap because it looks so pedestrian and ... boring. We are still using MailChimp for its visual features, which of course defeats the purpose. The forms are "okay" but come out looking like a child made them. Totally lackluster, but functional. I'll be honest: I am embarrassed to send out communications and put the forms on our website. If we leave DonorSnap for another product, it will because of the generic communication tools. The query tools used in creating tasks are not intuitive. If it weren't for the help videos I would never be able to implement these.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Low monthly cost and lack of donor mining tools that we didn't need.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Needed more management functionality and communication tools.

Vendor Response

Hi Cass, Thank you for your review. We are always working on ways to improve DonorSnap and appreciate your feedback. We understand that dedicated email tools like MailChimp have polished template builders, and for that reason we provide an integration with Constant Contact for organizations needing those services. The DonorSnap email tools are aimed at providing easy access to mass emailing and automation for all organizations. With some html experience or a third party html email template builder, you can build the same types of emails in DonorSnap. In the future we hope to add similar template builders as well. For more specific help with your emails and forms, please contact us at support@donorsnap.com. We will show you how to edit your emails, adjust line spacing, add multiple images, and insert links to your forms directly in your emails. If you need other types of customization in your forms, please let us know what you're looking for and we'll be happy to help.

Replied February 2021

Reggie

Public Safety, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Paris Landing Volunteer Fire Dept. Review

Great experience, I have spoken with [sensitive content hidden] himself on several occasions. He always has time to talk, even though I'm sure he is very busy. The Training staff are great and will help you one on one if needed to solve any issues. Overall a great experience.

PROS

Easy to setup and get started. [sensitive content hidden] and his team are 2nd to none with support and training. They have made many improvements and added additional options since we have been with them and the price remains unchanged. Fantastic! The most helpful addition for us was to implement the Responsive Forms which allowed us to begin receiving donations online through our website. I highly recommend DonorSnap to anyone needing a donation/membership tracking program.

CONS

Needs an app for Android, which would be very helpful to us.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Ease of use, better value, customization options

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Gift works was expensive and their support was basically non existent. I would some times wait for days and weeks for an answer and they didn't seem to care about my issues.

Ashley

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Use for a small but very busy neighborhood senior services organization

We've used the software for about three years now, and we've found that DonorSnap's focus is on functionality, which we appreciate. Though they gave it a makeover fairly recently, it wasn't one of those software makeovers that just makes it look more modern while removing functionality (my personal pet peeve). They add new features pretty regularly and provide clear and easily accessed training for them. The pricing structure is frozen in place, so no worries about it suddenly blowing up your small organization's budget.

PROS

Our favorite features are responsive forms and mass email campaigns. DonorSnap seems hard to learn, but you get the hang of it pretty quickly. It's a great balance of having a basic ready-to-go template in place with a lot of ways to customize it for your org's needs. The support team is pretty responsive over email when you need them. We also pay less than half of what we used to pay for a different CRM that didn't give us nearly as many features. The fact that DS is web-based came in handy during the Covid pivot to work-from-home.

CONS

There are a number of minor software bugs (that have fairly easy workarounds once you remember that they're there).

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Giftworks created more problems than it solved, had few usable features, and was expensive; we had nothing to lose.

Stevi

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Dedicated to DonorSnap

Love it, very happy with it.

PROS

There are so many things about DonorSnap to applaud. I love how we are able to keep track of every donation and I love all of the fund development analysis reports that are available. The customizable reports has been essential for me to compile all kinds of data, from volunteer hours to fundraising data and even our newsletter list.

CONS

The only issue I have sometimes is with the acknowledgement letters. I format multiple letters for this system, and for some reason sometimes getting the formatting right is a struggle because I will end up with a logo on the 2nd page or a page gets cut off. I have always been able to mess with the word document and fix it, but sometimes I don't know exactly why it is doing what it does and just have to try different things.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Our Microsoft access database was built over 15 years ago and it was just kind of dated. We loved the idea of also switching to something that was cloud based. And actually it ended up really working out because we switched just before COVID happened and switching to a cloud based solution allowed many of us in the office to be able to look things up or do work directly from home.

Katherine

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Donor Management and so much more

We are still only accessing a fraction of the options with DonorSnap but the amount of time we have saved by using the system on completing donor management and business tasks is already very high. The responsive forms have also allowed us to add additional revenue streams by offering a simplified way of collecting a variety of data as well as payments.

PROS

We have a some unique events and revenue streams and DonorSnap has allowed me to customize whatever was needed to get the data we needed. Excellent customer service! They respond quickly and are always helpful in brainstorming as well when I am trying to tweak something to fit our specific needs. Many DonorSnap features have either simplified tasks I was already doing or led me to new ideas that were very helpful. The tutorials are excellent and I use those often when training new staff. Another big Pro is the ability to have separate users with different permissions if needed. The excel import function is another great feature.

CONS

Split donations and acknowledgement letters sometimes require work arounds but overall has not been a significant issue. Many settings such as screen layouts you can format and keep, would be nice if you could have a default on lines per page you could view instead of having to click to change that.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Customization features biggest reason. Separate user login abilities and price point fit our budget better too.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Spreadsheets tracking so much information was very tedious. We often had to drop information that would be helpful just for efficiency. DonorSnap lets me track as much or as little info as needed.

Catherine

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Well worth the price tag

Easy and seamless because I tried to learn and conceptualized how each field in Donorsnap work first before mapping fields from the old system. Conversion and support team were very helpful and prompt in responding to issues.

PROS

Very inexpensive but can do all the basic functionalities for advancement day to day operations. Batch entry is so easy once you understand how it works. Query, reporting and exporting custom reports is very user friendly. As with all other systems, a software is only capable to it’s fullest potential if you understand how the various modules within the system work together. Training and support is crucial and their customer support is hands-on one of the best.!

CONS

The standard reports work for the most part but I wish it gives us much more flexibility. It also limits selection of fields based on active fields/codes which means that you’ll have to basically leave all codes - old and new - for the report to work accurately. This means for example that if you inactivate a Campaign code from 2 or 3 years ago, you are not able to run revenue from those codes unless you reactivate them. This is a nightmare for admins from a table code management point. The design of the standard reports need to be improved as well to look presentable especially when executives ask for last minute reporting and you know how often that happens.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Pricing. This is a very small organization and Donorsnap provided everything they need for a very, very reasonable price.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Financial decision

Vendor Response

Hi Catherine, Thank you for your review and feedback regarding the standard reports. We're currently working on improving these canned reports to offer additional functionality. If you have more specific reporting needs in addition to including inactivated campaign codes, please let our support team know so that we can work towards making that happen. Thank you again for your review!

Replied February 2021

Teresa

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Great Product

We are able to keep everything, donors, contacts, donations, correspondence organized, and create reports when needed. Tech support is knowledgeable and always there when needed. Being able to adjust and manipulate the layout and add or take away what works for the organization is wonderful, it's like building your own personal database, and you can't beat the price.

PROS

Excellent for keeping track of donations, contact information, and correspondence with donors. It is user-friendly for the most part, but easy access to the instructional videos really helps when needed.

CONS

It would be nice to be able to contact support by phone, but all in all the support with DonorSnap is very helpful and responds to inquiries very quickly via email. I would really love it if the database was able to integrate with PayPal so I wouldn't have to enter each donation individually, or worry that another user might miss a donation entry or detail. Reports could be a little more user-friendly to create.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

The ability to adjust the pages of the database and was more geared toward donors and non-profits, and the price.

Vendor Response

Hi Teresa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying DonorSnap and finding it user friendly. While we don't integrate with PayPal, users who collect online donations with PalPal can easily upload these into DonorSnap using our excel import tool. Here you can find out how to use this feature: https://donorsnap.com/support/docs/mass-entry/?seq_no=3 I also wanted to let you know that we do accept online donations through goEmerchant and our responsive forms. Switching over is easy and we recently did a webinar comparing the two systems. Please feel free to watch it if you are interested in switching over: https://donorsnap.com/support/docs/PayPal-vs-DonorSnap-for-Online-Donations-training-webinar/ Thank you again for your review and being a customer, we appreciate you!

Replied February 2021

Matthew

Recreational Facilities and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Donor Snap is the Aldi of CRM's--Everything you need without the facade

Overall awesome, I brag about it often with others in the field and I enjoy working within the software to create new forms, queries, reports, etc.

PROS

DonorSnap will allow you to do virtually anything. No extra fees or bundle packages, they just give you access to everything for considerably less money than some of the competitors we were looking at originally. They are simple and everything is fully customizable, especially the online forms that can be embedded into our website to collect contact data and payment information from our supporters. We run all of our trip payments, forms, signed waivers, and subscriptions through DonorSnap. We'll never go anywhere else, especially for $40/month, compared to $200+/month from other big software companies.

CONS

DonorSnap takes a little getting used to. It's very basic, no fun graphics or "wow" work here--just functional CRM software. The tech help is via email only, so you cannot get an immediate answer, but at the same time, this is how they keep their overhead low and pass the savings onto the clients. If you are unwilling to watch some tutorials on form set-up then this is not for you; it will take some practice and getting used to as you learn the software.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Cost and functionality. I didn't mind less bells and whistles for more product and functionality.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

I couldn't get the features I wanted without paying extra off the base price which was way out of my price-range anyway. DonorSnap solved my problems for way less money.

Fran

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2021

Donor Snap Review

It is good but it is a challenge to do the integration with constant contact and our fundraising platform qgiv

PROS

It is easy to use This is not working

CONS

We need help with integrating constant contact with it. It is not always easy to get assistance- there is no Volunteer feature

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Donor Perfect was VERY EXPENSIVE and did not offer anything special

Vendor Response

Hi Fran, Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you are having issues integrating with Constant Contact. Below you will find a link with instructions on integration with Constant Contact, but if you need additional assistance please contact support. Our support team can be reached M-F from 8am - 6pm and someone would be more than happy to help you. Once integrated you can easily create and save mailing lists in DataMinter platinum and send the segmented lists straight to Constant Contact where you will build your email. Thank you again for your feedback and please don't hesitate to contact support if you have any additional concerns. https://donorsnap.com/support/docs/constant-contact/?seq_no=2

Replied February 2021

Luci

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

DonorSnap is an invaluable software with an affordable price tag.

I have been using DonorSnap for five years. The software was easy to learn. Having all our donor demographic and donation history in one place is great and can be accessed from anywhere. We are able to process thank you letters directly through DonorSnap. The software has multiple reports available and the capability to create your own reports if needed. There are some features of DonorSnap such as the integration with Constant Contact and Quickbooks that we have yet to utilize.

PROS

DonorSnap is a very user-friendly software, easy to use and master. There are weekly online trainings offered for those who need a little help or refresher.

CONS

What's there to complain about. . .the font size could be larger, that's about it.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

The switch to DonorSnap was made before I started but I was told it was not an easy software to maneuver, not user-friendly.

Jeffery

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Easy, intuitive, superb tutorials and help provided

We have used DonorSnap for about a decade. Switching over was quick, easy, and fun. Immediately, you can plan what new fields you are going to add and edit. Improvements in the overall system are regularly made, with no extra costs. There are no fees on top of your monthly payment. It has saved tens of thousands of dollars in payroll costs, because no one has to build or maintain the overall database - it is already done for you. Of course, you have to personalize it for your organization, but it is so easy. Previous databases cost so much more, because you had to keep paying for their updates, and for each user and/or computer. And, we can't state strongly enough, how great the Support is at DonorSnap. Your questions will be answered. DonorSnap can be accessed by any device - my Mac, my iPhone, etc.

PROS

Extraordinarily easy to learn and use, even for lower skilled individuals. Provides reports appropriate to nonprofits, and easy to create and edit your own reports. Powerful search and report tools. Saves time because you are hitting the ground running, with pre-built reports and functionality, all you have to do is edit and add items to suit your own needs. Super intuitive, company is super quick to respond, if you need help.

CONS

There are no negatives to using DonorSnap.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

It seemed far superior to our database at that time, it seemed far superior to the others we researched, several consultants recommended it, and DonorSnap offered a free trial to play around with it. That sealed the deal.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

They were expensive, we had to pay for multiple users, we were always being charged for updates, staff members had to create and maintain the overall structure of the database, searches were not powerful enough, we were limited in the number of fields we could have, and the support/help was horrible if you could even get someone to call you back.

Cory

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

Donorsnap Review

Overall, I really enjoy using Donorsnap. I log into it almost every day. The main reason why I like it: customer service. By far, Donorsnap has the best customer service from any online service I've used. I am able to get into contact with a real human being very quickly and they always have been able to answer my questions very intelligently.

PROS

We like how fields can be highly customizable both with contacts and donations. Reports are very easy to retrieve. I also like the ease of batch codes and the documents/letters that I can customize and send.

CONS

We would LOVE "log ins" for our staff so they can see real time donations that only they have raised. This is not possible yet with DS. Also, event registrations don't work that well for us. We need the ability for a registrant to choose "quantity" (2 or more children going to camp for the same price, for example). Same issue if someone is purchasing 4 sweatshirts, for example. Also, we'd love use DS for ALL our contact management but it doesn't seem to work that way for us right now. We have donors, volunteers, paid staff, campers, the campers parents, board members, etc. If every paid staff, volunteer, board member could have a HIGHLY customizable log in to be able to see ONLY the information they have permissions for, would be super super wonderful. We've considered moving away from DS for this issue alone.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

Donorsnap was our original choice many years ago and I've seen it steadily improve. That is another reason why I like Donorsnap and have stayed, they listen to my feedback and are constantly improving their system. There are some functions we are in need of, which is why I've been considering switching to another provider. However, I keep holding out because the DS price is so good and I keep thinking DS will add the functions I need.

Curtis

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

A change well worth making!

From the moment we signed on with Donorsnap, we knew we had made the right decision. From the IT folks who helped us get our database transferred over, to the live and custom training, to our email and live online exchanges, it is not an overstatement to say we feel like we're part of the Donorsnap family. Very engaging, friendly, competent people that it's truly a pleasure to work with.

PROS

Donorsnap packs quite a punch for a 'simple to use' donor management software solution. It processes the routine day to day effortlessly with a great 'duplicate' function for similar-type donations, and has an interface for database queries that is accessible even to those without IT degrees. Very little external help is necessary (quite plug and play), but the support is lightning fast when you DO need it. Our first major fundraising effort since switching went seamlessly with our volunteers quickly getting up to speed with the user-friendly interfaces.

CONS

There are a lot of features that don't quite mesh up with how we have our Quickbooks set up, and the automatic interfaces (with goEmerchant, batch processing, tax statements etc. ) look like they would still require some intervention on my part in order to fully utilize, or changes to the way we currently track the donations. That being said, the functionality is there if I ever could devote the time to fully integrating and I can do what I need to do with modest efforts. Also there is a couple second delay whenever you go from one tab to another in the database, but it's barely a distraction.

Reason for choosing DonorSnap

The presentation and what we could get for a database of our size for a low annual fee made this choice a no-brainer. We had relatively simple needs, and everything we needed, we can do easily. Other products offered other potential bells and whistles (and, to be sure, Donorsnap has its fair share of those as well), but for what we needed, Donorsnap was a perfect fit!

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

Difficulties arose in our contract extension. It's sometimes difficult to contemplate making a move of this magnitude when your business gets 'set in its ways' but I never had one day of regret and the new software quickly became 'second nature' to me, and there are still many functions I haven't utilized.

Charlene

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Donor Snap review

I find entering donations into the system is with ease and very simple to run fundraising reports (outside of some Data Miner reports) or find information on donor.

PROS

I like the ease to enter a new donor or to record an existing donor's contribution. I love the merge letter feature as I often have many acknowledgment letters to send after inputting many donations. To run a report on various areas of a fundraiser helps me to narrow it down or be as broad as I want for the report. When we integrated to program many years ago, it went very well. The Customer Support is very helpful but at times it would be easier to communicate on phone rather than email.

CONS

I find the Data Miner reports difficult to set up to run with particular criteria. The support received has been helpful, but there are some reports that the customer support realizes don't report correctly and then have to create another report to compare. An example is if looking for a donor based on a mail code or attribute, but donor hasn't given monetarily, then the donor didn't show up on the report. The other area is when doing merge letters, the date is automatically entered, but there are times I want to post-date the letter. I can enter the new date, but once letter is completed to print, it defaults back to the current date.

Reasons for switching to DonorSnap

The product was closing and there would have been no customer support. We used Lifeline as a model to fine another product, and Donor Snap was very similar, so the transition was easy.

Valerie

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY