All DonorView Reviews

1-25 of 118 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Waldo

Broadcast Media, 51 - 200 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent CRM

Waldo

Broadcast Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Excellent CRM

Our overall experience with Donorview has been exceptional. Implementing the CRM as our first option and choice for a new office, we have not been disappointed. Brilliant product.

PROS

The user interface is really easy to navigate. The company support is excellent and all questions/training is dealt with in under 24 hours.

CONS

While there were initially some functionality missing, the Donorview team are constantly working in the background to improve their product. No cons currently.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

Looking for more user-friendly environment

Francesco

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Everything Non-Profits Need in one location

Our experience has been amazing. The support that everyone at DV gives to their clients is amazing and 100000000% better than what we received with the other software we were using.

PROS

We had Raiser's Edge prior to moving to Donorview. One of the things we like most is the ability to pull reports within seconds and with ease. Raiser's Edge was too complicated when it came to reports. DonorView makes it so simple.

CONS

The thing we like least about the software is the membership feature, but that has nothing to do with how good or bad it is, we just haven't had a reason to use that aspect yet so can't really comment on it beyond that.

Reason for choosing DonorView

We just liked it better.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

It was too clunky and I wanted something we could not just use as a donor database, but be able to use for event planning, taking donations, mass email and text marketing and auctions. When we looked into all the different platforms, DonorView did all that and since we are both located in Massachusetts, we felt like going with a local business.

Paul

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2018

A great concept but not ready for prime time

I'm not looking to switch away from DonorView, simply because it's better than the patchwork of applications we were using and it's in our budget as a non-profit. I'm still holding out hope that DV will start putting some investment into seriously improving their product for the end user, especially for power users who are responsible for maintaining enterprise data. If they don't, I'm worried that the company will go belly up. But for now, I'm sticking with it despite how frustrating the system is to actually use in the real world.

PROS

The idea behind DonorView is great. You keep everything in one place to get a 360-degree view of your constituents and replace all the various individual systems for email, web forms, payments, events, donor tracking, CRM, etc. And you do it at an affordable price. All these features are, in fact, in the system, which is wonderful. It's in the execution things start breaking down.

CONS

When we signed on to DV over a year ago, I knew there were practical problems with the system but hoped they had an aggressive development team which would stay competitive by continually improving the product. By now, it's apparent that they do not have an aggressive development team and appear to be putting almost no effort into improving their product to stay competitive, which is frustrating for the user and makes us worried that the company may fail and leave us hanging. DV obviously doesn't use this system themselves, at least not in the full way it's intended to be used, or I'm sure the more glaring problems would have been solved by now. There is no power-user interface. You can only search for constituent records with a single string across all fields, for example, rather than being able to search for combinations of field values with wildcards. You lose your found set whenever you drill down — extremely frustrating. You cannot edit multiple records at once if you find a widespread problem (although DV will offer to write an ad hoc script for a fee). Constituents can create duplicate records without the system flagging that event for you. Couples with individual records can use a DV campaign page to donate as a couple, creating a third record, and there's no automated way to split that out to the pre-existing records. You can use a "Family" field to create households, but there's no way to tell the system that you want to mail to some of those households as a household (e.g. we have some donors who tell us they want a single mailer every time, yet they don't always donate, purchase, or volunteer as a couple, so there's no automated way to ensure that they get just one mailer — it has to be done manually every time). Also, the email "templates" are not templates, they're just saved emails. Actual templates would be so much easier to work with. DV has effectively locked down certain design choices by preventing override, which is a real pain when their choices are bad, such as a hard-to-read gray font — I had to go in and tinker with the code to stop the system from ignoring my commands to use a darker font. You can't create any conditional auto-completes (e.g. having all new constituent records within certain cities, ZIPs, and counties automatically fill in a Service Area field). The list goes on. In short, DV doesn't really pay attention to the needs of the actual user in the field and they don't seem at all focused on creating a superior product for the end user.

Lynne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

DonorView is Fantastic! Exactly what we need.

We really like DonorView. We came from Giftworks and Paypal, and DonorView is incredible. The system is incredible smart and well thought out.

PROS

Donorview is extremely customizable. It is easy to input new constituents, and the fluidity in which the events, fundraising, and constituent modules interact is fantastic. We like that we can do survey's in the system itself and track responses. Reports are easy to pull. We also like that when we do encounter problems, customer support returns out email and helps out quickly during business hours. They have implemented features for us when we request and are happy to help in any way possible.

CONS

The biggest downside to DonorView is that support is only available during normal business hours. We do a lot of evening and weekend events, and support is not available then. I believe they do have a feature now where you can prearrange and pay to have someone available to assist in an emergency, but it is not standard. DonorView is also fabulous at implementing new feature requests, but they aren't great at telling you that they have done so! I have absolutely discovered by accident that something I requested was done.

Reason for choosing DonorView

We liked that the system was somewhat customizable. The price was great. We also like how the different modules (constituent, fundraising and events) all automatically spoke with one another. There wasn't an additional add-on.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

We switched from Giftworks, and it was simply a horrible system to use. Clunky, no event/payment management functionality, wouldn't save information, only one user could use it at a time. The list is endless of why it was a bad software for us.

Aisling

Libraries, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Donor Management Made Easy

Excellent!

PROS

DonorView is very user-friendly, which for me was one of the main selling points. Before moving to DonorView, we used a donor management system that was clunky, convoluted, and overall just too big for an organization like ours. DonorView made life a lot easier - combining a way to organize constituents better, maintain e-communication, run reports for metrics, and seamlessly fit with the look and feel of our website to attract more donors. The support is also top notch - when we have a question or a problem, the DonorView team is very communicative and committed to finding a solution. If we need fields added to profiles, etc. DonorView is very accommodating.

CONS

This is likely due to my own shortcomings rather than a flaw with DonorView (I am not trained in web design, etc.) but I sometimes have trouble with the e-mail templates. Like I previously mentioned, anytime I have a question or issue, the team helps me fix it promptly.

Reason for choosing DonorView

At the end of the day, we wanted to be able to work flexibly with a donor management system that fulfilled our needs as a non-profit organization while providing the support we needed. DonorView has been A+ to work with.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

iMis was way too big for a small non-profit organization like ours. We were not able to run reports the way we wanted to, merge profiles, or do pretty much anything that DonorView allows us without incurring a cost, etc. It was a frustrating system to use.

Stephanie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2024

Donorview Review

Overall, we still really like the product, but more training for the trainers would be ideal. Make sure organizations are aware of the exact items they get to use before making them sound free.

PROS

I love that Donorview has the capability to help hold all of our information. As a non profit organization, it is so easy to get lost having to use multiple different software programs for donor management, fundraising events, etc. With donorview, everything is here- like a "one stop shop".

CONS

We had a great introduction/ tour of donorview, the sales man was wonderful and insightful. This all sounded like an amazing deal, especially for the price. However, as we have started using the program more, a lot of the options we had discussed during the initial meeting turned out to be some or of add on. One(s) that we would need to pay for (on top of the initial costs) in order to use. This was very discouraging. And the training videos are also added expenses.

Erica

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

It's brought us up to date!

Overall we love DonorView and it has been an excellent addition to the functionality of our organization.

PROS

The ease of using DonorView has completely helped our organization. It offers everything we needed such as tracking donations, membership, embedding forms onto our website, events, and SO much more. DonorView customized our entire database to fit our organization needs. It's like we have our own personal system that no one else has with all of the custom features DonorView created for us. Whenever we need changes, they do whatever we need with no fees to do so. We are incredibly grateful for how accommodating their customer service is as well. They always get back to us with any questions or requests to make changes to our account. Typically in less that 24 hours. It's great having such a great team to rely on to make sure our organization functions well.

CONS

Initially getting the software there is a lot to learn with certain features. But, DonorView offers great help videos you can watch. If your questions aren't answered in the videos, their customer service is a great plan B and they always get back to you quickly.

Reason for choosing DonorView

DonorView offered more customization and flexibility. The price is unbeatable.

Kim

Individual & Family Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

What an improvement!

We had become increasingly frustrated with out previous platform in terms of errors, poor customer service and increasing costs. We've experienced the exact opposite with DonorView. The ease of use, data integrity, excellent customer service, affordability and constant enhancement has helped to reinvigorate our fundraising and donor relations efforts.

PROS

This software was easy to implement and we feel good about how we were able to maintain data integrity in the process. Customer service is excellent--- prompt, accessible and collaborative problem solving. The database is easy to navigate and the DonorView team seems very open to suggestions for enhancements.

CONS

We had struggled a bit with the automated donor recognition letters, but a recent enhancement addressed this issue. We also had some feedback that the peer to peer fundraising pages were less intuitive than our last vendors pages, but, again, this has improved and we had greater success as the year progressed.

Reason for choosing DonorView

It fit the needs of our small organization at an affordable price. The demonstrations made us feel comfortable with the platform and the prompt, concise responses to our questions were invaluable.

David

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

School Donor Management

Customer service is great - explains things easily and timely. The help videos in particular are wonderful!

PROS

Donor View allows us to maintain great communications with our donors, filter them for upcoming events and pledges, and ensure all tax documentation is timely sent each year.

CONS

To ensure/force a login when a returning donor or new donor/constituent gives to us.

Reason for choosing DonorView

This gave us the ability to do peer-to-peer fundraising, auctions, and larger special events.

Atwell

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2020

Jack of all trades ...

Overall, we've been pleased with the solution and the company. As long as you go in with your eyes open and manage your expectations, you should be quite satisfied. Everyone we've interacted with is pleasant and committed to helping you get value out of the software.

PROS

The breadth of features is exceptional. We were able to replace almost a half-dozen solutions with DonorView - dramatically simplifying our workflows and processes (as well as saving some money).

CONS

While DonorView can do a LOT of different things, it does none of those things exceptionally well. The features in any given area will not be on par with the features of solutions focused specifically on that area (e.g. donor management/fundraising, event management, etc.). Also, the workflows are not always intuitive and the available tutorials do not cover all of the software's functions.

Reason for choosing DonorView

We are a youth organization and DonorView is the only product we've run across that combines youth program management with fundraising/donor management. Once again, it's key differentiator is that it's the "Swiss Army Knife" of non-profit software!

Reasons for switching to DonorView

We no longer had anyone on staff who could administer the tool. Also, we were looking to streamline our operations.

Melissa

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Bang for the Buck

We've been with DonorView since 2017. Overall, we enjoy our use of it. We realize there are things within it we have not even touched yet. This CRM has widespread capabilities.

PROS

We looked at multiple CRMs before choosing DonorView. The overall feel of this CRM is very manageable. Things we were not able to figure out, their CS support has been wonderful.DonorView is the hub for us - volunteer tracking, donations, events, donation pages.

CONS

Some reports are hard to figure out how to build. The fundraising side and CRM sides don't talk the way I would like them to sometimes. There also has not been a "global" replacement feature.. or global anything yet.

Bryan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2021

Do your homework...this one is frustrating!

It does not live up to the hype that the sales team sold us on.

PROS

We were "sold" on all of the great features and that it had an online auction portal.

CONS

It has been buggy and problematic since day one. There are NO data formatting restrictions, so you are going to get data in multiple formats. Junk in...junk out...very unprofessional look. No way to control that...and they don't seem to care about it either. Data pulls are inconsistent. You may tag something in a "Category" and then try to print using that tag, and not all of the tagged items will be pulled on the report. This is a disaster if you are trying to steward donors (and ones are left out). I have to login twice each time when I start. It glitches the first time almost every time. In the afternoon, the site gets VERY sluggish. I honestly would NOT recommend you go with DonorView...too many issues.

Reason for choosing DonorView

We were promised it could do the same things as DonorPerfect in our comparison list. Does not live up to those expectations.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

Needed better donor record keeping for stewardship...and an online auction portal.

Deb

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Great Technology Platform

PROS

#1 Customer Service - Donor View embraces a service mentality that results in outstanding customer satisfaction. #2 Innovation - Donor View understands our non profit business environment and works with us to create effective processes.

CONS

The integration did take a fair amount of time and I was not part of that process . As a user the software training provided by DV was excellent. DV is not without it's problems. But in my opinion as one user - DV focuses on customer relationships so that our organization does not lose revenue, it seems like everyone that I have interacted with at DV is committed to viewing their operations from the customers' perspective.

Megan

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Excellent customer service

We are able to maintain better records and save time with tax acknowledgements by using DonorView. It enables us to have a singular, cohesive database for donors, volunteers, and board members. It also allows us to easily conduct membership and event sales on our website. We are looking forward to utilizing additional features in the near future.

PROS

This company has some of the best customer service that I've ever experienced. They are always willing to help rectify or explain any issues that we run into. Overall, it integrates smoothly with QuickBooks Online.

CONS

Creation of events should force you to map items for accounting, as we've run into unmapped new events causing sync problems. We've also run into issues with DV sending data to QBO in micro details instead of being able to roll into a singular sales receipt. Hopefully, this will be one of their future feature updates.

Reasons for switching to DonorView

We were using two software products to maintain the same records, plus using a standard mail merge file.

Sarah

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

Great Software + Awesome Staff!

PROS

The thing I like most about Donor View is their quick and friendly customer support. Any question or issue that I have ever had over the past two years was able to be solved immediately. Their software makes it easy for us to manage multiple moving parts of our organization in one place. We are so grateful for the relationship that we have with Donor View and are looking forward to utilizing their software in even more complex ways in the coming year!

CONS

I would like to see improvements on the Email and Social Marketing platform. Uploading images, resizing and changing fonts should be easier. I also would like to see it so that when being viewed on cell phones, it renders correctly and fonts are the right size. It would be nice to just drag and drop photos, crop and then have them be sized correctly. I use a program called Canva, which sizes photos really easily- I would like if your program mirrored theirs.

Cindy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Great value for the cost plus attentive staff and excellent customer service!

We are able to have a donor-centered fundraising approach, which is essential for our philanthropic culture!

PROS

Having all donor information in one spot with donation to donation tracking, reporting, and communication options. Many capabilities within this one aspect of the software

CONS

We have not integrated with QuickBooks yet. We used online auction with mobile bidding in its early stages and there were some hiccups - fortunately the Donor View team made some updates and we are very excited to use it again and again!

Kathy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT