All Bonterra Development + Digital Reviews

1-25 of 116 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2024

Bonterra is a Great Solution for Fundraising!

User Profile

Joe

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

EveryAction is great for Advocacy nonprofits that want an all-in-one solution

Great team to work with to get started. I wish they had a customer support team that was available via chat or phone. It sometimes takes a little bit before you get a question answered.

PROS

I love that the CRM is used both in advocacy and email marketing seamlessly. It's easy to put together lists to send emails to and the advocacy tools are as good as any I've come into contact with.

CONS

The report functionality is good, but not yet great. They sometimes have limits on the types of fields you display or pull from. But this rarely is a problem.

Reason for choosing Bonterra Development + Digital

The all in one functionality was important to us as an advocacy org.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Salsa CRM and Engage did not sync well. And the CRM had a lot of problems with reporting information that didn't account the correct way for householding.

LauraDenise

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Unite Oregon's Review

The data migration went smoothly and the staff was a pleasure to work with. The help support team is always very responsive and helpful and ready to teach our admins how to better use the tools available.

PROS

The online forms, especially the advocacy forms and how those allow our staff to find an updated list of elected officials to add as targets.

CONS

The surveys functionality does not allow for open-ended survey questions, which our staff needs because we rely heavily on qualitative data. It would be very helpful to be able to create and then analyze within EveryAction open-ended survey questions.

Reason for choosing Bonterra Development + Digital

EveryAction had all the features we were looking for to support our work, without having to have subscriptions to other tools.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Because our organization's base consists of the communities that other users of NationBuilder specifically target for continued marginalized activities and oppressive actions. We didn't want to continue to support a vendor who supported those types of users and activities. We also did not want to risk exposure of our community members' data exposed to the vendor's other users who specifically want to harm our community members.

Vendor Response

Hi LauraDenise, thank you for your review. We're glad our advocacy forms and data migration process met your needs, and it's great to hear about your positive experiences with our support team. We appreciate your feedback on the surveys functionality and the importance of open-ended questions for qualitative data. We're actively working to enhance our features to better serve your requirements. We deeply appreciate your trust in Bonterra Development + Digital and are committed to supporting your vital community work.

Replied January 2024

Jeremiah

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2023

Not for small nonprofits

I have used this platform for over 5 years while working at a small nonprofit of 7 staff. Building lists for communications seems to work fine for my colleagues and me, but retrieving donor data that is useful and relevant is either awkward or impossible with this platform. Yesterday I actually did simple algebra on pen and paper to get the relevant comparisons I needed to provide a board member with requested data. As the only fundraiser at my organization, I have limited time. I tried to find how to get a 3-year donor report recently and found I could not get that information in a way that was useful. This should be a simple report that is easily applied to all donors. Instead, the best one can do is get a PDF of gross change over the past two years plus the current year. It is possible that I could get more of what I want given time, but small-shop fundraisers don't have two weeks to be constantly calling customer service and experimenting with the DMS. Given what I know about the information my board members currently want, I would never pick this platform. If you are a fundraising staff of one, beware.

PROS

This platform is reasonably priced and customer service is usually prompt.

CONS

Difficulty retrieving data requested by board members, staff, and consultants.

Vendor Response

Jeremiah, thank you for reviewing us and voicing your experience. We appreciate your kind words about our pricing and customer service. As for the challenges you face in retrieving data, we are genuinely sorry to hear this. Your input is invaluable, and we'll be sure to pass your feedback along to our product team. Your insights help us enhance our services and strive for continuous improvement.

Replied November 2023

Jesse

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Exceptional Features and robust integrations hampered by lack of integrity and bullish business ops

Very poor. The experience was severely hindered by the unauthorized debit, the lack of integrity of Paragon Payment not honoring their price match and the weeks of time wasted trying to get a response to these issues and, ultimately, culminated in our termination of the agreement due to their breach of agreement and trust.

PROS

The app has every feature you could imagine for a fundraising non-profit, is fully extensible and very well laid out - at least for having this many features.

CONS

We signed an agreement, with a 3 month period until the first payment would be made and based on Paragon Payments matching our Stripe fees (which they would match the transaction % but then tried to charge several hundred dollars a year in other 'admin' fees and ultimately would not honor the match). We were also charged on the first month, instead of 90 days out as agreed... they did refund that payment after I brought it to their attention. We chose to terminate the agreement at that point. EveryAction then replied and said they had not breached the agreement from Paragon not matching the stripe pricing as agreed, and we would be held liable for the entire agreement. I reminded them that they had made an unauthorized charge to our account, in direct violation of our agreement.. we are still waiting for their 'legal' team to respond - days later. The bottom line - they have an incredible feature set and if you go in knowing they will try to bully you into fulfilling an agreement that they themselves don't uphold, you'll likely be ok. For us, we are prepared to engage our lawyer in the case they EA doesn't 'see' how they breached the agreement with the unauthorized payment... in addition to the frustration, time and hassle they have caused. It'll be interesting to see how they proceed at this point.

Reason for choosing Bonterra Development + Digital

Initially, because of their extensive feature set. They have an exceptionally well built application that covers nearly every aspect of non-profit donor management and CRM functions

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

The pricing, lack of external control over our system and processes and no contract obligations

Karla

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Overall great supporter engagement tool

I have had a fabulous experience working with everyone at Every Action. Their support staff are knowledgeable about the tools and quick to respond. If they don't know the answer, the know how to find it. The company is proactive in letting clients know about upcoming changes, improvements, or potential outages. And their product development staff are great at reaching out to gather input into future improvements to the tools to ensure they are meeting their client's needs, incorporating our suggestions and requests into their product roadmaps.

PROS

Every Action's supporter engagement tools--specifically email, advocacy, events, and fundraising--are easy to use and to customize to support the organization's mission and branding.

CONS

Integration of the CRM database behind the Every Action tools with other databases is challenging to set up and manage and requires a lot of manual moving of data between tools.

Reason for choosing Bonterra Development + Digital

We were evaluating all the tools across a range of needs including email, advocacy, fundraising, events, surveys, core database functions, ease of data integration, and usability. Every Action checked more boxes than the other tools.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

We were looking for a company that was actively improving and investing in their advocacy tools.

Jeremy

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Must Have Platform

We use it daily and it is exceptional. We switched off a similar product about 18 months ago and it has been a significantly easier platform to use daily

PROS

It integrates directly into NGP VAN, Zoom, and our Google Suite emails. It also works directly with Mobilize.

CONS

It would be nice to be able to give a larger number of users top tier access without having to consider pricing changes or admin ownership

Reason for choosing Bonterra Development + Digital

Checked all of our major boxes

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Better integration into all other platforms we used with seamless and real time updates

Kelly

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Bonterra Development + Digital

PROS

Bonterra Development + Digital is a high-value product that is also user-friendly and intuitive. Embracing its functionalities has helped us improve productivity and increase revenue for the organization.

CONS

There are certain limits to the capabilities of Digital. We've found that wanting to customize pages or functionalities to meet our needs is often not doable or is very time-consuming and expensive.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Our previous CRM was no longer meeting our needs.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Great software, be sure you have the team capacity to learn it

PROS

The functionality/ features offered are really helpful and extremely versatile - we use EveryAction as our volunteer management base as well as our donor CRM.

CONS

Be sure to dedicate the organizational/company time and capacity needed to customize it for your needs and to align across your teams about how to properly use the systems and get practiced with them. That is the biggest pitfall we've had as an org.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Needed more functions + better integration for phonebanking, etc.

Wanda

Civic & Social Organization, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

Experience with Bonterra

Provides good function and has lots of features. However, learning it is difficult and HELP is lacking. Positioning graphics so that you get consistent spacing is difficult. There is ZERO help explaining how to prepare and position images, so it's all trial-by-error. Editing screens don't scroll completely. OTOH, it does a great job on reformatting for mobile.

PROS

Allows us to send out newsletters and alerts to members, store our member information. Also works VERY well to let us send out alerts people can click on and generate an email to their representative.

CONS

Very obtuse and hard to learn for a volunteer organization. "help" included in the product is minimal and uses terminology without explaining it, which makes it hard to learn/teach.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Made because our "mother" organization provided for us and it has more function than Mailchimp.

Joe

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Wonderful!

PROS

Easy to use. Web-based - Not hard to integrate The onboarding/donor transfer team took care of most of the trouble for switching

CONS

This is a tech-heavy CRM compared to it's competitors. There is a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it there is no desire to go back to older software.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

Clunky software with processes and procedures stuck in the 90s. This slowed down our work.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience using Bonterra Development + Digital, Joe! Our Product team is working on the user interface which hopefully will address your comments about the learning curve. Your feedback will be beneficial as they work on this and will be forwarded to them. Thank you so much!

Replied December 2023

ROBERT

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Great Advocacy Tool

Overall it's been a better tool compared to past systems used.

PROS

The integration of multiple components, fundraising, volunteer management, communications, advocacy, etc., make it simple to get a snapshot of each member in one location.

CONS

While the system is highly customizable this too can become stressful and burdensome. Online help tools are good but not the best solution when trying to maximizing usage. The system has its limitations like any other and could be more user friendly. The initial Onboarding should include more extensive training and not just at the beginning.

Reasons for switching to Bonterra Development + Digital

The pervious system was clunky and not just friendly or intuitive.

Susan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

IndivisibleHoCoMD use of EveryAction

I find the overall use of this product positive. We have been able to put our many emails both weekly, bi weekly and monthly. Overall, our users like the emails and generally respond.

PROS

We are able to segment publications to specific voting areas. This helps keep our responses positive and limits communicating with others. I think it has directly helped our reader response rate. Sign up forms had a direct impact on our meeting planning. The drag and drop editor along with the email source is easy to use once you have tried it a few times. It is easy to understand the new features, as well. I find the color options and organization tools very effective for reader response to our emails.

CONS

When you need to find a tool, sometimes it is cumbersome since the product offers so much that it is almost impossible to find the item. I have spent a lot of time scrolling through the Help from EveryAction to find answers. When adding photos to the emails, it is timely to scroll through all the other photos and find the one you added. It would help to be able to delete or archive some of the earlier pictures. I have to preface this comment as we are delegated the package from Indivisible.org. And have found some tools were not in that packaging.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much, Susan, for the review, providing detailed information using various aspects of Bonterra's Development + Digital. We will definitely forward your comments to the appropriate Bonterra team about needing easier access to the Help section and additional ways to improve the tool.

Replied December 2023

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2023

EveryAction's acquisition has gone bad

PROS

The core functionality of EveryAction remained the same after the acquisition. The UI is attractive, easy enough to use and figure most things out even if you have not previously used the product. It's also used in so many organizations across the space so it isn't a chore to train others on.

CONS

EveryAction was owned by some great folks a few years ago, and they put their hearts into the product. Now after being purchased by private equity, they've gone dramatically down hill. The support quality has decreased, along with development growth as most of their long term technical folks were terminated. It's scary to see such a big expense in the nonprofit space being operated by a skeleton crew.

Dani

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Great User Experience for Admins and Constituents

Overall, it is a very clean and user-friendly database for both the admins and constituents. The only downside is that it was built for political organizations who canvass or phone bank, but they are working on making it more friendly and easier for non-profit organizations who do not fit that category.

PROS

Very easy to use and figure out system for the administrators and for the outside constituents. They have a robust reporting and infographics feature that helps you keep up on top of your goals and progress monetarily or with responses to forms/emails. The forms are very easy to build and use, with a clean look. The software has a lot of built in features which are great if your organization is politically active: makes lots of phone calls, uses a lot of volunteers, does a lot of canvassing. Additionally, the platform would be beneficial for a non-profit who wants to track their donations/fundraising and emailing easily in a system. The price is good for us since it is based on the number of contacts in your database, not the number of users.

CONS

As a membership organization who hosts a lot of events for our members, the systems are somewhat in place to meet our needs, but we need to do a lot of manual labor or pay extra fees to get the systems to work to fit all our needs. That being said, as the platform is seeking a broader audience of non-profits, they are starting to embed and automate the tasks we are currently doing manually or paying extra for.

Peterson

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Our web developer recommended EveryAction to us. We are a patient advocacy organization.

Quite a few, but off the top of my head: Modernized, nice looking communications. Increased engagement with volunteers. Superior analytics.

PROS

EveryAction has modernized our communications in many ways. The most important improvement for us a nationwide advocacy organization has been the uniquely easy way that EAction helps us track and analyze our volunteer engagement. We are most excited about the event management and recruitment potential of EveryAction, and the possibility of unifying and bringing most of our digital communications under one tool.

CONS

Depending on your working and learning style,, you will either like the fact that EAction seems to constantly evaluate and/or add new/improved features, or you will probably feel unsettled by the changes. Either way, you will want to spend more time upfront watching the video tutorials or at least have a plan to ask for more training in order to understand the basic features, which remain largely unchanged. You may also want to be more proactive with seeking tech support.

Mariah

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Great Bang for Your Buck

PROS

I like the customization of the software to fit our needs.

CONS

Some reports are limited with customizations.

David

Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Great High-End CRM

EveryAction is a great, albeit expensive, CRM that arguably justifies its costs. Its support team is reliable, helpful, and prompt. Within EveryAction, you can nearly anything you could hope for outside of peer-to-peer texting - our package includes data tracking (with an option to purchase direct voter file incorporation), list generation, click-to-action tools, donation functionalities, event tracking, and email generation, among other features. It's incredibly convenient to have a one-stop shop while managing a large public interest campaign.

PROS

An incredible amount of functionalities + tools built into one CRM; great + straightforward database; straightforward segmenting tools + email generation tools; fantastic customer service.

CONS

High price-point compared to market standard; email builder could be more sophisticated and flexible; somewhat difficult to learn + teach, relying on repetition.

Mike

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE