All MonkeyPod Reviews

1-25 of 60 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Misti

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Interested in the CRM, got so much more!

PROS

The software itself is multifaceted and meets many of the needs we have as a small nonprofit. We are continuing to expand our use and growing our capabilities! I love that it integrates with other platforms and meets our needs for CRM, fundraising, accounting, and email marketing!

CONS

Anything on my wish list has gone to the team for considering!

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Good people, good price, features we needed

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Needed a better solution, with ability to sort, track, and contact our database

Vendor Response

Thank you, Misti!

Replied October 2022

Kat

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Most Affordable & Worthwhile Nonprofit Management Tool!

Overall, we've already seen amazing benefits with using MonkeyPod, including, but not limited to: streamlined workflow (pipelines, etc.), up-to-date data relative to our organization's processes, access to an overview of people & how they're involved in our organization & how they've engaged with us (roles, interactions, and history), and ease of access to a central "database" that our organization's staff need to access data, and much more!

PROS

What I like most about MonkeyPod is that they are accommodating & understanding of nonprofits, the work they do, and the features that best support their work. Because of that, they provide affordable solutions and have been extremely receptive to user feedback where they've adapted and added features! Some features we appreciate tremendously is the bcc customized for the organization where you can use the custom bcc email to send to your organization's MonkeyPod database that will log an interaction and create/update that person's record accordingly. Another feature we love is the ability to household & connect records, use an advanced search to create & save "lists" of records based on custom attributes, tags (unlimited reasons for how helpful this feature is!), and so much more! Since we've been using the platform, we've been reaching out for assistance & they've implemented solutions and/or addressed our concerns in the most professional & timely way possible! We love how engaged & involved they are in their clients' relationship with them!

CONS

There are features we'd still like to see added and enhanced, such as custom API integrations, however, because of their willingness to accommodate clients' needs by implementing features and/or providing alternate solutions... we are willing to wait for those features or find internal workarounds due to all the features currently available that maximize our efforts & provide impactful solutions for all our other needs!

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Most affordable, unlimited users, amount of features, customizability, and addresses almost all of our needs (fundraising, marketing, CRM, etc.)

Vendor Response

Thanks so much! Appreciate the kind words.

Replied October 2023

Jonathan

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2023

MonkeyPod Review

Not bad. Not fantastic either.

PROS

I really enjoyed how MonkeyPod was NPO centric, which made tagging income and expenses very easy and accessible unlike software like Quickbooks were "donations" have to be categorized as "sales".

CONS

Honestly, it just feels too early in development for my taste. Customer support doesn't seem to ever have a consistent answer for problems, promises aren't fulfilled, critical features like webhooks and native form integration just don't work for fiscal sponsor clients. It is really frustrating to talk to a representative and be promised something only to be emailed later and told that you have to make do because you're a fiscal sponsor client so you don't matter.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

It was included for free with our fiscal sponsorship.

Shoshi

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Small but mighty system

My organization previously had many different excel spreadsheets, and as we grew it became more challenging to keep track of all of our information appropriately. We wanted one system that could be used for member and donor management, that includes event processing, fundraising, budgeting, and email marketing, and monkeypod is that system. It connects directly to our bank account (in a read only capacity) to make sure that our budget stays on track, and you can make notes to yourself within the system and add reminders about follow up tasks. You can keep track of custom characteristics, like who won't attend programs, but really likes getting emails, or who is not looking to date but wants to come to classes.

PROS

I love that I am able to keep track of members and donors in one place, and when anyone pays for anything, it automatically goes into the system. Expenses can be tagged so that you can see exactly how much has come in versus gone out for a specific event/item/project. I also love that Monkeypod works to grow its options and partnerships with other useful companies to make life easier.

CONS

It would be helpful to have a phone option for customer support, instead of having to send 47 emails to work through a situation. I also sometimes find it challenging when sending emails to have different email lists of almost but not quite exactly the same people and have to recreate them often when our people don't rsvp through the proper pages.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

We are a small but mighty organization with a budget devoted to helping our members. We did not want a huge monthly spend, so Monkeypod is a great start for us.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

It got more and more challenging to keep track of our members on a global scale. We wanted a product that could also take donations directly, which is an option through a Stripe integration, and then donations and fees can be tagged to the member, donor, and/or event so that nothing gets lost and you know who has paid for what.

Sara

Performing Arts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2021

MonkeyPod is the easiest financial platform a non accountant can master

Overall MonkeyPod is the easiest financial program I have used. The CRM management is useful and comprehensive. Thank you letters are easy to create using the Fundraising Reports from MonkeyPod and Word.

PROS

Monkey Pod is very simple to use and even if you are not a professionally trained accountant you can run financial reports with ease and compare each year to the prior year at the touch of a button. You can scan your invoices and save them in MonkeyPod with the check number and payee so all your information is in one spot if you need to refer back to it. The support is incredible, questions are answered the same day and the support team works with you until the problem is solved. They donʻt send you a link to watch a video and figure it out on your own like so many other companies do, they talk to you and suggest solutions and follow up with you to make sure itʻs resolved.

CONS

We are a performing arts venue so a ticketing module that includes a season ticket and flexpass option as well as single tickets would make my life complete. Overall, building an email campaign is a really easy but you do have to delete the suggested template pieces before you can build a new campaign. The best thing to do is make your own templates and save them, but for each new template you make you will have to delete a bunch of suggestions.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

MonkeyPod is geared more towards non-profit accounting Vendini ceased to exist

Tim

Fund-Raising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

All In One House

When I met with our accountant this past January for 2022 IRS non-profit filing, all the reports and data were available to the accountant. Through MP I was able to give her permissions. For the first time in 7 years she did not have to tweak any numbers to make them add up correctly.

PROS

Our organization is at its 1 year anniversary using MonkeyPod (MP) and for the first time I am not using Excel, Quickbooks, and another accounting tool to keep track of donations and donors. All that I was doing in 3 tools is now in one tool box. Also, other members on our Board now have access to the data and I no longer have to worry about pulling together information from different sources to explain our status.

CONS

Not sure this is a "least" because much of it is on me. Quickbooks and Excel has its own language and MP is different. It just takes some time getting into MP to learn the nuances.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

The two other companies had many of the features MP had, but we are a small non-profit and so my main concern was making every donation count. There costs were much more than I wanted to pay out from our donations.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

We needed a better way to track donors and receipt them for tax purposes.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Tim! So glad to hear it's going well for you.

Replied March 2023

Melissa

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Dream come true for nonprofit accounting and donation management

Monkeypod's staff is amazing and this system is unbelievably supportive to nonprofits of all sizes. I can't say enough good things about Monkeypod. I tell everyone I know who works in nonprofit about it.

PROS

Monkeypod allows our finance team to properly track and release grant money, run simple and usable reporting, and makes it easy to track day-to-day bookkeeping activity.

CONS

There is nothing we do not like in Monkeypod.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Properly bookkeeping for nonprofits is not easy with most accounting products. Monkeypod is able to support all areas of nonprofit bookkeeping and reporting, plus it supported the rest of our organization with email capacity, board of director organization, CRM, and more. We are leaving mailchimp and other systems behind and moving everything into Monkeypod.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Quickbooks desktop is impossible to do bookkeeping with as a team, so we were about to move to Quickbooks Online when a CPA told us about Monkeypod. After some weeks of sleuthing out what Monkeypod would offer it became clear it was the best choice for our organization.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much! So glad it's working well for you.

Replied July 2023

Emily

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

So glad we found MonkeyPod in a sea of subpar competitors!

Overall, we're so glad we switched to MonkeyPod. It's very clear that this is a tool designed for nonprofits by nonprofit people!

PROS

This is a very intuitive platform and for the price, it provides the best functionality of all the tools I've demo'd!

CONS

I am having a hard time figuring out some of the accounting functionality.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Salsa is sunsetting and was entirely too complex and expensive for our org.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much, Emily! If you're struggling with some of the accounting features, please come to one of our free Wednesday training sessions. We'd be happy to give you some pointers!

Replied March 2023

Madi

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

New to MonkeyPod and loving it

The customer service is out of this world! They all go above and beyond. They even have a feature that allows you to track upgrades/new features and submit suggestions.

PROS

The user experience is intuitive and well built for nonprofit systems. We are blown away to have a system that integrates our CRM, donations, bookkeeping, email marketing, etc. It can even manage your board! Definitely built by people who know nonprofit systems well.

CONS

We've had zero difficulties with the product so far, but I guess our least favorite aspect is having to pay additional monthly fees for some of the add-ons or suites. This isn't unusual though, and the fees are reasonable.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

It is a tool specifically designed for nonprofits.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Madi! So glad you're having a good experience with MonkeyPod.

Replied June 2023

Zoe

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Non-profit game changer

PROS

I love being able to search through a complete database of all our clients and constituents. Never having any kind of CRM for our organization before this has been a large improvement. I also love that it's a small company with staff based in Hawai'i. They are very responsive, supportive and quick to adapt and improve their features.

CONS

I haven't really encountered many issues yet that haven't been solved! Maybe not being to see at a glance who has received a donation receipt (it's automatic if they donate online, but for mailed checks and other donations it needs to be entered manually...)

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Price, customer service, all-in-one options. Fewer integrations and more full package.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much, Zoe. We love that we're a small company based in Hawai'i, too! :)

Replied July 2023

Erica

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Great Value for our Organization!

We needed to streamline our costs as well as the number of different systems/software we were using to do things like track donors, manage grants, and collect donations. This was an all-in-one solution that really met our needs

PROS

What I love about monkeypod is the responsiveness of the support team. While every database has its limitations, Monkeypod is a rare company that will respond to user needs and requests in a timely manner. I really feel we have a partner in database management!

CONS

I wish that the searching and reporting functions were a bit more sophisticated.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Monkeypod folks impressed me with their values alignment and their customer needs responsiveness! Bloomerang left a lot to be desired in terms of customer support. Bloomerang also felt clunky, outdated, and frankly aesthetically chaotic.

Vendor Response

Thanks Erica!

Replied March 2023

Jessica

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Very Help Software and People

MonkeyPod has been a much-needed time saver. Everyone I've engaged with is friendly and very knowledgeable.

PROS

All the account features have been very helpful. The add-on bookkeeping services have been a tremendous support. The software has been easy to learn. The drop-in hours are great for getting questions answered. I appreciate that new features based on users' input are regularly added.

CONS

I wish we had known about MonkeyPod at the beginning of our fiscal year.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Less expensive, created for nonprofits, referral discount, many features

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Needed something sustainable.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Jessica! We appreciate the kind words.

Replied September 2023

Anne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Excellent all-in-one tool for our small education foundation

We've just finished migrating all of our data over, and are up and running. We have yet to do a fundraiser with MonkeyPod, but our donor management, email campaigns, individual donations, and ongoing accounting is all going smoothly. Their staff is incredibly responsive! Amazing support, made even more so by the fact that our organization is small enough to be on their discounted plan and they didn't skimp at all on any onboarding help we asked for. They seem to be an excellent company.

PROS

MonkeyPod has been a game-changer for our organization. With only one paid staff member and one contracted grant writer, we need to be very efficient with people's time. The integration of our donor management, accounting, marketing, grant tracking, to do lists, (everything!) in one place is huge. Rather than having a collection of different tools (MailChimp, Quickbooks, DonorBox, Dropbox, etc.) we now have all staff, board members, and volunteers working off one system. We avoid a lot of duplicated effort now and have streamlined multiple workflows. This efficiency creates greater capacity for our staff to focus on the bigger tasks for the foundation. And the simple access to view our budget, donations, grants, and various action items gives our volunteer board quick and easy visibility into the health and status of the organization at any point.From a technical standpoint, I appreciate the lean/modern design of MonkeyPod and the absolutely incredible responsiveness of their customer service and technical team. I appreciate that the program isn't bloated with features that we'll never use (some of the other CRM packages have far more than we need for donor management or email marketing), but it has just about everything we need to efficiently run our nonprofit.Their weekly Wednesday open hours are a brilliant idea -- giving customers a regularly schedule time to talk face-to-face with knowledgeable staff about how to best use MonkeyPod.

CONS

There are some inconsistencies in the interface that trip me up occasionally, but I'm hopeful those will be resolved over time. They could also offer more for custom reporting. You can export to Excel and create your own reports there, but sometimes data needed for our reports isn't available with an export.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Integrated accounting, ability to track our outbound funds (awards to schools), feature set isn't overkill for our needs, and Community Edition pricing made it accessible.

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

We needed an integrated system for all these tasks. MonkeyPod's Community Edition pricing gave us an opening to try out a new program without risking a huge expense. It's absolutely worth it.

Elizabeth

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

The Best Integrated Accounting/CRM/Email Marketing Software

MonkeyPod makes it possible for us to focus on our mission rather than having to spend a lot of time worrying about accounting. Everything about this software makes our work lives easier and more efficient. MonkeyPod helps us work smarter, not harder.

PROS

MonkeyPod's integration of accounting, CRM, email marketing, donor management, customer relations, grant tracking, and everything else is incredible. There are infinite ways that this system makes work easier and helps us focus on our mission first and foremost.

CONS

Data transfer from other systems is complicated because of how difficult it is to get the data you need out of those other systems you might have been using in the past. But MonkeyPod's staff is incredibly helpful and the templates they provide make is so much easier! There's a temptation to try to migrate only one system at a time and I think that's ultimately a mistake. Just bite the bullet and take the time to get the data imported correctly and you'll be so happy you have a functional integrated system to use (you won't miss those other programs for a second!).

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

I used MonkeyPod at my old job and when I moved into my new position at a new nonprofit I knew that using MonkeyPod was a MUST. I can't imagine working without it.

David

Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

MonkeyPod is perfect for us!

MP has made all of my accounting and administration problems fade into the background so that I can focus on running our organization. I used to get so stressed when it came time to create or print reports. NO MORE! I can do all of the financial things and then focus on the work I enjoy!

PROS

I run an extremally small non-profit to work with youth in the outdoors. I have no experience in accounting or financial management. I needed a non-profit accounting product that was cost effective but did not require me to go back to school to learn accounting. MonkeyPod is EXACTLY that product. It fits within our budget and offers opportunities for us to expand. The customer service has been super responsive anytime I had a question or problem. The weekly drop ins to help with problems are fantastic. The whole MP team has been so easy to work with and understand the needs of a small non-profit. The accounting is easy to use. It lets me set up my own chart of accounts. We can integrate with our bank and they have so many apps to help us do what we need to do for our employees and donors.

CONS

The only bad thing I experienced actually showed how responsive they are to customer needs. At first they were unable to integrate with our bank so I could easily download transactions even though our bank was listed as being supported. After a bit a email conversation they were able to get everything up and running. I have no complaints!

Reasons for switching to MonkeyPod

Quickbooks was too complicated. It required a knowledge base I did not have and was unwilling and unable to obtain.

Vendor Response

Thank you, David! The banking integrations can be finicky, mainly with smaller banks that have older tech. But I'm glad we were able to figure out out for you.

Replied April 2023

Joy

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Best Customer Support!

PROS

By far, the best feature of MonkeyPod is the incredible and personalized customer support. No CRM is perfect, and we all get frustrated, so having the support team that truly listens and actively helps you through any issue is golden! Monkeypod approaches data management and accounting software in a way that no other system does - with the nonprofit organization and arts administrators in mind. They created something that works with all the directions and nuances of my arts organization.

CONS

Any CRM transition is challenging, but Monkeypod held my hand and helped manage my expectations for the process. Understanding the set-up/transition timeline from the very start would be helpful. To know if a phased in approach is best for your organization (start using one area/feature at a time) or if you can input all and take off running. Because accounting is directly integrated, which is a GREAT feature, it can be challenging to wrap your head around the big picture, but once you do, it is SO worth it.

Reason for choosing MonkeyPod

Integration of accounting/budgeting with donor management. Cost was affordable for our organization.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Joy! So glad to know you're having a good experience. That's great feedback about clarifying the transition process and timeline. That's something that varies from organization to organization, so we're still working out how best to communicate expectations.

Replied March 2022

Robert

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY