All Sustain Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kimberly

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Sustain Review from Sacred Heart

Every time I call I get great customer service. Love the new update! The ease of use is very easy. Customer rep is always so nice and willing to help me in any way.

PROS

The ease of use. The new update is easier to add attributes in and user to see what they donated without clicking a lot. i also like in the reports you do not have to get out of them and reenter to pull another report.

CONS

I would like to learn more about cleaning up the software. The previous Development Director entered several of the same address in different ways which makes a lot of extra addresses and sends several copies of things to the same address. I have ran reports and cleaned up a lot of the database but it still needs cleaning.

Patti

Education Management

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2017

Great Customer Service Experience

In terms of Alumni Relations the software is geared more toward fundrasing, but with the great level of customer support I have received, it does the job.

PROS

Ease of use

CONS

Very geared to fundrasing and less geared toward Alumni Relations. Fundrasing is possible because of Alunmni so the software should be more robust for keeping track of alumni.

Jay

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2019

Very Small Company, Very Poor Implementation

Again the software itself wasn't that bad, it was the implementation/migration from our previous system that was terrible and the reason we were not successful with Sustain. They set an expectation that we could just send them the SQL database from our previous system and they were experienced enough with that system to take it from there, that they had done this before. That's not at all what happened, the data got only half migrated and it was on me the customer to fill in the holes (though we paid them for implementation services). They had very little in terms of documentation, they had a migration template but didn't give it to me, I had to find it. Very disorganized and immature company, very little documentation, cannot be trusted to move all the data over you need to be successful. Also we had to ask for a new trainer, the first one we got was extremely defensive and gruff, can't believe he's in a customer-facing role, simply does not have the temperament for it.

PROS

The software itself isn't that bad. Since Sustain is a very small company with only a handful of employees, it was sort of nice to be able to talk to the guy who developed the software, you get to hear why they made the choices they made directly from the horse's mouth.

CONS

#1 it's not truly web-based, you remote into a Windows server to run essentially a customized Access database. The software was a bit rigid, particularly in reporting. You can't just create your own reports, you only get what Sustain has decided to put in there. None of the canned reports really fit what our team needed and we had to pull the plug on Sustain before they could customize what we needed.

Leslie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

Donation management

Overall the software provides me with the information I need. Because it is so multi-faceted, attending training is mandatory. Even after my initial training I find myself clicking around to intuitively get, for instance, the report I need. It would behoove new users to make a list of all the ways you plan or foresee using the product and choose the level of training necessary. And take copious notes because you'll need them for tasks that you do only periodically. I'm certain I'm not using it to its fullest capabilities.

PROS

It's relational. Can record a number of characteristics about each record.

CONS

Unable to generate letters with exactly the write salutation and return address name.

Lisa

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2017

Sustain Review

The best thing about the Sustain database system is that it works with the Rediker products so that I can bring the information into my advancement office with little effort. The training is important to learn so you can take advantage of all the options. I find the support is excellent and always get a quick answer and willingness to work with me to find the answer.

Marybeth

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2017

Disappointed

We purchased Sustain through Rediker because we were told that it would interact with FinACS. While I am still under the impression that there can be communication, we can't figure out how. Communication only goes one way, and that is a concern because we would be transferring accounting information from Development to Accounting. Not comfortable. Additionally, there seems to only be one person who can help us understand Sustain, and he is not good at customer service. Every conversation I have had with him has been uncomfortable at best. I am bright and pick up software easily and still always leave my calls with him feeling stupid, and yet doing everything in my power to not call back, just figure it out on my own. I am sure Sustain has more capabilities than I know, but I feel like I need to take an Access class in order to really utilize the program. The price we paid for the product and the service is outrageous in my opinion and we are almost 2 years in and just barely scraping by with our information. Certainly, I can't find the reports I need and customizing just seems overwhelming. If I had this decision to make over again, I would not choose Sustain. Unfortunately since we've already invested so much, changing just isn't an option at this point. We were brought in by Rediker, but your relationship with them is tenuous at best. Their customer service, which is fantastic, can't help me with your product. And no one REALLY understands how the programs are supposed to integrate. I would carefully consider that fact when cross selling.

PROS

not sure

CONS

ease of access to information

User Profile

Ian

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Affordable with some bells...

They're professional, know their stuff, and very helpful!

PROS

The price of this is something that just about any organization or development professional should consider. While the bells & whistles don't hold a candle to Raiser's Edge, or some of the other "cadillac" versions of donor software, you're not paying an exorbitant sum, either. For a more modest office, this is great.

CONS

Reports, reports, reports. Every donor software's issue will come down to reports– how easy it is to find the information you've so meticulously entered. While Sustain has some excellent qualities, like all budget donor software, you lose out on the report customization & dashboard (at a glance).

Missy

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Review of Sustain

Support staff has been incredible and responsive. They work with us to create the kinds of reports we need. I am not a database expert, but even I can figure out intuitively how to perform most functions.

PROS

How intuitive it is. Tracks most all important data we need. Team works with us to add new functionalities to improve it. I love that I can access it from home if I need to.

CONS

The Platform of Ericom that we use to connect is sometimes not consistent, but I don't think this is Sustain's fault.

Louise

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Upgrade for us

Sustain was definitely an upgrade for us after years using another good, but basic, student information software system which integrated admissions, development, and contact databases. We have used Sustain with Rediker since the beginning of this academic year, and I am happy with the capabilities of Sustain so far. Pros: (relatively) intuitive, lots of features, good volunteer tracking feature. Cons: clunky at times, training could have been more comprehensive, interface could be updated.

Jane

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

Intuitive and effective for any budget

I have been using Sustain for several years now. We were never able to afford proper ongoing training so it's got to be pretty good if I've figured out how to use the basics! There are still functions that I don't know how to use but it works for tracking our donors and members and kicking out letters easily. The reports are useful and I like that it is a Maine born company. If I get really desperate, I know that I can email customer support and they will get right back to me.

Sandy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2017

Wish my predecessor had never purchased this system.

We use the software as a comprehensive donor tracking tool. We have come to learn no other school uses it to the degree we do and it is very evident. There are constant issues with the system and upgrades. Not a fan at all.

Lorna

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Very Intuitive

From the first day Sustain was installed I have found the software easy to use. And the rarity I have encountered a question, great customer service!

PROS

Very intuitive.

CONS

No user manual.

Cindy

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2017

Most unreliable software

Seacrest has had more issues with Sustain and although we call for customer support, it typically falls short. We have been told multiple times the problem is on "our end" or with Finalsite or Admin+. We have learned to work around to solve issues on our own. Reporting functions are almost non-existent and when they do work the report is, more times than not, incorrect. Edited information is often reverted back to previous information. General ease of is not user-friendly. The dashboard appears to be from 1970. We are budgeting for replacement software.

PROS

nothing

CONS

everything, especially reliability and reporting

jonnie lyn

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

sustain experience

it has been a fairly positive experience. it would be helpful to have free, regular, short web based training sessions on specific topics (similar to what rediker does for their software) more documentation, with samples of best practices some parts are a little clunky and difficult to navigate. perhaps info when hovering (i.e., "use xx for xxx")

PROS

integration to school MIS system

CONS

lack of documentation, perhaps too many options. if the software is truly for schools then it might not need to be quite as robust

Kimberly

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Love Sustain

Great Service when I call.

PROS

I love the report system for the donations. I like how I can transfer to other programs in order to save to my files and also email them to others. I also like that it lets me know when there is an address close to another one in case it's the same address.

CONS

I am not a fan of the latest update to plug in donations. I have to go to another part under the person to put it in and before it would go straight to it to enter.

Kathleen

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Great Software for Fundraisers!

Accessible, intuitive and a bargain. I have worked with the Sustain team for years and you can't beat the hands on customer service. Why overpay for useless features overpriced technical support?

PROS

Logical interface, customer support, easy to use and train others

CONS

A little cumbersome with Macs

Jon

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Overall positive experience

Sustain has overall been a positive experience. Customer support has been prompt and helpful. In running reports or mail merges, there can be an excessive lag, but I think that is because it our system is hosted. My feeling is that if we were running the software locally, there would not be this lag.

Jenny

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY