All MyRec.com Reviews

1-25 of 146 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Tom

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

More than a great software company! There are great people at MyRecDept.com

Having been a MyRecDept.com customer for over 15 years, I have always found the MyRec team to be very responsive to any issues I ever encountered. I really appreciate that now the software is so fully functional that they call us to check in and make sure things are going ok and that we are taking advantage of any new features that they have recently added.

PROS

I really appreciate that MyRecDept.com continuously improves the product, adding new features and streamlining functionality all the time. The MyRecDept.com software gives our organization everything we need for a fraction of the price that we would pay to use some of the more "well known" recreation admin software company's products. Why pay more for fancy bells and whistles that you will never use?

Vendor Response

Thanks Tom for the great review- it has been a pleasure serving you.

Replied November 2017

Alicia

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Littleton feedback

There are a lot of issues with the in house operations; my Program Coordinators prefer RecDesk's software, but the customer service, desire to do better, and flexibility that we get from MyRec are far superior to them. Like I said before it is a glitchy program and is not consistant, but ultimately it does what we need it to do and MyRec does put a lot of effort into making the software better all of the time.

PROS

The community site is easily search able for patrons. The company's openness to development in suggested areas. It does feel like MyRec is trying to consistently improve its operations for the better. The base functions of creating households, registering for programs, and point of sales operations are very easy to learn and use. Cloning of programs and activities is easy and extremely useful and efficient. Dashboard information is great! It would be out of this world if it was customizable. Customer Service and tech help is quick and often knowledgeable to fix issues in one call.

CONS

Overall there is no consistency with options and filters. For example some reports you can get an excel export and some you can't, this is the same for programs (advanced verse standard) and all other modules. The software is very glitchy. The site can shut down with no warning and we have to call in to make sure it is taken care of. We also deal with some odd one off issues that can't be explained, but we usually find some sort of solution. It keeps us on our toes, but wish we could depend on the software more. Things change so fast that it is hard to keep up sometimes. Offer quarterly training would be amazing! Streamline integration with other software. I mentioned earlier the issues with Constant Contact, it would be great if there was an easy integration with financial software like MUNIS. I believe it is possible, but we have not tackled that project yet.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

see above

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

We left RecTrac because the 3.1 upgrade was going to be forced and the price increase was not something we could afford. At that time we switched to RecDesk because it met our needs for ease of use in house and for our patrons, ultimately help was almost impossible from them and the excuse we received from the president was that more departments had joined and they had no intention of increasing their work force so the response time was drastically effected with no intention of changing it. We changed to MyRec because we were promised that we would be able to transport all of our data from RecDesk over to MyRec. It was attempted but did not work at all. We are extremely please with the customer service and the company's constant evolution of the software.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to working with you on your concerns. There are some items that are in fact offered (trainings, munis export, new exports) and urge you to give a call into client services to make sure those are turned on for you or check out the knowledge base for information on any new features.

Replied March 2022

Nancy

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2023

"Over 55" Recreation Manager and Farmer Market Manager

I appreciate all the help I have received from customer service. They are amazing!

PROS

There is only one thing I like about myrec, which is the customer support. The customer support is amazing, they are always there to answer and help with problems. I call all the time and have become very friendly with the staff. They always answer the phone and always help me fix whatever problem I'm having.

CONS

I do not like myrec. I keep a little book in my desk called the " I hate MyRec book" and I write down all of the stupid problems I have. Things that should be simple are not. Looking up a name, you can't put in the name , Chin, b/c the Chins will not come up, it starts with A's. Or, I know someone is in the system, put in the name, spelled correctly but it still does not show up. The system insists I put in information I do not have, so I have to make it up, like birthdays, addresses, emails. Why can't I leave it blank. I hate that it always forces me to confirm this stuff but at the same time it won't stop people from making duplicates, which I can't delete of ever merge together, b/c its not simple. In our old system, you would pick a group and click send email, now I have to click nine times to do the same thing! Nine times! The same thing with labels, in the old system, find the group hit labels, this system, you have to dig for it. When looking up information I see a lot I don't need and nothing I want is on the same page. How about the persons name, address, phone, etc. on one page, ( the address is on a different page) with.. the activities they are in and the credits/ balances they owe? While I think the support is amazing, I hate that I have to call constantly for the smallest stuff. I do not defend this company to the public at all. I constantly get negative feedback from the public and I have to turn into the IT person to fix it.

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

One person,.. in the office initiated the change. While no system is perfect, Sportsman was way easier to use. One click verses nine to send an email.

Vendor Response

We do appreciate the time it took to do this review, but we'd love the opportunity to address your concerns as this is not the norm of the MyRec.com software reviews we are receiving. We also wish you gave client support a better rating seeing that is what you love about the company.

Replied April 2023

Katarina

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

MyRec Meets Our Department Goals

MyRec is a good product that is meeting our department needs. I stand by their strong staff and customer service and notice their willingness to find solutions to our programming needs. Thank you!

PROS

I appreciate that MyRec is a comprehensive service and software that adapts to our Rec Department's needs. We can offer daily, weekly, and one-off programming, field reservations, scholarships, and more. The software does take some getting used to, but ultimate has met all of our needs.

CONS

There are parts of MyRec that are not user friendly. I have found that when I am creating a new program, or complex program, I should call the customer service line or request an appointment with MyRec staff. The staff are extremely helpful and share details that are not always in the how-to videos.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your use of the software, and happy it is meeting your needs. It's been a pleasure serving your department.

Replied February 2024

Blakely

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Lots of Great Features, and working on more!

PROS

The ease of the software if wonderful, it is very user friendly for staff as well as the public. We were previously not able to refund directly back to cards, this has been a wonderful feature as well as monthly auto billing for our gymnastics team. We are able to set up programs that can be reserved for a specific time, and sports activities that can be set up to create a schedule. All introduced and explained by MyRec's wonderful staff. They have always been available to assist us in set up, and to troubleshoot any issues we have encountered.

CONS

It is currently in the development process, however there are a few features not offered to the standard user we would like to see. Such as, allowing for an inquiry only option to view activities for information only. Such as description of class, and to check times, price and availability. Currently you require staff to be listed at least as a manager to receive this option. In that case however they are able to change the program and we are concerned that staff may do so by mistake.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

Cost, and ease of use

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

Better customer service, ease of the software, and price.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review, and for your request to enhance our user settings. We are so glad that you are enjoying the software.

Replied May 2021

Colleen

Government Administration, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Best Rec Software!

My overall experience with MyRec.com has been super positive and has been one of the best decisions of my career to do. It did take some convincing of the Board of Finance for the Rec Department to spend the money, but once they realized how great the accounting is, it was a no-brainer. The auditor loves that we use it as well. It means less cash coming through the office and more online accountability of the user. I cannot say good enough things about this product and company!!

PROS

Love the ease of the backend of the website. It's easy for me to see people's accounts, access programs, keep accounting of programs, etc. Plus, it's easy for the users as well! They can register for multiple programs and just pay once. It has made my job less about creating my own accounting sheets and keeping track of who has paid and who hasn't and more about creating fun exciting programs for people to register for! MyRec.com's customer service is awesome too! I had a suggestion for being able to email teams separately and they decided it was a great idea and was able to implement it into the system for everyone!

CONS

Wish I had the ability to change up the website header and colors of the website on my own instead of having to contact the company, but besides that, I have no complaints!

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

MyRec.com is a small company and I was able to talk directly to the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] when trying to figure out which product to purchase. I was even able to meet the people I was speaking with at the CRPA conference and was given a great demo. They had a great competitive price and I knew I couldn't go wrong! The product speaks for itself!

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time and giving us a fantastic review. We are so happy the software is exceeding your needs. It has been a pleasure working for Goshen Rec!

Replied October 2020

Melanie

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Supports our needs

For the first time, we are able to register folks for programs and reserve/rent facilities all through our website. This has cut down on our phone requests, office visits, etc and helped us be more efficient. Having the platform to accept online payments has been a "giant step" for us.

PROS

It was fairly easy to apply to our needs and to tailor it for all our applications. The support team has been fabulous to work with. They are responsive and willing to find answers and solutions to your issues.

CONS

There seems to be quite the delay when moving from one page to another...not sure if the delay is on our end or MyRec's.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

Ease of use and budget friendly.

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

We were looking for a program that was more budget friendly for our small municipality and still met our needs moving forward.

Vendor Response

Happy you and your clients are finding the software meets your needs. As far as the timing of page loads- definitely check your internet speed- there should not be a delay in loading. Give a call in to client services and we can assist in this if needed.

Replied December 2019

Samantha

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

User Friendly and Support Team is Fantastic!!

The MyRec.com staff is extremely responsive and always a phone call or email away when we need to troubleshoot a problem or ask a question. When we initially set up our software system they did all the leg work for us and took all of our program information and inputted it into the website for us, making it a seamless transition.

PROS

Provides a user friendly interface for our customers. Program registration is very easy to utilize whether setting up for a one time program or advanced activities such as sports or camps. I also love that we can input our registration forms online through the custom forms feature, and cut down on paperwork in the office.

CONS

There are very few things I don't like about this software. The staff is always looking for feedback on how they can improve the software to better serve their clients and their communities.

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

We were looking for a software system that was much more user friendly and one in which we could bring our summer camp registration online.

Vendor Response

We are happy to hear you having such a great experience with the software. Thank you so much for your feedback- it has been a pleasure working with East Windsor!

Replied October 2020

Courtney

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great Value

Before MyRec our department was living in the dark ages of carbon copy forms and huge binders alphabetizing participants. MyRec brought us into the 21st century and we haven't looked back.

PROS

MyRec is very easy to use for the administrator and public user. The company consistently makes changes to enhance the experience. The reporting is thorough and accurate. The customer service is stellar. Any issues are very quickly resolved. It's great that customers can log in and see all of their families camps and activities in one spot.

CONS

The only thing I wish was different is the login username requirements for the public side. The #1 call we get from the public is users not being able to log in because they didn't realize that their username isn't necessarily their email address. If they required the username be an email address, this would help with this issue. Otherwise, everything is great.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

Best value and ease of use. Great financial and enrollment reporting. Very customizable.

Vendor Response

We are so happy that you are enjoying the functionality of the software. It has been a pleasure serving you.

Replied April 2021

Amy Jo

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

MyRec review

from start to finish line the service was outstanding. I felt like MyRec listened to our needs on what we wanted, and they delivered. very friendly and great prices.

PROS

I love the ease of use; customer service is very helpful and knowledgeable.

CONS

when running a distribution summary report, it would be nice to click on the blue highlighted total to find out for example what day a reservation was made so that either an invoice number could be shown, a name or at least a date shown when that takes place. we don't run daily totals, we run biweekly or monthly.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

dollar value and to be honest, they took the time to explain things and helped us. i felt like a number when working with Rec desk. They actually were mad when they called back to ask why we didnt choose them. i said that their tone right there when we talked was the reason why. very nervy to act like that

Reasons for switching to MyRec.com

Active Net was NOT user friendly, and it seemed as though they were leaving the recreation part of their training. they charged additional fees and were not helpful to say the least

Vendor Response

Much appreciation for the kind words in your review, thank you. Please call into client services as there may be another report that will give you specifically what you are looking for.

Replied January 2023

Lisa

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Very Happy With MYREC Purchase

This software has helped our department with online registrations, field scheduling and facility scheduling. It allows the residents to see just what is going on from our department. All of the reporting is a great tool for us as well, it's all right there. The online registrations is the biggest plus.

PROS

I enjoy that is is web based so I can use it anywhere not just in the office. The customer service is so friendly and very responsive which is important to us and our residents. The features are what we were looking for for our Park & Rec department. We can do single programs or we can do more elaborate yearly programs. Whenever we have an issue, question or want to see if they can add a feature it is looked into immediately, we love that. MYREC really tries to customize the page to what you need, and every town is different and offers different options, so we appreciate that part. We also love the fact that we can now refund a resident with only having to use MYREC and not have to go to Authorize.net as well.

CONS

There are a few functions that we wished the software did and areaware they are looking into. We would like to send automatic monthly payment reminders to specific programs. We would like to have a credit card scanner in the office, it would make registrations move quicker when we have multiple residents here registering for a program. Some residents have an hard time maneuvering the sight and they do not like the initial set-up process with having to add all members in.

Vendor Response

So glad the software is simplifying your recreation management! Thanks for the requests, and I will send an email regarding the credit card scanner.

Replied December 2019

Octavia

Recreational Facilities and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

MyRec Review

Overall we've had a great experience with MyRec and their associates. Very attentive to their clients needs and willing to go the extra mile.

PROS

MyRec is a user friendly and adaptable recreational software that contains modules which meet the needs of our daily operations as a parks and recreation agency. The functionality and concepts of utilizing the software are easy to understand and orient new employees on especially, with the videos and pdf instructions underneath the Help Files. All of the software support employees were present and offered assistance to any software issues and if there unavailable, would respond back quickly via telephone or email. All of employees would walk you through an issues or problems and either had a solution or, would seek additional information from their team/co-workers. Steadily provide updates and new revisions made within the software on a monthly basis through there web-based newsletter. Automatically archives programs, activities, events and rentals that have occurred on the specific date, time and location. Can retrieve and easily clone previous programs and activities.

CONS

Employees within different tiers (managerial or recreation leader) had either too much or not enough access to features on MyRec. Having to manually block an account that currently holds a balance which still allows the account holder to register for future programs, activities and events. Account holders can create more than one account in the system by placing their name underneath another account (family member or friend) instead of the system automatically linking the account holder to their former or current account. At times we've had issues with adjustment on accounts more specifically when it comes to members receiving pro-rated or full refunds for their purchases. Members not receiving any notification emails after resetting the password to their account.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled the software is meeting your expectations. We also have some of your concerns in development right now- so keep an eye on those updates!

Replied November 2020

Todd

Recreational Facilities and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

MyRec.com

It has been a positive experience overall. Problems have been address quickly and fixed. The software continues to improve across all modules. The MyRec.com staff attends our State Conference and listens to our concerns and has ways to do things that we need rightthere or they bring it back and see if they can make it work. It has been great!

PROS

It is a great product to get all that you need or don't in one product. You don't have to keep purchasing modules as the dept. grows. It also gives you a website, so you don't have to manage two different sites- a dept site and a registration site. The customer service is great- they have the answers and if they don't they will figure it out and call you back, which is typically in the same day. They also listen to the customer's needs and look to see if they can improve the product to provided what is needed. They hire recreation professionals who have been in the field and understand the customer's needs, because they have been there. This is help to keep improving the product.

CONS

Haven't come across anything that is disliked about this software. It has worked great for our dept.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

Less expensive and had the website as part of the product. As a small dept. it made sense to get all modules in one pricing and use what we needed now and be able to turn on others as we grow. Also to have the website attached to the registration site.

Vendor Response

Todd, It has been a pleasure to have you as a client. Keep those suggestions coming!

Replied December 2019

Karen

Government Relations, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

MYREC Review

PROS

We are always impressed with the skill and knowledge of the MyRec specialists who we speak with on the phone or via video chat. Often I can pose my problem in email form and the specialist gets back to me ASAP with the steps outlined for me to follow. They follow up to be sure my question is answered and that I have no more concerns. We have been contacting [sensitive content hidden] regarding our pool memberships and she has been extremely patient with our many questions and concerns. Given that two out of three of us in the office are new, we have relied on [sensitive content hidden] A LOT! Most of the information we contact MYREC about is in the knowledge base area, but it is not always clear where to find the information.

CONS

A complaint we have from our constituents is that they are unable to re-set their password when they click the re-set password button.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. Please note that we have made the process a bit easier (esp if they haven't used an email, but something else for their username). Let client support know if it continues to be a problem.

Replied March 2023

Joey

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2021

CB P&R

MyRec and their team are great. They take feedback well and are always available to help. Like any software, there are many areas for improvement but I believe they're working on it regularly.

PROS

General function, reporting, program building, facility listing, connection to authorize & ability to refund via cc. Contact listing and ability to see/research participants, permit system, POS system.

CONS

Lack of drag and drop scheduling for facilities, password reset function doesn't function well from front end, can't use multiple photos for one facility, some transaction features are not intuitive and leave long investigation/backpedaling if a mistake is made.

Reason for choosing MyRec.com

Continuity of software, excellent customer service, ability to request changes.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you've had some difficulties and encourage you to call us to straighten them out now and at any future point. In particular, we could go over what you envision for drag and drop scheduling (have you seen our new quick add feature?) and work with you on specific password reset instances (we know the spam folder or using the wrong email address can sometimes be an issue). Adding multiple photos to a facility is part of our development plan and we've made sure you're on the notification list for that project. We would also like to help regarding transaction features - please call us to go over the details. We are here and always ready to help.

Replied March 2021

Chalet

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

MyRec is perfect for what we need

Before MyRec, I was a one person recreation department that used paper forms for registrations and triplicate forms for rentals. We had a paper calendar and a HUGE binder for each of our rental facilities. I needed a cart to transport them. People would call in to the office multiple times for one rental. With MyRec, they can answer most of their questions online. The amount of phone calls has dropped which frees up time for other planning/programming. Getting MyRec was like adding a staff position.

PROS

MyRec offered the features that we needed. The system is easy to use and update. MyRec's staff is always available to help when we get stuck - but they also have a great help section with videos and step by step instructions.

CONS

Some of our residents have a bit of a learning curve with getting their account set up. Once they figure it out, then there seems to be less calls to us for help.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It has been a pleasure serving your town, and we are thrilled that the features you are using are simplifying your recreation management!

Replied April 2023

Heather

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY