All Practice Mate Reviews

1-25 of 110 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Connie

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

My Seven Year Affair with Office Ally and Practice Mate

PROS

This program is easy to use. I consider myself a ludite and yet I was able to figure out how to use Practice Mate with only one tutorial. I am sure I do not utilize all of the features available to me but they are there if I hit a snag with my practice. Plus the technical team is available and responsive without going through a long phone menu or wait. They are also fast and efficient with claim submission. Always grateful for that!

CONS

I used OA and Practice Mate at a couple of clinics before I started my own practice so was already familiar with it. That was back when it was free to providers. Ahem!It pretty well defined how I was going to set up booking and billing for my practice and was my first choice of all the programs I had had to learn during the course of my 25 year career. I wasn't surprised when they began to charge and feel it is a reasonable fee considering I can input for 15 minutes at the end of my day and leave all the rest to them. I truly do not have anything negative to say about PM.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to me.

Replied September 2023

Kathy

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Pros and Cons of using Practice Mate

I really appreciate the customer service experience! I get questions answered or assistance when needed without having to go through a lot of automated prompts! There is nothing like being able to talk to another human being to help solve whatever problem I may be having!!

PROS

Prior to 2020, I found all of the features to be very beneficial to my practice. Since the retirement of my office manager and the onset of COVID, I now have a third-party company that handles insurance verification, billing, and payment for me, which allows me more time for patient care.

CONS

Many times, when patients are completing the new patient paperwork through Patient Ally, they are not able to complete the HIPAA Compliant form. I'm told there is a glitch in the system that IT is working on, but to date, it hasn't been corrected. This means I have to send that particular form to the patient for signature and then add it to their file, which is not convenient.

Vendor Response

Thank you Kathy for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied August 2023

Kristen

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2020

Avoid this product

Regrettable.

PROS

Offers useful functions for accounting, billing, etc. if you don't plan to use the patient portal.

CONS

Their patient portal, Patient Ally, is AWFUL and I don't recommend it. Be prepared to deal with lots of bugs and customer service that just gives you the run around. The Upcoming Appointments feature of the portal does not work at all anymore. We've called several times to fix it over the last 6 months, and they just say "We are working on it" and refuse to give an estimated time to fix it. When we've expressed displeasure about this, we were ignored. We lose business because patients check their upcoming appointments tab and see they have nothing scheduled, even though they are in our schedules. Office Ally just doesn't care either so we will be looking for another solution. There are also plenty other bugs. For example, patients can sometimes request appointment slots that are already full, leading to double-booking. This is not because someone was scheduled in the time between the appointment request and confirmation. It is purely a software bug. The time it takes to resolve these issues with support is lengthy, and often the errors are never fully resolved. A fairly large chunk of our patients have trouble using it, and completing the on-boarding enrollment. We also had a worrisome customer service experience with their partner for integrated credit card processing, so we had to use a separate processor.

Jorn T

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Practice Mate for the solo practic

Great access from any internet connected device. Cost effective office management going on 15 years.

PROS

The scheduling and billing/bookkeeping in one enabled me to split from a sublease and start solo practice with confidence 15 years ago. I came from downloaded software to accessible web-based management system.

CONS

Import of CSV file went well. Some of the pages can be improved to compliment the workflow. Put save buttons everywhere so I don't have to scroll to the bottom every time. Date entry (DOB, injury date etc.) is inconsistent. The cursor automatically advances from month to date but often needs a Tab to go to year. Put another Superbill button all the way up under the charges. Any editing requires a full scroll to the bottom to find it.

Reasons for switching to Practice Mate

Initially a free service with billing. Web based.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Mona

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Using Practice Mate

Good experience.

PROS

It's easy to use and has a lot of features that other software companies bill for as modules making your monthly cost higher than it needs to be. Easier to set up the ERA's and it's a great clearinghouse if that's all you need.

CONS

I honestly don't know what to say here.

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

Simple is better in a chaotic industry. It does exactly what is should do and does it well. Very little unannounced down time. The cost is normally a shock to providers, because they don't believe something this reasonable can work so well. We always tell them to start out with Office Ally/Practice Mate and change if it doesn't meet your needs. No one ever changes.

Reasons for switching to Practice Mate

Easier to use and the reports are simple.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Scott

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Long Term Office Ally Practice Mate User

Bottom line for my billing company is the overhead to use Practice Mate is very fair priced. Productivity is the best EHR/Billing platform for less time managing daily task.

PROS

Streamlining daily visits and claims created is fast and easy with patient visit templates for repeat patients where coding is the same procedure each visit. Accounting & entering payments with the ability to be able to easily adjust and delete payments is very fast and not frustrating.

CONS

Entering payments manually can be confusing with added steps to choose payment to, payment from, payment method. The older version was a lot easier to add payments as it was more simplified. But some of my staff love the new version of adding payments. It's a preference of the individual user.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Patrick

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Essential for Electronic Medical Billing

I honestly love it! I couldn't run my business without it!

PROS

The ease of use for electronic medical billing is my favorite thing about Office Ally Practice Mate. I am able to do an entire weeks worth of medical billing in only a few minutes. Plus, adding new patients or updating existing patient charts is simple and easy.

CONS

The only thing I would change is that after you create a claim, instead of returning to the current day's calendar, I wish you could return to the date you of the claim you just created. This would be nice because I usually do all my billing at the end of the week and go from day to day. This isn't really a huge problem, it just takes my a few seconds more. Kind of a ticky-tacky complaint really.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Tuan

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Office Ally. Practice Mate.

I like it a lot. It's relatively inexpensive. If they increase the price, I may look at other systems. So, for the functionality I need, it's good enough.

PROS

Inexpensive. Can use both for scheduling and billing/claim. Internet base. Easy to use.

CONS

Many small details and features difficult for me to explain. Example: Schedule change does not document who changes it, when, to where/when. Prescription part has a lot of features that seem very poorly designed. Appointment slots are too rigid with either 15 min or 30 min, etc. Not dynamic. Many others.

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

Inexpensive.

Reasons for switching to Practice Mate

Expensive. Lack of functionality. Designed by non-MDs who have no understanding of what it's like working in medical clinic, or by MDs who have no experience in real world practice. You can tell.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Patricia

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

A lot for your money

Overall, I like the program- it does what I need, and my biller uses it- so we are all on the same page. It schedules, bills, files claims and creates reports all for a very affordable fee.

PROS

I like that the scheduling, billing and insurance claim filing is all in one program. As I learned my way around the program, I found I liked it more and more. I have utilized the Patient Ally portal for my patients, and had some of my forms put into electronic form so that patients have the option to fill out registration paperwork online. This has been such a nice feature. Patients use this to schedule their own appointments as well.

CONS

The video appointment- virtual appointment feature is non functional for me. And it sends an email to my patients in the middle of the night with a link for our appointment which is their link-- however, it doesn't work-- I use Doxy in place of this feature, but its confusing for my new virtual patients to get the email from Office Ally and then it doesn't work.

Vendor Response

Thank you Patricia for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied August 2023

Carrie

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Use of Practice Mate for Electronic Billing in a clinical psychology private practice.

Excellent. No complaints. Highly recommend.

PROS

Customer service is exceptional at trouble shooting claims that fail to process for remittance. Professionalism, knowledge and competence of office ally staff.

CONS

It is impossible to ascertain why claims are not accepted by payors and always requires time to contact an office ally service representatives to understand why and how behavioral healthcarecompanies have changed the information they want submitted on claims- however it is farpreferable to speak to office ally representatives than to try and get information from the behavioralhealth companies who routinely give misinformation or are unable to troubleshoot.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Kathy

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Love Practice Mate

PROS

I love how user friendly it is. Our schedule is color coordinated which makes it so easy for staff.

CONS

I don't like that we can't customize accounting reports. We currently run a few reports every month to get the numbers we need for inventory.

Reasons for switching to Practice Mate

The other PM system was too difficult to navigate for staff. There were many billing errors we couldn't fix on our end.

Vendor Response

Thank you Kathy for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience. If you are interested, please reach out to me.

Replied August 2023

Kristen

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Great tool

I bill on behalf of my patients because it is so very simple with Practice Mate. It, therefore, allows me to offer them a benefit that other non-participating providers do not.

PROS

I love the ease of use. It is very simple and clear. Other platforms are MUCH more cumbersome and cluttered. I also LOVE the customer service!!!! They are human and caring! I am very pleased with my experience overall with Practice Mate!

CONS

I wish, for a small practice, that the boxes 25 and 31 through 33 would have an auto-fill option.

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

I continue to choose Practice Mate because of the grave disappointment I experience when forced to use other platforms that are a far cry from the efficiency and clarity of Practice Mate.

Vendor Response

Thank you Kristen for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied August 2023

Tory

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Practice Mate Review

Using Practice Mate is an integral part if my business running smoothly!

PROS

Helps keep important information organized and is easy and simple to use.

CONS

Lots of clicks to get simple tasks completed

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

Colleagues recommended this product

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Rusty

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

simple fixes could make a world of difference

Our experience with other softwares have been AWFUL so this one has been a blessing. I feel that there are seemingly minor adjustments that could be addressed that would make this DREAMY. If only I could get someone to hear me!!!

PROS

I love that we can color code our schedules to differentiate b/w OT/ST

CONS

Needed fixes: Make daily schedule show only therapists working that day visible; Allow schedule to drag L/R for view of all treating therapists that entire day at once

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

the scheduling features

Reasons for switching to Practice Mate

Clinic Source cost us 2 employees! It was infuriating to work with. We frequently lost reports/daily notes in the middle of creating them. We were constantly double working ourselves. Their system needed to give users permission to unclick one box to allow us to fill in and submit 1500 forms through the software but they refused to make this adjustment. Although it had potential, it was THE WORST!

Dharmesh

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Best practice management software use

Been using this software since office opened 23 years ago.

PROS

Ease of use. Serves the purpose for my practice

CONS

Can have more colors in appointment page setting. Categorize based on the colors.More info when hovering a mouse over an appointment.

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

No charge for online claims submission.Software with more capabilities

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Jackie

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

New Changes

I really like the system but again I would like to do corrections when entering something by mistake

PROS

easy to use once you get a hang of it then everything just falls into place

CONS

don't like that you can't make date changes on it once it goes through we are not all perfect an enter a mistake from time to time

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

Julia

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Love this product

PROS

Practice Mate is easy and efficient to use. They take the stress of billing away while adhering to HIPPA.

CONS

Training was a challenge, but once figured out it has been simple.

Reason for choosing Practice Mate

I knew others who had used Practice Mate who recommended it's use

Vendor Response

Thank you for the complimentary review. I am very glad that you are enjoying the product. I would be very interested in hearing more about (and possibly highlighting) your experience further. If you are interested, please reach out to us.

Replied September 2023

cathy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE