All Soda PDF Reviews

1-25 of 214 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Andres

Verified reviewer

International Trade and Development, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Amazing set of PDF tools that includes OCR

After scanning all the physical documentation that I had in my office, I managed to transfer it to digital format through the OCR tool that has Soda PDF, which allowed me to have a better management of my documents, since previously I had to review a large amount of files in search of some document. Also, I can edit PDF files according to what I need and sign them digitally.

PROS

I like the fact that you have an OCR tool to recognize the text in the images, so you can then edit that text in PDF. You can convert PDF files to Word, Excel, RTF and other formats. Another advantage of using Soda is that I receive email updates about its new features, which include instructions for use and video tutorials. Also, I can create a custom toolbar, where I include the tools I use most.

CONS

At times, when trying to print files in batches, the software stops responding and I have to open the documents again.

Wendy

Writing and Editing, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Soda PDF -- Intuitive and User Friendly Way to Create and Edit PDF Documents

Overall? Excellent! This is a VERY user-friendly way to both create and convert PDFs, edit/fill in a PDF, sign a PDF with a created signature, and then deliver/download/share. If for some reason I need to have a colleague review a document, the review/comment function is great for easily getting document feedback. We don't use that feature as often, but it's nice to have in the available functions.

PROS

It's easy to use with little to no formal training -- very intuitive. I like that it converts documents TO PDF, PDF to MSWord or other types of files, and lets me upload a document for PDF filler access. I think forms are more professional when they're typed instead of being handwritten -- cleaner and neater for sure! We use SODA to upload forms sent to us, then fill in via the PDF filler. I love how easy SODA is to use via Mac/PC, tablets, and phones. Even when my staff and I are outside the office -- at home or on the road -- we can access SODA to ensure our work continues seamlessly. PDFs created can be saved to the Cloud, Desktop, or even e-mailed. I love this software/app!

CONS

My only small complaint is that it can be hard to locate a file once it's complete. That's likely on me instead of SODA. We downloaded the software/app, and have been learning as we go. Perhaps some training on our part would make archiving easier.

Reason for choosing Soda PDF

We used the Free Trial to check it out in real time for a month...and we all agreed that it made life in the office so much better!

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

We found Adobe difficult to master without extensive training, despite it being the "standard" in PDF creation. We're a small company, so we need software that's easy to use AND offers a full suite of services.

Andrew

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Not free software

This software seems to be fairly feature-complete and I could definitely see it as a strong competitor to Adobe Acrobat. However, I couldn't tell you how well any of those features work because essentially none of the features are available unless you use a paid version. The issue I have with this software (and the reason I'm writing this review) is that I feel like they gave me a bait-and-switch. I have been using the built-in PDF viewer in Mozilla Firefox to view PDFs, but have been looking for a free software that will allow me to manage bookmarks in PDF files. From my research on Google and looking through the website for Soda PDF, I was given the idea that Soda PDF offers a free version of the software. I have attempted to use this "free version", but it seems there was absolutely zero point in installing this software, as literally all it can do is view PDF files, which can be done by any modern browser, including the ones that come pre-installed on every operating system. So the "free version" of the software is a waste of your time, as it doesn't actually provide any useful functionality that your computer doesn't already have. I've seen it referred to as the "free trial" in a few places, and it certainly doesn't live up to that name either, unless your intent is to "try" looking at the "you've discovered a premium feature" screen, since pretty much every button gives you that popup. This is less of a "free version" and more of an advertisement you can install.

PROS

Easy Installation Attractive and user-friendly interface Wealth of features (when using paid version)

CONS

Website and search engines falsely indicate this is free software

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

I switched because I was looking for a program that can add bookmarks to a PDF file. This is a feature built-in to the '.pdf' filetype, so I would have expected it to be considered a basic feature included in the free version. There's absolutely no way in hell I'm going to pay a monthly fee to any company to be able to use a basic feature of a filetype that is an industry standard and has existed for 30 years!

Vendor Response

Hi Andrew, Thank you for sharing your experience with Soda PDF, we will forward your feedback that bookmarks should be added to free features in the program to the appropriate team. We also include in the escalation the comment that the information about pricing is not clear enough. We would like to improve your experience with us, just contact us in the live chat by following this link and clicking on the red support button in the lower left corner https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us

Replied May 2022

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Great features for the price

It gives people a more intuitive option for pdfs and there's a free version that people can try easily before they purchase the full-featured one.

PROS

It has all of the features that you need for making pdfs and then some. It's really intuitive, I think more intuitive than it's major competitor.

CONS

Even after you purchase the full upgrade, they keep pestering you to spend more and upgrade. OK, I get it, you want to sell me more product. But I had to turn off notifications multiple times and it was a headache.

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Trying something new and wanted different features.

Vendor Response

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your impression of Soda PDF. We are glad to hear you find it intuitive and helpful. Thanks for letting us know you had issues with the pop-ups. We are glad to assist you to disable advertisements. Please follow the steps below: Click on 'Options' (a gear icon located in the right upper corner). Select 'Notification' and toggle the switch on 'Notification System'.

Replied June 2021

Bhushan

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Best tool for PDF editing

Best pdf editing tool online and offline as well, it has a desktop version for download, and can work on documents offline

PROS

Easy to edit/modify pdf files, easy to add digital signature

CONS

limited features, can not use multiple features at a time e.g. edit and merge pdf, add new pages etc

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Cost-effective and compare to adobe its easy to deploy

Aayan

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2024

Took my money and wont let me download my pdf

PROS

the features. I was removing watermarks.

CONS

very choppy. did not function properly. I paid to download my pdf and it made my create an account. That account is invalid though.

Vendor Response

Hello Aayan, Thanks for sharing that you need help getting access to the document that you paid for. Let us check your case and help you. We will also check your account situation. Please reach out to us in the live chat (red support button) or submit a request by clicking on the "contact us" button to get further assistance: https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Abhinav

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Soda PDF : simply add Fizup to your workings

Wonderful experience with this little but useful tool

PROS

Because it is open source, I liked the Soda PDF as can be deployed to mostly all the platforms

CONS

OCR I.e optical character recognition can be improved

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Presentation related activities can not be attended properly with this software

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Does not work with Avast Virus Protection

For the first several years of using the program I was satisfied, since this issue with Avast came up about 2 years ago, I have not been able to use Soda and have purchases Adobe PDF.

PROS

Early editions were easy to use pdf generation and editing tools that would occasionally crash, but the ease of use compared to Adobe PDF made Soda a superior option.

CONS

After updating to Soda 12, it became impossible to use the software because Avast recognized the adware within the program as malware. It has been a year going back and forth with Customer Service and though they respond with instructions to remove all references of the program, disable Avast and then reinstall, nothing has worker. I even tried to go back to Soda 8, but still Avast detects the adware and it blocks the program. I cannot recommend this product based on my experience

Vendor Response

Hello there, Thank you for letting us know about your experience with our support team. Be kindly informed that the issue with Avast was fixed in the recent updates for version 12. Our highly skilled tech agents will be glad to assist you with the issue via the Live hat and one of our agents will assist you (it's available Monday-Friday 3 am - 5 pm EST). To open the Chat, please follow the steps below: 1. Open the support page: https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us/ 2. Click on the Support widget in the left bottom corner of the page 3. Type any word and press Enter 4. Then select the Live Chat option at the bottom of the widget

Replied March 2021

User Profile

Paul

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2021

Disappointed with new version

PROS

Initially, my old version of SodaPDF suddenly stopped working - "your subscription expired" - but logging onto their website and finidng that my subscription is good through 2022 did not make me happy. Then finding out that the old version I was using MUST be upgraded - NO ANDS IFS OR BUTS. New version to me is VERY clunky - I liked SEEING a title that read "crop" - not having to hover over multiple buttons to find what I wanted. Crop function is horrible. If I have a 8.5x11 document (landscape), dragging the left most bar changes the top one - top drag changes the right side, right side changes the bottom - bottom...well, bottom does not allow you to drag it at all. FORCES you to use a slider bar set to the right of the drag bars. VERY inconvenient. Finally got my crop where I wanted it. Program crashed. Tried again - SAVED this time. Crashed after save. 3rd opening, finally was able to print what I needed. I am honestly horrified to try other functions - took me longer to find the simple things I wanted rather than using an intuitive "title" system (yes, I can hover over icons, but JUST SHOW ME THE TITLE.

CONS

Horribly clunky interface that does not work as expected.

Vendor Response

Hi Paul, Thanks for sharing your impression of the new version of Soda PDF. We will make sure to forward your complaint about not intuitive interface to the corresponding team. Please check the Soda PDF user guide with a lot of useful articles that help you to use the software: https://userguide.sodapdf.com/desktop/public/ Please contact our support center in case the crashing issue continues. Our email address is info@sodapdf.com

Replied June 2021

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Cancellation an Issue

Usage wise it was effective from a basic point of view. Customer support extremely poor.

PROS

Reasonably easy to use and inexpensive within limits

CONS

Decided not to renew but Soda won't let me remove my credit card details

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Better product

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review. We are happy that you found Soda PDF to be easy to handle and to be inexpensive. We are, however, very sorry about your bad experience with our customer support. We would ask to give us a second chance to fix your problem quickly. We ask you to contact our customer support again and we will certainly solve your problem for you.

Replied February 2020

Marko

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Be careful when buying through a limited offer

PROS

It offers nice pdf editing features required for a small company.

CONS

Didn't really like the overall buying experience. We've got a limited-time offer to upgrade from a free trial. The price was supposedly around $46 for a Pro version (1-year subscription), but then we were shocked to see we were charged almost the double amount - $85. It appears they included a bunch of spam products in this subscription, but it was not really clearly presented to us, end-users. Also, we didn't get the Mastercard 3Dsecure confirmation code, so that's a major security concern.

Vendor Response

Hello Marko, Thank you for letting us know that the buying process is not clear enough, we will forward this feedback to the appropriate team. We will also info them about you not getting the confirmation code, they will double-check it. if you want to get a refund for the additional programs, please reach out to our support team in live chat. To open the chat, please follow the steps below: 1. Open the support page: https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us/ 2. Click on the Support widget in the left bottom corner of the page 3. Type any word and press Enter 4. Then select the Live Chat option at the bottom of the widget

Replied June 2022

Dave

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Alternative to Adobe

The ease of use and daily interaction with same is good and allows the company to do what it needs to do with regards to portable document management.

PROS

Soda was selected as an alternative to Adobe based on price and was presently surprised to find what was covered in the base product when comparing.

CONS

The initial set up was tricky as it is linked to an online account and having a second account caused issues.

Reason for choosing Soda PDF

Reputation

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Cost

Vendor Response

Hello Dave, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear you like our software. Please be sure we are always working on making our software better.

Replied February 2021

John

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Poor support and confusing re-purchase procedure.

Great program but suddenly stops. The customer support and activation process is pathetic. Will probably look for another pdf program as my time is too valuable to waste on a product which is too clumsy to be involved with.

PROS

All round a very good program and easy to use.

CONS

Previous copy suddenly stopped working 5 months after installation. Assumed perhaps expiry date may have been reached so bought a new copy. Activation code not sent for newly purchased copy. Support response just heaps of pro-forma pre written garbage messages from auto responder.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear about your bad customer service experience. I can see that your problem has been resolved in the meantime, but rest assured, that this review will help us to improve our customer service. This is very important to us.

Replied May 2020

Hussein

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2022

Keep crashing!

Not good.

PROS

Measuring to scale on the drawings, snapshots...

CONS

Editing, and adding comments or highlighting colouring...

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

Cost

Vendor Response

Hello Hussein, Thank you for letting us know that your Soda PDF crashes constantly. We will forward your feedback on the editing features as well as on the features in the comment module to the development team. Our support is ready to help you fix the crash issue. Please reach out to us in live chat to get further assistance, just follow these steps 1. Open the support page: https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us/ 2. Click on the Support widget in the left bottom corner of the page 3. Type any word and press Enter 4. Then select the Live Chat option at the bottom of the widget

Replied May 2022

Patrick

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2023

Not honoring contract

They just deleted me and my perpetual subscription for the crime of trying to use it. I have been canceled. They do not honor their contracts. Dishonorable.

PROS

I was using soda 9. It was a bit clunky but served my purpose for a lower price than an adobe subscription

CONS

I bought a perpetual use license to use soda 9 forever for one purchase price. They have now changed their pricing structure to a monthly subscription. As I updated my computer I had to download the free version and then convert to my subscription. They (soda) have made it progressively harder to use my bought and paid for perpetual subscription. My hard drive died so I had to download the free version and switch to my subscription. Suddenly that seemed impossible to do. I have always been able to log onto their site and see my perpetual subscription. I could do that this morning but after trying to apply my subscription to the software I got an email saying I canceled my own subscription and my log in no longer works. So in essence they just canceled me, my subscription and even my log in. Their site now says my user name is no longer recognized by their system.

Vendor Response

Hello Patrick, Thank you for letting us know you changed your PC and want to transfer your lifetime license of Soda PDF 9 to your new device. We have sent you an instruction on how to get your Soda PDF 9 on your new device. Please make sure to check your inbox

Replied April 2023

Ana

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2022

Terrible product and shady business practice

Terrible; after learning that, I was duped into thinking I made an outright purchase of the product but, in reality, had signed up for a subscription and no response to my printing issues; I tried to cancel and get a refund based on their advertised 100% money back guarantee. All I have received are emails excusing their deceptive marketing and offering me a discount to keep the product, but they are not honoring their 100% refund guarantee. Do not buy from this company, they are not legit.

PROS

An alternative to Adobe ease of installation

CONS

I use the software to print invoices and shipping labels. The quality of the prints is terrible, so I opened a support ticket but never got a response. I then learned that the "full purchase price" is not an entire purchase but rather a subscription that automatically renews.

Reasons for switching to Soda PDF

I do not like the Adobe subscription model; turns out Soda is the same, I rather go back to the original; at least they disclose the terms something Soda doesn't do.

Vendor Response

Hi Ana, Thank you for sharing that you would like to get a refund because you wanted to get a lifetime license. We will forward your feedback that the subscription information should be clearer to the marketing team. We appreciate the feedback a lot. To get your request processed, please reach out to our support team in the live chat. To open the Chat, please follow the steps below: 1. Open the support page: https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us/ 2. Click on the Support widget in the left bottom corner of the page 3. Type any word and press Enter 4. Then select the Live Chat option at the bottom of the widget

Replied August 2022

Dee

Verified reviewer

Warehousing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2020

Messed up

PROS

All the previous versions were awesome. Great features

CONS

Version 12 is horrible, total redone not working friendly. After scanning a page and attaching it to an email, i open to review and i get an error message that reads "The system cannot find the file specified" I never had that issue before. I've tried contacting service and i never heard back from anyone

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. I am very sorry to hear you did not get any assistance on your issue. We would be grateful if you can give us a second chance and contact us via https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us Please let us know what mail you use when you get that error message and also if possible please send us a screenshot of the error message

Replied July 2023

Gary

Individual & Family Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT