What are BugHerd users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using BugHerd software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.66

59 Reviews

5
41
4
17
3
0
2
1
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Integration was very easy and it's easy for my clients to use. We use Bugherd for all bug reporting and most feature requests."
  • icon"The kanban board and assign a task features are both straightforward and well laid out, super easy to start using straight away."
  • icon"The automatic print screen and page marker work really great. Super easy to discuss new features, design changes and bugs."
  • icon"Sometimes its problem to capture screenshots of website."
  • icon"Sometimes it can be difficult to select the exact area that you're trying to comment on. Can be a bit laggy at times."
  • icon"The only negative about BugHerd is that I would prefer if the seats were per project and not on the overall account."

Jump to:

Browse all BugHerd Reviews

  • Have you used BugHerd and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 59 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 59 reviews

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

A no-brainer purchase for any agency or development team

A pleasure to use. Easy to install and use and it makes QA testing a delight.

Pros

It removes any ambiguity about bugs and feature requests. Being able to annotate a comment directly on a live / staging website, is a huge perk and something that I now cannot live without.

Cons

The lack of customizable columns in their kanban-style layout is a pity. Not a deal breaker, but our agency workflow does not follow a 'backlog', 'doing', 'done', 'closed' workflow and we end up having to have internal discussions about what 'backlog' actually represents in our own workflow. Would be great to rename these columns and have more/less of them.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for your fantastic review Mark! Your feedback is how we continue to improve. You'll be pleased to hear that custom columns are on their way, stay tuned!

Replied February 2020

Elliott

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

An essential tool for serious project management

This product is exceptional, without it web and software development would be much harder to manage, I manage multiple projects each having multiple members, the thought of tracking bugs from multiple sources like I used to in email and spreadsheets would literally take for ever to track, update and share, BugHerd has saved me and my team thousands of wasted hours!

Pros

Projected based in-browser centralised tasks in one place makes project management a breeze, also having comments in one thread related to a single task helps to pinpoint and focused on bug tracking that others products just can’t do well. I couldn’t bear to go back to email or spreadsheet task list!

Cons

As projects grow and users need to be added to different projects the cost can get expensive, be aware that the lift from 10 users to 25,50 isn’t obvious from the outset, know this in advance so it can be absorbed in your SLA’s

Reasons for switching to BugHerd

Other products just don’t meet my needs

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Elliott, You've made our day by letting us know your team has saved thousands of wasted hours with BugHerd. Thanks for your thorough and kind review.

Replied July 2021

Ivan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Feedback sammeln mit Hindernissen

Pros

BugHerd bietet eine vielzahl an Features wie z.B. das Annotieren von Screenshots.

Cons

Langsame UI, optisch nicht sehr gelungen, manchmal Fehlerhaft.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Ivan, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of BugHerd. Am very sorry that you seem to be having issues with the software being slow and buggy. We'd really like to look into that for you. Please send through an email with the issues you're having to support@bugherd.com and we'll take a look.

Replied April 2022

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Our clients LOVE it

Pros

To us, the client experience reigns supreme. Also, we hated getting two mile long emails with website edits. With BugHerd, our website review process and ongoing support has become incredibly efficient. Our clients love knowing they can add a note to their website to get our eyes on it, and we MUCH prefer having a list of easy to understand BH notes to deal with instead of trying to interpret email chains!

Cons

BugHerd keep improving - so I have nothing negative to say. All the main features I could ask for already exist, and they have made major improvements to their interface and client side implementation process.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for such a detailed and fantastic review Chris. We are so pleased to be able to help reduce those mile-long client feedback emails! We will strive to continue improving the product to make your workflow even more efficient.

Replied April 2020

Christian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Bugherd is as indispensable as email

Im a huge fan of Bugherd. It's open all day and I constantly refer to it for project/task updates. In a virtual team setting and work from home, it has become indispensable.

Pros

Bugherd is the perfect tool for clients to capture ideas, bugs and issues on their site. We can also use it to communicate with all parties involved on the task and track the progress of the ticket.

Cons

Not much to dislike. There are opportunities to make it better including adding time tracking.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks Christian for the lovely review and your suggestions for making BugHerd even more useful for you. Love it!

Replied July 2021

Štefan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Very handy tool in web development

vera satisfied and very excited with new features implemented in this handy tool

Pros

Very handy and usefull software that helps organize various tasks during developing a new website. Aditional information collected into specific task are very helpfull for developers, and also captured screenshot and possilibility to add files to task (for example video)

Cons

sometimes its problem to capture screenshots of website.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us Stefan! We really appreciate when customers provide this kind of detail in their reviews. We are always actively looking for ways to improve the product so your review has been extremely helpful.

Replied October 2020

User Profile

Lee

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Best tool for web design

I have been using BugHerd for many years and it is simply the best. All of my clients love it and it has simplified the website review process so much. I don't know what I would do without this tool. It is amazing.

Pros

Easy of use and ability to tag the specific spot that needs correcting on websites.

Cons

Sometimes the email notifications don't notify you of new bugs on the site.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for such a detailed and 10/10 review Lee! We appreciate you taking the time our of your day to give us such excellent feedback.

Replied April 2020

Ashley

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Can't live without Bugherd

Pros

Bugherd is a wonderful tool that has made bug tracking on web jobs in our company so much smoother. I love that if you install the browser extension, certain pieces of information - including browser info and screen grab - are automatically logged. I can very easily assign teammates, tags, priorities and more. I can comment directly at people. There is so much to love about this platform.

Cons

The only thing I can think of is that you can't set project specific notification settings - I can't set just one or a few projects to notify me every time a bug is added... it is the whole company's account.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review of BugHerd, Ashley. Really appreciate it. Will pass on the suggestion for project specific notifications to help make BugHerd an ever smoother experience for you.

Replied January 2022

Stella

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Efficient and easy to use QA tool

We've been using Bugherd for several years for website QA tasks and the experience is great so far. We have not thought of changing this tool, it serves its purpose 100%. Easy to use, the drawing and the tagging really help with identifying the exact location of bugs.

Pros

the drawing and the tagging really help with identifying the exact location of bugs

Cons

Nothing so far, even when our team had contacted the support in the past to sort out the lack of some features, the Bugherd dev team managed to update their product and those features were finally added

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hey Stella - thanks for the great review of BugHerd. So glad you've been helping to further develop BugHerd with us to be an even more useful tool.

Replied June 2021

Elizabeth

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

I love bugherd!

Pros

very easy to use, easy to report issues and sort them. usefull to have context for the issues.

Cons

I have nothing to report about the cons.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for such a wonderful review! It's so great to hear that BugHerd is making you and your team's work easier.

Replied October 2020

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Fast bug tracking for bulk bugs, with slow development of new features

I've been using BugHerd for around 3 years now on large scale web projects, often with 500-2000 bugs reported throughout the project life. I've recently tested all of the key bug tracking tools available for website development, and BugHerd is hands down, still the fastest and most useful tool for bug reporting with a useful user area for bug management. The tool could be so much better though if the dev team behind it invested some more time and resources to make bulk bug management and integrations better.

Pros

Fast bug reporting with easy to set tags, users and descriptions. Easy to filter user area with kanban columns, search and the ability to go click on a bug and be anchored to a pin in the bugs location on your website. No need to install code for each website you test.

Cons

The development team is very slow to update and make changes to BugHerd. BugHerd is lacking bulk select features, and their connections to third party tools with better backend management aren't up to scratch.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for your fabulous review. We're glad to hear you're still a fan of the product. Rest assured we are working on some fantastic new updates that you'll definitely appreciate in 2020.

Replied December 2019

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Get BugHerd and never get another bug list over email.

Love it! We use it every day.

Pros

Clients and team love using this tool. It’s easy to figure out and use for everyone.

Cons

No way to see items assigned to you across all projects.

Reasons for choosing BugHerd

Contextual bug pins

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Andrew, thank you so much for your amazing 10/10 review! Your feedback is being heard by our team as we continue to make BugHerd better for you, your team and your clients.

Replied October 2020

Todd

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

A Real Game Changer for Web Dev

Clients have really leaned into this platform. The level of transparency it provides is a big deal for them and allows us to work alongside them rather than play the interpretation game. I'd suggest it to any team that handles large website builds or even simple landing page designs.

Pros

BugHerd has been a pretty big game changer when it comes to my team's web development capabilities. While we used to have to add significant notes to PDFs and emails to send to the client (and vice versa), now we can tackle changes and feedback right at the source. The tool is fairly simple to use and makes it easy for our clients to give us their thoughts, which has made our timelines shorter and deliverables easier to fulfill.

Cons

Since BugHerd is still being refined and updated pretty frequently, there are the occasional hiccups. It still has some quirks with multiple website testing instances that tend to cross some wires in the feedback. The ability to add a voice recording or brief screen recording to really lock down feedback would be great. When working with a team in a different area, adding bugs to your site can be interpreted a million different ways, so an easier way to provide specific info would be the next evolution of BugHerd.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Todd, What an awesome and thorough review! Thank you so much. How cool is your idea of a voice recording? We'll look into it. Thanks again. The BugHerd Team.

Replied February 2020

Denitsa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Great tool for small and medium-sized businesses

I've been using this tool for over 1.5 years and I love it. It helps keep up with our QA process and keeps track of all the bug reports. It has easy to use comment area where people can ask for clarification on each task/bug and it also automatically tracks all the nesessary technical details (screen resolution, operating system etc) when you report a bug, which a developer would need. I've used other alternatives such as Zendesk (which is also a great tool) however for smaller teams, I find BugHerd to be a great solution.

Pros

BugHerd is very easy to use. I haven't run into a case where someone (neither a client or a developer) has difficulties hitting the ground running with it.

Cons

The email notifications can be a much. There is an option to modify that in the settings of course, however I find clients don't typically dive into those.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hey Denitsa, wow your 10/10 review means a lot to us! We're so glad that BugHerd has been so helpful for you, and your feedback is being passed on to our team as we do our best to make BugHerd even better.

Replied October 2020

Phillip

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Nice UI. Not compatible with responsive websites, however

Easy for the client to log bugs and to view details about the bug without having to go back to the client to ask more questions and it automatically takes a screenshot from the client's computer when logging the bug.

Pros

I like the nicely designed UI which allows you to use drag and drop mouse movements to move jobs from in progress to completed etc. I like how you can comment on items and how the client can respond. You can see the client's browser, OS and screen size automatically so you don't need to ask the client themselves!

Cons

When the client logs a bug in a responsive view and you load the bug task in a full desktop view, hidden mobile elements that aren't available in the desktop view are also hidden. It's not easy to know they are talking about the mobile view without manually checking the screen resolution every time you view a new bug. The extra client details are only accessible if the client installs the BugHerd browser plugin.

Gui

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

BugHerd saves hours of client calls and endless piecemeal emails with feedback!

Pros

It's great to be able to let clients review sites on their own at their own pace. That has saved me hundreds if not thousands of hours on client calls going back and forth on their thoughts. I absolutely love BH. Thank you for existing!

Cons

We have had minor issues with clients not being able to create their accounts, seeing the BH tab, or losing the BH tab after the first round of review. It would also be great if it was compatible with all browsers.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hey Gui, we really appreciate this amazing review from you! Your feedback has been passed onto the team as we continue to improve BugHerd, making it the best it can be.

Replied October 2020

Chuck

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Wonderful product that does exactly what is says it does.

Wonderful product, at a great price does exactly what is says it does. Loved the easy to use Kanban. One of the best products we have used.

Pros

Simple to deploy, simple to use. Even the technically unskilled were able to note issues that needed attention. We used BugHerd to successfully maintain a 600 plus page website through two CMS changes, and it worked flawlessly.

Cons

A bit difficult to note changes on mobile, but it seems like that has been addressed now.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks for the glowing review, Chuck. You've definitely put it through its paces with two CMS changes for a 600+ page website! Glad the mobile tweaking has been useful for you too.

Replied June 2020

Brittany

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Amazing all round product

Pros

We love the simplicity that Bugherd gives to our clients. They can submit feedback or issues directly on the frontend of their website quickly. Bugherd has helped give clear communication channels to our clients and given us the ability to discuss issues as ease.

Cons

Direct Intergration into Jira would have been good we have managed to do it via Zapier.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for your glowing 10/10 review, Brittany. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We are always looking to improve the product to be the absolute best for collecting feedback and tracking bugs with clients.

Replied April 2020

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Helps Make Large Projects Much Less Overwhelming

Pros

The ease of just quickly adding a small task helps prioritize and keep a reminder to complete a task that would otherwise be forgotten or buried in someone's inbox. Also the ability to add attachments or associated screenshots is very helpful.

Cons

The ability to clear or check and move multiple tasks over to the next status/column is missing. For example, I would love to be able to move several items from "Completed in DEV [Branch]" to "Ready for RELEASE [Branch]" when doing a code merge.

Reasons for choosing BugHerd

Recommended by Colleagues

Response from Splitrock Studio

Such lovely words, Paul! Glad we're helping with prioritising and capturing all tasks in large projects. Thanks for the feedback about moving multiple tasks, you are not alone with that wish.

Replied June 2021

Scott

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Bug Tracking Done Right

This is a product that has proven its value over the years. The time savings and overall efficiencies for website projects (managing front end builds and CMS integration) are amazing since we started using BugHerd.

Pros

The Intuitive and robust nature of the product makes it an invaluable tool that we can not live without.

Cons

The Mobile Support could be better BUT it is in the works.

Reasons for choosing BugHerd

Robustness, ease of use, focused product on bug tracking

Response from Macropod Software

Thank you so much for leaving a review Scott. BugHerd wouldn't function without awesome customers like you.

Replied August 2019

Adam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

BugHerd is a life saver

We use this with our customers to help make the process of identifying bugs easier for us and for them. It works every single time, even our less tech-savvy clients are able to use this with ease!

Pros

We absolutely love how easy it is to add, edit and deal with bugs in our website applications.

Cons

There is nothing we don't like about the software

Reasons for choosing BugHerd

We didn't even look at other products - we found this and LOVED it immediately!

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Adam, What a lovely review you've left for us. We're so chuffed to be called a life saver!

Replied June 2021

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Essential for our work flow

We use it just about every day for all web projects and would hate to be without it. It's indispensable.

Pros

Marking comments in real-time on the actual web page was a huge plus for us.

Cons

Early reliance on browser extensions for some functionality was a bit of an issue for some clients as they require assistance from their IT dept to get installed - if it was possible at all.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for taking the time to review BugHerd for us Tom. We really appreciate the feedback and are so glad to hear you love the product so much.

Replied April 2020

Gary

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Program Development

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Essential Tool

Pros

Integration was very easy and it's easy for my clients to use. We use Bugherd for all bug reporting and most feature requests.

Cons

I can't think of anything that could be improved.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Gary, wow thank you for a 10/10 review! We couldn't be happier to hear you can't think of any improvements. However, we will continue to make updates that ensure your workflow for bug tracking and collecting client feedback becomes easier and easier! Thanks again.

Replied April 2020

Alicia

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Makes our Team more Efficient

Using Bugherd has allowed me to keep a consistent workflow, even when work needs to be QA'd. Using the tool makes the process quick and efficient, and I'm able to communicate thoroughly with the engineers on my team.

Pros

What I love most about this software is the ease of use. I can translate bugs to the developers on my team so easily, and quickly! We are a fast paced company and this helps keep it that way.

Cons

Ideally, I would love a mobile version - so I can test on my device (rather than just the in browser inspect mode for mobile). Other than that, I love the product.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Alicia, thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We really appreciate the feedback and are dedicated to continually improving the product so that your team can continue being fantastically efficient.

Replied April 2020

Jo Ann

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Improves efficiency

Great

Pros

Improves efficiency and productivity. Keeps everyone on track.

Cons

Limited integration. I wish there's trello integration. :)

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for a 10/10 review Jo Ann! We really appreciate you taking the time and love hearing that BugHerd improves the efficiency and productivity of your team. We'll certainly take your integration feedback on board, stay tuned for our regular product updates.

Replied May 2020

Showing 1 - 25 of 59 reviews
BugHerd

BugHerd

4.66/5 out of 59 reviews
PriceWatch Demo