User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(305)

305

4 stars

(165)

165

3 stars

(16)

16

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I love the interface very sleek and hip. A whole lot of great finds to fit every budget. Great when you are looking for something to help in a pinch. It's even fun just to browse through. "

  • "I highly recommend this version control because it has a great design and it is user-friendly. You can easily manage your project without having a difficulties when you use it for the first time."

  • "The user interface is great and I really enjoy the CI/CD features. In addition we use the issue tracking, which has been helpful and easy to use. "

  • Cons

  • "Because it has a lot of features (all necessary), sometimes it gets confusing where to find things we needed."

  • "I think it does a very good job on what it is supposed to, however it could have more features - like integration with other platforms."

  • "I think the UI could be improve a lot, sometimes a feel lost about where I am in the platform, but besides that the tool is very helpful."

Browse GitLab Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 467 results

June 2019

Damian from Virtkick

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

GitLab is the best for its CI

Pros

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Cons

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

January 2020

Peter from University of St Andrews

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Code repositories and version tracking

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Pros

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users. You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches. The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Cons

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required. The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab. User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great platform to host your project!

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry. However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pros

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab. The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Cons

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies. Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments. Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Source control is made easy with gitlab

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Pros

The software is stable. Updates come out regularly. SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Cons

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The staff just wanted to use git and gitlab. We did not want to host in GitHub since we want to be in control of our own data.

January 2020

Wassim from Trufla Technology Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

More than code management product

It is been a great experience so far and it helped us automate most of our software deployment processes.

Pros

The reason we switched to Gitlab is that we found that it offers more than any other git SAAS product in the market and it wasn't just a code repository. They have CI/CD for automation and automated Artifacts.

Cons

1. Stability of the product was not the best, we had frequent hiccups where the pipelines runners were down or other parts of the system. 2. Pricing plans are pretty steep so it is 4x whenever you move to the next plan.

December 2019

Julian from Mercedes-Benz.io

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best self-hosted CICD platform

Gitlab is a very good platform, which allows you to try it for free even in self-hosted environment. Considering that now even docker containers are available with Gitlab already pre-installed in it, it's supereasy to start using it. Definitely suggested if you're in the DevOps world.

Pros

Gitlab excels in the CICD world for providing a full platform which will allow you to monitor from code to deployment, the full pipeline. If you're a software developer, you will definitely enjoy the fact that you can easily create your own repositories with package management, docker environment, etc. to full test your code while you continously operate on it. On the other side, if you're a DevOps Engineer you will definitely enjoy this as it will allow you to check if your deployment towards the environments you've baptised works successfully. Overall, this software will allow you to have full control of the CICD workflow in your organization, team-based. Good byte huge monolith deployments, big red buttons and so forth!

Cons

Long time ago Gitlab was not the best platform to be used if you had to integrate it with Atlassian products ( especially Jira ), but nowadays this has been superseed as the Gitlab team worked hard in fixing this. Therefore if before I would have had a critic about this, nowaday I can't recall anything that may refrain you from trying Gitlab.

December 2019

Abhinav from OATI

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

GitLab a new era DevOps solution.

GitLab helps in to manage the complete DevOps pipeline under a single web-based platform. Under this platform, software development is easy to manage, plan, create, verify the packages, release, configure and monitor. It's highly recommend for new development which helps in fast and auto configuration with DevOps.

Pros

GitLab is new era DevOps solution. It helps in managing the Git-repository & issue tracking. The web based interface is user friendly and easy to use. GitLab pipline from managing-planning to release-configuration and monitoring. Static & Dynamic Application security testing analyze the vulnerability and can be fixed before release. The auto thread detection helps in to find out the issue in the running application. Package, Container & Helm chart registry helps in creating the packages.

Cons

GitLab need to improve the configuration and monitoring pipeline. The monitoring metrics need to be present in more simplify way which should help in determine the merge impact.

December 2019

Hung from FPT Software

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Complete solution for source repository and CICD pipeline

We use Gitlab for both code repository and CICD pipeline in our project which written in Java, we create the master branch for production, dev main branch for lastest code and create a feature branch for every story. Our pipeline will run corresponded stage when have a new commit to feature branch or master branch.

Pros

Gitlab provides many useful features for source management from branch, tag, comparing branch, merge request. Merge quest workflow allow review, comment, conflict resolve or attachment is excellent of team collaboration. Gitlab CICD pipeline which is easy to create with friendly YML file and clear stage help to ensure code quality of every commit and it is easy to integrate with other DevOps tool like Sonar, Maven, Ant... to have full CICD lifecycle from compile, testing, package...

Cons

The UI performance of Gitlab is quite slow, it takes time to reflect actual pipeline progress in UI. The community is quite small so we hard to find solution for specifying issue on the internet.

January 2020

Ragavi from Cigna healthcare

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Gitlab source control

The experience has been thoroughly satisfying so far

Pros

One of the best source control tools in the market with enterprise version. I have been use the enterprise version of Gitlab across the organizations for maintaining the source code. It is easy to do and is done on top of GIT

Cons

There is nothing to dislike and in fact its powerful since its built on top of it. It helps developers life easy on a day to day basis

December 2019

Kerby from Self Employed

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Amazing what more needs to be said.

Anytime im looking for something to wow a client Gitlab usually has it. Ready to deploy as fast as you can download it.

Pros

I love the interface very sleek and hip. A whole lot of great finds to fit every budget. Great when you are looking for something to help in a pinch. It's even fun just to browse through.

Cons

Some of the directions from the developers are very vague. They forget that not everyone using the platform isn't a technician genius.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Simple interface straight and direct to what you're looking for.

October 2019

Sachith from Pearson

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Best DevOps Platform

Overall, GitLab is an excellent program for freelancers. It's really simple to use, simple to administrate and offers all that users need for developing. And if users implement it in the correct way it will speed up their development effectively. Adding more to this, it provides excellent ways to manage git repositories on a centralized secure server.

Pros

Project operation: Using GitLab provides the user with complete control over their projects. Users can easily follow up activities assigned to their respective partners. Additionally, the program gives you the advantage to have members across the borders as well, hence it is pretty useful and comes in handy when the work is beyond the borders. Easy to use: GitLab is easy to lean and very easy to use the software as it helps in creating a project by giving instructions from the beginning. The tutorial mode is extremely helpful and because of that no experience or expertise is required to exhaust all the features offered by GitLab.

Cons

Contact Support: Although GitLab provides a good platform for its users, unfortunately, their contact section is poor. Users are unable to recover if they face any problem as the administration is limited. Administration can only be at your service if you own the premium version. Complicated: Although Gitlab is easy to learn when it comes to the menu users tend to feel as if they are lost in some sort of maze. The menu is pretty much clunky because of this some of its users are unable to use GitLab to its full potential. Additionally, the efficiency of users is reduced to a great extent when they wish to search for aspects because it consumes time and energy.

October 2019

Dennis from Radio Sound, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Pros

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Cons

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source

September 2019

Luca from Deepfinity

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

September 2019

Lilantha from Axiata Digital Labs

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

GitLab Review

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pros

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Cons

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.

August 2019

Arnold from SAP

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Pros

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following: 1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy. 2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful. 3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is. 4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials. 5) It has its own task manager 6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.

Cons

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy 2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible 3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board. 4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software

August 2019

Istvan from Ekumen

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Pros

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth. - Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Cons

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Great Open Source Software!

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements

Best way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!! Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely use some enhancements and that would make it a top tier no nonsense go-to-software-management-product. Overall it is a great software. I am not aware of the quality of the customer service on the paid tier so can't comment on that. One can manage and maintain gitlab inhouse without needing any paid support. I would recommend it without reservations to any and all software developing companies.

Pros

1. Free of cost 2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty. 3. Never observed any downtime 4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software. 5. easy to maintain 6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment. 7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running. 8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking

Cons

These are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement: 1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the 2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right. 3. There is no way of searching for something based on a line of text. For example if you were looking for a commit or a merge request but you only remember the 4. sometimes very challenging to go back and undo merges which are quite complex. 5. on a given pr, it shows icons of all the participants but doesn't say which participant did what... for example if 5 people have just viewed a pr and done nothing else even then it shows all of them as participants. It would be nice to have a feature which will only show activity by participant on every pr. 6. text based Search via ui is practically no existent. So if you search for something using a text which is part of a commit message, chances are it will not show up 100%.

May 2019

David "Teddy" from Tuliphedge LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools

Pros

Gitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.

Cons

The pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.

February 2018

Caleb from Freelance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Pros

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces. The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Cons

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers. It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Awesome Git Service

Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.

September 2019

Matthew from British Oceanographic Data Centre

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

CI/CD functionality.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Very solid Git server

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Pros

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Cons

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

SSH authentication + LFS, installed on our own server.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Amazing source code and CI/CD system

Complete source control and CI/CD system for writing computer software

Pros

Integrated CI/CD!!! can't emphasize how much this is helpful to have, I hate using Jenkins so much The UI is very slick and good, while GitHub is the "de facto standard" I actually really love GitLab's GUI as well

Cons

not really their fault at all, but, a lot of -other- projects are already on GitHub.. so it's a bit annoying to cross collaborate with GitHub users (say - you want to open a pull request to a GitHub project so you're forced to do it on GitHub). It kinda sucks to have stuff spread out across multiple sites and have to get used to multiple UIs/concepts

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

GitHub: no integrated CI/CD system TFS: CI/CD system is not code based

July 2019

Marc Jhon from IVP Global Phils. Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

My two cents for Gitlab

From a developer perspective, gitlab shines when it comes to devops and developers needs for git integration. However I'd use different issue tracking tool with it, since the issue tracking that gitlab offers is pretty much lacking in some areas such as sub-task and etc. However It's still far superior against Bitbucket which I absolutely does not recommend

Pros

The integrated CICD is what makes this stands out for me. The .yml configuration is powerful enough to access your servers from gitlab making every push you made build automatically. Deployment Keys, Access token, its just way more powerful than github and much more UI/UX Friendly than Bitbucket. Its also note to take that the pages are lighweight, you hardly ever feel the loading time. More top of it it's free.

Cons

While the git related features are astounding I feel like the Issue trackers are way more clunky to me. The board is quite nice, you can drag items of it to different board categories, however. the lack of sub task for a task is killing me. Suppose we have a feature task, I'd like to put a mini sub task under it so i can track all of it on one parent task. Just like how you can do it on redmine or asana. One thing that github is superior to gitlab is this area.

October 2019

Vinicius from Qualyteam

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great, for Devs

For those who like a product with several functions, and know how to handle complex usability, I think it should be great. But it wasn't made for me, I lost myself easily, and it took a long time to do things that would be faster in other task managers. So I ended up abandoning the tool.

Pros

We use it to collaborate with the development and QA teams. It's quick to create a ticket, measure time and sort the type of work from tags, and send it to the colleague who will do that work. What is interesting is the grouping of several teams in a single project, without interfering with each other's issues. What we used most was the drop down chart. The rush that it imposes, makes us work faster to try deliver what we plan, as the deadline get closer.

Cons

It is very chaotic visually, lot of functions are hidden in menus and submenus, I know that developers love it, but it didn't work in my team.

September 2019

Jessica from AIMMS Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A good alternative to GitHub

Our company uses GitLab for app development and docs. As a tech writer I'm mainly working in "developing" docs, and need to follow corresponding issues for software development in multiple projects/repos. I suspect there can be easier workflows to integrate the two (linking issues from different projects) but overall it's easy to manage working in multiple projects/repos. I've used JIRA previously, and feel that the issue/bugtracking/task board side is comparable in features and reliability (though JIRA may offer more categories of information). The Git side is standard, I don't miss any feature and always worked out snags without problem based on GitLab documentation. I haven't used GitHub as much, but from my experience GitLab mirrors the functionality with only slight differences, and covers more or less the same business needs.

Pros

-nice to create a branch directly from an issue so all related information stays handy in one place -integrates well with local git client (tortoise git, vscode git integrations) so you can switch between tools without git-related errors -easy to create to-do list workflow with issues from multiple projects/repos -easy to revert a bad merge -good docs

Cons

-preview doesn't work well with some file types (like rst) -interface is kind of fussy when trying to edit things like labels on an issue, could be easier -UI can get a bit crowded, and not many options to hide or change view -wiki is hard to maintain unless you pull a local copy

April 2019

Narendra from SprintCube

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A complete tool for software development lifecycle with DevOps

My team loves GitLab so much. Since the last 3 years, we use it regularly and we don't have a single complaint about it. We host all our repos here and manage our development stuff via milestones, issue boards, and other features. Overall it is an awesome platform will all the required features and tools.

Pros

GitLab is a complete set of tools which are required for software development. - It provides self-managed version as well as the community version. Both are free of cost. - It provides Continuous Integration and Continuous Development. I use it for most of my projects. - Built-in issue boards, milestones - a very good feature for tracking development. - Built-in Web IDE - a very nice feature to edit your files online. - Groups, sub-groups for the repository - it helps to manage the repositories easily with user assignment, permissions, etc. - A nice UI

Cons

There are no major cons with GitLab. It provides most of the things with its free edition. To list a few, - With Community Edition, we sometimes face downtime. - The wait time for running CI pipelines is sometimes higher. - The pricing for the paid version is a little bit high for small agencies like mine.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A task management platform developers love

Pros

Gitlab combines git, CI/CD, task management, wiki and lots of other features. I found that this is a platform that developers like more than some other task tracking software because of its simple but flexible functionality. Organizing tasks and boards with labels provides for a very flexible experience that each team can design for themselves. The platform is constantly updating and improving. From the latest updates, I like that you can now respond to a comment, so you get a thread, instead of individual comments that require referencing other comments to tie things together. Your code base is right in front of your PMs, QAs and Engineers, so everyone can dive into it if needed, nothing extra needs to be setup. Gitflow is supported very well, and CI/CD gives visibility into your pipelines to the entire team all in one place. In short my entire team loves GitLab!

Cons

The wiki is very simple and lacks in functionality, mentions didn't work for us right, and organizing content can be challenging. The initial learning curve can be a challenge for not-technical team members, having to learn markdown. Not a big problem though that can be overcome with a few tutorials and reference pages.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Intuitive, simple and effective way to setup CI/CD through "pipeline as code" paradigm.

A free way to be effective and to go straight to your goal. Lot of work is saved by this tool with respect to other similar solutions. This software is stable, you can install it wherever and it will work. You can upgrade it whenever with no surprise. Very nice tool. Forrester recommendations are all deserved.

Pros

Very simple and effective. Setting up a pipeline is immediate. It is pretty documented and also newbie can approach a good result in short time. Issue and agile management of a project is a big plus and recent capabilities to monitor project performances are impressive. It is powered by docker containers and kubernetes and this make isolation and a sort of orchestration possible and easy. People can focus on their own objective rather than spending time understanding the tool.

Cons

It is based on a project centric approach, but here the project is a single piece of code. Orchestration and release automation for complex scenarios must be delegated to other professional software. Standardisation of projects is not obvious since a pipeline refer to a single project. Environments refer to a single instance of an application. They are great but they do not easily correspond to what an environment usually means: an aggregation of nodes and software instances connected to each other.

August 2019

Bruno from Exrcito Brasileiro

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Why use Github when we have GitLab?

Pros

I can have private software git repositories by free. Differently by Github, that charges you to have a private repository. The interface is beautiful, has a wiki, and the commits work fine from Linux.

Cons

Doesn't exist an app to make the commits (like in GitHub), thus you just need to use the terminal line (which shouldn't be a problem for any programmer), and the community isn't very well developed, thus you still will need to go to Github to find software repositories.

September 2019

Pablo from Everis

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

My Own Experience working with GitLab

My overall experience using GitLab is incredibly good. Without GitLab, no project carried out would remain stable, since all suffer modifications over time, and on numerous occasions a "rollback" must be made to old versions. Thanks to GitLab I was able to recover lost code due to a serious PC failure. Thanks also to GitLab, anyone has been able to share their code without problems, even publicly, which really encourages the use of this application.

Pros

Thanks to GitLab, I have all my code protected and accessible at all times, from any computer. On the other hand, thanks to GitLab, in my team we maintain a hierarchy so that everyone uploads their code to the "Develop" branch and I am able to check their code and know if it is correct. In this way, too, I make sure that in the "Master" branch only correct and functioning code is found. This is something vital, that every project needs to remain stable and avoid problems in new code versions, modifications, etc.

Cons

Perhaps something bad about GitLab, is that it is not implemented in all applications, that is, many applications have the ability to synchronize the code directly through it, without using the web version. It could be modified in such a way so that the desktop version was compatible in some way with all applications.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

GitLab is the easiest communicative tool for and with development teams

GitLab has helped our team streamline between showing what issues are being worked on, where they are in the process, where the code is, and who is looking at or working on it. Our processes have less hiccups and our communication between the different team roles (devs, designers, QA, product owners) has skyrocketed!

Pros

I love the tools for comments/discussion threads in the merge requests. Being able to highlight the line of code in question, and even adding suggested code edits, makes the code review process some much smoother and practically seamless. The ability to require code approvals, from a suggested or certain user(s), and the different roles allow a safer merge process. Issues can be linked to merge requests, which also makes things easier.

Cons

Transitioning from using GitLab for repository management only, to trying to link merge requests to the issue boards has been a bit difficult for the team. I think part of the issue was that the projects and repositories don't completely align with our team structure that we're using the boards for. There's a lot of overlap.

August 2018

Neeraj from Paxcom - Digital Commerce Solutions for Brands

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Using this pro git tool for a year, I never need to look for alternatives...

Gitlab is our repository bank, It's powerful features (very less git providers have such) like branch level user access streamline our work.

Pros

-Even its free tier is really powerful to drive a full startup company, I used it for like a year. -Really impressive UI/ Its web IDE (I use it for commit very critical patches/ resolve minor conflicts) is out of the box. -It has everything like a user access control on repository level, that is too simple to use with Its web interface. -Its support for CI/CD is really impressive, It provides these tools at its core in both free and paid tiers, I'm using Jenkins with it. -Even it provides time tracking/ time estimate module in Its free tiers, I never used it but these things really look impressive, we even check it's applicability within our office and found it good to move in near future. -The cheery pick is a little tricky git command, it provides this functionality at a button click (I really like it).

Cons

It's downtime when my team were using its free tier, we face downtime, runtime error or SSL downtime problem many times a day, but when we start using it paid services we are now less facing such issues.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best-of-breed source-code management tool

Working on a dev-team where multiple engineers work together on discrete projects in different technologies, GitLab has enabled us to manage a complex codebase, keep version conflicts to a minimum, allowing our developers to focus on writing code rather than fighting things like merge-conflicts. In short, we wouldn't be half as productive and efficient using a lesser SCM tool like Mercurial. Git rules.

Pros

It's simply the best version-control tool on the market. Being based on Git, most senior developers already know how to use it, so it makes my dev team automatically more efficient and responsive in collaborating. Using merge requests, we're able to monitor and approve changes to code. A huge benefit of GitLab is the automatic security scan with each commit (e.g., connection strings with Db credentials are flagged, etc.)

Cons

The learning curve is steep if you want to master the intricacies of Git, but the basics (creating repos, forking, merges, pushes, pulls and commits) are fairly easy to learn in a few hours.

May 2017

Dillan from Yesler - DX team

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Great, but missing some features.

It would be awesome to build out the profile view a bit more. I lead a team of developers and we use Gitlab and really like it for its privacy and ease of use, but because our repos are private we are unable to showcase our profile views on our portfolios etc. This has pushed me to split usage between gitlab and github. Gitlab for work / github for my private repos / gists / etc.

Pros

Price, private repos, ease of use for teams, (almost) all the features of github. We use gitlab for all of our client repos and it works great. Setting up teams and getting up and running is fast and easy. We've also looked into the option of self hosting gitlab on our own servers, but the web service is so good we haven't felt the need yet. UI is nice as well. Anyone familiar with github can easily jump in and enjoy gitlab.

Cons

Not as much community, profile view is not as robust / flushed out as gitlab. Feels private. Love the ease of private repos but that seems to be the main thing users are utilizing and there is less open source projects on gitlab. Also the profile view is not as well known as gitlab and there isn't the option to showcase private commits on your commit chart, which is a bummer.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Vast features and an unlocked set of tools

Pros

I love everything about this product. We've tried bitbucket, github, and now GitLab and I think we've found our home. This is a very solid software set and ci/cd tools that are easy enough to implement.

Cons

I wish that you could group repo's by category and use that during the search. If you could do that then it would be perfect. I also wish you would consolidate the project/group/etc search on the top and turn it into one smart search.

July 2019

Josep Anton from yaencontre

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Like GitHub, but a bit better

Pros

Ease of use. Highly customizable. Free private projects, which are perfect for hobbyists. At production, it is easy to run pipelines and get logs about them. It integrates perfectly with Heroku.

Cons

It took a bit of a learning curve to exploit all possibilities of the software.

March 2019

Ken from H2

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Solid code and artifact repository that continues to evolve

Strong CI/CD contender which has increased our TTM.

Pros

Initially we looked at Gitlab for use as an internal code repository. We used gitlab in conjunction with jenkins and docker. Creating projects, submitting code, integrating Gitlab with Jenkins all worked well. To setup a jenkins pipeline with Gitlab is very straightforward. Just create a new pipeline, provide the gitlab project URL, and supply credentials. You can set Jenkins to poll at specific intervals, then kick off the CI/CD process when new commits are detected. At first we had provisioned a docker private registry, but gradually moved to hosting images using gitlab itself. The feature velocity is quite impressive and it looks like Gitlab will be able to handle the entire CI/CD pipeline in the future.

Cons

While the actual installation of GitLab wasn't too bad, figuring out how to configure Docker Engine to work with Gitlab was quite tricky. It's not well documented on the website but the key was to place the certs in the appropriate gitlab folder. It's always annoying to deal with TLS certs, especially if it's not clearly spelled out which path the application looks for the certs.

September 2019

Julian Jacques from DIaLOGIKa

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A strong alternative to Bitbucket and Github

Pros

GitLab is Open Source, so trying it is free, and the community edition has a generous set of features. The self-hosting aspect is critical to our clients and us. The enterprise edition offers almost anything a developer could want from a source code management system, including continuous integration.

Cons

GitLab is not as well integrated as GitHub in other software.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

GitLab is way underrated

Life changing. Really. Like, it makes my life easier by giving my insight and control. Dump multiple tools, and try GitLab.

Pros

I can't understand why everyone is not using GitLab, it is incredible. The feature set is mindblowing, and used correctly, it really is a full-cycle product!

Cons

Some things can feel developer orientated, so onboarding designers can be tricky.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

My favorite Git platform

It's the beating Git Heart of most of the web applications we create,

Pros

Out of the box, Gitlab offers so much features and functionality that it's a real pleasure to use. We use Issues a lot and lately also the Wiki functionality. Fantastic tool!

Cons

When we started using it in 2017 they sometimes had performance issues, but lately most of the time it has a great uptime and performance.

June 2018

Alexander from Cortexa, LLC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Simple and powerful

Pros

Intuitive and easy-to-use interface, enlisting and cloning repos, browsing & viewing files, switching between branches and repositories, configuring rights/groups, locking branches etc. We've integrated it with Jira and Jenkins and it worked seamlessly.

Cons

It needs to improve the interface and features for file comparison in merge requests and commit history. 1. Files with moderate amount of changes are collapsed by default. Many reviewers do not notice that and skip reviewing the code and miss major bugs. 2. Larger diffs are not even loaded in review window. Again, it's easy for reviewers to miss such files in merge requests. 3. When viewing the diff, you're limited to a certain unchanged area before and after the diff within the file. You'd have to view the entire file separately and locate the diff in plain file viewer.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great suite of tools for developers

I use Gitlab to manage my personal and team projects. The main characteristic that brought me to Gitlab was their project management capabilities and the possibility to have private repositories for free.

Pros

Among other features, it has CI/CD capabilities, a clean and elegant UI, free and unlimited private repositories and since it is open source, allows for you to run your own self-hosted version if you have a particular set of requirements that requires this type of security.

Cons

Given the amount of features available, it can be a little hard at first to get things going, specially if you are new to some of the features they offer.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Keep your project private all the time

I am using the GitLab for my startups and the projects that I have and I have a developer team and this tool makes easy to contribute to the project and our project is always private and only the members of the team could access it.

Pros

GitLab is also a version control system and it has all the functionalities as other competetives. The cool thing about gitlab is that it provides you free private repository for free. As it is known that in most software projects the confidentiality is one of the key issue and people always want to keep their codes private. For this people GitLab is the right place

Cons

While using this tool I have not faced with any problems or case that I dont like. The only reason is that there not to much people who know about this software and they are preferring other platforms for version controls.

October 2018

Sourav from Indradhanush Academy

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

The best code repo manager

I have been keeping all my software repos, which is the life blood of our business, on GItlab since quite some time.

Pros

When I started out freelancing I was very worried about where to keep all my code repositories. Though Github was available, the free tier did not allow private repos. Not only does Gitlabs free tier gives me private repos they put no limits on the number of repositories as well and to top it all also supports Continuous Integration. I could also download their source code to host all our repos in our private server if need be. If you are a dev, signup for gitlab right now. You really do not know what you are missing.

Cons

There is nothing I would consider as a con to Gitlab, but just for the sake of being non biased I would say that it does miss a feature its arch rival Github provides for free and that is being able to host static pages right on their servers, from the HTML code in your repos. I wish Gitlab has this too.

July 2019

Muhammad Syafiq from Glints Pte Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

The Best Alternative

Pros

Besides the fact that it has unlimited private repositories on the free tier, it also gives you build minutes. Build minutes basically mean that you can tap on their CI/CD network of machines to run and test and even deploy your code. All for free! GitHub can do that with external providers, but having it all in one platform is awesome. For those who are afraid of your code getting stolen or something when using an online platform, Gitlab also provides the ability to self-host. With the self-host option though, you have to configure the runners yourself -- not a big deal, just a small hassle.

Cons

The self-host option has a certain degree of complexity to it. The gitlab.com version does not have too much traffic like that of GitHub.

January 2020

Carlos from Rainhawk, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great Source Control Tool and Open Source

I used Gitlab to manage a complex code project for several months and I enjoyed the professional looking interface and all the tools to manage the code.

Pros

One of the best tools I wanted to experiment with more is the included CI and CD tools. Aside from that, I really like the fact that Gitlab is open source and I can run my own server to keep all important repositories private.

Cons

It was slightly more complicated to use than other tools such as Github for setting up but not in a major way that made it a bad choice for private projects.

August 2019

Gareth from IO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great but with hiccups

Pros

It provides almost everything you'd expect when hosting your projects. The workflow from merge request to assigning reviewers is as easy as it gets. Being able to use Docker with our pipelines and creating runners makes deployments a breeze. The look and feel of the UI when compared to its competitors is also a major plus. Gitlab really makes it easy to dissect your ever changing code repositories, I'm glad it's one of the few services that make my job easier.

Cons

The only downside is the uptime with their services. It doesn't happen too often but always when you don't want it to, I think that's what causes the annoyance. When their systems are struggling, you'll have pipelines hanging or taking forever to complete. It's not ideal when you need stuff deployed ASAP.

February 2018

Dylan from I.X.O.N

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Our main versioning system because of its easy of use

This software versioning system is very easy to use and allows us to have confidence in the fact that our software is always safe and protected.

Pros

The interface is clean and modern. It is easy to navigate and every option is in a logical place. The GitLab team is working very hard on updating the application, adding new features, improving the interface etc. and they are generally very good in updating customers about these changes. They also regularly send out security updates and information, which is very comforting for us as users.

Cons

Although the updates are helpful or improve something, the number of them, along with the fact that the changes they incorporate on the front-end are quite big, often mean that it takes me a few days to adjust to the changes of an update as I am looking for where certain features have been moved. In the end it is a minor inconvience, but I would appreciate less changes to user interface management.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 467 reviews