What are GitLab users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using GitLab software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.59

670 Reviews

5
418
4
216
3
21
2
1
1
2
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Great UI, easy to use, GitLab helps to manage projects easily, easy to review code, GitLab API is easy to use in your project."
  • icon"The great community that manages to carry out the effectiveness of a project is so fascinating that it maintains its daily use."
  • icon"I love the mobile app offered by this product and in addition to this it has a very user friendly UI,it is easy to set up and is free."
  • icon"Little tough to integrate from command prompt on windows or mac. I can't find any other defects or bugs in this software."
  • icon"I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete."
  • icon"I would say that it is not easy to upgrade or migrate to a new server. If any function fails, the rest usually fail."

Jump to:

Browse all GitLab Reviews

  • Have you used GitLab and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 658 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 658 reviews

Justin

Company size: 201 - 500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2021

Made DevOps possible for my company

User Profile

Arzu

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Pros

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Cons

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

User Profile

Ashirwad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

GitLab is my go to choice for hosting private repositories!

Pros

These are the things that I like the most in GitLab: - The max repository size is 10GB compared to 1GB that GitHub offers - Unlike GitHub, GitLab supports private pages for private repositories

Cons

GitLab can improve in the following areas: - Merge requests in GitHub look relatively cleaner - Provide better themes for wiki

User Profile

Adolfo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Gitlab as a source code management tool

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And it has allowed us to manage the projects.

Pros

Gitlab allows us to have a centralized repository of the source code of the institution's applications

Cons

We would like gitlab to have greater integration with other tools on the market.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

It allows us to have an on-premise installation, instead of a service.

Tolgay

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitLab for DevOps and Automation Activities

We entegrated it reporting tools as well. We are getting commit counts, pipeline usage etc and create reports in Kibana / Tableau.

Pros

It is a great tool to use for creating a baseline for source code management, versioning, and backwards revision history. It is possible to apply branchin strategy as you wish. We used it in our DevOps & Automation activities with entegrating a bunch of other tools.

Cons

Sometimes it is very difficult to manage the conflicts in the merge requests coming from different branches to the main branch specially if a lot of developers working in parallel.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Cost management , Improve business process agility

Reasons for switching to GitLab

To centralize usage of the same tool within whole organisation.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Private Repos for free

Pros

I like the fact that Gitlab is easy to use, loved it because you host private repository for free and also set up a CI/CD pipeline using a free GitLab runner. Awesome version control system I would always recommend for anyone.

Cons

No-faults in my honest opinion. Awesome so far

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

A must have tool for every development team

Pros

Gitlab is simply the best version control and project management tool for any organisation, period! It has everything you need in a greatly priced package. It is my go to tool for my personal projects as well as used in every organisation I have worked with. I even tried to host their community version myself which was great. The documentation is well laid out, breaking changes are communicated well. Apart from this, the CI/CD functionality is easy to use, UI easy to navigate, reporting/labelling/tagging features are one of the easiest. The free plan for individuals or small team covers everything you need.

Cons

None I can think of. I even like the new UI introduced recently.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Availability of CI/CD before any other alternatives. Ease of use. Private repositories in free plan. Ease of working with in a team.

User Profile

Alejandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Pros

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Cons

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Atharva

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Github option to automate Continuous Integration.

As I said earlier We are working on an automation pipeline for creating Infrastructure through Gitlab. Gitlab has really helped us to reduce the time of checking the deployment due to it's automated deployment process.

Pros

We are working on an automation pipeline for creating Infrastructure through Gitlab. The Gitlab CI option really helps and saves a lot of effort in configuration as compared to using Github+Jenkins. There are many options for running the CI mechanism. And the feature that stands out for me is the use of Container Images for each stage instead of a single workspace. I really think this helps in better management of all files in the Gitlab runner Workspace.

Cons

One thing is Gitlab is not that vastly used as compared to Github. If you need to search other code repositories while coding, Gitlab has limited search results. Also configuring Jenkins or other platform independent solutions is difficult.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

Pros

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable - It has CI/CD functionality integrated - It has code search and indexing - It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

Cons

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails - It's not easy to clusterize the service - It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server - It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version - Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Reasons for choosing GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

Marc

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Customizable management system for any project

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Pros

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work. In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them. GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Cons

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Good

Pros

This support creating project groups and subgroups to maintain complete project components in structure.

Cons

It may incorporate UI based CICD configuration as offered through azure

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Less expensive

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Easy to group components belongs to one project. Easy security management

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Pros

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Cons

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Matthew

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Couldn't live without it

Overall I've found GitLab to be a great tool for implementing and verifying updates to our team's projects and

Pros

GitLab makes implementing changes to a project far easier to manage and review with merge requests. I also find the visualisation of the project branches to be a very helpful feature. The amount of documentation offered and community support is fantastic.

Cons

We've been pleasantly surprised at how problem-free GitLab has been. Possibly more clear and understandable detail when errors arise would be the only suggestion

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We found that GitLab offered more and better functionality

Maciej

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Source code "management tool"

Pros

- you can set up multiple repositories, group them and manage code in an intuitive way - you can set up pipelines that are managing deployment flow easily

Cons

setting up multiple pipelines and connecting them can be improves, so they woyld be visible

Matej

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Version control for private companies

I find the interface a bit complex, but once I got my hands on it, I got used to it and I simply prefer it over Github.

Pros

The software includes version control, container storage, issue tracker, grouping and goals. All of these provides great experience for a developer.

Cons

I don't like the interface, it looks too professional. Something more playful would be highly appreceated.

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Gitlab is more focused on private companies, meanwhile, Github prefers open-source, in my opinion.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We needed to switch to private from open-source and Gitlab provided better pricing for the same functionality.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Best of all web-based git services

The software is a new and modern approach on sourse control systems. Developer's and devops work is much easier with all the intuitive interfaces gitlab has to offer. The code's quality increased when I started to use gitlab.

Pros

Git lab has a very user-friendly interface. Managing of source code changes is very easy because of intuitive views with many helpful features. The pipelines are very easy to configure and maintain. Merge request features and automatic rebases are great.

Cons

Most of git operations are better done locally in the console, the service does not expose a clear and easy way of managing the repository. Other that that I don't find cons of this software.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The organization I work with uses gitlab as source code repository

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Pretty good for source control and CI is excellent

Pros

integration for ci/cd is very easy, and one of the main strengths of the product. Also very good for source management and is on par with github.

Cons

Sometimes the UI is a little clunky and could use some polishing.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

The Leader in Version Control

GitLab is the best version control software I have ever used. GitHub is version control but does not work well for the rest of software development. If you are looking for a complete solution, I have not found anything that can compete with GitLab. I love having everything in one place with one license and have found it to be amazing for organizing projects. The licensing cost is steep compared to GitHub but is comparable to what you would be spending for all of the components separately. Whenever I work on a big project with a team, I use GitLab. The free plan is competitive, but the paid plans are where it pulls away from the competition. Both self-hosted and cloud are wonderful to use.

Pros

Everything you need to run a software project (tasks, assets, code) is in one place

Cons

Prices can get steep compared to GitHub, and may not be worth it if you only use a couple of the features

Reasons for choosing GitLab

GitLab offers a single comprehensive solution for the entire product development process

User Profile

Brad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

GitLab is a must for development teams

Pros

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Cons

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

To connect to the code in addition to workflows.

Daniel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Great tool, too often down

Pros

Gitlab Runner is the best feature for us: easy to set up and flexible to different aims

Cons

Too many times Giltab is down. We base a lot of key functionalities on this software, we'd like it to be with a higher availability

Reasons for choosing GitLab

Price and open-source approach

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Github Runners in past years was a really immediate way to have CI on projects. With Github was more difficult.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Awesome software

Overall I really enjoy using GitLab for team projects and building software for my school's research lab. A more user-friendly IU would make it even better!

Pros

I like the most the wide range of helpful functionalities that GitLab provides. From managing my code repo to collaborating with colleagues, to viewing lines of code in contribution, to interacting with it from the terminal, GitLab's features make my application development a lot more streamlined.

Cons

The only complaint I have of GitLab is that getting started to use it isn't easy. The IU, with the sections on the left column, was not the most intuitive to navigate.

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Extremely powerful and robust Git repo solution.

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even migrated my Github repos to Gitlab.

Pros

One of my favorite features is the GitLab's feature flags. It's really easy to setup and associate with issues. Additionally there are a ton of client libraries for different platforms that make it easy to integrate into existing applications.

Cons

Gitlab has CI/CD features that I would like to use to automatically build and host composer packages and nuget packages, however it's difficult to setup and understand and I've found the documentation lacking.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Gitlab was more feature rich and powerful than Github

User Profile

Gianluigi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Great tool to track issues and to manage IT projects

A part the issue tracking feature, which is a very long time component, the CI/CD help us to build a robust CI and CD process.

Pros

Issues tracking is simple and complete, but the really powerful part of the software it's the CI/CD. Pipelines and integration with Kubernetes (and lots of others tools) are a long time and mature features.

Cons

Actually I don't find out missing features.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better Pipeline and CI/CD support.

User Profile

Louisa

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

GitLab is a super useful classroom tool for college students!

I love using GitLab to develop and operate software as a college student taking courses at the intersection of business and technology.

Pros

In my business technology courses I have used GitLab in the past to develop and operate different softwares with ease. I find that GitLab enables me to do so in a manner that is straightforward, simple, reliable, and enables good communication.

Cons

What I like the least about GitLab would be its limited free offerings, but playing for the platform is not too expensive via the pricing model.

Showing 1 - 25 of 658 reviews
GitLab

GitLab

4.59/5 out of 670 reviews
PriceDemo