What are MantisBT users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using MantisBT software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.05

93 Reviews

5
24
4
51
3
17
2
1
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Their bootstrap design is amazing, before version 2 it wasn't so tidy but nowadays it is. Thanks for making my bug tracking and managing easier."
  • icon"A very simple interface, very good graphical reports, daily use eclipse compatibility with my tech team."
  • icon"We like it so much we plan on widening the scope to use it for an online helpdesk ticket system for our district."
  • icon"Most of the settings are awkward to apply, takes a little getting used to."
  • icon"If you are struck with the setup, it is very unlikely you can an answer as this is used by very less people. Very difficult to setup work environment on Linux system."
  • icon"It's not that easy to use and with multiple tickets or issues opened at the same time it's very confusing."

Jump to:

Browse all MantisBT Reviews

  • Have you used MantisBT and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 93 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 93 reviews

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Good and easy issue tracker

We use MantisBT to help desk, IT project management and software development tickets (bug a new funcionalities)

Pros

Easy use and API and plugin capabilities

Cons

I would like a more modern user interface and better statistic funcionality

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Great for tracking features, bugs and managing a distributed team.

Have been using it consistently, does the job and is great price for a small team.

Pros

Easy to customise system, could add workflow and structure to it suited to our specific use case and set up. Works well with easy customisation.

Cons

Notification and feature management through pipeline doesn't have the best visibility - at least not obviously out of the box.

Reasons for switching to MantisBT

Better tracking of issues through their life cycle, recommended by testing team.

Julián

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

A customizable issue tracker, but requires advanced setup

This software was our very first option to manage our company's tasks. As our business grew, we needed to fit the program into our business logic. Each customization of this software lasted a couple days until it fit. It was a permanent time-consuming task.

Pros

The flexibility of the issue tracker is powerful. It can fit all logic business only with the core features, and it can be hooked to external applications that may exists in the company environment.

Cons

The installation and customization process can be very complex. If the company needs special workflows or external integrations, it may lead to write own add-ons or modify the program at code level to accomplish it.

Reasons for switching to MantisBT

We moved to JIRA because it has powerful time-tracking add-ons, and it is easier and less time-consuming to customize.

User Profile

Jose Miguel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

MantisBT, basic control for basic dev teams

We needed a basic bug tracker system, based on that and we actually work using the predefined workflow: if your needs fits with ours, MantisBT is a very solid, stable and easy to use BTS. Included Workflow:

Pros

Version 2.x came with a bunch of much needed UI changes. Now MantisBT has a modern look and feel. Also, it maintains its core functionality, so create and manage tickets for your projects is a breathe as always.

Cons

Even in version 2.x, you still have to setup your development workflow using text files, which is not optimal and a very dated way of doing this and makes you take the setup a little longer.

Reasons for choosing MantisBT

Basic BTS for Basic Needs, no brainer

User Profile

Bharat

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Bug tracking tool

Pros

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

Diane

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Keeps my world running smoothly

I've been using the product for over five years and it does the job.

Pros

I use this product daily to manage all tasks involved in multiple online development projects. It is easy to use, keeps everything organized in one place and is easy to update and customize to my needs.

Cons

It currently meets my needs so no critique at this time. It would be great to have additional training on features we may not be aware of.

Reasons for choosing MantisBT

Inexpensive, easy to install and easy to get team up to speed on how to use it.

User Profile

Shubham

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Bug On the Way

We are resolving our issue that were found during testing. The tester assign the issues or bug to he developer and after that developer will fix the issue and simple re assign the ticket to the tester with the status changed to the fixed state.

Pros

With this we can easily assign the bug or issue to the developer with the details regarding the issue. It opens a ticket on the name of the assignee. You can also track the issues of the developer and can be helpful in counting the overall performance rate of the developer.

Cons

It's not that easy to use and with multiple tickets or issues opened at the same time it's very confusing.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Job logging software

Pros

The software is easy enough to use and you can log track and trace current and in progress jobs that have been created. Timelines and grades give you the capability to process logged jobs in the time frame required.

Cons

For the average user this software will not be that easy to navigate around but once thy have had enough training on it they will be comfortable enough to use it.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Bug Tracking Extended

It does bug tracking well but the interface + features provided could improve inline with their competitors

Pros

If Bug Tracking is what you want to do, MantisBT has you covered on all aspects of tracking an issue, from identification up to fixing and verification. The workflows and structure can be configured to how your team works and the team composition and it also has all the tracking/documenting features needed on a normal QA process. The Roadmap and Wiki features are great for management and planning aspects of bugs/issues and delivery.

Cons

Installation (Standalone) and customization to fit your specific organization/project can be a bit of a hassle especially if you want specific workflows or if you rely on external integrations for bug tracking/reporting needs. For someone who is new to MantisBT, it will take some time to get used to the user interface + there won't be easy 'wizards/tips' to guide them through the flows.

Warren James

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Was not hard software to learn and work through

Pros

You can tack jobs logged relatively easily. Works well in a software dev environment where you are tracking bug related jobs and creating release notes for techs.

Cons

Every now and then the job submitted would not log properly and you would have to start the whole log again.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Takes some time to get used to. But totally worth it

Ive been a user of jira for three years. To be honest, it wasnt a smooth transition. But the customisation mantis provides was worth it.

Pros

As a user of this software, i have been pretty much basically been able to customise it to the max. I can pretty much make the tickets look the way i want.

Cons

Sometimes there are the occasional hiccups like missing token error mesage. Its very annoying since you have to go back in the browser to submit the ticket again

User Profile

abdelli

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

great tool to truck bugs

Pros

I like how it's easy to install and use since the interface is very simple but not modern. Also you can customize it to your needs. I highly recommend it.

Cons

there are some customisations aren't possible so you will have to change the core by yourself..

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Feature Rich bug tracker

Proper tracking of daily tasks.

Pros

Can track multiple projects and multiple users working on it. The filters given are really awesome, it helps a lot to track the project and user workflow. Many functionalities are given with simplicity like forms, user tracker, project-wise tracking, road maps, user account, project details, etc. Various User levels are given to work with, so it's easy to assign, resolve and close the issue for higher / lower level user too. The detailing about any task gives in-depth info of any project, in which child task, parent task functionality plays the major role.

Cons

The UI is not at all user-friendly, the non-technical person could not understand it easily. The concept of child class/ parent class is tedious to understand in the first view. The links for "Bug Update" page (Pencil icon) and "bug view" page (hyperlinked Bug ID) are located really very close, so while updating the task, it creates confusion.

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Great product with lots of funtionality

I used this for my old place of work! and must say at the time it was easy to use, With tons of features! I like the drop down list for different departments (sites) and how easy it is to track faults open or closed with different colors for different states! I now use a program called Team support, which I have found easier to use, With the Sam functionality! unsure on prices of either product as I'm just a user! but mantis is definitely a handy little program that I would say is focused more on the technical user!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality

Cons

Looks a bit more technical for the nontechnician minded

Pamela

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

MantisBT for Support Ticket Tracking

We use MantisBT for our Support Staff to report, track and research problems our customers have encountered with our software product. At the same time, it is also used by our software development team to report and track issues and enhancements with our software. Being able to correlate the two is something that other support tracking software cannot do.

Pros

It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams.

Cons

Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming.

Maria Agnes

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

Pros

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

Cons

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

Arpit

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Wonderful and very fast Bug tracking tool

Since it is easy to use, we are easily able to help our QA & Dev team to use the bug tracking & reporting tool. It is best option for Start-ups and new users

Pros

It provides easy bug tracking covering all basic things required fo ra Bug tracking software. It can be integrated with all the build and task management tools. We have it integrated with TFS & SVN

Cons

Reporting & Filters should be improved a lot. if both these things are improved people will find it an ideal solution for bug tracking

Esther

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

My first issue tracking and bug development tool

Pros

Mantis was the first issue tracking software that I used several years ago . It was easy to install, setup and deploy through all departments involved from development to QA release of product. As all open-source tools is widely maintained by the community

Cons

I love free version of MantisBT, but professional version is really expensive comparing to other options on the market

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Ugly but free and works

I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

Pros

Free Has everything for bug tracking and project management Simple enough to never break

Cons

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

Amandeep

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

User friendly Open source bug tracker system

The high functionalities fulfills the purpose of bug tracking, thus, management of a project becomes more efficient.

Pros

1. Helps team members in project collaboration and to track the progress in software development within team or with clients. 2. Automated email notification system which notifies project members regarding issues updates. 3. Issues can be filtered according to status, priority, assigned to user, date etc. 4. Each user can view his/her own unresolved issues.

Cons

Very simple interface - Can be improved.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Mantis Review

overall it good for small companies

Pros

Good Bug tracking tool. Can be integrated with other tools easily. Can track multiple project at the same time Different roles for different users search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

Cons

Boring UI Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

Giorgia

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

A useful tool for multiple functions

I'm using this tool to manager our quality system of a testing laboratory . And in particular I use mantis to manage system anomalies, to manage tests, and to manage the laboratory's instrument inventory.

Pros

The best thing about the tool is that it is very flexible and allows it to be used for several very different applications. Within our company it's used as a database for anomaly management, for non-conformity and quality issues management, for patent portfolio management, for accredited test laboratory management.

Cons

Nothing in particular, but a colleague of mine takes care of the "customization" of the tool according to our needs, but it is not entirely easy to implement these changes to the code. Obviously it's normal that it's like that and that to modify the code you need someone "expert" who knows the language in code

Robin

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

It's an easy to use bug tracking software and can be used for tracking multiple projects

Pros

Customizable issue workflow , Notifications , Search and Filter tools , Various levels of users Access

Cons

It is an amazingly simple tool to install but the included download file does not contain any documentation. Instead it redirects to the on-line documentation from within the /docs/directory.

Narine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

One of the best bug trucking systems

It has a good UI, amazing and adorable green mantis logo))

Pros

I've been using Mantis for a very long time, it is easy to use, user - friendly, simple and understandable.

Cons

Can't remember a thing that was not too good. I've been using Jira as well, but no difference for writing a good bug))

Infiyaz

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Extremely handy tool for the team

Pros

It helps monitor each and every bug easily and know who is attending to it at a given time.

Cons

The end-user (who is usually the bug reporter) gets a little taken aback when it comes to the UI but I don't think this is a big deal once they get familiar with it.

Showing 1 - 25 of 93 reviews
MantisBT

MantisBT

4.05/5 out of 93 reviews
PriceDemo