User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(22)

22

4 stars

(46)

46

3 stars

(17)

17

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like how it's easy to install and use since the interface is very simple but not modern. Also you can customize it to your needs. I highly recommend it."

  • "It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs."

  • "It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams."

  • Cons

  • "Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming."

  • "It is an amazingly simple tool to install but the included download file does not contain any documentation. Instead it redirects to the on-line documentation from within the /docs/directory."

  • "For the average user this software will not be that easy to navigate around but once thy have had enough training on it they will be comfortable enough to use it."

Browse MantisBT Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 86 results

April 2018

Daniel from SOAINT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

If you want to control bugs, MantisBT is the best solution.

Pros

Suitable software to track errors, inform the team through fault reports. It is important to highlight that MantisBT has a free license that allows multiple options to carry the day to day of the software that is already in the test stage. For the user, it has a nice interface and the team can be notified of each stage of the test cycle.

Cons

Your options are limited when it comes to customizing and creating new reports and more accurate tracking of manual test cases. Does not allow direct interaction between users.

December 2019

Jose Miguel from BIRD Consultores S.A. de C.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

MantisBT, basic control for basic dev teams

We needed a basic bug tracker system, based on that and we actually work using the predefined workflow: if your needs fits with ours, MantisBT is a very solid, stable and easy to use BTS. Included Workflow:

Pros

Version 2.x came with a bunch of much needed UI changes. Now MantisBT has a modern look and feel. Also, it maintains its core functionality, so create and manage tickets for your projects is a breathe as always.

Cons

Even in version 2.x, you still have to setup your development workflow using text files, which is not optimal and a very dated way of doing this and makes you take the setup a little longer.

Reasons for Choosing MantisBT

Basic BTS for Basic Needs, no brainer

June 2020

Julián from VOIP SYSTEMS A.G.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2020

A customizable issue tracker, but requires advanced setup

This software was our very first option to manage our company's tasks. As our business grew, we needed to fit the program into our business logic. Each customization of this software lasted a couple days until it fit. It was a permanent time-consuming task.

Pros

The flexibility of the issue tracker is powerful. It can fit all logic business only with the core features, and it can be hooked to external applications that may exists in the company environment.

Cons

The installation and customization process can be very complex. If the company needs special workflows or external integrations, it may lead to write own add-ons or modify the program at code level to accomplish it.

March 2020

Shubham from BelWo Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Bug On the Way

We are resolving our issue that were found during testing. The tester assign the issues or bug to he developer and after that developer will fix the issue and simple re assign the ticket to the tester with the status changed to the fixed state.

Pros

With this we can easily assign the bug or issue to the developer with the details regarding the issue. It opens a ticket on the name of the assignee. You can also track the issues of the developer and can be helpful in counting the overall performance rate of the developer.

Cons

It's not that easy to use and with multiple tickets or issues opened at the same time it's very confusing.

November 2019

Pamela from VIDISTAR

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

MantisBT for Support Ticket Tracking

We use MantisBT for our Support Staff to report, track and research problems our customers have encountered with our software product. At the same time, it is also used by our software development team to report and track issues and enhancements with our software. Being able to correlate the two is something that other support tracking software cannot do.

Pros

It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams.

Cons

Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming.

September 2018

Bharat from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Bug tracking tool

Pros

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

September 2019

Narine from TV

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

One of the best bug trucking systems

It has a good UI, amazing and adorable green mantis logo))

Pros

I've been using Mantis for a very long time, it is easy to use, user - friendly, simple and understandable.

Cons

Can't remember a thing that was not too good. I've been using Jira as well, but no difference for writing a good bug))

October 2019

Paul from SC Zwagerman IT

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Very flexible great software, exactly what I needed for my software development for Magento modules

Without bug tracking system you are lost, this software goes way further than just being a tracker, its clear, clean and anybody can use it!

Pros

Once you have the software configured, you can make accounts and assign issues to persons or groups, really easy and useful, if an external developer has to look into an issue its informed by email and can tag, mark it being busy with it. Their bootstrap design is amazing, before version 2 it wasn't so tidy but nowadays it is! Thanks for making my bug tracking and managing easier! I also used it in a big big company, thanks to multi language it was doable also for the Dutch and German people, cause they had the interface in their own language. Stop looking for other software, this is what you need!

Cons

Before you can work with the software you need to setup a lot, users, groups, software, versions and more, but once you're done, its really great and you forgot that you needed some time to set it up.

December 2016

Syed from Empyrean

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Syed Mantis Review

I have been using Mantis for my current company for almost 4 years. This software is being used for tracking and assigning issues/tickets to the team for different projects and you can follow up with your team members by manually going into the specific ticket what is due for that day etc. I gave Mantis 3 stars because there are limitations and have some boundaries.

Pros

Easy to use. User friendly

Cons

You don't have a way to track stuff automated way. Where you should receive notification if a person did not touch the ticket and the deadline is near. You have to go in and track all those things manually. Where a person who assigned the case and the person to whom the case is assigned both should receive automatic reminders and warnings.

May 2017

Gerrit from Design Express

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Good Issue Tracker

Collecting data on all of our firm's development issues is of high importance to us. Mantis is a good tool for that.

Pros

Mantis offers a good interface to gather comments, files... for all team members involved. A lot is predefined (like choice lists), so you can quickly dive in. Lots of possibilities to filter your views and searches.

Cons

Personally, I find it hard to set up - let alone customize - the system. Therefor, we're using it straight from the box. There are features that I'd rather remove from the interface, but I wouldn't know how. I contacted Support several times in the past (not recently though), no response. Most of the settings are awkward to apply, takes a little getting used to.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Feature Rich bug tracker

Proper tracking of daily tasks.

Pros

Can track multiple projects and multiple users working on it. The filters given are really awesome, it helps a lot to track the project and user workflow. Many functionalities are given with simplicity like forms, user tracker, project-wise tracking, road maps, user account, project details, etc. Various User levels are given to work with, so it's easy to assign, resolve and close the issue for higher / lower level user too. The detailing about any task gives in-depth info of any project, in which child task, parent task functionality plays the major role.

Cons

The UI is not at all user-friendly, the non-technical person could not understand it easily. The concept of child class/ parent class is tedious to understand in the first view. The links for "Bug Update" page (Pencil icon) and "bug view" page (hyperlinked Bug ID) are located really very close, so while updating the task, it creates confusion.

December 2016

James from Rail training international

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Great product with lots of funtionality

I used this for my old place of work! and must say at the time it was easy to use, With tons of features! I like the drop down list for different departments (sites) and how easy it is to track faults open or closed with different colors for different states! I now use a program called Team support, which I have found easier to use, With the Sam functionality! unsure on prices of either product as I'm just a user! but mantis is definitely a handy little program that I would say is focused more on the technical user!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality

Cons

Looks a bit more technical for the nontechnician minded

August 2018

Maria Agnes from CWB National Leasing

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

Pros

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

Cons

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

August 2017

Arpit from Damco Solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Wonderful and very fast Bug tracking tool

Since it is easy to use, we are easily able to help our QA & Dev team to use the bug tracking & reporting tool. It is best option for Start-ups and new users

Pros

It provides easy bug tracking covering all basic things required fo ra Bug tracking software. It can be integrated with all the build and task management tools. We have it integrated with TFS & SVN

Cons

Reporting & Filters should be improved a lot. if both these things are improved people will find it an ideal solution for bug tracking

April 2019

Esther from ZITRO

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

My first issue tracking and bug development tool

Pros

Mantis was the first issue tracking software that I used several years ago . It was easy to install, setup and deploy through all departments involved from development to QA release of product. As all open-source tools is widely maintained by the community

Cons

I love free version of MantisBT, but professional version is really expensive comparing to other options on the market

May 2018

Mark from Flash Mobile Vending

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Job logging software

Pros

The software is easy enough to use and you can log track and trace current and in progress jobs that have been created. Timelines and grades give you the capability to process logged jobs in the time frame required.

Cons

For the average user this software will not be that easy to navigate around but once thy have had enough training on it they will be comfortable enough to use it.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Ugly but free and works

I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

Pros

Free Has everything for bug tracking and project management Simple enough to never break

Cons

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

August 2018

Amandeep from Escalon Business Services Pvt. Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

User friendly Open source bug tracker system

The high functionalities fulfills the purpose of bug tracking, thus, management of a project becomes more efficient.

Pros

1. Helps team members in project collaboration and to track the progress in software development within team or with clients. 2. Automated email notification system which notifies project members regarding issues updates. 3. Issues can be filtered according to status, priority, assigned to user, date etc. 4. Each user can view his/her own unresolved issues.

Cons

Very simple interface - Can be improved.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Mantis Review

overall it good for small companies

Pros

Good Bug tracking tool. Can be integrated with other tools easily. Can track multiple project at the same time Different roles for different users search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

Cons

Boring UI Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

August 2017

Robin from Damco Solutions Pvt Ltd

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

It's an easy to use bug tracking software and can be used for tracking multiple projects

Pros

Customizable issue workflow , Notifications , Search and Filter tools , Various levels of users Access

Cons

It is an amazingly simple tool to install but the included download file does not contain any documentation. Instead it redirects to the on-line documentation from within the /docs/directory.

March 2018

Warren James from Flash Mobile Vending

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Was not hard software to learn and work through

Pros

You can tack jobs logged relatively easily. Works well in a software dev environment where you are tracking bug related jobs and creating release notes for techs.

Cons

Every now and then the job submitted would not log properly and you would have to start the whole log again.

July 2019

abdelli from Southern States University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

great tool to truck bugs

Pros

I like how it's easy to install and use since the interface is very simple but not modern. Also you can customize it to your needs. I highly recommend it.

Cons

there are some customisations aren't possible so you will have to change the core by yourself..

August 2018

Infiyaz from Marha Online (Pvt) Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Extremely handy tool for the team

Pros

It helps monitor each and every bug easily and know who is attending to it at a given time.

Cons

The end-user (who is usually the bug reporter) gets a little taken aback when it comes to the UI but I don't think this is a big deal once they get familiar with it.

February 2017

Chetan from Damco

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Mantis-Nice Bug tracking tool

Mantis BT is really good bug tracking tool. Its open source, web-based, free and very useful tool for managing bugs. Life cycle of an issue can be easily managed and tracked. Health of the project can be view by checking the status of bugs. Send E-mail to each individual on status change of the task. A good tool to in a project.

January 2019

Mike Lester from Greenfield Development Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

If you are looking to kickstart with a FREE bug tracker, go with Mantis

What i really liked about MantisBT is the simple and straightforward approach to tracking and squashing those pesky bugs! It is a real monitoring tool to keep track and address issues in the development or post-go-live of the project. Not much after that.

Pros

What I liked about MantisBT is the simple workflow it requires of the user to report, track, and update "bugs" in your projects (software). Instead of keeping track on the old and clunky offline Microsoft Excel, we deemed it best to implement a simple bug tracking system to quickly address issues in our software development project.

Cons

What I liked least about the software is that it is very limited in terms of its features and being an Open source solution, lacks the commercial support of similar paid software.

July 2017

Amit from Damco Solutions Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Good Product for bug tracking

I am recommending to use Mantis

Pros

I've had Mantis running since last 2 year without trouble. The reporter simply logs in and reports a problem. This is very easy to use. User can log his bug and track the status very easily. Best tool for bug tracking.

Cons

I have no issue to use this product but design view is not good. Need to improve some graphical look and feel.

February 2019

Rushi from Tvape

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Best for the Bigger Projects and Time consuming for the smaller one

Its the very good software as its free and I am Technical. Don't use it if you don't have Technical Knowledge.

Pros

- Open Source and Free - Lots of Functionality to track and maintain the Bugs - Make the issues relationship and get the perfect estimation. - Great Reporting for the Ongoing Projects - Easy to upload on the server.

Cons

- Take lots of Space on the server and if its shared hosting it will become super slow - The Layout is very much Outdated looks like 90's OLD Movie.

July 2020

Ivica from Cool Stuff AE

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Complicated life of tickets

It is useful to complete all needed daily tasks but it is not the best solution.

Pros

Possibility to link many tickets with the different options (parent-child, duplicate...)

Cons

Overview of the tickets is sometimes a nightmare. There are many filters to apply on the list but sometimes the export didn't work as it should be.

October 2017

Sanjeev from damco solutions

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Good for issue tracking

Pros

This product is good for small projects to track the issue. By using this, we can generates the reports on different filter basis. Also, log the discussion points during the progress of task.

Cons

Filter is not customizable. But i will recommend this because it will give us a productive working facility.

April 2018

Ross from NetPotential

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great for basic project management

Pros

If you are look for a basic bug tracking system for software development, this is one of the tools you might want to look at. Got all the basic things you need to start a project.

Cons

Not as feature rich and as cutomizable as some other bug tracking/project management tools like jira.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Rock solid Bug Tracker

Pros

- Simple installation and use. - Allows customization to address different project needs. - Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

Cons

- UI is very outdated. - The reporting tools are limited. - The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

May 2017

Arjun from Firstventure Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Fantastic open-source bug tracking tool

Bug testing, tracking tickets, product management

Pros

Open source, easy to configure and customize, has all the basic features we need, makes testing and tracking issues very easy

Cons

Very basic user interface, does not integrate with other tools, sometimes the configurations are too complex to bother

August 2017

Kirti from Damco Solutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

User friendly bug tracking tool

Pros

Mantis is open source and highly customizable bug tracking tool. It is very user friendly and has a simpler GUI.A must have tool for any project

Cons

Reporting can be improved, user customization can be enhanced and integration with othet project management tool can be added

April 2018

Dealdiane from NetPotential

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Good but feels dated

Pros

Very easy to setup and straightforward to use. The user interface is simple but gets the job done plus it's free and open-source.

Cons

The user interface, although has been refreshed, still feels dated compared to some of the more popular alternatives

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

It is a simple bug tracking tool and can be used in more than one project

Mantis is a good bug tracking tool, it is free and can be used in several projects.

Pros

It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs.

Cons

The interface could be better to have a better user experience. Sometimes the icons get me confused.

January 2019

Michael from Rapidfire Tools

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Easy website to report and track status on bugs in code.

It's a good simple bug tracking system that people who don't want to fill in a lot of fields would enjoy using.

Pros

The website is very easy to navigate and searching for bugs can be done quickly by just entering text that is in the bug's title or description.

Cons

No cons that I can think of. Bugs can be reported quickly because there aren't many required fields to fill in.

September 2018

sahil from belwopvt.ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Best bug tracking tool

Pros

Its very easy to use, easily bug assign to the developer and As a Team lead Its very easy to track the bug.

Cons

Its not create any report at the end of project and have less in demand.

September 2018

Diane from i Love Inns/American Historic Inns

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Task Management/Project Management Tool

Improved communication and a permanent record of tasks/projects progress from start to end.

Pros

. It is Free . It allows me to manage a team of 5 IT programmers and remote designers by tracking all tasks and projects assigned to them. . It allows all of us to update status, request information and update multiple team members on what is happening with a project. . It keeps a permanent record of my staff's performance both on Time spent and on communication skills.

Cons

This is more of a task manager rather than project manager so we've had to adjust the use of the tool. But, it works.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

This is a solid, battle-tested bug tracker with focus on simplicity and clarity.

Pros

I love how Mantis has improved and progressed over the years but has retained its core principles: it's a solid product, with all the features you would expect by a professional bug tracking platform, and focuses on developers productivity.

Cons

It can be intimidating for novice developers and its look-and-feel might not be gorgeous, but its UI is clear and concise.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Mantis is a tried and true bug tracking software for teams.

Used by a team of developers and testers to report, track and resolve bugs/issues/defects.

Pros

Very customizable, and allows full teams to us it. Features for the free version are still great. Automatic emails to team members.

Cons

Interface is a little out dated and clunky. Could use a nice modern refresh with a bit of UX input.

August 2017

julia from jala

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

good

Pros

fields are well designed and dashboard. i can find my assigned work quickly and its priority. You can customize your workflow.

Cons

reports are not that easy to get when you want an specific scenario and through historics it is a bit difficult to get those.

August 2017

Elsa from Raidmax Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

It's very helpful software. I have to use it every day and it helps me to solve my problem whenever

Pros

Quickly and easily update your team and clients via notifications on issues, resolutions, and comments There is no like least like discover so far, I will keep updated once I have bad experience to use this program

June 2017

Bhunesh from IBM Pvt Ltd.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Best Software for bugs tracking

Pros

MantisBT is for any company that relies on a centralized system in order to keep track of software/Web site bugs. This system can be used by any level of business from SMBs to large enterprises.

November 2017

Prithwish from SSGIL

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

MantisBT product review

overall 5

Pros

almost everything what you can imagine with great feature even in free version. You can create/modify as per your requirement. Many things you can add as per client requirement.

Cons

e-mail configuration is bit tricky...many people have issues while configuring email part and solutions given in forums worked differently for different people.

December 2018

Chethan from Infosys Limited

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

MantisBT is a popular open source bug tracking tool and easier to use.

Pros

MantisBT is a light and easy to use Bug tracking software. MantisBT has gained popularity as it is easy to install and can start using the same in few hours. MantisBT is a Web based tool built on PHP and MySQL platform. MantisBT has some nice features and the same are easy to configure for most of the MantisBT administrators. The MantisBT UI is comparatively easier to customize and the fields can be modified as per the organizations requirements. The notifications features makes the MantisBT bug tracking more effective. In MantisBT the Administrators can easily add users of different roles and it has very good Access control mechanism. The easy to use MantisBT UI requires a shorter learning curve for new users.Testers can easily raise the bugs, add supporting documents, assign to other users, add users using CSV file etc.

Cons

MantisBT has several nice to have features but also has some demerits or disadvantages. MantisBT is comparatively slow. MantisBT UI is not so appealing. As MantisBT is open source there is always the security concerns and not so good Support team for quick help on the MantisBT software. One need to rely upon the Forums or user community for help or plugins.

August 2016

A from MOD

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Best bug tracker I ever used

I only have experience with Mantis, TFS and Jira. And this one I like the most. Most orderly bug tracker and easy to use.

Pros

The overview page with the different colours and simple forms.

Cons

Not adapted for agile programming.

May 2018

Chad from Springfield Public Schools

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

A great tool for keeping track of various bugs and issues.

Pros

The best part about Mantis is that it's free and open source. Our team of developers where able to implement it rather quickly into our information system to use as a bug/issue tracker. We like it so much we plan on widening the scope to use it for an online helpdesk ticket system for our district.

Cons

With it being open source there are a few bugs here in there of it's own accord. Sometimes access permissions can get kind of wonky and there isn't an easy way to delegate only certain amount of access to a single person.

December 2017

Steve from Applied Motion Systems

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Mantis is a solid program for tracking issues

Pros

Highly customizable, Open Source, Easy for new users to get the hang of it. I'm a developer and have modified Mantis for users adding time tracking and billing to the base product. It is very robust, fast and secure.

Cons

The interface is a little dated. Mobile users are stuck using a desktop web interface. Some configuration options are difficult to understand.

November 2016

Luke from Enterprise Automation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Solid issue tracking software, but a little clunky

We use Mantis to track all of our customer's request for software configuration changes. It gives us a great historical record of the work being done, and provides constant reminders to drive action.

Pros

Reminder system drives better accountability. Filtering is useful to find only issues of a certain type.

Cons

User interface isn't pretty, although it is functional.

January 2019

Rajesh from Damco

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Bug tracker with categorization

It can be more interactive with more real status.

Pros

It is awesome tool to track bugs and display them with bug level.It gives you clear picture of critical bugs and shows current status.you do not need to manage excel as it is more interactive.

Cons

Multiple users can not add summary as it provides only a single section.User interface can be improved.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 86 reviews