All OpenProject Reviews

1-25 of 138 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jacob Ira

Computer Hardware, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2023

Order From Chaos And Free.

User Profile

Winston

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Stunning,resourceful and Da Bomb! Task and Project Management Software.

PROS

I like how OpenProject allows teams to work and collaborate together more effectively on project schedules.It's easy and fast to keep track of multiple projects progress simultaneously with help of OpenProject.It's easy to organize,plan,create,assign and execute project and task schedules with this tool.OpenProject is a better tool for time and budget tracking hence making it easy and quick to track time and costs spent on projects.It's also to customize this tool dashboard so as to meet all our needs.It's a very secure tool for task and project management.

CONS

I have nothing to do with dislikes as OpenProject works perfectly to meet all our requirements.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Winston, we really appreciate it. Take a look at our release notes (https://www.openproject.org/docs/release-notes/) to stay informed on our newest features.

Replied February 2023

Matthew

Wireless, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Great Project Software for Teams

I thoroughly enjoy OpenProject and hope it continues to grow. Others in my organization find it frustrating for scheduling and viewing overall status, but we are finding ways to work around issues with other tools. We don't need another Jira! OP is my MS Project alternative, and adds the benefit of integrating teams into project tracking. Keep up the good work!

PROS

OpenProject is a pleasure to use for projects from proposal/concept to closing. Creating a WBS and timeline with generic resources is a great way to generate documentation needed for proposals. Copying that proposal project to an active project is then a great way to jumpstart project planning with team awareness of timelines and requirements. Teams can interact with the project plan, adding their own features and tasks to complete deliverables. Creating custom WBS queries assists in focusing team members on items they are required to complete. And creating custom queries to the master Work Package list provides a way for executive members to view the active phases and status of milestones. Meetings can be logged in their own section, and wiki notes can be captured for reference. Very pleased with the community version of OpenProject.

CONS

Scheduling and resource management is a bit burdensome with OpenProject. There is so much value in scheduling with blocked-out weekends, holidays, and resource calendars. Resource loading reports have to be manually created in other tools (spreadsheets) to show whether resources are available or overbooked. The planned project overview page and executive/portfolio views can't come soon enough. Value is often communicated upwards, and there isn't much for executive management to view; these views and reports are still custom creations in other tools. Printing wiki pages, meetings, etc. are awkward. Budgeting is OK, but again awkward as the plugin appears to apply to all projects when within a single project. There is no baseline feature and no way to compare performance verses the baseline. For these reasons, users are still required to use more advanced resource management, project management and budgeting, and scheduling tools alongside OpenProject. It is great software, just not a complete replacement for other project management toolsets. At times, it would be good to have more condensed views, but reducing the screen rendering/size to less than 100% suffices for now.

Reason for choosing OpenProject

Free and timeline/work package views. Almost a complete PMIS.

Reasons for switching to OpenProject

Integrate project management and team collaboration with timelines and scheduling. A great PMIS, that is better than most, and will be best with resource management and executive/portfolio reporting!

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your feedback. The good news is that we are working on a completely new resource management and scheduling module for OpenProject. If you are interested in sharing your expectations, just get in touch with us on support@openproject.com.

Replied September 2019

Kim

Construction, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Open it is not

A 'free trial' failed to provide (a) sufficient time to understand the product (b) sufficient guidance on the product before demanding I commit to signing up

PROS

This product looked to be a useful alternative to MS Project

CONS

Inadequate help.

Reasons for switching to OpenProject

Looking for better priced product

Vendor Response

Dear Kim, thank you for your review. Indeed, the help is quite weak at this point. We are currently developing a new help center with documentation and videos directly embedded in the system. Also, we offer to prolong the trial for another 10 days to give users a change to test the system thoroughly before signing up. We also offer to give a personal demo. We are happy to prolong your trial if needed. Kind regards Birthe (OpenProject)

Replied August 2019

Jander

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Great Tool

It has helped me a lot in project management. Task management and monitoring. I would like a brief overview of the project portfolio.

PROS

Open source software, API, web based. Constant feature and security updates. Agile tools; Gantt chart.

CONS

The integration of agile module with gantt chart does not work correctly. There is currently a need for manual updates to the Agile module and Gantt. It would be great if the Gantt chart showed the progress of Versions, User Stories, and Tasks automatically. Currently I have to create a Gantt Phase and link to the Version of the same name.

Reason for choosing OpenProject

Open source, many features and constant updates.

Vendor Response

Thanks you very much for your feedback. The integration of the Agile module with the Gantt chart is a known challenge which we will evaluate and improve. For now, the new Boards module gives a first improvement so that all work packages are at first displayed in the Gantt chart.

Replied September 2019

User Profile

Stefano

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

A great alternative to MS Project for collaboration

It's perfect to assign tasks and keep track of their progress. Many other free tools can do this but OpenProject adds customizable workflows and detailed dependencies between tasks - and even a Gantt view. I use it for small and medium projects where live feedback from team members (progress, comments, etc.) is vital. Achieving the same result with MS Project Server would cost exorbitantly more.

PROS

I like the ease of use (I never had to explain how to use it to team members, only to project admins), the clean interface, the granularity of the configuration (most of all the possibility of activating only the needed modules for each project), the customization possibilities for categories/statuses/fact that workflows, the flexibility and ease of query design, the availability of a Gantt view I appreciated also very much that most of the essential features can be used for free without limitations (other tools like Asana limit the number of projects, tasks or team members). Setup was extremely easy (but I'm a skilled technician and tinkerer with over 10 years of sysadmin experience, so your mileage may vary).

CONS

It lacks some important features for project resources management like resource allocation (to spot overloads), resource leveling, resource calendars and resource availability percentage. It also feels a bit skewed towards sw development teams and Agile methodology, so creating a classic waterfall WBS is not as easy as it should be and requires mental discipline; among other things, it does not allow for an easy reordering of tasks after their creation. It does not allow for an easy nor complete import/export from/to MS Project (which IS arguably the industry standard). The reports are not customizable and can only include task list and details (not the Gantt view).

Reason for choosing OpenProject

Cost and ease of setup and use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on OpenProject. We appreciate your feedback and work on improving OpenProject every day. You can find all the latest feature in our release notes (https://www.openproject.org/docs/release-notes/).

Replied December 2022

User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Task Management Software You Can Trust

PROS

What I liked about the tool, is the ability to pull task report and collaboration. You don't need to call to know the progress of a project, just check in the background. The product is highly customizable and flexible to business needs and wants.

CONS

Integration was great, no dissatisfaction experienced.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, John. Stay tuned about our latest features and follow our blog https://www.openproject.org/blog/

Replied September 2023

User Profile

francis

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

A stunning project management solution

PROS

It is simple to manage teamwork with OpenProject. I like how it's easy to plan and manage daily project schedules with open project. It streamlines and outomate routine work flows and project hence increasing productivity.

CONS

For the time I have been working with open project I haven,t encountered any demerit to highlight.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback on OpenProject, Francis. We are happy to hear it helps you manage your work.

Replied September 2023

User Profile

Martin

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

An effective and convenient Project Management Tool.

PROS

With OpenProject,I can easily track time and cost spent on projects efficiently.Again I can plan and manage projects and workflows with OpenProject.Tracking project progress with OpenProject is simple.

CONS

OpenProject simplifies all our daily work hence I lack any demerit to point out.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Martin. We are happy to hear that OpenProject helps simplify your work.

Replied September 2023

User Profile

Abel

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Avis openproject

I loved this software because of how easy it was to follow my projects and cost them on time efficiently and easily, plus the insertion of my tasks was quick and organized well too, but it was very complicated to configure it.

PROS

great software that allowed me to track my projects and costs on time efficiently and easily, plus the insertion of my tasks is quick and I organize them well too

CONS

the biggest problem I encountered with this software is the less flexibility and difficult to configure

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Abel. Please take a look at our user guides to help you configure OpenProject easier: https://www.openproject.org/docs/.

Replied October 2023

User Profile

Smith

Verified reviewer

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Multiple Construction Project Scheduling Platform.

Impressive project operations management tool from one room and it allows easy access control and the compliance and even the workflow management is very helpful.

PROS

OpenProject task management and the tracking of all the projects employees activities and the prioritization options and reliable collaboration across various Engineers from different projects is excellent.

CONS

Helpful and easy on getting started and the learning curve is friendly and no technical assistant required to set the functions.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with OpenProject, Smith.

Replied July 2023

Akshat

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Good, solid tool to initiate project & task management in SMEs

Day-to-day project and task management, creation and maintenance of broader and long-term roadmaps.

PROS

Transparency, easy-to-set and manage work item types, roles and responsibilities, the possibility to branch and link projects.

CONS

Certain discrepancies regarding recording and maintaining efforts needed for individual tasks. Gantt Charts not possible to be exported for reporting purposes (yet).

Reason for choosing OpenProject

Easy-to-use and train the employees in, affordable corporate solutions, possibility to integrate other products, customer service.

Reasons for switching to OpenProject

Financial reasons, ease-of-use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on OpenProject. We appreciate your feedback and work on improving OpenProject every day. You can find all the latest features in our release notes (https://www.openproject.org/docs/release-notes/).

Replied December 2022

Vipin

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A fruitful and legendary Project Management Tool.

Facilitate ease of tracking work and project progress.

PROS

I'm using OpenProject on daily basis to plan organize and manage all projects and work schedules in real-time.Again,I can assign work to my team with OpenProject.It is simple to collaborate with my team when working on projects schedules.

CONS

OpenProject has given me an outstanding and remarkable experience in the field of project management thus leaving me with absolutely nothing to dislike.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Vipin. We are happy to hear that OpenProject helps you successfully collaborate with your team! Stay up to date on all of our latest features and follow our blog https://www.openproject.org/blog/

Replied June 2023

Pragya

Consumer Goods, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Stunning and prestigious Task and Project Management Tool.

OpenProject helps me to collaborate more effectively with my team during work assignments.It helps me to streamline and automate my projects and workflows hence boosting productivity and getting work done on time.

PROS

I can simply plan and manage my tasks and projects efficiently with OpenProject.I can assign tasks easily to my team with this tool.Likewise,I can easily view the status of my routine tasks and projects with OpenProject.

CONS

There are no bottlenecks to highlight at this moment as I haven't yet experienced any.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about OpenProject, Pragya.

Replied September 2023

Philip

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Extremely sensational and resourceful Project Management Software.

PROS

I'm using OpenProject to plan,organize and manage all daily work and projects.Again,I use OpenProject to collaborate with my team seamlessly on work schedules.It is simple to track time spent to execute every project.

CONS

OpenProject meets all our requirements and objectives thus nothing to complain.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback, Philip. Time tracking is an important feature of OpenProject and we are glad you and your team are making use of it. Stay up to date on all our latest news and follow our blog (https://www.openproject.org/blog/).

Replied June 2023

Vincent

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Prestigious and mastermind Project Management Tool.

PROS

I'm using OpenProject to track time and costs of running projects.I like how it streamlines and automates workflows thus eliminating repetitive and manual workflows and also boosting productivity.I can easily plan and manage all my work and project schedules with OpenProject.

CONS

I lack any shortcoming with OpenProject as it meets all our needs in real-time.

Vendor Response

Thank you for feedback, Vincent. Follow us ot Twitter to stay up to date on all the latest features (https://twitter.com/openproject).

Replied July 2023

Bennett

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Robust PPM Program of this Era

I relish a lot from OpenProject: time tracking on projects, task creation and assignment issuing.

PROS

OpenProject help track time, issue and expense upon project completion which reduce losses by paying for exact work done.

CONS

For the entire 2+ years that I have been using OpenProject, all I count are benefits each day I launch it.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Bennett. We are happy to hear that OpenProject helps you in your work. Stay tuned as we are about to release OpenProject 13.0.

Replied August 2023

Luke

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Program and Team Management Made Easy With OpenProject

PROS

First, I like the team management features that helps in boosting team's productivityTime tracking and task management comes in handy to ensure we meet deadlinesIt is a great tool for project and portfolio management

CONS

First time users will require some form of training to use it effectively

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on OpenProject, Luke. Make sure to take a look at the time tracking button feature, which we released in OpenProject 13.0.

Replied September 2023

Paul

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Improving Efficiency With OpenProject

PROS

One thing I like about OpenProject is that despite being affordable, it doesn't compromise on featuresIt allows easy time trackingIt comes with amazing project management features

CONS

It has effectively met our project management needs and having experienced no problems, I can only recommend it

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of OpenProject, Paul. We are happy it enables you and your team to reach your project management goals.

Replied September 2023

Jacob

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY