User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(17)

17

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "i was able to use this product over 4 years on my previouse company. It was a very good selection for those who looking for a free agile based project management software"

  • "Fantastic GANTT implementation. Great ways to group / sort data while maintaining the GANTT view."

  • "Good user interface, great feature set, better prices."

  • Cons

  • "A 'server' (always on machine, running a web server and database) is required... would be nice if future iterations were remote browser based. "

  • "You could miss some perfomance and funtionality in the case your are expertise user of other Project software like MS Project for instance."

  • "I would like you to have more applications to integrate, in that aspect it is a bit limited"

Browse OpenProject Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -10 of 40 results

May 2019

Ely from Amazonia Films

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Free but great for project management

I used this platform to manage a project from the office on restoration of public art monuments, involved a lot of staff located in different parts, we had very little time, we managed to complete the project coordinating all activities and tasks with this platform, so it was much easier for me to receive reports from managers and area coordinators, I could detect where there were delays and who were the most efficient in fulfilling their tasks, it is amazing the information you can get from a platform like this

Pros

One of its most emblematic features, is a free platform and open source, you can use it from any operating system, gives you the tools to have control and make the necessary follow-up until the end of the project.

Cons

It should take more advantage of its open-source feature and incorporate more tools and functions.

August 2019

Matthew from IWT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wireless

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Great Project Software for Teams

I thoroughly enjoy OpenProject and hope it continues to grow. Others in my organization find it frustrating for scheduling and viewing overall status, but we are finding ways to work around issues with other tools. We don't need another Jira! OP is my MS Project alternative, and adds the benefit of integrating teams into project tracking. Keep up the good work!

Pros

OpenProject is a pleasure to use for projects from proposal/concept to closing. Creating a WBS and timeline with generic resources is a great way to generate documentation needed for proposals. Copying that proposal project to an active project is then a great way to jumpstart project planning with team awareness of timelines and requirements. Teams can interact with the project plan, adding their own features and tasks to complete deliverables. Creating custom WBS queries assists in focusing team members on items they are required to complete. And creating custom queries to the master Work Package list provides a way for executive members to view the active phases and status of milestones. Meetings can be logged in their own section, and wiki notes can be captured for reference. Very pleased with the community version of OpenProject.

Cons

Scheduling and resource management is a bit burdensome with OpenProject. There is so much value in scheduling with blocked-out weekends, holidays, and resource calendars. Resource loading reports have to be manually created in other tools (spreadsheets) to show whether resources are available or overbooked. The planned project overview page and executive/portfolio views can't come soon enough. Value is often communicated upwards, and there isn't much for executive management to view; these views and reports are still custom creations in other tools. Printing wiki pages, meetings, etc. are awkward. Budgeting is OK, but again awkward as the plugin appears to apply to all projects when within a single project. There is no baseline feature and no way to compare performance verses the baseline. For these reasons, users are still required to use more advanced resource management, project management and budgeting, and scheduling tools alongside OpenProject. It is great software, just not a complete replacement for other project management toolsets. At times, it would be good to have more condensed views, but reducing the screen rendering/size to less than 100% suffices for now.

Reasons for Choosing OpenProject

Free and timeline/work package views. Almost a complete PMIS.

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. The good news is that we are working on a completely new resource management and scheduling module for OpenProject. If you are interested in sharing your expectations, just get in touch with us on support@openproject.com.

March 2020

Indika from ceybid lanka (Pvt) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Very good project managment tool

It help lot to manage number of scrum team for a single project and we could be able to manage over 100 staff on this product.

Pros

i was able to use this product over 4 years on my previouse company. It was a very good selection for those who looking for a free agile based project management software

Cons

less flexibility and hard to configure/install is major issue i realized with this tool. It too so long to fix certian slowness issue of the application.

February 2020

Carlos from Every Time Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Very robust tool to manage projects of all types

Lightweight tool widely used in the market for project management.

Pros

It is open source. It has a free version to be installed on its own server. It has paid version with hosting and support. It has functionality for all stages of completing a project. Visual of the graphical interface is easy and intuitive.

Cons

technical knowledge is required to install. If you use it as a team (online) you will need to pay for a server where it will be installed.

August 2019

Jander from UFC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great Tool

It has helped me a lot in project management. Task management and monitoring. I would like a brief overview of the project portfolio.

Pros

Open source software, API, web based. Constant feature and security updates. Agile tools; Gantt chart.

Cons

The integration of agile module with gantt chart does not work correctly. There is currently a need for manual updates to the Agile module and Gantt. It would be great if the Gantt chart showed the progress of Versions, User Stories, and Tasks automatically. Currently I have to create a Gantt Phase and link to the Version of the same name.

Reasons for Choosing OpenProject

Open source, many features and constant updates.

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thanks you very much for your feedback. The integration of the Agile module with the Gantt chart is a known challenge which we will evaluate and improve. For now, the new Boards module gives a first improvement so that all work packages are at first displayed in the Gantt chart.

September 2019

Stefano from Present Spa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A great alternative to MS Project for collaboration

It's perfect to assign tasks and keep track of their progress. Many other free tools can do this but OpenProject adds customizable workflows and detailed dependencies between tasks - and even a Gantt view. I use it for small and medium projects where live feedback from team members (progress, comments, etc.) is vital. Achieving the same result with MS Project Server would cost exorbitantly more.

Pros

I like the ease of use (I never had to explain how to use it to team members, only to project admins), the clean interface, the granularity of the configuration (most of all the possibility of activating only the needed modules for each project), the customization possibilities for categories/statuses/fact that workflows, the flexibility and ease of query design, the availability of a Gantt view I appreciated also very much that most of the essential features can be used for free without limitations (other tools like Asana limit the number of projects, tasks or team members). Setup was extremely easy (but I'm a skilled technician and tinkerer with over 10 years of sysadmin experience, so your mileage may vary).

Cons

It lacks some important features for project resources management like resource allocation (to spot overloads), resource leveling, resource calendars and resource availability percentage. It also feels a bit skewed towards sw development teams and Agile methodology, so creating a classic waterfall WBS is not as easy as it should be and requires mental discipline; among other things, it does not allow for an easy reordering of tasks after their creation. It does not allow for an easy nor complete import/export from/to MS Project (which IS arguably the industry standard). The reports are not customizable and can only include task list and details (not the Gantt view).

Reasons for Choosing OpenProject

Cost and ease of setup and use.

August 2019

Thameera from PBPLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great Product for Proffesionals

I'm the admin for our company and it's really easy to install the software. Configuring is little bit confusing but you get great support from community. I use for my own project management. All users are really happy to use the software.

Pros

OpenProject is open source and free to use. Great tool if you are intermediate for project management. Web based and can use on modern browsers.

Cons

Need more customization on functionalities. For example it's better to have a customizable landing page.

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

August 2019

Jaylon from Kronos Incorporated

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Very User Friendly!

This product has helped to organize and streamline the user acceptance testing process!

Pros

Open Project is very easy to navigate, with little-to-no training needed prior. It is easy to help organize project teams and help triage/direct issues found!

Cons

It would help if the amount/types of statuses for each defect were customizable at the project-level. Each project is organized differently, so this would be a huge win!

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. At a workaround to have different status on a project level, you can create different types with corresponding status and activate those in different projects according to the projects' needs. We will evaluate the other option as well. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

February 2019

Jared from Highland County Health Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Solid Tool for Project Management

Overall this is a go-to program for my occasional project management needs. Very happy with the program in general.

Pros

The biggest draw for me was the price tag - free. I don't know who spent the time to design this program, but it has been an excellent resource for me during the few projects a year when I need a true project management tool. It has a wide variety of features available, and after a few minutes of trial and error, it was easy to pick up the basics. The GANTT chart feature is especially useful and is the component that I use the most.

Cons

Finding some features of the program can be tricky and aren't as user friendly as they could be. Export options seem a little limited.

March 2018

Luisana from Blue Company S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I support myself in openProject

The benefits of using OpenProject is that you can perform accurate project planning and resource utilization.

Pros

I really like OpenProject because it is a program that can be easily used to plan projects, load resources and define the dates of activities. Besides, it is a free license.

Cons

What I would like the program to do is to join several projects in one and be able to verify if time or resources that are already being used in another project overlap, to prevent this.

August 2019

Thyago from Pull Up

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great for managing my projects!

I am very easy to use the platform, I follow all the news by the community. All my company activity today is in OpenProjetc

Pros

OpenProject is highly configurable for the processes of each department. I have complete control of everything being done.

Cons

I wish he had an area to manage each person's workloads.

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We will evaluate the requirement of managing the private workload. Soon we are implementing a better resource management and scheduling module. Also, private Board views will be developed in the future to manage private activities. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

August 2019

Arjen from Univention GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great Project Planning has a name: OpenProject

We are going to move completely to OpenProject for our Project Planning needs.

Pros

Fantastic GANTT implementation. Great ways to group / sort data while maintaining the GANTT view.

Cons

At first it was unclear how to make edits, until you discover you have to select rows first.

Reasons for Choosing OpenProject

Great overall Performance!

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

March 2017

Andrew from Olive Tree Escapes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Full featured reasonably priced Project Management & Wiki platform

When we were looking for a Project Management and Wiki platform, there were a ton of good choices. However our organization has just over 10 people and so none of the free trials would work for us. Also, not very many platforms support Project Management and Wiki functionality, so for most platforms, we'd need a two-headed solution which would cost just under $$$/month. Instead, we found OpenProject, which is perfect. It doesn't look quite as slick as some of the other offerings, but after testing we found it to be just as functional and still pretty easy to use. Best of all, we can keep our organization's Wiki documentation and project tracking in one place. We're using Open Project's could hosting, which costs less... a much better price than anything else on the market that we were able to find. If you already have your own server and don't mind applying a few platform upgrades per year, then you can even get it for free since it's an opensource platform.

Pros

Good user interface, great feature set, better prices.

Cons

User interface doesn't look as slick as Asana's.

November 2017

Rene from Roadbear Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Though only working with this tool for a month, it has helped me a lot with project-planning.

Pros

The interface is really good, inline editing makes the creation and editing of tasks and other data really fast. The roles of different kinds of users are easily customizable. Most features I need for project-management are available in OpenProject. I really like the fact I can host OpenProject on my own server, so I have my data in my own hands.

Cons

OpenProject misses a few features that I think should be available. For instance, it is now possible to export Cost Reports (for instance, Time Sheet logs). This is something I need a lot, to inform customers of the progress of a project. They seem to be working on this feature though. I would like to link the tasks I planned to an external calendar. Maybe a CalDav interface would be a possibility.

April 2019

Dave from SolutionInc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Great Free Project Management Software

Pros

Very easy to get up and running, and the interfaces are very intuitive. Nice way to get a snapshot of current project state. Multiple user accounts allows for associating tasks with users (who get notified via email when updates are pushed)

Cons

A 'server' (always on machine, running a web server and database) is required... would be nice if future iterations were remote browser based.

August 2019

Kim from Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Open it is not

A 'free trial' failed to provide (a) sufficient time to understand the product (b) sufficient guidance on the product before demanding I commit to signing up

Pros

This product looked to be a useful alternative to MS Project

Cons

Inadequate help.

Response from OpenProject

Replied August 2019

Dear Kim, thank you for your review. Indeed, the help is quite weak at this point. We are currently developing a new help center with documentation and videos directly embedded in the system. Also, we offer to prolong the trial for another 10 days to give users a change to test the system thoroughly before signing up. We also offer to give a personal demo. We are happy to prolong your trial if needed. Kind regards Birthe (OpenProject)

August 2019

raChelle from Health and Wellness

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great Product for Managing Projects

Pros

I love the ease of use of OpenProject and better than MS Project. Tracking tasks is simple and efficient.

Cons

I haven't found anything I dislike about OpenProject. In fact, I'm trying to talk more people into utilizing the software.

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

January 2019

Gustavo from RINNOVO CORP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Tool that helps the fulfillment of activities.

My experience with this tool is to follow up on the implementations that the company in which I work.

Pros

One of the benefits is that this tool can be used On-Premise or Cloud.

Cons

One of the disadvantages that I observe is that it is not very intuitive and that it requires more study of the documentation.

March 2019

Andres from Odontodelivery

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A great tool for managing projects

Smart and easy to use project managing tool

Pros

Excellent tool to organize activities, resources and time even if you don't have experience in project planning and control.

Cons

No complaints for basic projects control

March 2018

Kaushal from AblySoft

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Excellent user interface

It helps me to manage complex projects

Pros

The best part is layout and the dashboard. On the dashboard they presenting all the information in a perfect manner. There is a settings section for project which is a very good feature. It helps me to manage my projects efficiently. This system has huge list of features which helps you to manage complex projects.

May 2019

Andrea from Estudiantes de Caracas Sport Club

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

The most competitive open source project manager

We used this platform on one occasion to rebuild our workflow and determine the monetary, human and technological resources needed to improve our way of communicating with our audience, it was very productive to use it to the maximum with our technicians and computer and to establish our structure of priorities in our communication area.

Pros

You solve communication and collaboration problems with the use of this platform. Break down the tasks of your projects and assign them according to the hierarchy of each, it is very useful if the projects involve the development of technologies and productive applications. In spite of being open source it works very well in window and iOS operating systems.

Cons

It is a project management platform that focuses more on the technical and the structure of projects. I would like to expand a little more that I have involved more technical and technological marketing and budgeting.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Openproject is perfect for big teams

It is a great alternative to MS projects. Even some of its features are primitive, they might get expanded in the future.

Pros

The feature that I liked more about Openproject is that it has projects can contain a git repository. It offers project management tools similiar to any other software in that area. It is also free to install in your own machines.

Cons

The Visual could be improve I think. Also the Git support is primitive at the moment, it only shows the previous commits and diff. It could display the readme.md such as GitHub

January 2019

Jorge luis from Banco Plaza

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great environment to manage projects

The planning becomes much simpler as well as the follow-up to the projects, the whole team is on the same page and with the will to complete the projects on time, that generates a greater motivation towards the achievements of the institution

Pros

This project manager contains everything from the most basic tools to the most advanced ones, in a platform designed to manage together with the work team the tasks that correspond to each one. As a manager I like to create work schedules in which the team feels comfortable and with the power to fulfill their tasks perfectly, I can do general tracking in a single digram of gantt where everything is consolidated, the platform can be adjusted to the requirements of your projects, there is little risk of loss of information

Cons

I would like you to have more applications to integrate, in that aspect it is a bit limited

July 2018

Deepak from AblySoft Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

I beleive this is best and very easy to use tool for managing your projects

It helps me to manage my projects in professional way.

Pros

They have presented all the information about your projects and profile in a very good manner on the dashboard and that make it user friendly. They have provided all the features as per the Agile methodology.

Cons

They have provided all the features required for project management, so there is nothing which I don't like about this tool.

November 2017

Faycal from BKtel

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

The best project management software I've used

An easy and modern way to manage projects.

Pros

Offers almost all the features required for an efficient project management A very modern user interface An opensource version and even a docker image

Cons

Bugfixing is a little bit slow The docker images are not updated regularly Support for the free/opensource version could be better

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great tool for project management

Pros

Collaboration characteristics are really great, the status for every activity was tracked easily and we could share it with the whole team.

Cons

Sometimes it got slow in my laptop, but technical support told me that it was an apple related issue, so that's it.

May 2017

Ulrich from 21-arch

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

It is easy to get the first thing done and I'm happy about the way it is oganized.

Hopefully a better traked workflow over the different projects and a easier comunication to the other projekt partners. Because of the web based interface the possible international incooperating of people on the project.

Pros

The possibility to tag files to issues und to trak the issues over the workflow. The difference between files at tasks and documents is very good to get projects organized.

Cons

The way of handling the timeline is not flexible as it shoud. The connectivity of phases and related issues could be better and more flexible in the way of doing frame timing and not exactly the issue time.

September 2018

OSCAR from MAESWELL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

There are no excuses to get the control of your project

I have two computers one with a MS Project license for profesional use and the other one with Open Project. That bring me the oportunity to open MS Project files in both computers with a single license.

Pros

The most is that this software is free, under no licenses nor trial version

Cons

You could miss some perfomance and funtionality in the case your are expertise user of other Project software like MS Project for instance.

August 2019

Jon from CusackMusic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

meh

Doesn't really meet our needs, not the ideal fit

Pros

Has most of what I need is and is easy to use

Cons

There's no app and the trying to use it on a phone is difficult

Reasons for Choosing OpenProject

Seemed to have been developed with more thought

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. Please note that although there is no native app, OpenProject is fully responsive and can be used easily on mobile phones or tablets. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

April 2019

Trina from Centro Nacional de Tecnologia Quimica MPPCTII

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great cloud tool for project management

Simple and complete tool for project planning and control

Pros

This software has the basic information needed for develop and control a project: gantt charts, budget management, milestone, time and expense tracking. is simple and easy to use and to be in the cloud make easier to track and exchange project information

Cons

if detailed information about resources management is needed this won't be you choice.

March 2017

James from Modular Automation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great platform

My first experience with any project management tool and its going great. Only using it in a very basic manner at the moment. Some short comings maybe with timelines and some filtering of work packages but my expectations may be too much. Keep up the good work and try get the price down a bit for single users/small teams!

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

OpenProject

Pros

Good alternative to Microsoft Project, plus has some capability for swimlane formatting etc. Can get a lot done with just the free trial.

Cons

Will need to purchase a monthly license for cloud and enterprise options.

March 2017

Patrick from T-Groep NV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Still a rookie, but learning fast ....

Would love to have a "print" or "report" function for management reporting. Haven't found yet how to do budget planning per quarter (actuals for the past, forecasts for the future, estimate-to-complete for the project) so that I can forecast when we expect invoices and cash-outs. On the same note would be able to consolidate on project portfolio level

Pros

Good functionality

Cons

Lacking gantt chart drag and drop Work packages interface cluttered

April 2018

Ciprian from LWT

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

It's free and easy to use (Open Project Community version)

Pros

Well, first of all it's Open Source and it has a good community. You've got a lot of functionality and control over everything. I like the welcome screen as it has all the necessary links to Help files and the pop-up video is a good addition. Takes a tiny bit of a learning curve to get everything set-up but once it's done it's great.

March 2017

Michael from Numeric APS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2017

Still need for enterprise features

Ressource Management for managing your resources on a time basis, time management could be very improved. Standard Templates for Tasks would be a nice feature too, and in general there is a lot of enterprise features which is not there.

Pros

Nice interface and build upon a good concept.

Cons

The need for enterprise features.

March 2017

Nino from ISET Policy Institute

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Good product, easy to use

Product is easy to use, Customer support team is really very supportive. We have just started using the product. Will provide better feedback in a few months.

November 2016

Christoph from zzmedia

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Best open source project management software

We use OpenProject every day and we love working with it. OpenProject provides all the features we need for our project management.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2018

Blocked account for no reason

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Blocked account for no reason, didn't say for how long, didn't provide way to unblock

September 2019

Antonio from Senai Cimatec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

OpenProject appreciation

Very good

Pros

Ease of use and similarity to Microsoft Project

Cons

Nothing caused me insatisfaction. I am very pleased with it

Response from OpenProject

Replied September 2019

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

October 2017

Alexander from ASTA

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Worked great for me! I like it!!

Pros

Very good to organize your projects, its free to implement, I feel it very easy to use a good option for free

Cons

I think it is not very flexible with other files. The performance could be better. The interface can improve