Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal Tracker Reviews

4.32

(128)

User Review Highlights

4.32

128 Reviews

5
59
4
52
3
13
2
2
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Additionally, it's great that I can add screenshots and other helpful media to help the engineering team solve the problem."
  • icon"It is a very reliable program with great backing (customer service support) and detailed processes that are easy to follow."
  • icon"It is so handy for planning out features, chores back and releases of a project. I also love the integration which Github which automatically finishes my tasks after committing."
  • icon"Slightly limited functionality relative to competition."
  • icon"You can do a few clicks to move them, but the drag doesn't always work."
  • icon"Sometimes i see too much information in my screen and i fell lost. The person who configures it must be very organized."

Browse all Pivotal Tracker Reviews

  • Have you used Pivotal Tracker and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 128 reviews

User Profile

Abhishek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Best Application for Agile And Project Management

One of the most useful features is managing projects and tracking the projects which are very convenient and useful for the companies.

Pros

It is the best software for managing the projects and for agile technologies which is very easy to use and very useful for the small case business like startups as they have many projects going on which helps them to keep tabs on all at the same time.

Cons

Sometimes handling more than one project is difficult on it and is very inconvenient. One more big inconvenience is that more of the managing stuff is manual and which can be made automation by

Nirav

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Systematic way to manage projects

With multiple projects and a large team size, Pivotal is a very useful tool to keep a track of your projects. Also, there is no room for a communication gap between product and team teams by having a binary system to track the tasks.

Pros

Pivotal is a multi-functional SAAS platform with features like: 1. Managing projects along with real-time collaboration 2. Easily accept or reject a story 3. View stories based on their status - pending/completed

Cons

The UX looks very old more like a decade-old design. The learning curve is steep. You need someone's help to understand the functionalities or watch a demo video.

Reasons for switching to Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal has a way more functionality than other tools

Lindsey

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2016

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use. If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects. The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Cons

If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

User Profile

Ruban

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Simply the best project management tool

Pros

I have started to use pivotal tracker to manage the project I work on. It really help me to follow agile process and complete the project within the deadline. Easy to adopt and learn for beginners as well. Adding images to the task is really helpful. Strong integration to downstream apps.

Cons

UX is sometimes bit difficult to use - Hope there is improvement going on in UX usability.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Structure project management/ticketing system

Pros

With a deep integration with Github, Pivotal Tracker is a to go project management system. Learning curve is close to 0 thanks to the limited features, the tracker is meant to be used in a very specific way reducing the amount of time team members have to align on the use of the tool

Cons

Can be too limiting, some time the ice box gets huge and things get lost, SCRUM master have to do their due diligence to keep things clean.

Reasons for choosing Pivotal Tracker

Ease of use, industry standard at the time

Mostafa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Good if you really working Agile

Pros

Simple and useful, if you are really using agile pivotal tracker can help you to do it properly

Cons

Sometimes in between sprints, we need to change the methodology temporarily for a short period of time, PT is not really good for those times

Reasons for switching to Pivotal Tracker

We wanted to use agile correctly

Anna

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

I prefer Jira, but pivotal tracker is not bad either

Pros

You can add as many people as you want to work on a story. This makes paired programming really easy to keep track of who is working on what.

Cons

It takes time to get familiar with tracker, especially if you’re already familiar with another task manager. Hard to find specific stories and figure out prioritization.

Amiril

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Good tool for task tracking and prioritization

Great collaboration tools within the company. Their integration with GitHub/GitLab also really helpful for our engineering team to track the code implementation.

Pros

I personally like their Worskpaces feature, if you have a lot of projects running simultaneously and want to view more than 1/all projects at one view. Overall, Pivotal Tracker is fairly easy to use, especially for prioritizing tasks. Their CS also Fast response from customer service.

Cons

The UI can be confusing for first time users.

Brandon

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

BPC - PT Review

Pros

Pivotal Tracker has a clean and clear UX for project management and execution for devs, especially with their task creation hierarchy scheme.

Cons

Pivotal Tracker isn't as well integrated as its competitors with 3rd party collaboration tools.

Maeghan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

PT tracks well

Overall Pivotal Tracker allows the teams to keep up with their projects!

Pros

As a user needing project management, bug tracking and story creation, Pivotal Tracker is incredibly helpful in allowing my team so create, understand and keep track of our projects with little question.

Cons

Integration to other software can be a bit confusing. I believe it needs more constant updating to keep up with needs of companies.

Maria Cristina

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Keep your task updated

It easily provides key information in tracking the status of the project. This can easily be shared and used within a group

Pros

It provides an insight of what is going on with the project or task. Use of keywords, short cuts and easily understandable terms

Cons

This can be good enough... I am still trying to figure out

User Profile

Yaniv

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Cool issue management software, suitable for small teams

Pros

The UX/UI of the software was pleasant to work with in the day-to-day tasks/management

Cons

The software wasn't flexible enough for our growing needs

User Profile

Tigran

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Pivotal Tracker Review

Overall this the best software for little teams and for startups to start flow from scratch.

Pros

Pivotal is one the simplest agile management tool I've used. The flow is simple there, Icebox , current iteration and done. and also states are simple started, finished, delivered and accepted. unlike Jira this more simple to use and has very humble UX for users. It has all major integration with github, slack so it's the best option for little projects and startups for managing software flow.

Cons

Using this already 4 years I could mention a little cons that I've remember. One of them that when you do update on story description it does not emit any notification, you should tag someone under comment section that description is updated please take a look ore something. Another thing the mobile app on old IOS version working very slow and sometimes crashes.

User Profile

Alexis

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Nice-looking app to help keep agile teams organized

Our team is able to stay on track with work in a sprint and spend less time chatting on Slack about story progress, and do all the communication within PivotalTracker. Overall, this has kept our team organized and accountable.

Pros

It has a really easy-to-use, friendly design that makes it simple to track progress of stories, keep things organized in projects and move items around when priorities shift. Stories provide a level of detail that helps keep teams aware of progress. They recently introduced customizable story templates, which have been great for making sure our bug tickets have the level of detail we expect on our team. I would highly recommend Pivotal Tracker for agile teams looking to keep organized.

Cons

I wish there was more customization in the app. Some of the stages of a story don't particularly fit within our team's workflow, and the agile approach of velocity and estimates don't currently apply to us, but seem to still determine where our stories fit in a sprint. It would also be nice if the app brought more of a product management approach into it's design - currently, our list just ends up looking like a large parking lot of features, and we end up doing a lot of dragging and dropping to put things in order. It would be great to show that these things are tied to particular product goals.

Megan

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2016

Smooth Agile Tool for Startups

Pros

I liked that the contents of the dashboard is customizable for every member of the team who all had different roles. For instance, as a web developer I constantly kept my eyes on "My Work", "Current", and "BackLog" as I liked to track my tasks as well as what others in the team had in progress. On the other hand, the Project Manager had "Charts" and "Epics" opened as he wanted to track the velocity of the team. Aside from the customizable element, the dashboard was easy to edit as changes to an existing story as well as creating new ones could be accomplished in one tab/window without moving onto a new page. Because everything could be tracked with a one page view, it provided a good summary of what everyone was up to as well as nice way to track individual tasks.

Cons

For a larger team I feel that it would be difficult to keep the dashboard maintain the nice clean look. As a developer that used Pivotal Tracker in a startup accelerator, every project I worked on was for a different company and each team had about 4 to 7 people (which was a good size for collective Pivotal Tracker usage). In a larger company, there could be larger sized teams which could potentially make the dashboard more cluttered and thus require a careful categorization of their projects for later review. Although I personally did not have to face this scenario often I could see it being a bit of an issue if my team and company was that of larger scale.

Nic

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Tracker is an easy to use, constantly evolving, task management tool.

Pros

Tracker is great value for the cost! Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility. I've been using Tracker for over 2 years now, and it has been great to see the product evolve. There are always new and thoughtful updates to the software which are both helpful and don't require you to relearn features or re-acclimate yourself to the tool. Outside of the tool itself, the Tracker community and blog are great resources for best practices as well as learning about how other organizations are leveraging this tool.

Cons

For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn't been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

Connie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Pivotal Tracker

This product saves time by allowing each person to be able to have a place to track work; and allows management to track work by department or application. It is a great product.

Pros

Pivotal allows us to create a story for a specific Fresh Desk ticket or just a stand alone story for specific projects, tasks, issues. You can add tasks for each pivotal story and check them off as completed. This helps our management be able to check on a particular story/ticket if a customer inquires about the status. We have several story boards for different parts of the company and individuals are added to each of the story boards that they need to be on. This departmentalizes stories so everyone doesn't have to wade thru stories to see what they may need to take on. This has been a great way to manage tasks of everyone instead of each person trying to keep up by using notes on things they are working on. It saves a lot of time.

Cons

I really don't have anything negative to say. If we run across an issue or need a new feature or similar, they have been very responsive to meet our needs.

Ashish

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Very simple and easy to understand project management tool

Pros

Pivotal tracker is very lightweight project management tool with easy to understand user interface and contains most of all types of feature of advanced project management tool. We are using pivotal tracker in one of our recruitment management software to track the progress of software. We have been using this software for more than 3 years now buy so far It is free of cost as we are using public project that is free of cost. It provides all basic feature of agile process like releases , epic, stories and issue tracking. Best thing is it can be managed on a single page.

Cons

Pivotal tracker doesn't support estimation of tasks in hours as supported by JIRA .Pivotal Tracker doesn't provide more formal method of agile process like sub-task estimation, sub-task life cycle, test case creation, work log, sub-task assignment, complex reports, custom task lifecyele. Pivotal tracker has a poor pricing structure and only be used in agile projects. Mobile app need improvement.

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Bugs be gone

It was great for us for 5+ years. We are moving away from it to move into Visual Studio Team Services since our Dev Team already uses it, we are trying to centralize everything. We will likely continue paying for Pivotal for another year at least jsut for a backup of our data, as we do not plan to migrate everything to VSTS.

Pros

It is a great software for our QA/Support/Dev Teams to create a workflow and centralized database containing all of our bugs, enhancement requests, etc. Clients report bugs to us, I submit the bug info into PT, add relevant Dev members, it gets prioritzied by our QA/Dev Managers, comments and details are added, and it is followed through the steps until it is resolved and closed.

Cons

There is not a whole lot we have to complain about. It did its purpose for us, and we rarely ran into bugs or issues with the software. The only "issues" that came up were our own fault of leaving old items in there, adding duplicates, and letting it get a little cluttered.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Great tool to manage projects and time

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc. It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

Pros

Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

Cons

While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

Christopher

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Pros

Its made FOR & By software devs.

Cons

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Ivan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Pivotal Helps Keep your Team Organized

We have been using Pivotal Tracker for several years now and it has quite a few features that keep our development team organized. We don't use the layers that predict how long feature will take those elements tend to require some programming knowledge and since I manage the system it's hard for me to assign point values to those. But I expect that adds a few more layers of functionality. Just the basic of being able to create a development ticket, assign it to a developer, tag the designer in comments so he gets inquiries, and use the approval process is a game changer in terms of staying organized. Everyone can tap into Pivotal Tracker and know exactly what their game plan is for the day.

Pros

assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.

Cons

estimating tickets seems a little hard to predict as a non developer..

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

Pros

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Cons

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

I use this as a Software Engineer on a scrum team daily, and enjoy the process it enforces.

Pros

I like the interface of being able to drag and drop/re-order anything. Customization is very high, being able to tag/re-name/add new categories to suit whatever project you may be working on. I like the 'blocker' feature that you can add to stories, as well as the fact that the stories support markdown. There are a ton of integrations with GitHub and Slack that help us stay on top of our projects.

Cons

The one thing that can feel disorganized is keeping track of who is working on what. I'm on a large team, and it's easy to feel like there is too much going on. However, there's a feature that you can use to filter and show only what work you're attached to.

Greg

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

We use Pivotal Tracker for s/w development task management, and some project tracking.

Solid task management and project management features, with good 3rd-party integrations.

Pros

It's quite easy to use, and has good 3rd-party integrations (such as with Slack and with Github). It allows a good level of detail within each task item, and the app updates nicely on they fly when several people are editing the tasks at the same time.

Cons

I don't think I've noticed many; perhaps it could allow more customization of task attributes, or Sprint/Project details -- but I don't think we've been limited by that at all.

Showing 1 - 25 of 128 reviews