User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(51)

51

4 stars

(43)

43

3 stars

(11)

11

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "I love how simple estimates are on stories, how it tracks velocity, how easy it is to use and it's a great price point for my business."

  • "UI is pretty snappy and is reasonably good at updating without reloading. Story templates are nice, and the new code/qa review options are a nice move."

  • "Once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy to use; tasks just go in according to stack and it all makes sense. It has a good drag and drop ability which I find very useful."

  • Cons

  • "Took a little bit of time to start maximizing its use but really great once you get there."

  • "It requires a lot of commitment to development good processes to make it useful but once those are established it's fantastic to use. "

  • "There are very new negatives, however the ability to customize the look and format of the main dashboard could be improved to some extent."

Browse Pivotal Tracker Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 109 results

March 2020

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Pivotal Tracker Review

Overall this the best software for little teams and for startups to start flow from scratch.

Pros

Pivotal is one the simplest agile management tool I've used. The flow is simple there, Icebox , current iteration and done. and also states are simple started, finished, delivered and accepted. unlike Jira this more simple to use and has very humble UX for users. It has all major integration with github, slack so it's the best option for little projects and startups for managing software flow.

Cons

Using this already 4 years I could mention a little cons that I've remember. One of them that when you do update on story description it does not emit any notification, you should tag someone under comment section that description is updated please take a look ore something. Another thing the mobile app on old IOS version working very slow and sometimes crashes.

November 2018

Alexis from VerticalChange

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Nice-looking app to help keep agile teams organized

Our team is able to stay on track with work in a sprint and spend less time chatting on Slack about story progress, and do all the communication within PivotalTracker. Overall, this has kept our team organized and accountable.

Pros

It has a really easy-to-use, friendly design that makes it simple to track progress of stories, keep things organized in projects and move items around when priorities shift. Stories provide a level of detail that helps keep teams aware of progress. They recently introduced customizable story templates, which have been great for making sure our bug tickets have the level of detail we expect on our team. I would highly recommend Pivotal Tracker for agile teams looking to keep organized.

Cons

I wish there was more customization in the app. Some of the stages of a story don't particularly fit within our team's workflow, and the agile approach of velocity and estimates don't currently apply to us, but seem to still determine where our stories fit in a sprint. It would also be nice if the app brought more of a product management approach into it's design - currently, our list just ends up looking like a large parking lot of features, and we end up doing a lot of dragging and dropping to put things in order. It would be great to show that these things are tied to particular product goals.

February 2016

Lindsey from LeaseLabs

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2016

Easy to Use for Small and Large Scale Projects!

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is very easy to use, but you are able to get granular with projects if you need to. Basically, it works for small scale and large scale projects. The software is very organized which contributes to its ease of use. If you manage or create multiple projects with the same structure, team members, or stories, you are easily able to create a template that can be uploaded each time you create a new project. This greatly reduces the time it takes to setup projects within the software if your company manages a high volume of similar projects. The best aspect of the software is you are able to give point values to stories so you can track project velocity and estimate time until completion.

Cons

If you work on multiple projects at once, it can be difficult to view all stories you own across all projects. You will have to manual setup a multi-project workspace in order to see all stories that you own. If a new project gets created, you must manually add it to the workspace. This is the products biggest downfall in my opinion.

March 2020

Connie from AE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Pivotal Tracker

This product saves time by allowing each person to be able to have a place to track work; and allows management to track work by department or application. It is a great product.

Pros

Pivotal allows us to create a story for a specific Fresh Desk ticket or just a stand alone story for specific projects, tasks, issues. You can add tasks for each pivotal story and check them off as completed. This helps our management be able to check on a particular story/ticket if a customer inquires about the status. We have several story boards for different parts of the company and individuals are added to each of the story boards that they need to be on. This departmentalizes stories so everyone doesn't have to wade thru stories to see what they may need to take on. This has been a great way to manage tasks of everyone instead of each person trying to keep up by using notes on things they are working on. It saves a lot of time.

Cons

I really don't have anything negative to say. If we run across an issue or need a new feature or similar, they have been very responsive to meet our needs.

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Very simple and easy to understand project management tool

Pros

Pivotal tracker is very lightweight project management tool with easy to understand user interface and contains most of all types of feature of advanced project management tool. We are using pivotal tracker in one of our recruitment management software to track the progress of software. We have been using this software for more than 3 years now buy so far It is free of cost as we are using public project that is free of cost. It provides all basic feature of agile process like releases , epic, stories and issue tracking. Best thing is it can be managed on a single page.

Cons

Pivotal tracker doesn't support estimation of tasks in hours as supported by JIRA .Pivotal Tracker doesn't provide more formal method of agile process like sub-task estimation, sub-task life cycle, test case creation, work log, sub-task assignment, complex reports, custom task lifecyele. Pivotal tracker has a poor pricing structure and only be used in agile projects. Mobile app need improvement.

December 2019

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Most eligible tracker tool for an agile software development team.

Pivotal was the best tool that I could have used for the project I was working on, the project was being built in agile structure with stories and there had to be detailed time logging which is the strength of pivotal tracker.

Pros

The structure of the tools helps to manage and track agile development cycles, the work is presented as stories that can be estimated and the work done on them can be tracked. The best addon provided is the velocity calculation for the sprint.

Cons

One of the major drawback with pivotal is that it is tailor-made for agile development, and there is very little room for customization which can lead to you using or paying for some not required feature.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great tool for agile teams

Excellent tool for keeping all team members focused on the backlog and it's easy to keep the backlog prioritized.

Pros

The best thing about Pivotal Tracker is how easy it is to keep everyone on the team focused. It's got a simple, no frills interface and easy to prioritize and update tickets.

Cons

While its generally on par with other agile project management tools, I find Pivotal tracker a little lacking feature wise compared to others like JIRA.

January 2020

Varun from SuperProcure

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Good Product that can be Great

Overall. Good product but it has a capability of being. Great product. congratulations on the recent acquisition, well deserved

Pros

Has a preset rules and branches and uses a lot of Sprint related terminologies. The UI UX is clean, gives a good idea of who is working on what task

Cons

The state management of tracker cards is very difficult and requires up a decent amount of learning curve.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

A simple software development management tracker

Pros

Simple. Markdown formatting support Quick Light It can be used to encourage a certain flow of software development

Cons

It can be too simple at times The layout can feel congested Organisation of work into projects is awkward if possible at all

August 2019

Abhinav from To The New

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Best available tracker for small teams and startups.

Pros

The tool is really simple and easy to use. The UI offers smooth transition of tasks between different stages. Offers free usage also and the card layout offers a clear view of the tasks.

Cons

Due to the lack of customisation in the flow it is not always suitable for complex flows and large teams. The view clutters up is the team size is large.

February 2016

Megan from rhubarb studios

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Smooth Agile Tool for Startups

Pros

I liked that the contents of the dashboard is customizable for every member of the team who all had different roles. For instance, as a web developer I constantly kept my eyes on "My Work", "Current", and "BackLog" as I liked to track my tasks as well as what others in the team had in progress. On the other hand, the Project Manager had "Charts" and "Epics" opened as he wanted to track the velocity of the team. Aside from the customizable element, the dashboard was easy to edit as changes to an existing story as well as creating new ones could be accomplished in one tab/window without moving onto a new page. Because everything could be tracked with a one page view, it provided a good summary of what everyone was up to as well as nice way to track individual tasks.

Cons

For a larger team I feel that it would be difficult to keep the dashboard maintain the nice clean look. As a developer that used Pivotal Tracker in a startup accelerator, every project I worked on was for a different company and each team had about 4 to 7 people (which was a good size for collective Pivotal Tracker usage). In a larger company, there could be larger sized teams which could potentially make the dashboard more cluttered and thus require a careful categorization of their projects for later review. Although I personally did not have to face this scenario often I could see it being a bit of an issue if my team and company was that of larger scale.

July 2017

Nic from MentorcliQ Inc.

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Tracker is an easy to use, constantly evolving, task management tool.

Pros

Tracker is great value for the cost! Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility. I've been using Tracker for over 2 years now, and it has been great to see the product evolve. There are always new and thoughtful updates to the software which are both helpful and don't require you to relearn features or re-acclimate yourself to the tool. Outside of the tool itself, the Tracker community and blog are great resources for best practices as well as learning about how other organizations are leveraging this tool.

Cons

For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn't been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

June 2019

Brian from Nuventive

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Bugs be gone

It was great for us for 5+ years. We are moving away from it to move into Visual Studio Team Services since our Dev Team already uses it, we are trying to centralize everything. We will likely continue paying for Pivotal for another year at least jsut for a backup of our data, as we do not plan to migrate everything to VSTS.

Pros

It is a great software for our QA/Support/Dev Teams to create a workflow and centralized database containing all of our bugs, enhancement requests, etc. Clients report bugs to us, I submit the bug info into PT, add relevant Dev members, it gets prioritzied by our QA/Dev Managers, comments and details are added, and it is followed through the steps until it is resolved and closed.

Cons

There is not a whole lot we have to complain about. It did its purpose for us, and we rarely ran into bugs or issues with the software. The only "issues" that came up were our own fault of leaving old items in there, adding duplicates, and letting it get a little cluttered.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great tool to manage projects and time

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc. It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

Pros

Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

Cons

While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

February 2017

Christopher from Scratch

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

Pros

Its made FOR & By software devs.

Cons

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

November 2016

Ivan from Reservation Genie

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Pivotal Helps Keep your Team Organized

We have been using Pivotal Tracker for several years now and it has quite a few features that keep our development team organized. We don't use the layers that predict how long feature will take those elements tend to require some programming knowledge and since I manage the system it's hard for me to assign point values to those. But I expect that adds a few more layers of functionality. Just the basic of being able to create a development ticket, assign it to a developer, tag the designer in comments so he gets inquiries, and use the approval process is a game changer in terms of staying organized. Everyone can tap into Pivotal Tracker and know exactly what their game plan is for the day.

Pros

assigning tickets to team mates, tagging them in notes so they get a notification, and the approval process.

Cons

estimating tickets seems a little hard to predict as a non developer..

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

Pros

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

Cons

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I use this as a Software Engineer on a scrum team daily, and enjoy the process it enforces.

Pros

I like the interface of being able to drag and drop/re-order anything. Customization is very high, being able to tag/re-name/add new categories to suit whatever project you may be working on. I like the 'blocker' feature that you can add to stories, as well as the fact that the stories support markdown. There are a ton of integrations with GitHub and Slack that help us stay on top of our projects.

Cons

The one thing that can feel disorganized is keeping track of who is working on what. I'm on a large team, and it's easy to feel like there is too much going on. However, there's a feature that you can use to filter and show only what work you're attached to.

June 2018

Greg from Farmlink Marketing Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

We use Pivotal Tracker for s/w development task management, and some project tracking.

Solid task management and project management features, with good 3rd-party integrations.

Pros

It's quite easy to use, and has good 3rd-party integrations (such as with Slack and with Github). It allows a good level of detail within each task item, and the app updates nicely on they fly when several people are editing the tasks at the same time.

Cons

I don't think I've noticed many; perhaps it could allow more customization of task attributes, or Sprint/Project details -- but I don't think we've been limited by that at all.

April 2019

Diego from Lacuna Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Proper SCRUM tool

I've been using PT since many years without a problem. It's so simple to use that there is basically no learning curve, while actually everyone on the team can do his job effectively and it's also so simple to track the progress of the project.

Pros

Pivotal Tracker (PT) has this incredible simplicity that makes it unique in his usability. It's kind of an example of how to do things and I always mention it when I need an example of effectiveness and simplicity.

Cons

Actually nothing, except that sometimes simplicity comes with a cost.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

This is how we keep our team organized. With many projects and 2 continents - this makes it work.

The ability to go back and review previous projects so that we have a precedent established for future ones with ease helps tremendously.

Pros

The organization factor is huge with this! We are able to be organized as a whole company while allowing teams to work together and collaborate regardless of where they are located.

Cons

The email alerts do not always come in a significant amount of time necessary to move the project along. Luckily, we have a slack channel where we all communicate and collaborate as well.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Excellent Software Development tracking tool

time saving better planning better tracking and audit knowledge and asset building better outcomes

Pros

Epics, Stories, Bugs, Tasks, Features Dependency Google Drive integration Ability to apply tasks in a story and add notes and links to each

Cons

Forcing an agile model into a project that does not need it We use a hybrid method and the fixation on Agile gets in the way of resource planning Lack of ability to plan resources by story or task based on estimates for each person involved

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Efficient tool for Agile planning, although a bit rusty

We use it to plan our iterations and see what can fit in and what can't.

Pros

Once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy to use; tasks just go in according to stack and it all makes sense. It has a good drag and drop ability which I find very useful.

Cons

I don't like the fact that I need to hack my way around it to fit my needs. Also the colors are quite depressing to be honest. Graphics are kinda old fashioned if I'm fully honest.

January 2017

George from Concentric, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Dive in! (or stay out, no half-measures)

Our company started using Pivotal Tracker to manage software development in an outsourced environment. It seems to be a really successful tool in that regard. It's collaboration features are strong, its assignment tracking is very strong, and its reports are pretty good. If you have an application to manage distributed tasks that are each of significant effort -- say a few hours to a few days each -- then Pivotal is a top contender and you should review it carefully. The problem that I have with Pivotal is that its success in the coding side of the business led to its adoption across the board in all our business processes. Here's where the trouble started. It's a little too slow to use with tasks that should be measured in minutes rather than hours -- it adds too much relative overhead. Of course, there are ways to deal with this like using Zapier to integrate a list tool or Trell or the CRM with Pivotal... but then the real question is why go to all these lengths to apprise teams in other departments to a level of detail they are not interested in? So, if you're developing code, debugging code, or create documents that that, say, 2 or more hours each, Pivotal Tracker is an excellent way to organize, and, well, 'track', progress, report on relative team velocity and, most importantly adapt workload to current work pave (it automatically moves stories from background to active based on the calculated velocity/workload of the team -- that's pretty cool.) But if you just need a list, or if you existing tool, like a CRM, already has task management then don't complicate your life.

May 2018

Abdul-Mumeen from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The best story-based project planning tool

Pros

I really like the fact that it has a well-established processes which is built upon agile methodology in software development. This helps in giving a sense of direction to anyone who is new to agile processes. You don't have to worry about what are the stages and how to group your tasks. With PT your agile development is as seamless as it can ever get.

Cons

What I will least like is the algorithm used in calculating team strength because if non developer such as project owners are involved in pivotal possible to overview the progress and see what task has been performed and what is left, a false team strength is added which doesn't give an accurate assessment of the team.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Fast driven

Quick priorities management for dev team.

Pros

People are use to Jira but once you discover Pivotal, you understand that Jira is kinda outdated. Navigation is always in the same browser page, its very straight forward to set timelines and build / release, icebox is intuitive and make also lot of sense in a dev context. Honestly, after the first two weeks use of Pivotal, I won't see why we'd go back to Jira.

Cons

Intuitivity is not on the high side but its also normal for a powerful app like that.

May 2019

Kerry from Deseret News

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Couldn't wait to switch to another platform

Pros

Pivotal Tracker actually does most of what you need to track projects, or stories for sprints for a scrum team, which is what I used it for. You can write stories and add images and links to them, and assign things to people and change the status of each story as it goes through your process. However, (see Cons section)...

Cons

Pivotal does not use lanes for workflow. You get one lane, and stories can move up and down it vertically until they are done, and then they finally get to jump out to another lane. But the vertical workflow instead of horizontal is extremely non-intuitive. In fact, I found the entire software platform to be highly non-intuitive in general. I'm pretty savvy with learning new products, and it still took two weeks and multiple trainings for me to feel like I had a grasp of what I was doing. Furthermore, they only have 4 fixed statuses, so if those don't match your process well then you are stuck putting tags on all your stories to keep track of where they are in your process. It's doable, but very annoying. In addition, PivotalTracker looks like no one has done any development work on it since the year 2000. The interface is old and outdated, and challenging to wrap your head around. My company was using it when I started working here, and fortunately they switched to ClubHouse about 3 months after I started. What a glorious transition! It took me half a day to learn ClubHouse and it is so much cleaner and intuitive to work with. I believe shortly before we transitioned that Pivotal was actually starting to roll out some improvements to their platform, so maybe it's better now. But in my opinion they probably should have started thinking about that about 5 years earlier.

March 2017

David from Launch Academy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Awesome Software Project Management Tool

I used to be a Pivot.

Pros

Tons of tracking and story organization tools to create "epics" (batches of stories), "labels" (grouped stories) and analyze projects.

Cons

There are such a multitude of different options and tools that it can be overwhelming at first glance. You really need a "Pivot" to teach it to you to fully understand how to use it.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Good at making lists

Overall, Pivotal Tracker serves the purpose of having a list of action items to discuss when on a conference call and to make obvious whose "court" the ball is in. I just wish there were ways to add other file types easily and to set up alert systems to make sure projects stay on a timeline.

Pros

Pivotal Tracker is a way for several off-site people working on the same project to stay in touch with the list of action items and obviously check them off when they are complete. What I like most is the visual of who is in charge of an item, when it was assigned, and when it is complete.

Cons

I feel Pivotal tracker doesn't do a great job of prompting people to complete their tasks. I wish there were features that would send an alert/message to the owner of tasks that are past due.

February 2019

Joshua from Tripleseat Software LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

From a developer standpoint, it's straightforward.

This is preferable to merely listing what you are working on in a dev environment, though it's not as in-depth as jira.

Pros

I enjoy very much the ability to clearly list what may be blocking my progress, as well as being able to clearly list out the stages of any project that I'm working on.

Cons

I've found the marking of projects as started, finished, and accepted to be unclear. The menus are not as easily understood when getting past the basics of starting and ending a project.

March 2018

Bob from Deluxe

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great for managing Development life cycles

Pros

Works well for companies with an agile structures. Allows developers to be in contact with end-users form any where with the mobile app. Great for getting bugs and enhancements closed quicker.

Cons

Unable to export data and analytics form the application to flat files or other means such as xml which could be used for importing into other application and integrating the status and analytics of the open bugs and enhancements.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Agile - The Meh Parts

Save yourself the trouble and just use Trello. It's not worth it.

Pros

UI is pretty snappy and is reasonably good at updating without reloading. Story templates are nice, and the new code/qa review options are a nice move.

Cons

How would you like a nice management friendly stick to beat your developers with? This software follows and encourages the worst parts of capital A Agile. While I do think it would be possible to use it "correctly" from a developer point of view, its definitely targeted at the managers and isn't really helpful in assessing actual work accomplished, or work that needs to be done. Backlog and icebox are confusing.

July 2018

Ethan from MyTime

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2018

Incredibly slow and laggy to the point of hurting team productivity

Project organization, prioritization and triaging.

Pros

I think the user interface is really nicely done and it's intuitive to use and quick to learn. I also like that it's easy to drag and drop stories in priority order which is more efficient than Jira.

Cons

The software is EXTREMELY slow and laggy. It sometimes takes 2 minutes just to load the web page from scratch (and this is true on all browsers and in incognito mode). Clicking to open a story can take several seconds, and clicking on a thumbnail to see an attached screenshot can take 10-15 seconds. It feels like pulling your hair out and really slows down productivity. Their mobile apps are also slow and very buggy - it oftentimes shows ??? as the owner unless you clear the cache. I've tried to report these issues to their customer service team but they blame it on "network issues on my end". That's funny since it happens on every device and from every network I've accessed Pivotal Tracker from.

April 2019

Jeremy from Kinnek

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

An asset for tracking dev pipeline and velocity

Pros

Very versatile and powerful solution to tracking our development work. Keeps things organized well and allows us to improve our output.

Cons

Took a little bit of time to start maximizing its use but really great once you get there.

February 2016

Gabriela from DZAP Group

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

This product is efficient and effective!

Pros

I like that once you learn how to use this product then it is very quick and easy. It is efficient and effective! Many different teams at my company use this product and it seems to keep everyone on the same page and on track. It is a great way to communicate with the developer and the implementation teams and make sure that the changes to the website are made.

Cons

In the beginning, it takes time to get used the product. It isn't completely intuitive in the beginning but once you do learn it then it becomes second nature. It just takes a bit of time to learn it and feel comfortable with it.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Good UI forma tracking tool

Nice tool with a friendly UI not that powerfull but has basic needs covered for management

Pros

Ir has a very Nice UI specially form metrics section

Cons

Ways to filter information to create specific metrics such as individual users tracking

February 2016

Chris from DZAP Group

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Pivotal Tracker for Bug Tracking and Project Management

Pros

For my line of work, the product is pretty straight forward and easy to use. I don't manage projects but am always entering, reviewing and updating stories within the project and have never had any trouble. It doesn't take too long at all to get acclimated with it and once you have it down, it's smooth sailing. I really like the that they keep the product up-to-date and add new features.

Cons

I haven't had any issues with the product so far and anything that was a small minor annoyance has been fixed with their newer updates. Small things make big differences.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Helps keep different departments on the same page when it comes to shared projects.

Helps track projects through their lifecycle and make sure our design and web dev teams are consistently doing the same work in the right order.

Pros

Provides an easy way to categorize and prioritize projects and also makes it simple to detail the scope and provide details so everyone is up-to-date on what needs to be done, what's blocking progress and where the project is at that very moment.

Cons

Inevitably, the tracking piece is run however works best for the person who uses it most. It allows for a lot of customization, but that doesn't always translate to the same kind of goals for everyone using it. Being able to set project reminders would be helpful so things don't get left behind but otherwise notifications work well.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Pivotal is an awesome piece of software, I've loved and used it since the day I discovered it.

Pros

I love how simple estimates are on stories, how it tracks velocity, how easy it is to use and it's a great price point for my business.

Cons

Showing everything together can get unwieldy, it does take management to keep things clean and it's fairly niche, but those are also things I like about it so it's hard to be too critical.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Good project management software with a few draw backs

It allows our teams to manage ongoing projects by creating and assigning stories to members of the team.

Pros

I like how you are able to visually organize things in an easy and straightforward way. The search is also very powerful. I also like how there is an easy to access done queue if you want to reference stories that your team has already completed.

Cons

Its frustrating to only be able to add 3 columns to a project. It has forced us to do a lot of "hacky" customization to make it support our processes.

February 2016

Jesse from DZAP

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

3.5

February 2016

Intuitive Software with Great Features

Pros

I like how easy it is to filter through the stories lists so I can see exactly what information I'm hunting for. This is especially useful on projects with lots of bugs or feature requests, so I can limit the list to only the stories relevant to my work. I also like how frequently Pivotal is updated with new features and upgrades... it feels reassuring as a user to know the product we're using is maintained well!

Cons

It's difficult to see all information across all projects at a glance, in my experience. I'm involved in dozens of projects simultaneously, all with incoming bugs and feature requests, so it would be really useful to be able to see everything at once easily. I know it's possible to create a workspace to do this, but I'd prefer to have it work out of the box.

December 2018

Jyoti from Aviabird Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Pivotal - a tool with ease of use

Yes , I would always choose to use pivotal tracker for agile software development methodology.

Pros

One thing that makes me choose pivotal over other software development tools is that it's quite easy to use and understand as a developer. It's convenient to compartmentalize the tasks according to the iterations - current/backlog or icebox.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that it doesn't provide time tracking functionality for the stories created.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Awesome for large project collaboration

Having the ability to visualize a project timeline, collaborate with project managers and stakeholders, and post project materials and updates has made my internal operations run a lot smoother since I began using this in house - it's a great tool that can work in anyone's agile environment.

Pros

The design within the dashboard makes it easy to see the progress made on the projects that you and your other team members are working on - seeing a live feed as updates are made helps from a project management standpoint in an agile environment.

Cons

There are very new negatives, however the ability to customize the look and format of the main dashboard could be improved to some extent.

October 2017

Alex from Gramercy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Favorite project manager we've used

Pros

Managing different states and having two parties (owner and requester) baked into each story are probably our favorite features.

Cons

Workspaces, a very powerful (and until recently underutilized by us) tool, cannot be shared with the team every team mate has to create their own.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Pivotal Tracker is fantastic for organizing our development cycle

Pros

It's tagging and sorting system does wonders for allowing our Product an development cycles to organize our work.

Cons

It requires a lot of commitment to development good processes to make it useful but once those are established it's fantastic to use.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Concise product for agile development

Pros

- Nice story filtering options - Helpful analytics views to track project trends and sprint velocity - Awesome email notification integration

Cons

- Ux is very clumsy - Lack integration with version control or team collaboration platforms

April 2018

Prateek from Prime Ideas Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Keeps track of your software development

Able to track time and milestones for software development

Pros

I like the overall functionality and the way it works. It sends emails for activities, team collaboration is good, and setting goals and landmarks is quite helpful

Cons

Pivotal Tracker can do a bit better with it's UI for better user experience. Besides that the price tag is not very convenient for most users.

December 2015

Skot from Philosophie Group

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Functionality

3.5

December 2015

Great for delivery-focused, agile software teams

Pros

The product is opinionated enough to have a clear purpose but reasonably flexible. Plus it comes from Pivotal, so I trust that it will be reliable and performant.

Cons

The product's great, but it doesn't solve problems associated with incorporating research and design into an agile workflow, so it's not the be-all-end-all of software development trackers.

December 2018

Victor from PiLON Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

April 2017

Ronan from Pivotal, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Displaying 1 - 50 of 109 reviews