All Pivotal Tracker Reviews

1-25 of 138 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Alexis

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Nice-looking app to help keep agile teams organized

Our team is able to stay on track with work in a sprint and spend less time chatting on Slack about story progress, and do all the communication within PivotalTracker. Overall, this has kept our team organized and accountable.

PROS

It has a really easy-to-use, friendly design that makes it simple to track progress of stories, keep things organized in projects and move items around when priorities shift. Stories provide a level of detail that helps keep teams aware of progress. They recently introduced customizable story templates, which have been great for making sure our bug tickets have the level of detail we expect on our team. I would highly recommend Pivotal Tracker for agile teams looking to keep organized.

CONS

I wish there was more customization in the app. Some of the stages of a story don't particularly fit within our team's workflow, and the agile approach of velocity and estimates don't currently apply to us, but seem to still determine where our stories fit in a sprint. It would also be nice if the app brought more of a product management approach into it's design - currently, our list just ends up looking like a large parking lot of features, and we end up doing a lot of dragging and dropping to put things in order. It would be great to show that these things are tied to particular product goals.

Ashish

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Very simple and easy to understand project management tool

PROS

Pivotal tracker is very lightweight project management tool with easy to understand user interface and contains most of all types of feature of advanced project management tool. We are using pivotal tracker in one of our recruitment management software to track the progress of software. We have been using this software for more than 3 years now buy so far It is free of cost as we are using public project that is free of cost. It provides all basic feature of agile process like releases , epic, stories and issue tracking. Best thing is it can be managed on a single page.

CONS

Pivotal tracker doesn't support estimation of tasks in hours as supported by JIRA .Pivotal Tracker doesn't provide more formal method of agile process like sub-task estimation, sub-task life cycle, test case creation, work log, sub-task assignment, complex reports, custom task lifecyele. Pivotal tracker has a poor pricing structure and only be used in agile projects. Mobile app need improvement.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Good at making lists

Overall, Pivotal Tracker serves the purpose of having a list of action items to discuss when on a conference call and to make obvious whose "court" the ball is in. I just wish there were ways to add other file types easily and to set up alert systems to make sure projects stay on a timeline.

PROS

Pivotal Tracker is a way for several off-site people working on the same project to stay in touch with the list of action items and obviously check them off when they are complete. What I like most is the visual of who is in charge of an item, when it was assigned, and when it is complete.

CONS

I feel Pivotal tracker doesn't do a great job of prompting people to complete their tasks. I wish there were features that would send an alert/message to the owner of tasks that are past due.

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Proper SCRUM tool

I've been using PT since many years without a problem. It's so simple to use that there is basically no learning curve, while actually everyone on the team can do his job effectively and it's also so simple to track the progress of the project.

PROS

Pivotal Tracker (PT) has this incredible simplicity that makes it unique in his usability. It's kind of an example of how to do things and I always mention it when I need an example of effectiveness and simplicity.

CONS

Actually nothing, except that sometimes simplicity comes with a cost.

User Profile

Varun

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Good Product that can be Great

Overall. Good product but it has a capability of being. Great product. congratulations on the recent acquisition, well deserved

PROS

Has a preset rules and branches and uses a lot of Sprint related terminologies. The UI UX is clean, gives a good idea of who is working on what task

CONS

The state management of tracker cards is very difficult and requires up a decent amount of learning curve.

User Profile

Yaniv

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Cool issue management software, suitable for small teams

PROS

The UX/UI of the software was pleasant to work with in the day-to-day tasks/management

CONS

The software wasn't flexible enough for our growing needs

User Profile

Jyoti

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Pivotal - a tool with ease of use

Yes , I would always choose to use pivotal tracker for agile software development methodology.

PROS

One thing that makes me choose pivotal over other software development tools is that it's quite easy to use and understand as a developer. It's convenient to compartmentalize the tasks according to the iterations - current/backlog or icebox.

CONS

What I like least about this software is that it doesn't provide time tracking functionality for the stories created.

User Profile

Prateek

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Keeps track of your software development

Able to track time and milestones for software development

PROS

I like the overall functionality and the way it works. It sends emails for activities, team collaboration is good, and setting goals and landmarks is quite helpful

CONS

Pivotal Tracker can do a bit better with it's UI for better user experience. Besides that the price tag is not very convenient for most users.

User Profile

Crispussia

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Amazing for Scrum

PROS

I liked the feature that allows you to track the progress of a project. It was very helpful to see how far along a project was and what tasks needed to be completed in order to reach the goal.

CONS

the UI can be confusing and overwhelming at times, making it difficult to navigate and understand.

Nic

Information Technology and Services

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

Tracker is an easy to use, constantly evolving, task management tool.

PROS

Tracker is great value for the cost! Having visibility into which task is next in the queue and easily adjusting task priority when demands change is really helpful. The description and comment sections are great to keep topics and discussions related to specific tasks all in one place. Being able to use markdown to format text is also really helpful and provides a lot of flexibility. I've been using Tracker for over 2 years now, and it has been great to see the product evolve. There are always new and thoughtful updates to the software which are both helpful and don't require you to relearn features or re-acclimate yourself to the tool. Outside of the tool itself, the Tracker community and blog are great resources for best practices as well as learning about how other organizations are leveraging this tool.

CONS

For smaller teams and projects, the point estimate feature and much of the in-depth analytics hasn't been that helpful for us in terms of making actionable decisions. With that said, for the right project and for large teams with many collaborators, I can see how these tools could be useful.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Great tool to manage projects and time

For the most part, internally, this has replaced email. We also use this to manage all company goals and initiatives, bug fixes, new features on the website, etc. It also allows us all to see the pipeline of new initiatives and allow someone who might be the best person to work on a specific project take ownership of it

PROS

Having multiple projects going in multiple different areas of the company ( sales, marketing, development, etc) is very easy to track and to properly manage all the different projects going on in the company

CONS

While there are some organization with tagging user stories and creating epics, it would be nice if there was a way to order all stories in a filtered way. The issue we are running into is that we have many different projects, some of which are related to each other, but are randomly organized by the tag; rather than the date created or the priority.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Pivotal Tracker is our daily agile management tool at a tech startup.

PROS

Pivotal Tracker does a good job for agile product teams, allowing cadence and 2-week sprints to be easily organized. Stories can be sorted by labels, epics, or workplaces (these can include stories across multiple projects/labels/and assigned team members).

CONS

Pivotal Track is difficult when using it for a product team with lots of different project boards (i.e. Design, IOS, Android, Backend). It's hard to keep track of what you are assigned to across different projects. When someone comments you on a story, you receive an email notification, but there is no other way to keep track of outstanding questions or needs without going back through all of your read emails.

Christopher

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

The - Project Management tool for Software Development Teams

Been using tracker for a few years now. Its continually improved, but also kept a baseline of core functionality thats remained fairly static. It achieves its purpose, and doesn't throw in a lot of bells and whistles. Project / feature / story pipeline management core to storing information about past bugs, assets, ideas, implementations. Its served as alternative documentation to many of our projects. When consistently used, can be a very effective management tool for software proejcts.

PROS

Its made FOR & By software devs.

CONS

Its a bit clunky with lots of tabs open. Some light UX simplification could help. Also more markdown options ( or a bit clearer docs ) on how to write more formatted descriptions for stories & comments.

Amiril

Entertainment, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Good tool for task tracking and prioritization

Great collaboration tools within the company. Their integration with GitHub/GitLab also really helpful for our engineering team to track the code implementation.

PROS

I personally like their Worskpaces feature, if you have a lot of projects running simultaneously and want to view more than 1/all projects at one view. Overall, Pivotal Tracker is fairly easy to use, especially for prioritizing tasks. Their CS also Fast response from customer service.

CONS

The UI can be confusing for first time users.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Great tool for agile teams

Excellent tool for keeping all team members focused on the backlog and it's easy to keep the backlog prioritized.

PROS

The best thing about Pivotal Tracker is how easy it is to keep everyone on the team focused. It's got a simple, no frills interface and easy to prioritize and update tickets.

CONS

While its generally on par with other agile project management tools, I find Pivotal tracker a little lacking feature wise compared to others like JIRA.

Viveka

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Pivotal Tracker

Overall, Pivotal Tracker is a powerful project management tool that can help software development teams to stay organized, collaborate effectively, and deliver high-quality products on time.

PROS

Pivotal Tracker is fantastic tool used for software development team. It supports Agile project management which allows teams to easily manage their projects with Agile principles such as user stories, sprints, and prioritization. It also provides real-time updates on project progress, allowing team members to see the current status of the project. It can be easily integrated with GitHub, GitLab and Slack. This tool helps to identify areas where users can improve their processes and workflows.

CONS

Pivotal Tracker offers both free and paid plans, but the paid plans might be expensive for small teams or startups.

Brandon

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

BPC - PT Review

PROS

Pivotal Tracker has a clean and clear UX for project management and execution for devs, especially with their task creation hierarchy scheme.

CONS

Pivotal Tracker isn't as well integrated as its competitors with 3rd party collaboration tools.

Bob

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Great for managing Development life cycles

PROS

Works well for companies with an agile structures. Allows developers to be in contact with end-users form any where with the mobile app. Great for getting bugs and enhancements closed quicker.

CONS

Unable to export data and analytics form the application to flat files or other means such as xml which could be used for importing into other application and integrating the status and analytics of the open bugs and enhancements.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Good UI forma tracking tool

Nice tool with a friendly UI not that powerfull but has basic needs covered for management

PROS

Ir has a very Nice UI specially form metrics section

CONS

Ways to filter information to create specific metrics such as individual users tracking

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY