User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(33)

33

4 stars

(46)

46

3 stars

(18)

18

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "pretty nice smooth and very much user friendly and 2 main features are free of cost also very much customizable."

  • "Easy to install and maintain. Easy configuration. Does not require a lot of hardware to run."

  • "Simplicity is Redmine's strength by far. It's got a no-frills interface and everything is fairly straightforward and easy to navigate. "

  • Cons

  • "Though it comes with good features, there are bad points UI is not that powerful"

  • "End-user always complain me about the software is hard to use. For me, a tech, I fell it's OK. But End-user they might need something pretty, beautiful and more visualization. "

  • "At first, it might be hard to setup on server machines due to some pre-requisites Windows users are not familiar of. But aside from that, there is nothing bad about this software."

Browse Redmine Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 101 results

June 2018

Matthew from City Assets LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Best Project Tracker/Management/Team Tool bar none

Excellent project/tracker management - faster execution of projects

Pros

You can get the bare bones redmine up and running in minutes using a bitnami stack. Out of the box it's built for speed and simplicity, but if you are prepared to put some minimal effort in to add plugins, you can add many features, all free, that take it to the next level.

Cons

The barebones version leads many (reviewers on this site included) to think that's all there is. It's built to be modular and extensible, so if you don't like the UI, you can simply add themes, if you want it to do additional stuff like tight email integration, agile (yes there are multiple free versions), helpdesk, Work Breakdown Structures, Charts, fully customized menu bar, repositories, Vault, Excellent Wiki, integrations to Slack and other ticket systems etc - you can do all of that. But because people see versions of Jira or Service Now running with more features (both of which require much more knowledge and effort), they think that redmine is underpowered. So imho that would be my main issue - it's reputation regarding functionality and security - both unfounded.

December 2019

Jose Miguel from Bird Consultores S.A. de C.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Versatility = Redmine as Bug Tracker/Project Manager

Redmine is my de-facto BTS every company I go. I am very happy with its stability, versatility and easy to use for the end user.

Pros

Redmine is a powerful Bug tracker system with such a flexibility that you can use it as your CMS if you want. There is a ton of plugins to install. You can use Redmine as a CRM, ERP, Payroll, etc... as long as the community around it can imagine a use case, it will exist. There are some paid services which customize Redmine to run as a full ERP, but I have no experience with them.

Cons

The installation process can be a pain for novices: You have to prepare your VM installing Ruby, then Ruby Gems and others gems to make advances functions to work. The source control system interface is good, but hard to install and configure. You will have better luck if you download a Bitnami VM or an AWS Appliance Image. There is a Docker image as wall, but I have no experience with it.

Reasons for Choosing Redmine

Better look & feel than Bugzilla. Easier to configure than MantisBT. Open source

September 2018

Levi from Blit

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Good If You Can Customize

We installed Redmine on our own servers and customized it a bit to meet our needs. The fact that it is so customizable is great (we were able to have the perfect tool). The fact that it needed to be customized wasn't so great (we spent time building a tool instead of other things). Overall, I think this is a tool that has so much potential, and if you can afford to spend a little bit of time customizing it, there's nothing it can't do.

Pros

It's written in Ruby and is highly customizable.

Cons

It was missing some of the core features I was looking for in this type of tool, and I had to develop them myself.

October 2019

Jander from UFC

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Use Redmine for yours daily tasks

We use Redmine to record everyday task tasks. We would like more resources for project management and agile methodologies. This is generally a good tool, but it depends on your goals.

Pros

Redmine is a great tool for daily tasks. It is opensource and has several plugins that offer more features. Its API allows for easy integration with other software.

Cons

Project management features are lacking. It is very confusing and the presentation is not good. You need reports too, although new ones can be created using the API. Features for agile methodologies are very important. There is a plugin, but it does not offer a good backlog presentation.

Reasons for Choosing Redmine

Opensource, plugins and for being widely used by the community.

November 2019

Nguyen from E-CQUIRTY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Good Opensource software

Many plugins but sometimes the plugins may contain some security bugs. Be aware of it. Becasue you might have some sensitive information on Redmine

Pros

ya, it's free. And we can optimize it as our own way. Becasue sometime you need to make it suitable for your organization. But for the Commercial software, you can only request them and wait for them. With Redmine, you can do everything you want to make it fit to your people.

Cons

End-user always complain me about the software is hard to use. For me, a tech, I fell it's OK. But End-user they might need something pretty, beautiful and more visualization.

December 2018

Robin from Table XI Partners LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Ticket tracking for small businesses

Pros

Redmine is a great tool as long as your workflow fits its expected flow. We use it for our incoming bug report triage, and it works well. Generally works well.

Cons

If you need to have multiple people collaborate/work on a ticket before it can be completed (eg. Analysis by one person, but development or testing by another), it can be difficult to manage this flow. The transitions between stages has to be done by the users (outside of the flow). Upgrading the tool can be a little more effort, but that's because it's open-source, and upgrade guides aren't very thorough at times.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Manage your projects

I use this tool daily for the control of tasks and hours dedicated to the projects in which I participate. This allows managers to have a global vision of how many resources are spent for a particular project and to make the best decisions for the business.

Pros

You can manage projects easily and efficiently, it allows you to control metrics such as estimated time spent by teams or by individual, you can create tasks and follow up on specific project functionalities and then you can get reports of time spent for each category in the project and this allows to make better informed decisions for the business.

Cons

The user experience design should be improved since sometimes the functionalities of the tool are not intuitive and this causes some time to be wasted.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Good tool but needs a refresh

Good option for keeping teams organized around the work and more budget friendly than JIRA.

Pros

Simplicity is Redmine's strength by far. It's got a no-frills interface and everything is fairly straightforward and easy to navigate.

Cons

It's a little feature-lacking compared to some of the other platforms that do the same thing. I definitely find myself frustrated by the search feature for instance.

September 2019

Sukumar from Pace wisdom solutions Pvt ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

One of the best application for Defect Tracking

I am using redmine from last 7 months , overall experience is very good and this application make my job easier.

Pros

Redmine is one of the flexible software defect tracking tool and it can be customized as per our needs. Time tracking functionality i like most about this application.

Cons

User interface can be improved and it will be a great application if UI make user attractive.

February 2020

Leslie from VERB Interactive

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Redmine is good

Overall I had a good experience. The system is a bit complicated at first and then becomes quite easy to use.

Pros

Easy to visually keep track of due dates and tasks assigned to others.

Cons

The time tracking can be a bit flimsy as you have to use a specific function to see where you are in your retainers for the month.

January 2017

Gio from Northrop Grumman

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Free Project Management

Redmine provides a simple and easy to use tracking and project management software system all built into one. Redmine's issue tracking or ticketing system gives developers a fast and flexible tool to address issues with the software. The tool can also be used to track projects and to "chunk" projects into smaller bite-sized sub-projects that increase productivity and help members of a team keep up to date with the progress of a project. I've used Redmine with teams and found that the collaborative nature of the product can help members stay in touch and help with assigning subtasks. As a scrum manager, I found that it helps greatly in sprint planning and reporting. Also, you can generate Gant charts to visually show where a project is at any time. The best part of Redmine is that it's open sourced and given some customization, you can quickly create a ticketing and/or program management that helps meet the needs of different members of a team. Redmine is also free to use, which makes it popular with small and large organizations that don't have vast budgets for software purchases.

Pros

1. Open-source (free) 2. Easy to use (once it's been customized) 3. Flexible (can be customized to your needs) 4. Multi-purposed (serve different roles at the same time)

Cons

1. Requires someone to administrate it. 2. Requires installation, but a cloud based version is available.

June 2018

Felix from corporación Estelio

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

A very beneficial tool in project management

Pros

The tool organizes the projects very well (you can administer more than one without problems), you can track incidents and errors separately. I love personalization in the distribution and categorization of the stages of the projects. it is entirely useful to cross-reference tickets (which are related). this prevents the creation of orphan tickets since you have an absolute control of the resolution of tickets

Cons

It is well designed for the management of small to medium-sized projects .. with large projects it is complicated because it allows to make so many changes in the structure of the project that it is counterproductive, at first the interface seems easy but when using it and having so many functions that it would be necessary A previous training for the use, it becomes very expensive when you upgrade to the premium versions of the tool. The Ruby on Rails pre-configuration requires technical experience, this is an additional cost. The administrative interface is not as effective and does not offer as much functionality as the rest of the tool. the distribution and loading of errors and incidents must be well defined, it can be a problem if the team does not understand well when it comes to "closed / result" or "Open / solving" ... it is not a 100% tool intuitive

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Good open source ticketing software

A useful ticketing system as well as a time tracking system for free, as it is open source.

Pros

I used this software in two companies that had it customized to their needs. So the possibility to customize features to fit the company workflow seems to be properly working. We used the time tracking feature to know which part of a project was taking more time than planned. The ticket's features are very useful for teamwork as you can see who worked on what task and when. You can also easily add documents attached to the task, and even write some Wiki for projects that may need it.

Cons

Redmine can be quite complicated to use, for one not used to software like this. For example we used to open parts of the software for clients when we were doing fine tuning on applications and websites, and often the client needed a small training to be able to create ticket and answer questions on the ticket.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Great free software for bug tracking and project management

Single application to manage projects/ bugs and gain visibility of the work load across all engagements. Integrated wiki allows for creating knowledge base and support information

Pros

Redmine is dead simple to setup (esp. if you get the Bitnami distribution) and use. The application is customizable - custom fields/ custom workflows. It can be easily extended with third party plugins. You can even find free mobile application to see/ manage work items on your phone We managed multiple client implementation and software product development of an Enterprise SaaS application using this.

Cons

While this is not squarely a Redmine issue, it an issue of the underlying stack and has affected us a few times - plugin/ dependency incompatibility. Redmine runs on Ruby and the Ruby plugin architecture issues affect it. So, test the plugin install on a separate instance before you put it on your main instance

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Works better than it looks

Pros

Redmine has clear, logical functionality and there's a lot of power in using Markdown to create connections between documentation and tasks. The wiki feature was very useful for my team! I also liked being able to set milestones and easily configure ticket options (priorities, assignments, status). In this sense, it's similar to JIRA in that you can very easily edit information about tasks and produce robust, well-structured documentation.

Cons

The UI doesn't feel super polished, and the wiki feature would have been difficult for my team to adopt because you need to know Markdown in order to use it effectively. (Yes, Markdown is both a Pro and a Con in this review.) Redmine also didn't have a chat feature or the kind of file preview options my team expected.

December 2018

Matheus from JMT web solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

the best incident management and task control tool

Pros

I have used the Redmine tool for a long time and I can guarantee it is the best tool for task management, time tracking and projects. I already tried to use others, which are said to be more effective but I ended up coming back to Redmine because it suited me perfectly.

Cons

I can not find defects in the usability and in the interaction of the purposes of Redmine because it is a very good tool, but only lacking integrations with current tools. As for example, Bitbucket and other tools that are more current and that together I believe would make the tool even better. I think the installation of plugins that is archaic (uploading via FTP and restarting server) is bad too, I would like it to be a simpler way, user frendly.

May 2018

Pastor from Autónomo / Freelancer

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

A good tool for project management

With Redmine I was able to manage the execution of my projects and verify the progress percentage of it, as well as customize it to evaluate the costs associated with the execution of the projects

Pros

Redmine is a project manager that can be configured easily and quickly, in addition to allowing it to be customized for communication with external applications. It allows to create workflows according to the business model. You can manage the resources used in the execution of a project and evaluate the costs in a friendly way

Cons

Redmine can be complicated to use for people with little technological knowledge as well as project management. This results in the investment in the training of all personnel involved in the use of the application. Being customizable and allowing communication with external applications can make it unstable by not complying with the workflow

March 2018

Ramakrishna from Sharp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

User/mid size companies want a free bug tracking tool then I would recommend to use Redmine tool.

This is a very good tool for any small or mid sized companies and then need a free bug tracking tool then absolutely I recommend to use Redmine.

Pros

Any small or mid sized companies need a free bug tracking tool then absolutely I would recommend to use Redmine. Because it is quite easy to use and have all basic features you need for tracking defects. you can create a bug tracking tickets without struggle a much. It is having the simple interface and quick layout for project and even task entry and also good filtering system for sorting through tasks.

Cons

This tool mainly miss the some useful features like you cannot edit created defects or tasks, only write comments to them. So definitely at the time of creation you have to take care of the bug. UI Layout is looks like outdated and we cannot feel like working on a new or advanced software.

May 2018

Alejandro from Amantium

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

excelenete project manager

excellent experience with this software, work on more than 7 projector using it, I recommend it

Pros

*Management of multiple projects *Customization of projects *Flexible task tracking system *Integration in code repositories *Use of calendar and Gantt chart

Cons

Redmine is a very powerful and mature project manager, despite its "little" development time, it is also inspired by trac, so we are facing a very flexible tool in itself, and quite stable. During its use, it is difficult or easy to obtain shortcomings, always depending on what each user is looking for, so you have to be very clear about what you are looking for in this type of tool.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

It's competency in ticket tracking is superb

You do not have to be a tech savvy in order to use this application, just let your IT admin to set it up in your computer, then it's all good. All you have to know is what kind of ticket you are going to create and what are its details.

Pros

1. Easy to customize, you can create and select different trackers for your ticket 2. Custom fields allows you to display what are the necessary inputs needed for your ticket. 3. Able to create your own template 4. Create your filter that can be visible to others if you want to. 5. Easy viewing of the ticket status through Roadmap, Agile, or Backlogs (from old version) and etc.,

Cons

I don't have any cons about using Redmine, it reached my satisfaction. It sends you mail for every changes in the ticket, and that makes me on track.

October 2016

Michael from University of Applied Sciences

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Very good and robust ticket system

I am using Redmine since 4 years now on a small virtual server which has now problem serving 30 power users with about 20% cpu load. Redmine has everything you need if you are looking for a ticket system. I use it for my advanced software engineering classes and for all my other projects, too. This system has never let me down. You can customize workflows, ticket types, extra field and there is a great community with a lot of plugins for special needs. I can absolutely recommend this system.

Pros

Easy to install and maintain. Easy configuration. Does not require a lot of hardware to run.

Cons

Looks a bit outdated but I don't do many updates.

March 2018

Ravikiran from SHARP Software Development India

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Best open source ticket management system which is almost free

Free,easy to deploy and configure ticket management system

Pros

Easy to use and deploy Good plug-in support Easy to develop plugins for Redmine It is open source and free Easy to integrate with Many SCM software It supports multiple languages We can integrate with LDAP

Cons

User interface is not as good as JIRA, It would be good, team can follow the industry trends. Plugin development takes more time than expects Lack of developers available in the market

March 2019

João from Bold

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Good value for money

I used Redmine for managing large projects for the past 2 years. When you keep it organised and updated, Redmine brings to you a great set of data to track and forecast your project. With git integration, it's very easy to link your code with your tasks. Also, it is possible to document the project using the built in wiki.

Pros

The filters are amazing. You can filter whatever you want, alongside all project tree.

Cons

The configuration can be tricky for users that are not used to this software.

December 2017

Vasu from Sharp

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Amazing tool for E2E Project Management

Compare to others and consider the support options and license styles.

Pros

Free tool to use Agile (SDLC) process and also ease to document the bugs. Large size files can share and quick response and it can be integrated with Jira for internal use. Dashboard with customizing feature helps to monitor project activities

Cons

Sprint wise planning cant be done easily. Project wise quality reports or measurement reports can't be generated and also Unfortunately some useful features are missing. For example, you cannot edit created defects or tasks, only write comments to them.

February 2019

Sarah from Atlas Networks

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great for internal use - A bit of a learning curve

It’s great for task management, both professionally and commercially. I enjoy it for tracking projects and holding team members accountable. The watchers option is fantastic, however the interface itself leaves little to be desired

Pros

Redmine is limitless and customizable for any organization as it is open source. It’s great for project management and tracking progress while being able to hold team memebrs culpable. It’s fairly easy to use once you understand the hierarchical aspect and how to customize issues.

Cons

There’s a learning curve and it’s not entirely intuitive, but this lends to its customizable nature. It’s not aesthetically pleasing, and can be tedious to rework the system in order to have it achieve what we need for work orders.

March 2018

Emily from Direct Digital LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great tool for project management

Pros

Our company uses this tool to manage projects. It's very helpful for us because we have multiple offices in different states and teams are often working together virtually. Redmine allows us to easily upload documents needed for our projects, assign projects to different people, and see priorities levels and ETA on completion. I would absolutely recommend this to others.

September 2017

Eileen from CentralPark.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Solid no frills project management software

Our team was able to manage projects on a very basic, no frills level. It got the job done, and had just enough features to get us through our day to day tasks and projects.

Pros

Very simple interface, quick layout for project and task entry, good filtering system for sorting through tasks by users, status, etc.

Cons

Feels somewhat dated, doesn't keep track of tasks and updates by the minute like some of the newer or more advanced softwares.

July 2019

Rohan from Consensus Corporation

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Useful web-based project management and issue tracking tool like JIRA

Pros

You can tell that this is another version of JIRA, here you can manage your resources by assigning different tasks to different people and can track all of them from one redmine ticket. A parent ticket can have multiple child tickets and it gets connected with your source code repository.

Cons

JIRA like chart features, graphical views, and tracking are not present

July 2019

karthik from Conch Tech Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great open source product

We used this product for issue logging during our game development project. Very easy to use and it does its primary job of bringing together teams very well. Our development company was based off shore so we pretty much had to rely on the tool for communications related to issues and this tool fits the bill perfectly. You get notified whenever there is an update on an issue which is a critical feature. Uploading pertinent files, assigning/unassigning team members to an issue are all easily taken care off. Overall a great product.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive, very short learning curve.

Cons

User interface can feel a little bit dated.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Powerful issue tracking tool

Keeping track of work flow with multiple customers and multiple people working.

Pros

Flexible enough for custom work flows etc. Powerful enough to properly track issue status. Was meant for managing software bugs and features, but can be used for multiple applications.

Cons

Some things are difficult to do. There are custom addons that can sometimes help with that.

September 2018

Joe from ChurchTrain.uk

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Not always intuitive, but it's all there

Redmine can be customised with themes, to suit it to your needs as a project management tool, built specifically with software/web development in mind. We've managed many complex builds using the tool.

Pros

Lots of features for managing software development with a team.

Cons

The interface can sometimes be a little clunky, and the WYSIWIG editor isn't always the easiest to use - but it does the job!

February 2019

Santhosh from SHARP Software Development India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Ticket managment tool.

Pros

It is very good open source Ticket Management Tool, User friendly, Easy to understand & good User Interface. Easy to Create a Ticket and update, We can also Upload the image, video and supported files. We can easily filter the Tickets and Track it.

Cons

Some time i observed page loading and We can't upload more than 5MB data file

August 2017

Emily from Direct Digital LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great tool for organizing projects

Pros

We use this in order to manage our projects at work. Not only is it helpful to keep track of everything that you have going on, but it can also let your boss easily see what you're working on without having to ask. It is also highly collaborative which is helpful for us as our office has locations in multiple different states.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Good Tool To Manage Projects and Employees

Pros

In my company we use it to manage the amount of hours an employee work in different projects every single week, i love it because you get to have a full vision of employees behavior.

Cons

Sometimes when you're assiging hours to projects you're involve in it throws an error and you lose everything you had written before that.

March 2017

Chandler from Spice works

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Redmine is a good barebones issue tracking tool

Pros

The best way I can put it: it's basically the toyota camry of issue tracking/project management software. It'll consistently get you from point A to point B, but it's not the flashiest or fastest.

Cons

The UI is a bit dated and the reporting features can be a hassle. The search is atrocious and would frustrate even the best searchers.

May 2018

Tony from Velocity Partners

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Redmine has all the features needed in order to keep an agile project running.

It's was a great tool that support the basics for the agile team, for beign a free version it has all the basic features required.

Pros

Redmine is a really easy tool to use, very intuitive. It's a free tool, easy to install and run. Supports roles and permission configuration for the users. Tickets created can store description and attached files. Tickets can be easylly found.

Cons

The scrum board is not part of the redmine core, must use a third party plugin in order to support the scrum columns.

June 2019

Lai from Robco, INC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

The best customizeable option for complex workflows

It's fantastic. If you need an extremely powerful tool for project management, software development, or anything with complex workflows, Redmine is a superstar.

Pros

It's open source, highly customizable out of the box, there are a lot of powerful plugins available.

Cons

I wish that a lot of the popular plugins would be standard features.

October 2018

Samir from Adit Microsys Pvt.Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Redmine review on my experiance.

I am using this product from last 3 years and overlook and feel of this products need to be enhance and make it more user friendly.

Pros

I like report system very much. you can easily get different report by few clicks.

Cons

Redmine's fronted look and feel need to be enhance as per the latest flat ui tends.

July 2018

nuwan from OMAK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Redmine is used for both project management & bug tracking.

Maintaining the sub projects under main projects we are able to track our bugs separately without mixing up.

Pros

1. It's free & open source. 2. Can create multiple main projects & subprojects. 3. Can track the changes & authors of the changes. 4. Manage project versions. 5. Easy to use & understand the system.

Cons

1. The UI of the system is a bit of outdated. 2. Search panel can be a little bit confused for fresh users.

April 2018

Lynn from Excel Software Services, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Good features but could be more polished

Pros

Redmine has excellent extend-ability and easy to customize themes. It has all the features you would want for project management for software developers, including the ability to integrate tasks with repo issues.

Cons

The user interface is lacking when compared to other web based project managers. It would also be better if it was easier to collaborate with clients using the software.

February 2018

Thierry from BlueSolutions

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Key user for use of Redmine for project/quality management

Pros

Very flexible software, easy to use, numerous plug-ins, possible to have on premises server, multiple plug-ins

Cons

I don't see many cons : the quality of plugins is sometimes variable, need of IT to configure the server

April 2019

Suleman from CareAxiom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Used the Redmine for issues tracking within the company

My overall experience with Redmine is good.

Pros

To add the users as the watchers is the feature I like most.

Cons

Custom listing needs a lot of improvements.

October 2017

Kumara from Sharp Software Development India Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Redmine is good issue tracker to monitor our company project quality status and some management task

Pros

Dashboard with customizing feature is good. Rest API is available to access the tool to get information. A server is available both in cloud and local.

Cons

Workflow customizing is not available. Drag-and-drop for task prioritization is not available. Agile planning is not so easy to achieve

April 2019

Chintan from Prompt Softech

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Dairy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Redmine plus customization is equal to super software

Pros

Its customizations as per your requirement

Cons

Though it comes with good features, there are bad points UI is not that powerful

June 2017

Rupa from Thinkinghut IT Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Its a one complete tool for effective & efficient project management.

Pros

Support agile methodology, agile board & issue burndown chart. It can be integrated with Jira for internal use. Project related documents can be stored.

Cons

Sprint wise planning cant be done easily. Project wise quality reports or measurement reports can't be generated.

September 2017

Arpit from Damco Solutions

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Amazing tool for E2E Project Management

Pros

Full customization canbe done Provides E2E Solution for day-to-day project tasks Can be integrated with VSS, TFS etc for continuous deployments

Cons

Sometimes customization is lengthy and complex Online solutions to problems encountered are not available easily

August 2019

Sarath from SSDI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Best Bug Status Tool

Pros

Ever one easy to Understanding this tool , easy to logging bugs . this is free tool and easy to analyzing each employee performance status

Cons

Compare to Other tools less features Overall this tool is good . I recommended this tool

July 2018

Jimcarl from Accenture

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It helps Project Management easy and simple

Pros

I like how it is so easy to use, you can start from zero to RedMine in just 30 minutes or so. Creating issues and putting up all the details is easy and intuitive. It also allows file attachments.

Cons

At first, it might be hard to setup on server machines due to some pre-requisites Windows users are not familiar of. But aside from that, there is nothing bad about this software.

January 2018

Darshan from Yapsody

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

redmine just easy to use software and very much customizable as per the requirement

Pros

pretty nice smooth and very much user friendly and 2 main features are free of cost also very much customizable.

Cons

dont know what to write but im not sure how does customer support works or even there is any customer support or not

August 2018

Tung from Web Academy programming courses Kiev

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Good but won't survive

Pros

It has a lot of functionality. You can do as far as I know anything you could do with Jira. It's much better in functionality wise than Trello.

Cons

The only problem that it can't survive in a world where UI really matters. Where we need to have nice UI and UX in order to keep the user engaged. Redmine is really lackin on that side.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 101 reviews