All Sage Timeslips Reviews

1-25 of 257 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Paul

1 employee

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great time keeping software!

Patricia

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Highly Recommend for Any Law Firm

Love this product. Wish the pricing was more afordable for a small firm, but we have no plans to change.

PROS

There are other billing platforms and products out there, but the consistent reliability of Sage Timeslips and its features make it a must-have for accurate law firm timeslips entry, billing, accounting, and maintaining client contact. Our firm has used Timeslips for over 20 years now. The customer service is one of th best for tech support as well. Timeslips tech support are incredibly knowleadgable and courteous. They often fix an issue within minutes of initiating a call for help, and they will also make sure to run a full diagnostic and fix other matters we might not know exist to ensure no additional problems arise.

CONS

No tech support on weekends. We sometimes have issues arise on weekends, and it would be ideal if there was support even if it was for a shorter time-period on the weekends. Since support is provided remotely, it is not clear why weekend support is not provided. For a business, we operate 24/7 and use TimeSlips daily. We cannot have a lack of access or some other issue crop up and wait till Monday to fix it. This cut-back was one major disappointment, especially given the costs for annual tech support contract.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

Highly recommended by other attorneys/firms, and we took a training course (live) before buying, which really convinced us that it was the best choice for our firm.

Megan

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Timeslips Review

Overall, Timeslips is the only program we have used at our law firm but I do wish customer support was better and that it was more user friendly.

PROS

I appreciate that Timeslips has client history and that we can view previous bills with ease and without having to print them out again. I also like that there are numerous reports that can be run but there are so many options that you can get lost in the process. We have also used the abbreviations and have found them to help get more slips entered faster.

CONS

There are a few things that I have been underwhelmed with. For one, depending on version you are limited to customer support options. Knowing that our version only allows for 3 chats under our subscription, I have had to save questions for months to ask when you finally do get someone to respond to you. If you are willing to do a live chat for hours before you can get someone on the phone, then I guess this would work well for you. I will say, once I finally got a representative to remote into our Timeslips, it was Extremely helpful to explain numerous issues with someone seeing your problem on the screen. I was able to get most of the questions I had to reserve answered. Even though I had support on with me they could not understand why Data Verification would not work to resolve client balances, I was told that an upgrade effected that in the program and it hasn't been fixed yet. How will we know when it is fixed? Another thing that absolutely drives me crazy is the NUMEROUS clicks and messages that pop up just to get one invoice printed and sent to LEDES. We are also having issues trying to close client accounts without going back through each and every invoice and AR transaction to find the solution.

Courtney

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

Cathy Ann Helmstadter CPA's & Associates, Inc. Sage Timeslips User Review

Our company is an accounting firm. We were quite overdue to upgrade to a current version of Sage Timeslips and did so in 2020. We have experienced numerous challenges since the upgrade. [sensitive content hidden] and myself as a user, were disappointed with the training that the company paid for with the purchase of our program upgrade. The training was pertinent to billing for a law firm and did not apply to our billing needs. It would be very helpful if a variety of training options were available for different types of industries. We have tried to utilize customer support for various issues and found the "Chat" version of support ineffective in getting a definitive resolve. Also the inability to access or to print a copy of a Chat support session after it is ended.

PROS

The availability to customize a variety of features. In example, reports, timeslip & expense entry viewing, account receivable transactions for viewing, etc.

CONS

The process of preparing the billing of invoices is very time consuming. We have found the customization of invoices to be difficult to format. Templates that we created to optimize a variety of client billing needs, have been inconsistent. Although we have chosen the exact same customized template for several clients, the invoice appearance from client to client is not the same.A suggestion that would help to save time when preparing the invoice billing is, to have the ability to hold or bill multiple time or expense entries all at once. It is quite time consuming that the program requires this process to be done to a single entry at a time.

Curt

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Worth the Effort

I have used Timeslips for nearly thirty years. I would hate to have the expense of recreating my database, and while other programs indicate that they can translate my old database and copy it, I am comfortable with the software, although the increased expense and limited utility of the last several years of updates makes me assess how much longer it will be before I switch to a competing program at a lower price. I certainly am not receiving any discounts for customer loyalty.

PROS

Timeslips takes time to imput data, use and customize. But once you set up your system and create what you need, it speeds up your billing process and enables you to create very accurate billing records, and template vast amounts of information for subsequent use. The service and technical assistance providers generally come up with serviceable solutions and are very courteous and responsive, and I like the feature in which they send transcripts of the conversations after so I can use them and effect further repairs as needed.

CONS

Over the years, the program has grown and become so much more complex, and some aspects are harder to use. I wish the "knowledge base" was easier to use for those of us who are less social media based and less involved in internet "chats". I would prefer a database of short tutorials on basic usage issues. Also, although it is part of the industry, I really hated moving from owning the software to "renting" it and paying substantial annual fees for the software. For a smaller practitioner, this is very expensive and the updates don't really provide much benefit to me - my use of the software really has not changed over time, even though the software becomes more complex.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

I switched from manual billing to Timeslips.

Christina

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Timeslips for Billing

PROS

Our firm has used TimeSlips since I started here over 5 years ago. We almost went away from it to go cloud based but the migration was too difficult. We recently upgraded our service to three users and pay monthly for the services so we are able to contact customer support to get answers to tech and other questions. Recently, I have not been able to use the instant messenger feature which was why I switched to begin with. If they could make that feature more user friendly it would give it a better review. We have so many clients already in this database it makes it very difficult to get rid of.

CONS

The difficulty getting a hold of the help desk for reports etc.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

Already using

Jane

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Timeslips Billing Software

It was a good software for the basic purposes that it served, i.e. timekeeping and billing. But I do recall that there were a lot of user issues and lack of tech support.

PROS

I recall that Timeslips was the first billing software I used as a full-time practitioner, and it was a good way to get a sense for how a billing software works, and to learn the value of keeping track of time for making money! I learned the business side of a legal practice in part from using Timeslips!

CONS

Our firm used Timeslips several years ago when the then-managing partner had purchased a limited number of user licenses for the software. After new partners came into the firm, and the firm was growing, the limited number of licenses became an issue, and I recall there were times when different attorneys could not access the system due to limited license usage issues. Then, the office manager and the firm partners were looking into whether it was possible to purchase additional licenses, and I think cost was an issue. We also didn't have access to tech support, which frankly I don't recall why except for maybe that service did not come with the type of licenses we purchased, or it was simply too much money than what the firm was willing to spend at the time.

Reasons for switching to Sage Timeslips

Easier to use and more affordable. We also have access to tech support.

Shannon

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Robust software, but somewhat clunky

PROS

We have used Sage Timeslips for 20+ years and it has worked for us. There are many positive features of the software like the customization of reports, the billing process and all the many features.

CONS

We have run into some issues with being able to invoice clients the way some of the attorneys wish to do so. The software updates are worth updates are crucial, but notifications for new updates are not consistent.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

We stayed with Sage because it was what we knew. And the other software was not much better.

Juanita

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Worth Figuring Out How to Use

Easy to use once you get the hang of how to use

PROS

The best thing about TimeSlips is easy access to payment and time slip histories. Monthly billing statements are easy to print. However, statements do have their cons, which I will address below. I also like being able to customize tasks and assign flat rate time to those tasks, if applicable . So many features as a small, one attorney/one staff office we do not even use. We have had this program over 10 years and it still performs as expected without issues.

CONS

Get connected with gmail for electric billing, not everyone uses outlook. Also, set up a way to not have to print the recap of billing on future bills since it can become a waste of paper and an expense on small offices for paper and ink with clients that have several pages of previous billing pages.

Karen

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Billing & Reporting Since 1999

I do love the program. I just need more custom fields in the slip entry that can be used in reports.

PROS

Multi-user time capture and billing system. Easy to run single invoices that need to go out daily and large quarterly billings. Easy to look up details of past projects for clients and also running time reports of employees/per department.

CONS

We need more custom fields in the slip entry so that we can capture more information needed in our reports. Requests for Proposals are requiring more information and timeslips does not have the capability to capture all the necessary information that we need for most of our reports. Most RFP's ask for five years of information so it would really be nice if I could house all the information in a slip entry verses running a TS report and combining it reports from other systems.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

Antiquated compared to the options available today

Overly complex and antiquated. Takes too much time from both the end user and administrators. We are way happier using Avaza and Quickbooks than we ever were on Timeslips.

PROS

There wasn't much to like about Timeslips except maybe an abundance of reporting

CONS

Clunky and over complicated. Interface was outdated. Started on the locally hosted version which was nearly impossible to upgrade and required keeping a really old computer around. Did demos with Sage to see about getting on a newer version and I wasn't impressed at all with their offering compared to other products I was looking at.

Robin

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2020

This company is sketchy af

20 years ago, they were a decent company and put out a decent product. Now they have built in glitches, designed to take your system down 12 months after you purchase their product so that your billing information is held hostage until you pay them the required amount.

PROS

It is simple to enter the time in. My employee pick up on entering the information fairly quickly.

CONS

I purchased the program, and not a subscription. You can count on the fact that in 12 months after you purchase the subscription, you will suddenly and magically begin to have glitches. Then they will tell you that that version of the program is no longer supported, therefore you have to spend some random amount of money to upgrade to a version that is supported. Some years this is been $400, some years it has been over $1,000. Meanwhile they hold your information hostage with the built-in error message/glitch that they have included in the program to start appearing within 12 months of your purchase. Run from this company. They will hold your billing information. They will tell you this is not their problem. If you chose not to run from this company, you better pay the extra ransom money for the service plan, but beware, eventually they will just give you the advise that you need to upgrade again.

Marc

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Functional but needs updating.

I am a practicing cardiologist who uses Timeslips to track time and provide invoices for the time I spend as a medical-legal consultant. I database has been accumulated over 20 years. This is what I have not changed to a competing software product. The lack of integration with the web makes this product very outdated.

PROS

I have been using this software for > 20 yrs. I am familiar with how to use it don't want to learn a new system.

CONS

In the 20 years I have had Timeslips, it has changed little. It has gotten more expensive each year and currently requires an annual subscription. Tech support now requires an on-line submittal with follow up phone calls. Their tech support hours are not convenient if you work away from your home office. I pay for unlimited tech support since each call is very costly if you do not have the subscription.

Claire

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Customer Service Fell Way Short

PROS

Not sure, we have been using it so long that we just continue to use it.

CONS

Unfortunately, i had a really bad experience with customer service and i was not pleased with the lack of help or rude attitude that was presented.

Penny

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Price goes up, support evaporates

i get bills out, that is all and if i have a problem I am on my own. I was told i could use it on my phone and we lost all the data! I am about to retire but would never recommend this to anyone.

PROS

I have used Time Slips for 30 years, it used to have support, then you paid according to the type of support. Now the price is insane and there is apparently NO support, when you reach someone they say make an appointment or go fish. I am not sure why the price has sky rocketed with NO SUPPORT at ALL

CONS

There is no longer support and too many bugs that make my bills gibberish. I love telling the client "pay no attention to the miscellaneous charge, no one knows why its there or how to get rid of it."

Hideko

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Technical Service: Good but Extremely Hard to Reach

I liked the old version, where I purchased the program, better. This is very expensive and not user friendly.

PROS

I think this program is great but usability and technical support to address issues is extremely elusive. Live Chat, which I am required to enter, more often than not, during regular business hours, is unavailable. There is no other way to get to Tech Support. Then, if I am lucky and can get to live chat, there is always a long wait.

CONS

The unavailability to get tech support help timely. I pay a lot per month for this program, and I am very unhappy with the availability to get help when the program malfunctions.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

I loved the program

Linda

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

Have Used TimeSlips for Years

We are comfortable with it. Our office has been using this software to track individual user hours and role rates for decades. I am quite sure our accounting software has a time feature, but we are happy with TimeSlips.

PROS

In our accounting office, we have used TimeSlips since I have been there (over 18 years). We have only updated our version once during that time. It is a basic time, expense, and client tracker. We are a small 3-person firm, and it meets our needs. We haven't updated our version since 2011, so our product is no longer supported. There is a quirk in our version, but I have found a workaround, and the savings in not being required to upgrade our software is worth the workaround.

CONS

Customizing the templates is difficult, and for some reason this year, the "billing assistant" box cannot be moved or minimized once it is opened (this is a 2017 glitch--had not experienced till this year).

Pamela

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

Pick a different time and billing software

It used to be excellent but over the past year it has been awful.

PROS

It has decades of my time and activity records on it, and after all these years I know how to run it.

CONS

It's buggy - it keeps breaking down, and using customer service to get it running again takes multiple calls and a lot of down time. It's also hugely expensive - since December I have paid nearly $4,000 for a one year subscription plus separately for an upgrade of the program (to fix the most recent breakdown) plus separately for a service contract that doesn't include a program upgrade.

Reason for choosing Sage Timeslips

I have no recollection

Norma

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT