All Things Reviews

1-25 of 143 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jakob

Sports, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed October 2021

A well produced app that works well for most but lacks some of the power user features

User Profile

Frank

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Things shows that power comes with simplicity

Overall, Things has no parallel in the productivity GTD space, because there's no other with a better balance of rich features and ease of use. It's an app that feels like it was created by designers/UX specialists first, and engineers second, whereas a tool like OmniFocus with some nice design to boot, nonetheless comes across as primarily the product of engineers.

PROS

Things is unparalleled in one area: design-empowered usability/simplicity. Productivity tools often compete on feature sets, but Things shows that sticking to a core set of features and evolving their design can yield better results than simply adding more features. While other tools can become a chore to keep up to date, Things is a tool you want to use even after several weeks, because of its simplicity. Of course this doesn't mean it's underpowered or lacking in features. It has most of the important hallmarks of a GTD system, and implements them in a UI that makes them accessible. No more, no less.

CONS

Thing's integration with MacOs has been its biggest shortcoming for me. While notifications work well enough, they're not powerful enough to interact with the app in a way that doesn't require you to actually open up the app. For example, the default Reminders app has a notification, which allows you to not only mark it as complete, but more importantly delay the notification, so that it pops right back up after 1hr or the next day. The Things notification on the other hand forces you to switch to the app and configure the delay with several clicks rather than just the one that it should take were the notifications to be more powerful.

Ben

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

A solid, easy to use program for task management and everyday thought organization.

Overall I really enjoy using Things. It has simplified my workflow, and makes it easy and efficient to keep track of everything I have going on, without being cumbersome or overly involved and complicated to use. I have tried so many different todo list and task management systems over the years, with most being too simple and not powerful enough to do what I need them to, or overly complicated and bloated with features that I don't need, or workflows that are cumbersome. Things really hits the sweet spot for me with the features and power to keep me on task, without slowing me down or frustrating me.

PROS

I love how quick and easy it is to put down the things that I need to do every day. I love that there is an inbox where I can do a mind dump with everything that needs to be done at some point, and then come back later when I have time and sort them into certain days to do them, or defer them for some other time. I love that the there is a quick add feature on my desktop, as well as the quick add feature on my iPhone, so that I can quickly throw new things into the inbox when a random thought pops into my head. I always struggle with forgetting things for good if I don't write them down when they pop into my head, and this essentially solves that issue for me as I can almost always grab my phone when a though comes in and enter it into Things quickly and know that it will be there when I come back to it later. I love the way you can use areas, headers, and projects to efficiently label and organize everything. I have multiple ongoing projects that I am working on in different areas of my life, and this makes it easy to keep them all separate, but still be able to keep track of where things are and what the next thing I need to work on is to keep things moving forward. I love how seamlessly the iPhone app and the desktop app work together. There is no thought involved in it at all. Everything stays in perfect sync no matter if I'm working on my phone or on my computer.

CONS

The only real complaints I have about Things is the lack of any real collaboration support. It would be really useful to be able to add people to certain projects or task lists, or to assign people certain tasks in a project, and they be able to see, add, edit, and mark off tasks as they go. Or be able to have a team track along with how projects are going and what their current status is. I see a lot of people also complain about the lack of attachments also. While this isn't something that personally affects my workflow, I can see how it would be useful, and understand why people are frustrated that it isn't supported. I think if they had an add on subscription service to allow attachments and collaboration, it would really make it one of the best programs out there.

Reasons for switching to Things

I wasn't happy with OmniFocus or Microsoft To Do, and I found myself reluctant to use them everyday, and it was difficult to keep everything on track and stay on top of what I needed to do. I wanted to love OmniFocus, and normally I love the products from OmniGroup. However, I found the software overly verbose and complicated to use efficiently. The user interface wasn't easy to navigate for me. It just seemed to be overly complicated and clunky, and I always felt a little daunted every time I opened it. Over time I just stopped using it regularly. Microsoft ToDo was okay. I liked it much better when it was Wunderlist. I feel like it got buggier and didn't quite work as well, or they way I was used to once they took it over.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2019

Not for me

I am always trying to stay organize and Things ended up being more work than I had hoped for,

PROS

I like the concept as I juggle a number of projects at once and need to stay organized. The search functions are powerful. The design is attractive an smart

CONS

At the end of the day I found Things to be cost prohibitive for what it does and I found other options that were better for me.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Best tool for managing personal takss

PROS

It's simple, effective, and beautiful. Full integration in Apple eco system.

CONS

No file attachments. No web interface. Slow development for new features.

Reasons for switching to Things

Todoist is also a great piece of software. I used both for some time.

Craig

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Things

PROS

This is the best piece of software I have ever bought and I’m a heavy duty user in my job and in daily life. Things has replaced the need to use expensive project management software by providing a very simple interface with no overloading of the UI which lets you do everything while not having to go back and forth etc.

CONS

Things isn’t open source and is not free. It’s expensive when you consider 4/5x point of access but for a lifetime license it’s ok.

Reasons for switching to Things

In search of something more simple on desktop and in app format.

Jus

Law Practice, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

The best tool for individual task management

It has been a decent change from Google Calendar but is not quite there. I really miss Astrid.

PROS

The visual design of things is clear and intuitive. It is easy to add and organize tasks including organizing tasks into projects/areas e.g. personal vice work. It works well with my calendar so that I can see my calendar events in things.

CONS

Primarily that I am unable to see my Things tasks in my calendar. I would very much prefer to work within my calendar including to add and remove tasks and mark tasks as complete in my calendar. Google Calendar gets close but the lack of repeat tasks and the lack of demarcation b/w tasks and reminders makes Google difficult to stay on top of.

Reasons for switching to Things

Due to a lack of demarcation within and awkwardness of Google products i.e. calendar, tasks, reminders.

Trudy

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best ever to-do list and more

I am so much more organised. I don't forget 'things' I have to do. I created my first project recently and its keeping me on track.

PROS

I love how Things keeps me on track and is Synced to all my devices.

CONS

It would be good to be able to collaborate with one other person.

Reason for choosing Things

More user friendly.

Reasons for switching to Things

I don't need collaborating with other people very often.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Things App easy to use

I use it every day to remind me of daily tasks, upcoming things to do and projects

PROS

It is easy to add tasks (to-dos), due dates, tags and deadlines. Ability to archive events. Pick between Upcoming, Anytime and Someday categories.

CONS

Lack of integration with other apps like Fantastical, other calendar apps. More appearance options of different colors besides Light or Dark

Reasons for switching to Things

Todoist more difficult to use and less intuitive

James

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great Personal Task Manager

For years, I used another task manager that was much harder to use. The complexity of the other system resulted in me not regularly utilizing the tool. Things give me just the right amount of customization and presents an easy intuitive user interface.

PROS

I appreciate the clean design and the fact that it is very powerful yet easy to learn and use. It is also synchronized across all my devices which allows me access wherever I go.

CONS

It is a little on the pricey side especially if you want to use it across your Mac, iPhone and iPad. However, I will say that it is worth the money.

Reasons for switching to Things

- Things easier to use - Nozbe subscription rates were high and increasing

User Profile

Marvin

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Best app to get things done.

PROS

Things is my daily companion. I open the app first thing in the morning and close it as the last one at night. It‘s super intuitive to add and view task for both short- and long-term projects.

CONS

Only a minor downside: widgets currently don‘t update automatically without opening the app. However, the interaction with the widget got way better with the last version so I‘m sure it‘s just a matter of time until background refreshs work properly

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

A way to ensure you know what Things need your attention

Name a task management app: probably I have used it. I have tried so many, but have stuck with Things for years now. One of the secrets is that there are less bells and whistles, less leavers to play around with. This means, I take less time to make the task list look perfect, and more time on actually doing the work. The other reason is that tasks I do not complete today, just get carried over to tomorrow. This means there is not a backlog, no past days to navigate back to. There is simply 'today' which includes all the tasks I purposefully added today's date to (plus the ones carried over from yesterday). There are two types of dates: deadlines and reminders. With tasks that have a deadline, I will usually set a reminder a couple of days in advance. Each day I try to take a couple of minutes to look at 'today' and move out anything that I give up on doing or want to postpone. That way I know what is in 'today' is truly things I want to tackle that day, if I am able. If not, I know the task will show up tomorrow again and did not disappear into the abyss of digital nirvana.

PROS

It is so easy to use! I have tried lots of task managers and this one works best for me, mainly because of how little there is to 'play around' with. I love the design and the integration of apps on the Mac, iPhone and iPad are great.

CONS

There are a few small things that could be changed to increase its usefulness, but most of them are 'nice to have' and don't touch on core functionality. Sequential tasks (making task 2 show up once task 1 is completed) are the most obvious missing feature. Prices are high (especially compared to some free, yet still high quality offers) but comparable to their main competitors (OmniFocus, Todoist)

Greg

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Worth the money

It allows me to accomplish more and be fully present in the moment with people because I know my lists are safe and synced and accessible.

PROS

I love things because it functions like a 2nd brain. I’m able to get tasks out of my head into a system I’ve come to trust. I use it on my iPhone and my Mac. It’s elegant and pretty to look at and it has the features I need to manage projects and next actions.

CONS

There are a few features I wish things had. I’d like more customization for my views. I’d like smart searches to be saved. Minor things.

Reasons for switching to Things

It’s simpler and less fiddly

Madden

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Mix Between Second Brain and Calendar

I use Things on a daily basis in my role as a dental student as well as in my personal life. I would credit Things as being one of the biggest influencers in increasing my productivity over the past five years.

PROS

The keyboard shortcuts are 100% my favorite part about Things. Throughout my day, as I am told a deadline or think of an idea I instantly will hit my shortcut and dump it into my inbox where I can set alerts and reminders when needed. This allows me to stay focused on my task and not forget anything either.

CONS

I think some sort of calendar integration is due. While I know I can see my tasks in list format, it seems that it would just be too simple to be able to see a calendar view so why not?

Ben

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Not cheap, but worth the price!

Things keeps name on track and more importantly, allows me to get tasks out of my brain space until the moment I need to focus on them. And it's pixel perfect design is easy on the eyes too.

PROS

The 'getting things done' approach works well. Areas of responsibility, projects and general tasks that can be organised in any way that suits. The today view is excellent and the app looks great. Excellent integration with the mac including the shortcuts app, email-to-task and a useful URL scheme.

CONS

You have to purchase a separate version for each platform (iOS, Mac, iPadOS) but it's a one off purchase with no subscription model. So a high price initially to get set up, but perhaps better than an annual fee! No web or Windows interface, so Apple only.

Reasons for switching to Things

Mac ecosystem.

User Profile

Chelsea

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Obsessed

PROS

Things has singlehandedly upgraded my life, as I feel 1000x more organized. I use my Today list every day as my north star for what I want to get done, and can easily drag to another time on my schedule if I'm not going to get to it. Much better than using the calendar because tasks are often not time-specific (though I do like the This Evening option). I also LOVE the email-task integration, where I can turn an email into a task using a keyboard shortcut, and the fact that I can easily have notes and links associated with a task.

CONS

I suppose being able to have a collaborator on a project would be nice, although I haven't really minded this as completely individual to-do lists can help with accountability. It also can be hard for me to pitch Things to friends and colleagues given the cost, though I find it reasonable.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Things-giving

Perhaps it's useful to compare and contrast Things with Todoist. If you don't need or don't want to spring for an upgraded Todoist account, Things 3 is much better and a better value, too. If you're working with a team and need to assign tasks, track complex projects, etc., Todoist may be a better choice. In my case, I couldn't convince my coworkers to "play my game" with ToDoist, and I happily went back to using Things.

PROS

Things 3 is incredibly easy to use, and very capable—especially if you're not trying to manage an entire team with a single application.

CONS

There are two flaws—or maybe just drawbacks— that I hope the makers resolve: there is no API so Things doesn't play well with other applications, and popup reminders offer a snooze feature, but there seems to be no way to change the default time till it pops up again (seems to be 10 minutes).

Thomas

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Beautiful, powerful task management

I've used Things 3 as may task manager for the past few years for both work and personal tasks. It just works.

PROS

• great general section for all tasks due Today, and they even add a subsection for tasks due This Evening • separate due dates and start dates • projects can have simple headers to split up a large number of tasks • easy to graduate a task into a project • sync is fast and reliable

CONS

• no file attachments or pics (these can be really useful sometimes) • no saved searches (if you want to view Today with tasks tagged as work, you'll always need to click and set that up)

Ishan

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Great GTD Task Manager, Perfect Balance Between Usability and Features

It makes tasks easy to manage for me, does not slow me down. It's pretty customizable as well.

PROS

Things is one of the few softwares that can be described as perfect. It's perfectly balanced when it comes to features and usability and doesn't reinvent the wheel. It has everything you'd want as a power use, from a system wide to-do creation box to integration with other apps.

CONS

Tagging system could be a bit better. Also, GTD functionality could use dependent tasks where one can start only after the previous one finishes. Apart from these, the app is great.

Sven

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY