What are Workzone users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Workzone software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.73

159 Reviews

5
122
4
31
3
5
2
1
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Best thing about the software is the ease of use."
  • icon"It doesn't have some of the flashy features others might, but often those systems are super pricey, or don't work as advertised."
  • icon"Customer service is great. The WZ team is always looking to improve their product and service."
  • icon"I dont like that anyone on the team can accidentally mark your task complete."
  • icon"It takes a bit to constantly update the timeline when items are stalled in reviews/approvals, but that will be the case with any project management software."
  • icon"Finding/navigating the time tracking task is a little strange."

Jump to:

Browse all Workzone Reviews

  • Have you used Workzone and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 159 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 159 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Simple and clean Project Management Tool

Overall this is a good and simple project management software to have which can help to get your work done, though it lacks a lot of the fancy features that some fo the competitors provide.

Pros

One of the simple and easiest project management tools to implement as this is web based. Quite intuitive , less cluttered and easy to use. Possess all the good features of MS Excel and MS Project, which have been nicely integrated into a nice simple layout. Allows to share documents and message across the team, good for collaboration. Sends email notifications for tasks and sub tasks which is an amazing feature to have.

Cons

No apps support on Google play or Apple Store, but can open in most of the browsers and hence serves its purpose.

Alex

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Great app with lots of support

Mentioned it above, but their support is really great. You get to know the folks who work there and even though we're not a huge client, we feel totally supported. That really helps with communicating ideas, asking for advice, and making it a useful tool for your company. You're meeting with folks who know their software and not some third-party service reading through a decision chart.

Pros

I've toured a number of project management systems and it's surprising how many can't deliver what needs to get done. WorkZone does a great job at being a functional project management system. Our company needs a blend of project mgmt that is effective, yet not so robust its unwieldy, and WZ really fits the bill. It doesn't have some of the flashy features others might, but often those systems are super pricey, or don't work as advertised. WZ has plenty of features we don't utilize, so I don't mean to make it sound basic. But it works great for our team and does what it needs to, and well. Oh, also, they've been super supportive, great customer service, are continually adding new features, and open to feedback.

Cons

I guess the biggest con is that there isn't an app (like for an iPad), but that's definitely not a deal-breaker. We tested other systems that offered apps and maybe looked prettier, but weren't functional when we kicked the tires. Another con might be that, at the start, it isn't super intuitive (like most new things), but it didn't take long to get your bearings. Again, once we were up and running, it's been really smooth and useful.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for choosing Workzone

We also dipped our toes in Asana, but the email login really killed it. We're a smaller unit in a larger company, and Asana was really only interested in nabbing the entire entity. Even getting a functional trial was difficult since someone must have sampled it who-knows-when. Asana also wasn't very supportive or interested in working with a team our size. When we realized we'd need a second email account for all users, that was the dealbreaker. We also looked at Hive, which wasn't a good fit for our team, and some other system that was way too expensive.

Switched From

TeamGantt

Reasons for switching to Workzone

Not to knock TeamGantt; it was also a good tool, but wasn't implemented in a way that was useful to a growing team. WorkZone had some functionality that TG didn't, but overall we made the switch as a newly reformed team, deciding on a tool together.

Julie

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Why Sammons likes Workzone as our PM system

Overall, we really like the simplicity of Workzone as a project management system. It works for our environment and workflow. We've used Workzone for over 10 years. I have quarterly meetings with a WZ rep and find this to be very valuable. Workzone has always been open to suggestions on recommendations for enhancements or additional to improve the system.

Pros

Ease of use, a simple way to manage and track projects

Cons

Some of the recent upgrades has caused confusion for reviews regarding when they are in the document manager section in regards to adding new versions of files that are routing for review vs adding files to the project folder. Unfortunately, this has caused some pain-points for us.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Simplicity

Stan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2017

More than a project management software

WorkZone provides features not only for a project management system but for file management and version control as well. It is a combination of a number of tools required by an organization (Especially IT). We can easily share documents with others and manage the document version control as well. In terms of managing projects, it has almost all features available.

Pros

Well, it is a mix of a number of tools. Sometimes having more features are good but it can make the application complex for the users.

Cons

I would say, to work more on improving the interface and usability. Since you have a lot of functional apps as part of your tool, it would be great for users to have a great user interface.

Joel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

A++ for customer support

Pros

The customer support and training with Workzone has been phenomenal. The product is very efficient and has kept projects from falling off the radar. Workzone has streamlined our processes and has surprisingly made for a much happier workforce!

Cons

The only thing about Workzone is there are so many things it can do that I don't use them all.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

The functionality and price were far superior with Workzone.

Chelsea

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

The Structure Your Team Needs

We adopted Workzone in order to provide our institution 'clients' with project request forms and also to help our team manage daily priorities. It took some time to convey the benefits and get folks to stay accountable (i.e. actually use the forms and project tracking) but now that everyone is on board we're able to continue working towards improved processes and organization. Overall, I couldn't be more thrilled about this platform because it reduces the need for emails, tracks conversations, streamlines project-creation via templates, keeps file-review painless and makes task-reporting simple enough to hold folks accountable.

Pros

The best attributes about Workzone are hands-down the project templates, the list structure/outlining, and the approval request option for files. Templates prevent the need to create projects from scratch every time and the linear task view/list keeps your priorities straight and holds everyone accountable. As a communications specialist, there's a lot of approval required for each draft hence why I'm a fan of the approval request feature. No more drafts getting lost in email or excuses for outstanding items.

Cons

The biggest issue I'm witnessing is the learning curve for folks who aren't process-oriented and/or those who aren't familiar with other project management systems (I've used others like Basecamp and Asana). However, the remedy for this is patience, practice and utilizing Workzone's training sessions/don't be afraid to ask the rep. Every customer service interaction is wonderful and they constantly make updates that make the platform easier and more efficient.

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for switching to Workzone

Needed more functionality and project request forms - used to have to use Asana with Wufoo.

Kyle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Great tool, still in need of some improvement, service team is excellent

Overall it has been a very positive experience. The software does nearly everything we need it to do and does it pretty well. The customer service is great.

Pros

I like the ability to link tasks and create in-depth project templates. I like the reporting capabilities for resource management and hours tracking. I like the functionality of commenting and emailing through workzone all associated with a task and/or project.

Cons

The resource management reporting is in need of some crucial updates. The main issue currently is that it only removes hours that are marked complete. This is not helpful and can create major scheduling and resource management issues when a large task is 90% complete, but the reporting shows it as 0% complete. The other major inconvenience is not being able to batch select tasks without having to check each tasks' check box. When you're deleting or moving or editing hundreds of tasks it is incredibly cumbersome. If you could select the top one hold shift and select the bottom one it would be a major time saver.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Pricing was better than the high end and functionality was better than the low end. Also the support seemed like it would be much more helpful than the high end products.

Jodi

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Excellent Customer Service

A lot of agency will use several different platforms and you don't always realize that when its all very easily tracked in one place it drastically simplifies the process for your team. It really saves a lot of time by streamlining tasks and projects.

Pros

You have a designated customer success person working with you regularly to ensure you're getting the most out of the product. If you have any questions they are incredibly quick to respond and you always get a real person who is very knowledgable of the product.

Cons

I don't have a lot to say for cons. If there are any concerns, they address them right away. Even with implementation they'll jump in with suggestions if your team is struggling.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

I used Workzone at a pervious company and already knew it very well.

Reasons for switching to Workzone

We wanted to be able to track individual tasks w/in a project and see progress of a project at a glance. Our previous software didn't allow that and it was also not user friendly. An additional reason was the customer support was completely lacking with our previous software.

Dan

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Great Project Man Toool

WZ works great for our marketing team. All projects are requested and tracked so that all team members have a real-time look at the status of a project. Setting up and tracking tasks is very easy and user-friendly.

Pros

Ease of use and suite of product features available

Cons

i currently have no complaints about WZ.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

WZ seemed to have everything we needed at an affordable cost.

Reasons for switching to Workzone

WZ was much more user-friendly and less expensive.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Makes assigning and completing tasks simple

Organizing projects and individual tasks, tracking projects and assets.

Pros

Workzone makes it fairly easy to create and assign tasks for projects. The Files tab in each task allows you to upload relevant information, and the ability to comment in the individual tasks makes getting answers easy. One of the biggest benefits of Workzone is the project numbers that the software assigns. It makes it easy to track and record each project, which is especially nice when we have several versions of the same ad that are needed for different channels.

Cons

There's definitely a learning curve and the UI isn't the most intuitive. Marking someone as responsible in certain levels of a project won't place it in their To Do list, for example, which can cause problems when you're waiting for someone to complete a task and they aren't even aware of it. It took us some time to make sure everybody was using it correctly and even then we had to design our own system and naming conventions to keep the projects organized

Kristen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Helps me keep track of large projects involving many participants!

I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience so far. It meets our needs, and if there is ever a question, a nearly immediate response from Workzone support can be expected. If you decide this is the solution for you, USE the support they provide. They'll help you work through your questions and ensure the ideal implementation plan is put in place for you.

Pros

The ability to customize this software to meet the wide variety of needs we have within our program. Projects can be big or small. Reporting options give multiple views of task/project status - as detailed or as broad as you would like them to be. Weekly "To Do" email reminders keep all parties abreast of progress, or lack of progress, on specific tasks.

Cons

Can what I like most also be what I like the least? There are so many features and ways to use the system that it might be overwhelming getting started. Take the time and ask for help if you need it. Even if you don't think you need it, talk it through with someone from the Workzone team. It's worth it to get off on the right foot with your planned use and they will have great suggestions for you.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Web-based.

Renee

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

A Lifesaver for Project Management

We have been using this tool for a long time and find it vital to our work processes. We use it more as a linear tool for each person to manage their tasks/assignments, and not so much for collaboration with outside parties, though it has that capability. As an administrator, it has been essential for tracking work across departments and to manage timelines. Technical support has been excellent and Workzone staff check in from time to time to learn what else we may need to do our work better. The software is constantly improving based on feedback so we know we are always getting the best product available.

Pros

We like the ability to have all Creative Requests in one place, to identify assignments, and track their progress within the system.Communication is tracked within the software by project, so it is easy to track all comments related to the work. We do a very large volume of work each month and the metrics captured within the software are helpful to assess resources and workload.

Cons

There are some reports that we would like that we cannot capture with this software. Also, workload tracking does not show the cumulative hours on a persons plate when projects are delayed and the hours are still tracked in previous weeks. It takes a bit to constantly update the timeline when items are stalled in reviews/approvals, but that will be the case with any project management software.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Workzone was extremely flexible, allowed for designations by departments/workspaces to organize work, customization options for project templates, management levels to adjust access to information, archiving system, and good built-in communication tool.

Christine

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great Project Management tool!

My team uses this for our corporate marketing efforts. We support all internal teams with collateral, graphic design, powerpoint deck creation, landing page and website updates, internal emails, external emails, social media posts, etc. We use Workzone to keep track of all of our deliverables and to show the value we are bringing to our business.

Pros

I really like the features and functionality and the customer service for this tool. You can tell that the company really cares, and they help me solve for specific project management organization and reporting issues that my team faces, and taught me some best practices for utilizing this tool to solve for our problems. Great tool if you have multiple team members and multiple projects going on at once. My favorite feature is the calendar, and how you can select which tasks you want to appear on the calendar. Great in helping our team have greater visibility to everything going on each day.

Cons

The price is steep for multiple users, we have about 20 users. They do have a tiered pricing structure, but it's still more expensive than our previous tool.

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp

Reasons for choosing Workzone

We needed to be able to track each task for different categories. We have to track how many deliverables we are producing for each internal department. The category feature let us track how many tasks were attributed to each department. For example, we built a landing page for the email marketing team, a powerpoint deck for the sales team, etc. and I have to report on what tasks we are completing for all internal teams, on a monthly and quarterly basis. Workzone makes this easy!

Kevin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Workzone rollout, Daily use

Excellent experience, the tech support is terrific, online questions are answered immediately, most times a simple Google search results in your answer. Phone support is off the charts, I only had to leave a voicemail a few times and a follow up call was returned right away. Follow up from the sales/implementation team is excellent as well. I have used other products in a past work environment and this has been a main issue for me in the past, not so with the Workzone team.

Pros

Intuitive design/functionality. Flexible configuration/set-up, the product allows you to define user roles between different project types with the same individuals, (i.e. users can be reviewers in one work space while having a higher role defined in a different work space). Very cost effective product for our size of a company, to receive this powerful functionality at this cost point was important. We use it for engineering, sales/marketing as well as production/shop projects. We intend to eventually adapt our Quality-Six Sigma projects to use Workzone. Management really likes the visibility/accountability and reporting provided by Workzone. The time tracking function is easy to use and was a big seller for management.

Cons

When entering new tasks it is a little cumbersome to set the sequence of the tasks in the project view. The due date and task completion time automatically re-shuffle the sequence so if you make a mistake entering a task or sub task it can get confusing. It is easier in the GANNT chart view. Some users who aren't comfortable using a GANNT chart struggle a little bit with this when first starting out. Project numbering by the automatic feature is restrictive, you cannot adapt it if you have a current method for numbering projects, so you still have to keep a data base/list of project numbers.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Cost, functionality, follow up/support, intuitive design of the user interface. We were able to demo the software to our in-house team with a minimal amount of effort. We set aside 2 weeks for the evaluation but based on our experience with the technical sales team during the demo our questions were almost all answered in a 1 hour telecon. We were functional within a week. Being honest most of our use is currently engineering, sales/mktg is a little slower to adapt.

Michele

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

WrokZone-Project Management One stop shop

Overall experience with WZ has been great and I don't say that lightly. WorkZone has helped transform our PMO and our enterprise. We have been with WZ since 2015. The driver behind us looking for a solution and selecting WZ was primarily driven by the lack of transparency in our organization and the WZ tool provides the visibility we need from a project, resource perspective as well as providing the organization the enterprise picture of all projects in the works, upcoming and ones to be reviewed.

Pros

We all know that moving or using different tools brings inherit challenges but with the WorkZone platform, the transition is pretty simple. The platform itself is really user friendly, there are training modules, videos, how to guides and an awesome sales/support team to help your organization through the process. Key benefit take-aways-ease of resource use, easy set-up, PMO 1 stop solution from project requests (project intake process), document management for projects, time tracking of resource tasks and portfolio reporting (must have for my company) and other key reporting reports are already built into the system. The ability to comment and tag people for input has also been extremely value add as all of those comments go into WZ and you can see the history before the project was assigned or kicked off.

Cons

There are a couple idiosyncrasies from a project management perspective. None of which are showstoppers and have easy workarounds. PM's seem to be continually challenged using FS (finish to start) for task planning. No critical path-this is actually an upcoming WZ to-do No project to project dependencies-this is actually an upcoming WZ to-do No true milestones (0days duration)-WZ is time based so every tasks needs time allocated. 1min is the workaround we use along with the milestone category.

Bridget

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Incredible Software and Remarkable Customer Service

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! The software/platform (both pc/mac & mobile device) are intuitive and easy to use, once you fully understand/ are functioning within the platform. Our Project Management efficiency has increased tremendously. Though, there was a pretty steep learning curve from our previous platform, it has been well worth it. My best advice - just get in and use it daily, set up a Test Workspace where your teams are free to play, experiment, explore, build out, attach, etc. OVER THE TOP & ABOVE AND BEYOND Customer Service from the WZ Team! The onboarding process, weekly zoom calls and recap emails were so helpful. We were included in the entire process - it was not one-sided at all ... they made suggestions/showed examples, yet we had say ... it was truly a WZ and Us/Admins team effort every step of the way! That being said, we/Admins had to own our end of things and were assigned 'homework' in between our calls, which truly helped keep the onboarding process moving along at a tangible pace. SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENTS - the WZ Team really listens to your needs and 'could it do this?' suggestions. Since we've been using WZ, several updates/improvements have been made to enhance functionality. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF Tutorials, Webinars and Knowledge Base - the WZ Team has done a PHENOMINAL job of making these available. Searching is easy, and if you can't find what you're looking for, their team is extremely quick to respond when you reach out for assistance.

Pros

The over all concept of how the software serves the needs of comprehensive Project Management. From small (one task) projects to massive (hundreds of tasks) projects, the WZ software is capable of organizing and tracking it ALL.

Cons

Some functionalities that we were accustomed to from our previous software weren't included, which is to be expected when you make a software switch such as this. But we found work-arounds, and/or made suggestions to the WZ Team as to potential improvements to functionality.

Reasons for switching to Workzone

The software wasn't meeting out 'project management' needs.

Daniel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Workzone: The Professional Project Management Tool

Personally, I would definitely recommend Workzone if the price is not a problem, as it has many useful features and unlimited support and training.

Pros

Workzone is a powerful project management tool that has many professional features like client management, collaboration tools, time tracking and resource planning. Workzone hits the sweet spot between simple and too complex project management tools as it provides just enough features for professionals to use easily, without being overly difficult to use. It is also very versatile and is able to mesh with many different types of businesses or teams. This is definitely a great plus for businesses who wish to deploy Workzone across different departments. Another really useful feature I’ve found is task dependencies. This is where you link two tasks together and if one cannot be started without completing the other. Finally, the support is truly incredible as you can contact the Workzone support team every weekday during working hours through email or phone. Furthermore, there is an extensive knowledge base on the Workzone website where you can learn through FAQ’s, webinars and videos.

Cons

The biggest downside with Workzone is the hefty price tag of about $24-43 each user but this is somewhat justified because of the reliable support you receive and the unlimited training available for users. There is also a bit of a learning curve to Workzone but this is to be expected with project management tools but due to their many learning resources, Workzone is actually better than most.

Joseph

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

A welcome addition to our project management arsenal

Business problems are the quest to keep the myriad projects we have established moving forward. We have had more than 500 projects, many of them Campaigns with multiple sub tasks and deliverables, and it shows management what progress has been made, and where our manpower issues are in relation to the amount of work being produced.

Pros

Notifications are the key to keeping everyone honest. You know when your work is due. It's easy to use, and logical, once you figure out how the platform works. My coworkers begrudgingly respect it, but don't always embrace it. It has kept us honest and gives a clear-eyed view of the state of projects, either from the 10 feet level or the 10,000 foot level.

Cons

No, there are some quirks that you have to understand. My boss doesn't like to check off his tasks in "Approval Requested" and then "Creative Approval", but I understand why it's like this, so I'm OK with it. There was some initial resistance to the platform by some on the tea, but training and use have made that situation better.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

It had the best integration, functionality, training and reputation.

Nausica

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Workzone Works Well for Us.

Our team uses it daily to run our entire company's projects.

Pros

The ease of use made this platform the best solution for our company at the time we decided to purchase.

Cons

Currently there is nothing worth mentioning as Workzone makes updates often in the year.

Reasons for choosing Workzone

Ease of use.

Amy

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Workzone makes project management a snap.

Project management is just one of the many facets of my job. After researching several software packages, Workzone met all of our needs for assigning and tracking marketing and design projects and well as task management for our events team. We use Workzone every day and would be lost without it.

Pros

- Ease of use is key. The training we provide for new team members takes about 1/2 hour. -The cost of Workzone (for us, a nonprofit organization) was a pro. We have all the facets of the product we need and the cost is very reasonable (especially compared to other products we tested). - Customer service deserves an "A" if not an "A+". -Because project management is just a facet of our job, WorkZone appealed to us because it had just the right amount of features, without being overwhelming.

Cons

- I wish there were more templates set up for the type of projects we use (design and copy). Now that we've used WorkZone for several years, they may have these, but we've built out own. - You can easily get carried away with email notifications, especially if you oversee many projects/ staff. (This is customizable and probably has more to do with how we choose to use WorkZone.)

Sharon

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Fantastic customer service

The professionals at Workzone were always available to assist with one-on-one instruction, team instruction, prompt answers, troubleshooting, and solutions. By making the process and system easy to understand through a customized training video, we experienced a smooth launch to our campus community with a high adoption rate and positive feedback. This proved to be highly beneficial. Despite launching only a few weeks prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, we were able to work remotely without missing a beat and easily onboard new users.

Pros

A project management system and a standard process for intaking design projects did not exist in our work environment prior to implementing Workzone. Workzone provided the structure we needed while being user-friendly. The dependencies and automated notifications allow for an efficient workflow and ensure projects are kept on track. The customer service is outstanding!

Cons

Our team found the markup functionality to be cumbersome when there are numerous comments/edits as it's difficult to easily tie the comment to the markup on the proof. Fortunately, the folks at Workzone are open to suggestions and are working to improve upon this. The approval status can be confusing when there are multiple rounds because it retains the previous response and approval comment. From the perspective of the admin and contributors, navigation isn't always direct—you're not always taken to the correct project or folder, requiring more clicks to get to the correct place.

Rachel

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great tool for any Project Manager

We manage several hundred construction projects from bidding, to design to shipping. These projects can run for years and Workzone has helped us stay organized. We have all the information about he job at our fingertip. Reminders helps us stay on top of projects before due dates. The ease of the platform allows everyone (designers, sellers and yard operators ) the ability to stay on task by sharing and pass the baton when their part is done. This has helped us reduce errors, ensure deadlines are met and spend less time looking for information.

Pros

We have been using this software for about three years now and cannot imagine life without it. Best thing about the software is the ease of use. For a software that's so robust, it's quite intuitive. The team have been able to figure out how to navigate around with minimal training. We also like that we can store files with the tasks and can set reminders. Although we haven't had to use them a whole lot, customer service has been very responsive.

Cons

Getting reports is not idea, but this may be more what we need. Reporting functionality if fine and I can usually extract the information I need and manipulate it to get what I want.

Michael

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Great Product, Easy to use.

I have been very happy with Workzone. Having come from using MS Project Server, Workzone is a much easier piece of software to use for Project Management. MS Project is a bit too robust and not easy to scale down. Customer service has been great, quarterly status update meetings and training how to sessions are above and beyond. Having the same customer success manager really gives it a personal feel.

Pros

Ease of use, short learning curve for new users. Simplified format. Fantastic customer support.

Cons

Would be nice to have more plug-ins or API for our Microsoft products

Switched From

Microsoft Project

Reasons for switching to Workzone

Cost, ease of use.

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Order for a disorderly designer

Very good experience, overall. Workzone provides the needed structure to the often chaotic world of graphic design. A deep organizational feature set allows us to keep tabs on all of our projects, providing a consistent delivery of content to our clients.

Pros

To-do lists, push notifications, task lists, advanced search features. Pretty easy to navigate for such a deep-featured software system.

Cons

I have had some difficulty returning to the overall task list from other pages.

Switched From

Basecamp

Kristina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Love it!

I have been using Workzone for 6 years now and couldn't function without it. It keeps me organized and ensures that none of my projects fall behind. Not only are there graphic indicators when a project is in danger of falling behind, but the email notifications help ensure we stay on target and no items are missed. When I have an issue, or can't figure out how to do something, customer service is incredibly helpful and very very fast at responding! Such a great program and an amazing company that supports it!

Pros

It is incredibly easy to use and takes about 2 minutes to train a new person on. Workzone is very intuitive and easy to navigate. Editing and customizing individual projects is incredibly easy. Reports are easy to create and customize and project info is searchable for those times that my memory fails me.

Cons

There is a slight delay when updating tasks or saving new comments. This could be internet speed based though, so i'm not sure if its a valid "con"

Showing 1 - 25 of 159 reviews
Workzone

Workzone

4.73/5 out of 159 reviews
icon30 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.