Escapia

Escapia Reviews

RATING:

4.43

(112)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.43

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Correspondence is attractive and easy to customize. The various tools available for setting rates/manipulating rates are easy to use."
  • icon"Great group of innovative individuals who are constantly trying to improve the software and stay ahead of the competitors."
  • icon"If you advertise on HomeAway websites like VRBO the integration is seamless and easy."
  • icon"It's an odd feature to be missing, because everything else about every unit and office is customizable (the correspondence documents, the booking modules, the rate plans and the unit setup."
  • icon"Extremely difficult to navigate and they seem to have issues with the login pages; I have had to re-register 3 times within the last 5 months. Terrible, terrible, terrible."
  • icon"It is old and dated with very few updates in the last four years. The reporting and rate engines are frustrating to use and it has a number of oddities that make training and using difficult."

All Escapia Reviews

1-25 of 113 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

Great software, so many options offered

Data

Pros

There are so many tools offered. Feel like I have searched out most offered, but know so much more that can be utilized.

Cons

Extremely date sensitive. Been looking for help from support on a tax issue and have not received a response after numerous requests.

Mike

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Great software that is well established in the vacation rental industry

We have found Escapia to be an established, tested, and well-engineered product that serves us well. Although there is no perfect property management system for the vacation rental space due to the industry's overall fragmentation, we have been impressed with their willingness to listen to customer feedback on suggested enhancements. Most importantly, their support is a key attribute to our relationship. No matter how small (or large) our support needs are, they have always been quickly accessible and extremely helpful in delivering solutions.

Pros

Trust accounting is the backbone of our business and we rest easy knowing that Escapia's accounting module is rock solid. Our integrations with other products has been seamless and we find the overall layout and functionality of Escapia to be intuitive and not "click" intensive.

Cons

We don't have any complaints about Escapia

Bethany

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2017

A Big Complicated Software.

Escape has a lot of features, and potentially a lot of power, but it's so complicated that it's easy to miss a step and mess something up badly. Almost nothing about the software is user-friendly or intuitive, everything is convoluted and complicated, and requires many steps and a lot of double-checking. This also applies to EscapiaNET, which is also not as straightforward as one would hope since property information shows up differently on different platforms. I would count this one of the most useful features of Escapia. We have enjoyed being able to integrate with Glad To Have You and use that for guest communication and contracts, and we also push our properties out to other platforms. EscapiaNET is not without flaws and we have had issues even integrating with VRBO (which is also owned by HomeAway so you would think that would be easy), mostly because of the number of complicated, easy-to-forget steps to make sure everything is perfect in Escape. However, to be fair, I don't know if integration through any other property management software would provide better integration. As it does seem like a very challenging thing to do well.

Pros

Escape customer support has done a good job troubleshooting and explaining how things work when I contact them. There are also lots of training resources, self-help articles, explanatory videos, etc, available. I have also heard that the Escape accounting features are useful and thorough. I have not had any experience with the accounting side of Escapia.

Cons

One of the things that have been most frustrating about Escapia is the Owner web feature, which is supposed to provide an owner portal where our property owners can log in and see property details, upcoming reservations, owner documents, etc. Owner web itself is pretty limited, which is fine if that's what you want. One problem is that as of now owners cannot reset their password, and so they always have to contact us if they forget it so that we can change it for them. Another challenge has been that many of our owners own more than one property and that for accounting purposes each of these units has to be set up with different owners. That means that when one of those owners logs into the owner portal they can only see one of their properties unless they set up separate logins for each property, which includes separate email addresses. But then those email addresses will automatically be where their owner statements are sent, so if they want all the owner's statements to go to one email, they will have to forward them. We do not want to make our owners jump through hoops like this. We want their experience to be as simple and streamlined as possible. Escapia also lacks some features (such as automated emails, simpler reports, better filters for sending a guest communication, and the ability to add attachments to that communication) that would make the software more functional. I have also heard from our maintenance and housekeeping teams that Escapia is challenging for them to understand and use as they would like to. Basically, we've ended up using other software and strategies to fill in the gaps and give us the features we want, which is a little disappointing considering the seeming hugeness and complexity of Escapia.

Response from HomeAway Software

Hi Bethany, We apologize for the delay in response. We are continuously working on new features and enhancements and your Client Solutions Manager will be happy to share those with you. Please contact us at HomeAwaySoftware@homeaway.com and use the title of ¿Related to Capterra¿ if you would like. It sounds like you already take advantage of our training, support, and other resources, but we would love to show you what other tools we have that might be helpful for you and your team. Thank you for your feedback, HomeAway Software

Replied March 2017

Jeremy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2022

Escapia just works!

Overall, we find the system to be well suited to any vacation rental business, large or small. It takes some getting use to as most software does, but the flexibility to set things up in a customized way is a big deal. And the support team for Escapia is second to none in the software industry!

Pros

We have many nuances to our business but Escapia seems to have the flexibility to set up for most business situations - we like having choices.

Cons

Since we often compare our vacation rental software (Escapia) to our long-term rental software (AppFolio) we realize it is more difficult to train and operate in Escapia - the system is unfortunately not very intuitive when it comes to set up. The user must know how to set up a new property for example as the process involves many different screens and applications.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Very Strong System, But Outdated and Clunky

Overall our experience with Escapia (separate from Expedia or Homeowner) has been positive. The support and staff are great, though it feels like we have to call support for just about everything. It gets the job done solidly, but is seriously lacking in efficiency and design.

Pros

The booking engine is strong and it is a well-established software. It never goes down and always performs its core functionalities. It has API connections with every supplier that we need. It also has trust accounting.

Cons

It is old and dated with very few updates in the last four years. The reporting and rate engines are frustrating to use and it has a number of oddities that make training and using difficult. The lack of connection to Airbnb is also a serious issue along with the "Price Consitency" rules from Vrbo.

Brittany

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Escapia is a staple PMS in the VR industry!

Very positive - would recommend any PM looking to have 20+ properties to consider.

Pros

I have used Escapia for over 8 years now (as of 2022). I love the escrow accounting side of things paired with reservation/calendar management. Escapia is easy to use once you learn the software and offers a multitude of reports/setup options to customize things the way you need.

Cons

I wish Escapia would integrate with more 3rd party tech companies and not have so much of a closed API feed.

Taylor

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Escapia

Great! We have used this software over 6 years and will continue to use it.

Pros

I love Escapia because it is very user friendly. This program is easy to use which makes the staff training a breeze.

Cons

I would say the program updates is what I like least due to not being able to use the program during that time. I will say- Escapia does a great job of scheduling these updates in the last evening or early morning when use it is a low.

Randy

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Great software for our business!

Customer support is very good, even if they dont have an answer they DO follow up with an answer and have worked through any of the issues we have had, which have been pretty minimal.

Pros

The software was easy to setup and configure, ramp up time for new users was pretty quick, the software integrates pretty well with most channels to post listing too.

Cons

The webpage that is part of the software is pretty basic and does not allow for a lot of customization, however most units are booked through other sites that we are linked too.

Javier

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Almost there

Very positive. It has gotten us this far. We hope to continue.

Pros

We use most of the features. We have our own accounting system for expenses, billing etc. including owner payout.

Cons

It can do more, hence the "almost there" title.

Sue Ann

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Best Software Around

We love Escapia! We will never leave!

Pros

The ease of use is great. The customer service is the best!

Cons

Not a thing! We are so happy with Escapia Software!

Gerardo

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Excellent PMS but needs modernizing

We used Escapia for more than 8 years but we had to always rely on third party solutions to connect with Airbnb, Inntopia and even our own website, so we decided to move away to a more modern and friendly solution. Bit don’t get me wrong, Escapia even though dated is extremely well designed and work very well.

Pros

The accounting, housekeeping and work order modules are incredibly well designed.

Cons

The pricing module is not friendly and cumbersome. Doesn’t have a direct connection with Airbnb and doesn’t have a built in website solution

Reasons for choosing Escapia

Escapia offered better support and it was a more natural step up for FRS users.

Reasons for switching to Escapia

FRS was dated as it was DOS based, but in my opinion it was (is) the best PMS ever made.

Becky

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

The ONLY software you need for Vacation Rentals!

This is your one stop shop. Escapia connects seamless to your VRBO listings, so you can manage headlines and guest inquiries right from Escapia. We have tried other softwares that boosted in helping our business, but the lack of support those companies gave us, ultimately made us stop using them. We have a million parts moving each day and we need a central hub that keeps everything on track. Escapia is that for us!

Pros

The support we receive from the Escapia team has been like no other software companies we have used! The changing over to Escapia was hard for our team who have been using v12, but the Escapia team made sure we were comfortable being going live. The new rates manager is amazing! It makes setting and adjusting rates a breeze! No more looking at different windows and setting rate rules . Its all in one screen.

Cons

We are missing some key reports we used in V12, but the Escapia team has listened to our requests and are working on new reporting for Escapia. Its a learning curve to switch software companies, but its been worth it.

Reasons for choosing Escapia

We choose Escapia because it was the full package. We knew this system would support our trust accounting and give us confidence in moving forward as our company was growing and making more and more reservations. Also, the Escapia team has invested with us. They didn't just give us the software and walk away. They stayed with us as we got up and running. They gave us the support we didn't even know we needed during a crazy year -2020! We couldn't run and grow our business without a PM system that we trusted and worked to help us grow. The Escapia team is listening to us with suggestions.

Reasons for switching to Escapia

V12 had reached the end of its software life.

Cathy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Escapia is a powerful professional tool to help you run your businss

A powerful tool for the complete needs of a vacation rental management company, from providing guest quotes, customizing guest arrival experience, to managing accounts.

Pros

The accounting side of this software is strong and a knowledgeable user has powerful tools. Owner statements are transparent and clearly structured. Correspondence is attractive and easy to customize. The various tools available for setting rates/manipulating rates are easy to use. The reservation grid is easy to understand, and the filters and quotes make the reservationists' work easier and more consistent. Integration with Glad Hospitality helps provide a good guest experience without much effort (once the initial setup is complete). The reports are informative and useful. Bank reconciliation tool is an absolute essential. Having used Escapia and other VRM software while working for other companies, when I started my own company, I knew the only software I wanted to use was Escapia.

Cons

Features for automated or scheduled correspondence are weak. There is no "notes" area associated with owners for keeping a record of requests, authorizations, etc. Because it is a powerful system, to develop the skills necessary to fully take advantage of its many useful features means you need to invest some time and effort. That is not really a "con" to me. If you have a good tool, you want to learn to take full advantage of it. However, for a new user, it could seem a little scary. But we found that it's not terribly difficult to learn what you need to learn in order to successfully take advantage of the system as a basic user, and that if you want to stop there, you can and you'll still have a good system. It's worth putting in the work, though, to become a skilled user to take advantage of the full capabilities of the system.

Hayley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Best Overall Management Software

It makes the ease of making reservation easy for our staff overall and the guests have less wait time on the phone while making a reservation. The ease of adjusting rents and creating rate rules allows for more revenue at the end of each year without any mistakes.

Pros

So many great things to say it is hard to know where to start. It is so easy to keep track of what is being completed where and by who. Always time stamps with names on holds, reservations, payments, refunds as well as email correspondence. The visual calendar is another added bonus because it gives a great overall picture of each home and dates that are and are not available so filing spots is very easy. The quick quote feature is fabulous as you can pick a home in the drop down menu and apply any filter and discounts that you already have up to any home easily. Web based is a very huge bonus because you are able to view any information on any device no matter where you are. The software also links up to many other sites so linking and sharing homes and rates is as easy as clicking a button and everything feeds right over. The quick search button at the top makes it very easy to find reservations that are valid or cancelled without having to use many steps.

Cons

When adding some new charges they can be hard to track if you are not 100% sure which report that you should be running to find them. Processing revenue can be difficult at some times when guests are in house and reservations crossover between months. This is mostly because if you need to adjust a reservation and revenue has already been processed it can cause some errors with commissions. Just have to be extra aware of what you are doing to not make any mistakes.

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Going Beyond a Necessary Evil

I like the changes we are seeing in Escapia. I still have some baggage from their past communication practices (starting around 2018) that have given me a lasting impression of a "like it or leave" attitude. By this, I mean that they would make sweeping changes that felt at odds with their service partners, with little window for feedback or interaction, all while knowing that there are few better alternatives to their platform. They've improved their communication since 2018, but I still find myself unsure if their changes are for the better of their PM clients. I think they are taking the right steps, however, and my trust is being rebuilt in them.

Pros

I like the gradual commitment to improvement that Escapia has been implementing over the past year. I think the COVID-19 crisis prompted urgent action on improving their software, now that most people in the vacation rental industry are working remotely. The UI changes and business/performance dashboards have made navigating and interpreting information much better.

Cons

The unit integration navigation still feels clunky. Thankfully, we don't have a substantial amount of 3rd-party apps that we need to integrate, but it would be nice to have a core integration hub that makes app navigation easier.

Joy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE