Rent Manager Reviews

4.35 / 5 (171) FrontRunners®

Our advisors have recommended this product 35 times in the last 30 days

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(90)

4 stars

(56)

3 stars

(15)

2 stars

(5)

1 stars

(5)

Feature Ratings Breakdown

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Funtionality

4.0 / 5
  • Pros

  • "I really like being able to keep everything in one spot. "

  • "Being able to customize at all levels. Online payment options are A++."

  • "This software can do A LOT, if you implement everything. It's a very comprehensive property management package."

  • "Offers more than Yardi - at a cheaper price. Lets you customize a lot. Easy to use Very stable Never had an issue with billing. "

  • Cons

  • "It takes a long time to load PDFs of invoices/CKs."

  • "Not very intuitive. Long learning curve. Can be clunky. "

  • "Not user friendly to business like us who have many owners along with construction and rentals."

  • "It freezes sometime and I have to reboot the program and start over.Sometime rent manager can get really slow."

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 171 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

December 2018

KEVIN from Klein Real Estate

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

CEO

The support staff at RMO is fantastic. They are knowledgeable, patient and results oriented. Overall, RMO is a world class product and I appreciate the companies drive to continually refine it for its customers. Finally, the best part of Rent Manager is it's people. Please continue your world class service and in doing so, showing the business community it is possible to maintain high standards of excellence.

Pros

RMO Customer and Technical Service is the best I have ever experienced, personally and professionally. I am amazed that I have spoken to so many technical reps and they're all great. The RMO in house training program for staff has been well thought out and it shows they take pride in employing and retraining qualified people.

Cons

There are some area's of the SW that can be modified or refined to be more of an end to end solution for our business. The process for changing or adding modifications to the software seems long and difficult. There are simple changes needed, like automated postings for Pacific Standard Time vs Eastern Standard Time that makes a difference for our business, legally speaking, but no one at the company is driving this modification. The change committee needs to evaluate and process requests faster in my opinion.

Response from Kari of

Replied December 2018

Thank you so much for your review and our Customer Support team says thanks for the shout out! We hear you regarding feature requests and we have recently created a whole team to evaluate and prioritize every request we receive. We hope this makes the process more streamlined so we can keep giving you the best software experience in the industry. If there is anything you’d like to see in the program, feel free to submit your requests here (https://www.rentmanager.com/customer-resources/customer-support/submit-a-feature-request/) and your request will be reviewed by the team directly.

May 2018

Laura from Glendale Development

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great Product & Customer Service

Make sure that the people on your team who are setting up the initial databases of market rents, properties and tenants understand all of the applications and functionality so you're not having to backtrack and fix it down the line. It makes the whole process so much easier.

Pros

It's a very easy to use system and has made the automation process of keeping track of our tenants/vendors/prospects so much easier. The integration with our payment system has made the first of the month a breeze and the Apply Now feature to house prospect information gives us one more way to follow up with those who had fallen through the cracks. Their customer service and help lines are extremely helpful, knowledgeable and timely. Any questions or issues I've ever had have been addressed immediately and with staff that represents the company well. I highly recommend this product and company.

Cons

There are many classes and webinars to help with the system and new feature launches, but an all encompassing help guide, that can be accessed by all members of my team with step-by-step instructions would make my life so much easier.

Response from Kari of

Replied May 2018

Hi Laura, Thank you for your review! We’re so glad to hear Rent Manager has been able to help your business and that you’re loving the automation RM can provide. Our customer support team really appreciates the shout out as well! If you are ever looking for a step-by-step guide, check out our Help File. Anywhere you are in the program, press F1 and it will take you directly to the documentation we have for that particular feature. Our Documentation Team is constantly adding new articles as new features roll out as well. If you ever cannot find something, give us a call and we’ll look into adding it for you.

April 2018

Kristen from All County NEO Property Management

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great software for our growing office and always provides us with exceptional customer service

Our office benefits greatly from using Rent Manager. I can't imagine how our office would operate without it's help. Each one of our jobs uniquely depends on this software to help us manage our tasks, time, clients, and tenants in the most efficient way we possibly can.

Pros

We have been using the Rent Manager software from day one, and I don't know how we would operate without it. We have been a rapidly growing property management company in Northeast Ohio for almost 3 years now, and we are all very thankful for how helpful the software is for us. Both our clients and tenants love the features they have access to in their online portals. The attention to detail the software offers us in every area is extremely helpful. The property groups feature has been a life safer for our larger clients, who have multiple properties and/or more than one LLC. The batched reports help to save me time, on the day we pay out our clients and send out their statements. Anytime we run into a problem we can't seem to figure out inside of our office, we contact the Rent Manager support staff on the phone for help. They are always very efficient and detailed when explaining a solution. They make sure that we understand the why's and how's something is done, in order for the task to be completed correctly. There have only been a couple of times when we ran into a unique question/issue that a customer service representative wasn't fully confident on how to correct. In both cases, the representative was honest in needing to get additional help from a supervisor to further look into fixing our problem. Which is huge, in knowing that they want to make sure that each in every issue is fixed properly and correctly. Could not be more impressed by the customer support team.

Cons

Spell check. Something we are looking forward to in Rent Manager 12! We at times have new clients who have trouble understanding the owner statements. We spend some time with them going over the initial ones we send out. We then explain in detail how each of our monthly statements are ran, and normally after the first meeting, our clients are able to grasp how they are set up.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied April 2018

Thank you for your review Kristen! It has been great working with you all these past few years and we loved attending your conference! Our support team really appreciates the kudos as well. I've made a note regarding the owner statements and we will look into a way to assist you with this training process. Since you are close by, if anyone from your team would like to come to our office for one-on-one training or vice versa, just let us know. We'd love to help!

February 2016

Cheryl from Hometime Property Services Ltd


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

Rent Manager software

Pros

This software is industry specific for property management. It works extremely well at intergrading all the components a property manger needs to deal with on a daily basis. Rent Manager allows you to keep track of your owners, properties, units and tenant in a very effective way. This software has the capability of tracking service issues which we use to record maintenance requests. These service issues can be linked to a unit, property and or tenant which will show in the history and notes making it easy to view and analyse. We have been on other property management software prior to this and find that Rent Manager is far superior product.

Cons

I can't say much to this question as Rent Manager has been very helpful in taking care of an issue that we have had with the software. The only thing I might mention is a few of their additional product sets, like RM Mobile and RMInspection, in my mind need a little more enhancements in order to work effectively for our needs. I am told they are working on some of our requests so I am confident we will see them in the near future.

April 2018

Russ from United Properties of West Michigan

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

After evaluating several programs including Buildium, Propertyware, Yardi and Appfolio, There is no better software than Rent Manager

I really cannot say enough good about them.

Pros

The depth of the ability to tailor Rent Manager for each individual user is unparalleled compared to any other software. They are the only Residential Software company that owns their own phone system and integrates directly into the software and every call is attached to either the tenant, owner or vendor history file. The support of Rent Manager is unparalleled, a customer really feels like they are the only customer they have when you call for support. They have a vast staff of programmers that continually update the software. If I look back the way we did business even one year ago, it is so different because of the continued automation features they continue to come out with. Some of the other software companies will tell you as they have told me that they are constantly coming out with new features also, however, they are two years behind Rent Manager and when they do catch up, Rent Manager will have that many more advanced features.

Cons

Many times when they release a new feature it needs fine tuning that takes a long time to get. Of course I am very impatient and what they come out with is still leaps and bounds ahead of the competition.

Response from Kari of

Replied April 2018

Hi Russ, Thank you so much for your review! We love working with you and the entire United Properties team. We hope to continue bringing you great features and we can't wait to show you what we have in store for Rent Manager in the years to come. Hope to see you all again at RMUC!

January 2017

Kasey from Meltzer Real Estate

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Not Perfect, but Very Good

We had considered other software before deciding on Rent Manager in November 2015. Rent Manager has been around for a very long time. They seem to understand what property managers really want/need based on the length of their experience. We like that there are a lot of options; the software is robust. Reporting, usability, cost, and integration (with our website/tenant application, a consumer credit company and other software) were important to us. We have been happy with the software in general. Their customer support is pretty good. They've been rolling out new features. We started on their older version - Rent Manager Xi - and have switched to the new platform - Rent Manager 12 - that was introduced February 2016. This was their first major software update in the last decade. Complaints about the older-looking interface are likely about Xi. I would say 12 has a look that is somewhat similar to Quickbooks. We are managing about 270 multi-site residential units and growing. (I understand some people use this software to manage other things like boat slips and salon chairs!) One thing we really liked about Rent Manager was that it scales up easily. We didn't want to have to go through another software switch any.time.soon. We heard that there are some property managers happily using the system with 1000+ units. One major difference between Rent Manager and other property management software options is that Rent Manager charges by the user login where others charge by the unit. We're about to add a new feature rmService which allows our maintenance team to use a phone app instead of the internet to access service requests and tenant info. Should make service requests easier to manage in the field.

Pros

- Customizable options (User Defined Fields)
- New updates being rolled out
- Reporting
- Customer support
- A lot of features
- Integration
- Cost for basic use...especially if you have a small staff
- Scalability

Cons

- Web design is wildly expensive! (The quotes from RM's design team are nearly the rate our independent web designer charges luckily you can get their user guides and use your own web designer (to create your integrated website, application, rental listings, etc.)
- A la carte features that need to be purchased for an additional fee
- Rent Manager 12 has some small bugs still being ironed out but nothing major
- Web Portal Suite (namely the MobileRM website) should be better/more user-friendly

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Feature-rich software for the rental home industry that is as simple as you can hope for.

All in one product for rental communities that is simple to use. Can do A/R, A/P, reporting, etc. There really aren't any major missing features.

Pros

For basic usage the layout is really intuitive and as manager of a rental property you could figure out pretty much everything you need just by poking around. You can do pretty much anything that needs to be done with this software and it has the accounting features that make it an all in one product. Customer support can be slow at times but they will always put in whatever effort it takes to troubleshoot your problems and all staff is in the US.

Cons

The help section is a bit lacking. It's more just a beginner how-to guide rather than figuring anything complex out. Plus, it doesn't indicate where certain features need to be manipulated on the back end. Reports are rather cumbersome at times and there are so many that seem too similar. A good wizard for creating reports would be nice. Creating purchase orders is slow, again, a wizard walk-through to get it all done as fast as possible would be nice.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied August 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are consistently adding new articles into our help file, so be sure to check back often to see what's available. If there is an area in particular you feel could use additional explanation, our training team would love to hear about it. Please submit a feature request here: https://www.rentmanager.com/customer-resources/customer-support/submit-a-feature-request/ with any ideas you might have.

April 2018

Ginger from Lane Properties of Charleston, LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

A great software team!!! We love the versatility!

Prior to Rent Manager we used Yardi for 17 years until they became too expensive and no longer catered to a small company base. This is so much better! Rent Manager listens to their customers. We couldn’t be happier!

Pros

The online RM12 version gives us the versatility of a complete accounting program (minus payroll of course) that allows small employers with mixed portfolios to use a single product. Outside Payroll options work great for us. The Rent Manager team is constantly listening to their customer base and makes product use seamless with a great support staff! We are a small locally owned property management firm with commercial, residential and self-storage rentals and have used the Rent Manager program since 2011. We currently manage 15 sets of books that include around 30 properties. The software allows us to set up each property based on its own rental type and each user can be restricted based on need. We love the user friendliness, training options and the program options available

Cons

We have not found a major con with this program. The development team tries to work with all parameters to find a work-a-round if not an immediate fix.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied April 2018

Thank you so much for your review Ginger!

May 2018

Dana from Dominion Properties

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Decent software for daily use.

Once everything was set up, the software was relatively user friendly and had a lot of capacity for maintaining information in a multitude of departments within the company.

Pros

This software can link your to a multitude of websites that really aid in effective marketing strategies. There are many different reports that can be ran that are beneficial to a multitude of departments. Generating documents and keeping track of document history was effortless. The customer support for this software is fantastic!

Cons

It can be a little tricky to set the software up to function how you need it too. When setting Rent Manager up to link information directly to our company's website and third party marketing websites, it was so tricky I had to spend a great deal of time with customer support to get things running how they should. Also, creating new reports was tricky and only one person in the company knew how to do it.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied May 2018

Hi Dana, Thank you for your review! Our customer support team really appreciates the shout out. If you ever need assistance with custom reports in the future, our Professional Service team would be more than willing to help out. They work with customers every day creating custom reports, custom tabs, custom integrations, and more. We also offer training such as our RM12 Scripting Virtual Classroom and weekly webinars stored in Rent Manager University.

May 2017

Nathan from Freehold Real Estate LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

A Wealth of Features & Could Always Use a Few Tweaks

Pros

It is a tenant-centric platform, allowing our residents to see their accounts and pay on-line, thereby reducing our central office workload. We operate 15 or so entities with RM and a handful with QuickBooks. From a financial analyst viewpoint, I prefer QB, because of the easy export features. Still, we have 1,300 + tenants and are re-building occupancy at newly acquired mobile home parks, so our focus is on providing the best face for our residents. QB was not doing that for us. This is a more comprehensive program tailored for the rental world

Cons

For some inexplicable reason, report exports to Excel do not carry the formulas over. It is a huge time waster for those of doing a repetitive analysis of multiple companies. I can only think this relates to some licensing issue. QB does it automatically and I miss that. In fact, I resent that RM does not provide that functionality and don't understand why they wouldn't provide this time and money saving convenience to their customer base.

Response from Kari of

Replied May 2017

Hi Freehold Real Estate LLC, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you have been having issues with our export to Excel function. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your software and I will pass your review on to the appropriate parties in our company for further examination and review.

November 2018

Joann from Limestone

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Complicated software, long learning curve, but good support

Pros

I was in charge of implementing this software, converting from peach tree to this. Excellent support during conversion, but this is a complicated product. Liked the bookkeeping side, but this is also supposed to push vacant units out to zillow, etc, and that is where we got on to the struggle bus. This was complicated, with a large learning curve. Did not like the website options at all, and found them clunky. The accounting reports were simple to set up & modify, and it was easy to transition to this product. Excellent option for a person that has multiple LLCs or multiple properties, as its very easy to separate. Excellent for 3rd party managers, as many bank accounts could be run from one place.

Cons

Website option templates were not very good, and it was very hard to get listings into Zillow the way you wanted, and get on to your own site.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied November 2018

Thank you so much for your review Joann! We're so glad to hear you are enjoying Rent Manager's account features and multiple property options. Our conversion team really appreciates the shout out as well! We are constantly building new Web Template Suite options and would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you more regarding website templates and online listings. I will have someone reach out to you shortly to see if we could set up a call to learn more.

December 2018

Gustavo from GDW developers LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Happy customer.

We manage several units for different landlords, and having an integrated accounting system to our management software, saves us (and our owners' CPA's) a lot of time as the information is readily available with different reports as per accounting standards. Also, the automation in online applications, payments and rent collection, made our work much easier.

Pros

Integrations with ACH third parties co's for payments and rent collection and Background check work seamlessly, making those processes automatic and effortless for the user. Online applications are also of great use, saving users the time of filling prospects information. Accounting integration is a plus, so no other software is needed for said purpose, you can even fill your 1099's and 1096's through RM.

Cons

In the new version (RM 12) when a property has several units in it, it is not possible to make chart of account transfers in a "per/unit" basis, same as reserves.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied December 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback Gustavo! It's great to hear you are loving all of the time saving features available within Rent Manager. If you ever need assistance with the program, give us a call. We're here to help.

February 2016

Brent from Sobol Realty, Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2016

Been with RM since 05, LOVE the recent upgrade of v12--offers a lot for the analytical end user

I like that it's free and open until 7pm eastern. There was a time when the phone reps didn't seem that well trained but that hasn't been the case in the last 4 years or so...we get VERY well trained support when we call in and they are friendly. Like the extremely detailed reporting that I can customize, great andriod app, user defined fields that we use a lot to manage the unique competitive advantages our business has, integrated VOIP is really cool, nicely organized software (such as prospects, customers, epay, work orders, etc), and on and on. There's a lot I like about lcs rm...event went to their user conference last year for the first time in New Orleans and our team enjoyed that. The pricing model isn't always ideal. Sometimes it's confusing. But that's perhaps par for most software companies. They have released so many new features so quickly (and they really are good features!) that about 5% don't work.....but they always fix them within a few a weeks of us letting them know. It's not web based yet...but then again, I tried a web based site and it was terrible!! I had such limited features. RM12. rminspection needs a bit more building out as it's kind of clunky to use but it does work and is helpful. I would like for them to have an affordability module but I hear that's in the works and from my experience when RM says they are going to build something, they do! If you like details and you like to analyse your data and you want REALLY strong financials ingratiated into your resident management, than this is for you. RM also appears to be on the leading edge of web and app integration with the core product. My company of about 40 gets excited when RM makes new releases because it's usually something cool and different that we can use. Like texting with residents and voip integration.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied February 2016

Hi Brent, Thanks for your great review! Our pricing is a bit different than most. We would rather customers only have to pay for what they use and help keep costs down the best we can. We hope you are able to attend RMUC.16! We're excited to be back in Florida and really missing the warm weather at the moment (it's currently snowing here). If you would like, we are sending out weekly release notes for RM12 that go over all the new features, updates, and fixes. To sign up to receive emails, please visit: https://www.rentmanager.com/customer-resources/self-help-resources/emails/ Kari Digital Marketing Coordinator

May 2018

Linda from Hartwig Property management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I have worked this program for 6 years now and I love it

Pros

the drill down feature.
Being able to find Tenants with different information. All of us use different things so remember different information. I use names, another worker uses Owners and another uses addresses.

While speaking with Owners, I can always get the answers I need from this program to help answer any questions they have.

Cons

I would like to customize the reports without extra purchase
I wish there was a book to reference when training someone new to the program.
Videos work some but most of the people I have helped train are hands on learners and with a book, I could show them some and then let them explore the systemn with the book.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied June 2018

Hi Linda, Thank you so much for your review! We've loved working with you over the past 6 years and here's to many more in the future. Each month, we offer Virtual Classroom training sessions, which comes with a digital workbook for further training. I will also mention the need for other workbook options to our training team to look into for you.

May 2018

Christopher from Columbia River Properties Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Rentmanager has been a positive factor in the growth of our company.

Pros

You can petty much customize the program to fit your operation. Being able to intergrate our screening, maintenance, reports, phone system & website & e-commerce into one system for our office is a tremendous asset. It allows our office to function smoother and more efficiently which in turn, allows us to handle more properties with less personnel. Rentmanager is continuously upgrading the software and introducing new modules that can be incorporated into your operation. I also like that the company is privately owned and carries little or no debt.

Cons

Converting from the Rentmanager 11 to the 12 version took more work than I anticipated. It can be difficult keeping up with all the changes and additions that are continuously happening.

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied May 2018

Thank you for your review Christopher! We're so happy to hear Rent Manager has been able to help grow your company. With all the new additions, be sure to check out RMU. Our training team is working hard to add new courses each week to discuss any new features that have been released. Your account manager, Nick, is always more than welcome to walk you through any recent releases as well.

May 2018

Susan from All County NEO Property Management

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Positive Experience with Rent Manager

Pros

The most recent version, Rent Manager 12, is a much better user experience and comes with many improvements; we just converted on May 7. The staff overseeing the conversion did a great job in helping us be prepared and we converted with very little issues, all of which were resolved quickly. Additionally, we have had very good experiences with Customer Support and think that the company does a good job of listening and considering suggested enhancements.

Cons

There are a few minor navigational items that could be improved but nothing we would consider a major issue. As with any software, you'll always find yourself saying "I wish it did [this]" but it serves the purpose well for property management companies.

Response from Kari of

Replied May 2018

Hi Susan, Thank you for your review! We’re so glad to hear the conversion process went well and we can’t wait to see what all you do with Rent Manager 12. Let us know if you ever need assistance or if you have any thoughts on how we can make our program even stronger.

June 2019

Walter from Adams Agency

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Best overall property management program

Being the manger of all work orders, I am BUSY. I can be out in the field take pictures, notes, add work orders, anything I want to do all over my phone. No matter what time it is. Online support is quick and will not stop until they fix it. No more can a tenant say that we didn't fix anything. I can have pictures, time frames, and they sign.... Thank you rent mananger

Pros

Online is the best ever
App make life so much easier
unlimited memory (online)
Support is the best, will show you step by step or get a group of people to fix it
Adding work orders is so easy and i can have every step stored
I could keep going all day

Cons

Online is alot to learn
Logs you out too quickly for not using it

Response from London Computer Systems of

Replied June 2019

Thank you so much for your review Walter! Our customer support team appreciates the shout out as well! We do have a security feature in place that will log you out after a specific length of inactivity in the program. Please reach out to your sales rep or sales@rentmanager.com to see if something can be changed regarding this feature.

December 2018

Danielle from United Apartments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Highly Satisfied

Pros

Very user friendly, the sky is the limit for functionality, and customer service is exceptional. I have had conversations with all departments of Rent Manager, and everyone I have ever talked to has went above and beyond to make sure we are satisfied and that everything is working properly. Our account manager from Rent Manager is always reaching out making sure we are aware of all the updates to make we are utilizing the program in all areas, and always checks in to make sure we are happy with everything. I can't say enough good things about this company.

Cons

I can't say that I have anything bad to say about this company. Any time we have a complaint or issue it is always addressed and they always follow up.

Response from Kari of

Replied January 2019

Hi Danielle, Thank you so much for your feedback! We