All Zight (formerly CloudApp) Reviews

1-25 of 183 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Fraser

Marketing and Advertising, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2022

The handiest tool for image capture

User Profile

Shane

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

Amazing App, I Wish There Was More 3rd Party Support

PROS

In the cloud storage game, it's hard to battle against giants like Google Drive, Dropbox, Amazon, and Box. But CloudApp is a spectacular cloud storage option that allows customization of the URL for links, privacy settings with either passwords or expiration dates, easy upload and share, almost everything you could want.

CONS

Being that it is much smaller, it often goes overlooked by other services. I would love to see more places have CloudApp integration like they do Dropbox. While CloudApp is my preference, I end up still needing Dropbox or Drive because of the integrations and accessibility offered by those services.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Easy to use, saves you time, deserves a refresh

Now that it is no longer CloudApp the tool is back to being one of my favorite and most useful.I hope they keep up the good work to improve the tool further.

PROS

Easy to use: Zight is simple and easy to use, you have all the basic functionality you'd expect from a tool like this, where you can trigger the screenshots with shortcuts and record your screen by clicking 2 buttons.Multiple features and options: The tool is flexible, in the sense that it allows you to take screenshots, record your screen, upload files, record gifs, and annotate on images, basically everything you need and expect from a tool like this.One of the best editors: The annotate option is one of the best out there, it allows you to very easily draw and add elements such as arrows, and shapes and even blur the text with ease.

CONS

Many of the features were broken for a while they were still CloudApp, fortunately they have fixed many of the issues and the tool is way more stable now.I'd love to see improvements on the UI side of things, perhaps just a refresh to make this tool look more modern.Some improvements to the elements (arrows and shapes) provided in the annotate option would also be welcome, to make sure the files that I share with customers look more professional and high-end.Would also be great to have the ability to record calls using Zight, which right now is not possible as it doesn't record the audio from tabs in the browser.

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

Markup Hero was not as flexible as Zight, it lacks features.

Vendor Response

Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback on Zight. We're delighted that you find our tool easy to use with a range of useful features. We've addressed past issues and are committed to improving stability. Your suggestions about UI refresh are noted, and we're exploring these enhancements, so stay tuned for future updates! And we appreciate your suggestions on the annotations and ability to record calls and will add this to our roadmap to look into in the future. We're thrilled to be one of your favorites and appreciate your support as we strive to make Zight even better. The Zight Team

Replied September 2023

User Profile

Dmitry

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2021

Worst Customer Service I have ever experienced

We have been cloudapp customers for more than two years with 16 purchased seats. Lately we downsized because of corona and I was planning to reduce those seats to 5. Unfortunately I missed renewal window by one day, i.e. it has been renewed yesterday and I removed unused seats today. Then I contacted their customer support asking for refund. They said they don't give refunds for whatever reason. Yes, I understand it's in their terms and conditions, but it does not matter, it is still the worst customer service I have ever seen. Mistakes happen. I made a honest mistake, I was late with cancellation for just one day and they essentially stole my $1000+. I don't really know how else to call it other than stealing.

PROS

I somewhat liked the software itself, even though it's pricey and there are plenty of alternatives.

CONS

They don't have any customer service, what they have are account managers who always try to upsell you.

User Profile

Marco

Verified reviewer

Translation and Localization, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Perfect tool for visual communication

As a relatively techie company, often times we need to share screenshots or short videos of the many programs we use. CloudApp helps us share these images and videos efficiently with our distributed team, in just a few click.

PROS

CloudApp is the ultimate communication tool for teams. With just a few clicks, you can record your screen and share it with your team in seconds. I especially like the fact that you can create animated GIFs, something that isn't available in similar software.

CONS

The landing page created by CloudApp when you share a video or a screenshot isn't as clean and polished as I'd like it to be. But other than that, it's an excellent program.

Reason for choosing Zight (formerly CloudApp)

I'm still using both: CloudApp and Greenshot. CloudApp has more featured, especially the animated GIF, that's why I'm using it over Greenshot.

User Profile

Jovan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Best tool for screenshots, videos and gifs

CloudApp skyrocket collaboration with my team. Everything going much faster than before.

PROS

I use Cloudapp daily basis with my team and collaborators. The functionality of this app is more than great, every screenshot or GIF you create can be shared very quickly via sharable link.

CONS

I think I like almost every aspect of this app. More space on the free plan always warmly welcomed.

User Profile

Piotr

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Fast working app for screen and video sharring

Sharing screen with comments, and making video with software/website problems couldn't be more simple.

PROS

Shortcuts for everything. Really fast option for a screen share with comments for other persons. Shourctus for everything. I can't imagine daily work without cloud app

CONS

I don't have. in these 5 years of cooperation, I needed support only once

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

I don't remember why I switched - i wanted test new tool, and now it's 5 years later

User Profile

Maurice A

Verified reviewer

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Screenshot sharing done easy

PROS

I LOVE how easy it is to share (or save) screenshots with your teammates. Once you've installed the app, is as simple as just pressing the keyboard shortcut, select what you want to record and presto! A link is automatically copied to your clipboard and sharing takes "paste", and that's it! Aside from taking a full-screen screenshot or a partial one, you're able to record your screenshots in a video or a one-minute gif. It helps when you want to explain/show your teammate a process.

CONS

I don't have anything negative to say. The app has a bunch of cool features, but I only use it to share screenshots/recordings quickly to my teammates and haven't had any issues with it.

User Profile

Fraser

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

The handiest tool for image capture

It is one of the handiest tools in my online toolbox and saves me a lot of time now that I don't have to clip screenshots and then save them as images and upload them to an email. Now i can just paste the URL of the screenshot for anyone to see immediately

PROS

It is simple to use and makes sharing discoveries and problems with your team or with a support team so much easier

CONS

The Windows app has previously been a bit unstable and did not work properly for a while but recent updates have cured this.

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

Took too long and fuddly

User Profile

Karen

Verified reviewer

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Quickly share and embed videos!

Overall its been a win for me and people are impressed when I share a video instead of just typing a response to a question they may have.

PROS

I work with a lot of people remotely and sometimes an email is not the best method to communicate. It's easier to record a video and share exactly what I need to. CloudApp solves that plus it easily integrates with my project management tool so people can just click and watch the video while in the app. I can also down the original file and upload it to other video sharing platforms like YouTube.

CONS

On a rare occasion, it can glitch when opening but it's a rare case for me. Usually, I just restart the application and its fine.

User Profile

Rithvik

Verified reviewer

Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Best screenshot app ever

Good service to share details with your team giving design feedback, commenting system is good to discuss the design, great tool to get your tech tutorials more attractive.

PROS

Cloudapp makes it so easy to record your screen. Making gifs is so easy with cloudapp. Just not that they offer tons of storage to save all your recording and screenshots. Commenting system just a charm and so helpful to let my designer know what changes I need on my website. I even use CloudApp on my blog where I write tutorials. This just a great service.

CONS

Never felt anything left just hoping for an android app launch soon.

Carl

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Big fan, love it!!

I'm a huge fan of CloudApp. Been using them for the last 6 months. Started out where a few of my team members in the customer support team were using it, so I jumped in to give it a try too. At first I was just using it to take a few screenshots here and there, but what ended up being hugely helpful in my day to day support workflow was being able to answer our customers questions with a quick custom video. We get a ton of questions from our customers but they don't always quite understand our documentation. We do our best!! But with CloudApp I can send a short video that I personally made in 10-15 seconds answering a question visually, rather than writing out a couple paragraphs of text. Since we use Zendesk, I find myself wishing that CloudApp had a Zendesk integration. Usually I have to copy a short CloudApp link to a ticket or upload the gif directly but I'd love to see it made a bit easier. Visual search had been really great so far too. Would love to see a Giphy integration so I can search for my stuff and maybe search for something that makes me or a team member laugh that I could share. Last thing would be our Intercom client. We get a lot of customer tickets from our website and if I paste a link into a chat it doesn't show a preview. Intercom, if you're reading this, get that fixed!

PROS

1) Huge time saver. 2) A much easier way to show my team (or friends) a visual to answer a question. 3) Works extremely well in my support team

CONS

1) It doesn't have a Gmail/Chrome integration. 2) They don't have a great mobile app. There's a few in the App Store but none of them give as good as an experience as their Mac desktop app.

Vendor Response

Thank you Carl for your amazing review! It is greatly appreciated. Best, Derek Rey / CloudApp

Replied August 2016

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Works great at picture and video recording

My experience with CloudApp has been very positive. it's easy to use and the automatically cloud save feature means I never lose my work. The ability to group media together and share it as collections has resulted in some really positive client reactions.

PROS

CloudApp provides easy-to-access (via the system tray in Windows) screenshot and video recording ability that automatically uploads to the cloud for easy sharing. I've found it invaluable for taking quick information screengrabs that I can send to clients to show them how to do something, as well as for capturing stuff that I need to send to teammates for information.

CONS

It can occasionally crash or hang, and you have to restart it to get it to work again. The user interface for the video recording can feel a bit clunky and hard to understand at first, but once you get the hang of it, it ends up working fine.

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

CloudApp was more comprehensive and the cloud storage was a big selling point.

Daniel

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

A must for Support team

I have implemented the tool for our Support team and before this I have done research of similar tools. Cloudapp had the best features, better price and a great support/customer success team which made it easy to implement.

PROS

With one simple shortcut you can create a screencast (Video or GIF), screenshot (with or without annotation) and send to your users in chat. Cloudapp has greatly increased our Support teams productivity. It is also very useful for building reports or knowledge base internally as you can simply drag and drop the screenshots or screencasts to Atlassian. Very helpful when creating internal documentation for other agents.

CONS

It would be a great addition if the video screencast would also record audio (like screenflow) as sometimes we need the audio recorded as well which is happening on screen when trouble shooting or recording bugs related to the product.

MINA

Online Media, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

My to go app for screen capturing

One of my best buys so far. Worth every penny and I recommend it to everyone all the time.

PROS

I got it on sale. It lets me use my own branding and subdomain. It's light on any computer even my slow laptop. Frequent updates and new features. Customer service is super responsive. It's like an online database of all my screenshots vs my older to go software which would only take a screenshot and save it on my local computer.

CONS

There has been a problem with the annotate tool on Firefox on both my home computer and my laptop which prevents me from annotating any of my screenshots but I haven't really contacted customer service about it. It might be related to a plugin on my browser or something. But I don't really use that feature that's why I don't bother asking customer service about it.

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

It keeps all my screenshots online. This way I can work on them later when I'm not home even from a different computer.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

CloudApp Just Works

I enjoy using CloudApp several times each day. You can set a custom domain to maintain branding across all links. It's easy to share a link and, if you wish, to download the linked file directly. It's not the only link shortening/sharing app out there, but it is clearly one of the best.

PROS

Once installed, CloudApp works very well, with options for creating GIFs, recording video and more. There are integrations right out of the box for Trello and Slack, and a variety of ways to annotate and share.

CONS

I use Droplr, too, and in some ways I still prefer its UI/UX, though CloudApp has improved by leaps and bounds over the past year or so. It's been recently bought by Microsoft—which can be a good thing or a bad thing (consider the Wunderlist saga). Time will tell.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Best drag-and-drop file sharing solution

CloudApp simplifies our workflow when we need to share screenshots and files to people outside of our organization. We highly recommend it!

PROS

The reason we chose CloudApp is the MacOS integration in the menu bar. We used WeTransfer before, which required us to go to their website to upload files, but CloudApp allows us to just drag and drop our files to the menu bar, and it creates a shareable link for us.

CONS

CloudApp successively increased its pricing, without much justification and added features. I was quite disappointed to see the lack of new features over the last 2-3 years. Also, storage prices dramatically decreased over time, so it's hard to understand why they keep increasing their prices.

Micah

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Helpful Features; Free version as well but more limited

PROS

I love that I can quickly capture my screen or create a video (with webcam and audio as options) to share with a customer that I'm serving (or a team member to view). The annotation tools are incredibly helpful as well.

CONS

At times the video doesn't save/upload properly, causing some frustration until resolved. This doesn't happen often (and never using the free version for some reason), but is frustrating when it does.

Reasons for switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

Screencast wasn't cutting it and we needed something a bit more robust and affordable for our entire team.

User Profile

Gabriel

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY