All Take Control Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Tyler

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Quality service at a great price for small businesses

Never had any real issues with the software. Support team has been very good about getting back to us in a timely fashion

PROS

Where some other applications have issues on both PC and Mac, Take Control is a great example of how well the software can operate with both systems. The console is easy to use and also offers a USB loaded version of it to take on the go. Having the subscription cover per technician and not per node allows a small team to be extremely versatile at the flat monthly rates

CONS

No rebranding available. Most of our other platforms and service options have a rebranding scheme that is lacking in Take Control. We use this primarily as a backup connection should our RMM remote have a problem

Reason for choosing Take Control

Pricing

User Profile

Lucas

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Remote Access with everything you need and nothing you dont

A very simple tool with all the features you need, like unattended, audio passthrough, file transfer etc. It just works.

PROS

A very simple tool with all the features you need, like unattended, audio passthrough, file transfer etc. It just works.

CONS

Not much to be honest, N-Ables support can be an issue.

Reasons for switching to Take Control

It came integrated into N-Able RMM at the time and its was a welcome product

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2018

Not user friendly

None at all

PROS

The products drag and drop functionality with transferring files is wonderful. The groups make it easy to find machines as well.

CONS

This software has more bad points than good. Seeing the screen is very difficult unless you change the resolution on the client screen. If you use the zoom functionality you have to scroll all over the screen. Each session opens in it's own window so if you are doing a large upgrade and need many open it make sit difficult to use. Some of the default settings such as to log the person off when you log out of a remote session make support harder.

Eli

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Good Product as a Complment to Solarwinds N-Central

Overall, I am happy with the product, but I would prefer to not need to buy additional services to compliment what is integrated with N-Central.

PROS

Take Control standalone is a good compliment to N-Central. This product is integrated into N-Central, but that versions lacks ad hoc connections for systems tht are not already added to the system. Using Take Control stand alone lets start connections for users on machines that are not already in Solarwinds N-Central.

CONS

The fact that we needed to purchase an add on product to start ad hoc connections is a bit disappointing. his functionality really should be integrated into N-Central.

Reason for choosing Take Control

We are already using the version of Take Control integrated into N-Central, so complimenting it with Take Control standalone for ad hoc connections made sense.

Jaden

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Great for remote management

I use this every single day and I have very little complaints about it

PROS

I love the take control feature. It makes it very easy to work with clients and assist remotely. It is also very useful for working and connecting to my machine remotely

CONS

Takes a bit to connect to the workstation even after the workstation has been turned on

Reason for choosing Take Control

Ease of use

Reasons for switching to Take Control

Company acquisitions

Andrew

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Take Control: Just Works

Awesome. Love it.

PROS

It just works. Fast connections. Tons of features, built in multi-pane file transfer w/ multi-queue, pause and resume functionality. Automatic reconnect Lightweight integrated chat, system shell, information, full audit trail.

CONS

It's hard to find a glaring Con with Take Control. ~2-5% of installations occasionally have an issue (integrated NCentral version of TC), however I have never seen a simple quick reinstall fail to fix any of those issues.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Great software with many features

I am able to support my clients with ease and provide A+ support at a reasonable cost.

PROS

* Easy to navigate once you have a basic understanding of the interface * Agent software is easy to install and has a lot of features to help manage a clients computer * Request help feature is fantastic. Simply guide a client to the website and ask them to select the request help option which allows you to assist them without installing the agent.

CONS

* The agents tend to fail randomly due to updates but this can easily be rectified with the new "repair agent" feature.

Jacob

Law Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Take Control Allows Me To Assist Users With Ease

PROS

Take Control's Many Options to Execute Commands, Assist Users and Manage Updates are some of the best features they have to offer. But wait, there's more! The asset information provided by N-Able, like Disk Space, RAM Usage (And Slots!), CPU Usage, and Program Statistics are invaluable to helping find the root-cause of the problem at hand in a matter of moments in most cases. Remote Control has a wide variety of control options, physical KVM-like control, Command Line and Powershell execution as well as a built-in file browser make it perfect!

CONS

I dislike the hiccups we occasionally have, sometimes the agent won't install properly, or the device won't populate for a little while, but that's not often enough to be a really big deal. Typically we just reinstall the agent and it fixes itself.

Kelly

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Solid Remote Support built on years of Usage

I've used take control for years with the N-Central monitoring tools and consider myself a professional. Take Control is a very nice value add for that package and a pretty nice remote management tool in of itself.

PROS

It offers more in depth tools when connecting to a system, but not the user desktop, such as file browser, cmd/PS windows and registry editor.

CONS

It lacks interactive tools such as mechanisms to install software on the fly. It does do a good job of allowing easy file transfer.

Mathew

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Director of Services

Ease of connecting to clients. Ability to see who is logged in and where they are on our network.

PROS

Ability to stay connected while re configuring network settings. Switching netowrks VPN's etc.

CONS

I currently have an issue. I cannot see chrome screens, and some windows screen areas. So far I've seen this on two Laptops that are running Windows 10, on is on 1903 and the other is running 1909. I need to call support on this yet. A second issue, I upgraded a PC from Windows 7 to Windows 10 it still shows up as Windows seven in the Devices list under OS.

Reasons for switching to Take Control

Just to many PC's to support the old way.

Giovanni

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

software poliedrico

lo uso quotidianamente per fare helpdeskper l'accesso a macchine su cui è installato il servizio è comodo e intuitivo, però è molto macchinoso quando bisogna accedere al pc di un utente tramite il download del client

PROS

Il software è leggero, intuitivo, soprattutto installa un servizio in windows che consente l'accesso senza che l'utente dall'altra parte accetti o invii richieste.E' comodo perchè è possibile ridimensionare lo schermo, comodo il trasferimento dei file anche senza loggarsi nella macchina.

CONS

lentezza del primo avvio dopo che il cliente scarica il client per accesso one-shottroppi passaggi da far fare all'utente remoto per consentire l'accesso

Reasons for switching to Take Control

più economico e completo

Patrick

Computer Hardware, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Awesome Remote Control Software.

I am able to help the majority of my customers with Take Control which saves me time on the road going to my customers' place.

PROS

I like the ease of setup on both the Technician's computer and the Client's computers. I also like the "911" or New Session feature that allows me to send my customers to a website and download and setup temporary help sessions. The reporting function is very handy when it comes to billing.

CONS

The one thing that I don't like is the software's inability to save screen size and position. I find that I am resizing my "Window" a lot. It is a small annoyance that I have been able to work with.

Reasons for switching to Take Control

Price and ease of use.

Gonçalo

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

Great alternative for helpdesk businesses

I've used MSP Anywhere for quite a long time. It's a great product for internal and external helpdesk teams, with multiple ways to provide attended and unattended support to our customers, usually fast and very simple to use. But what I like more is the customization options it offers: a plethora of security permissions for managing technicians, branding, and some sleek functionality like average waiting time information until a support request is taken. The price is also good, much better than Logmein or screenconnect.

PROS

Price, customization, ease of usage.

CONS

Integration options can be difficult to setup if you are not a developer, but at least the documentation is good.

User Profile

Doug

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Solarwinds quality in remote support

As I do most of my work remotely this product has been steady and reliable in both maintenance and support of end users. I very happy with the product.

PROS

I had used LogMeIn Central for years, but the cost increased to an unaffordable price. I tried many different alternatives, but couldn't find a suitable product until I found Take Control. It has proven to be reliable and at a fraction of the cost of LogMeIn.

CONS

I would like more features to include an msi package to push out in AD. The screen blanking feature has had issues, but has gotten better.

Reasons for switching to Take Control

Overall cost

Kane

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Great product to help customers

It's great, I think it's an essential part of our day to day use to help customers as quickly and as best as we can

PROS

updates frequently so you're protected, allows you to just remote onto a customers pc so you can help them as quickly as possible.

CONS

the two screen option is a bit difficult, as it could just show two screens if you've got 2 but it makes you have to switch between

Justin

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Great solution built into our ticketing system to remotely view computers

PROS

It is easy to view our managed computers. When users are having issues, the IT admin just launches take control and you can see exactly what the user sees. It also supports multi-monitor environments.

CONS

Since a third party manages the software for us, we don't have access to reports.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Okay, but there are better options

PROS

The connection quality and speed is fine, and the features that they offer are what I would consider standard remote support tools. Connection speeds are much improved from prior versions.

CONS

Compared to alternatives, this solution lacks in some more advanced features. It's possible they've been added in recent versions but I've stopped using this tool in favor of other options.

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY