All Insight Reviews

1-25 of 137 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Hannah

Consumer Services

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Great program for my salon

I've been using insight for 11+ years at the salon I've been working at. Just recently opened up a salon in my own home, and chose to use the ro gram for my new business as well. I have now used the installed version and the cloud version, and both are easy to use. If unfamiliar with the program, it takes a bit to set-up, but the customer service is great, so they can help you out so you get the most from the program. Highly recommend!

PROS

Easy to use and has all the information I need to run my business.

CONS

I'm not a fan of the iPad/iPhone version. True touch screen capabilities are lacking, as you have to find the cursor and drag with your finger. Would like to have an installed version for Macintosh computes as well, as opposed to just the cloud version.

Suzanne

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

Very easy to use

I love the ease of reports and download to quickbooks for simplified bookkeeping process. The online booking is excellent for customer convenience and retention. Some suggestions for improved performance are: #1. On line cancelation notifications so that stylists are made aware of schedule openings due to on line cancellations. #2. Individual Employee specific service selections that can and cannot be booked using on line booking system.

PROS

On line booking, download to quickbooks,

CONS

Can't personalize the system, not really user friendly for hair salon with chair renters that have individual prices and services offered. On line booking system should have a notification tab to advise of a cancellation just as it does for an online appointment booked.

Vendor Response

Suzanne, I believe that most if not all of your concerns can be taken care of in the software already. Your best bet is to call customer service at 1-800-805-4532 and ask about the best way to handle these things and they can work with you to personalize your copy to work the way you want with your renters and the online booking and cancellations.

Replied February 2017

Tara & Sharon

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

Reviewed December 2014

Our thoughts and suggestions

Time factoring is a major concern to the user, if you have several clients waiting, this system is not efficient in that area. When working, the SMS system is great, but we have had several occasions when there have been glitches with this. (this means lost business to us) Customer service has been helpful, and eventually problems are solved, but, this too can take a while, interrupting our business operations. Unfortunately the glitches are occurring to frequently, especially after you perform an upgrade. Below are a few suggestions that I hope can be reviewed/implemented 1. We have found it frustrating that we can not highlight a clients multiple treatments booked, & move them as a group. 2. Having an easier process to see if, and to put someone on 'ACCOUNT' or 'IN CREDIT', would be of help. 3. Highlighting money owed in red (for example) would be helpful. Even highlight money in credit in green (for example) 4. Being able to click and drag an appointment to another operator without having to go to the "confirm appointment screen" and change name would be a good timesaver. 5. Being able to shrink or stretch an appointment with out going to the "Confirm appointment screen" 6. End of night, when completing the "Stop & Cash out" step and then entered the money on the next page, if "Save" is pressed do a second option to "Print". . (there is no back button process that I can find) 7. In the "Payment/Receipting" invoice screen, if doing a % discount of eg 4 of 6 items, being able to Highlight/tick each discounted item, then put a group % discount through, leaving the other 2 at set price. 8. When 'Receipting' a service, and then adding a 'series' at that point, having the option to use the 'service' of that day would be very helpful. (so a second invoice is not having to be done)

Vendor Response

Tara & Sharon, First of all thank you for taking the time to provide a thorough list of suggestions. I am hoping we can coax a better rating out of you based on the fact that many of the things that you are asking for have been part of Insight for years. A couple of things we definitely don't yet do, and things like "an easier process..." are always a little subjective. However, I think that some time spent with a support rep will help you to be able to do many of those things you are asking for that you might not realize how to do yet. I am going to have a support rep contact you to go over your list and have them show you the things you can already do and clarify the rest so our developers can consider building them into an upcoming release. We are always looking for client feedback to improve the Insight program for everyone.

Replied December 2014

Buffie

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

Love love insite

Customer service is fantastic ! Anytime I need help they're always so helpful, friendly and never condescending. A special thanks to Tara Woleben, who was so gracious with me!

PROS

Everyday ease. Great customer service

CONS

Features that seem too complicated. Whish someone could personally come down to explain

Vendor Response

Buffie, Thanks for the review. While it would be nice to be able to personally visit every one of our clients to show them all the features, that might get a little expensive and time consuming. However, our support staff can log in to your computer over the internet and show you any of the features you are confused about to ensure that you are able to fully utilize the software and reap all the benefits. Just call customer support whenever you have some free time and they can go through it with you.

Replied November 2016

Brittanee

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Insight has been a great software change for our salon. It is keeping us more organized! thank you!

My inventory and sales are more organized, it has helped train my clients with the world of "online" - its a step up for us to send out email confirms and not phone calls... Tech support is always there to answer my questions and I really appreciate that! Hoping the phone app gets improvements to prevent crashing, otherwise, we are happy with Insight!

PROS

We like the ability to pull multiple reports, and the detail in which you can record items. Customer Support has always been very helpful and I appreciate that tremendously!

CONS

The frequency in which the app crashes...too often! The only other con would be that you have to bundle so many add ons....we would love to use text messages, and have multiple log ins...but that in addition to growing our team would more than double our price.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Brittanee! Please give our Support Team a call at 1-800-805-4532 so we can look into the trouble you're having with the mobile app. Also, we recently announced "Insight Deluxe Cloud" which includes text messages with your monthly subscription. Check it out on our website!

Replied August 2017

Bill

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Excellent Salon Software

The software is feature rich but most importantly (coming from an IT background myself), the support is absolutely the best! It can be a little "clicky" esp in Reports, but I am very happy overall.

PROS

It does what I need, is fairly intuitive, and is feature rich.

CONS

Reports, which I use quite a bit, is a little clicky, especially when printing. I wish there was a way to regulate all the confirmations when printing and just be able to click once for things (i.e. selecting a Stylist). Also, sometimes I have to hunt for things (i.e. confirming the appointment for an online booking).

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Bill! We'll take your suggestions into consideration as we continue to optimize the user experience.

Replied November 2016

Randi

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2017

Working through an apple can have it's challenges

I find sometimes the cloud version is extremely slow lately which makes it frustrating on occasion. I also find there is extreme wait times for support when calling sometimes. I know this tends to be the norm for most support numbers however; I found it much faster when I first signed on with Insight than lately. I find there is also some issue when using apple with Insight. Challenges hooking up to certain hardware. The cloud version didn't even allow me to use my barcode scanner anymore. Super frustrating. Overall Ok value for the price but definitely lacks some of the seamlessness other companies have. If I were to expand, I'd likely shop around.

PROS

Email reminders

CONS

The inability to use seamlessly with any Mac product with the exception of the iPhone App.

Latrice

Cosmetics

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2016

Good to not have monthly fees

I enjoy using insight. It is very easy for my employees to nativagate. If there is ever something that we can't do we can always contact them and they will walk us through using new functions. My favorite part is owning the software and not having to pay a monthly fee.

PROS

The ease of the layout. Auto Responders

CONS

Tips are not incorporated into the credit card forms. We have to ask prior to completing the purchase.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. The new EMV (chip & pin) card payments allow for your client to select the tips (% or $) on the actual pin pad device at the time of the transaction so you will no longer need to ask. You can contact us or your processing company to upgrade your payment processing to the EMV standard at any time.

Replied October 2016

Joy

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Love this product

I have been using Syntec for almost 10 years (back when it was called Insight) anytime I've called customer support if they don't answer the phone right away they are quick to get back with you and take care of your problem. We did beta testing with them when they were developing the software and called fairly often and not one time where we disappointed. I think that says a lot for a company. The only time I ever have to call in now is when I can't figure something out the program works for me seamlessly. The program also offers a ton of features for what I feel is a fantastic price!

PROS

The price and how easy it is to use.

CONS

I would have to say if there's something about this product I don't like I haven't found it yet.

Amy

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

I have had Insight for years now and love it!

PROS

I like the ease of use and that all of the stylists are able to book appointments from their phones!

CONS

I don't like how much it costs for text reminders to clients. We are a small salon with independent stylists.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback, Amy! As we offer true, two-way text messaging (not simply email-to-text), there is a cost for sending SMS. Depending on how many text messages you wish to send, our Insight Deluxe Cloud plan may be a good option as it includes a monthly SMS bundle.

Replied December 2017

tal

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2018

slow ,too many clicks,not clear

NONE!

CONS

Nothing. This program needs an upgrade urgently.Dealing with customer service in the States....need i say more. Plus for Canadians its in US DOLLARS.

Vendor Response

Tal, Perhaps you should check your facts before posting. The software is being constantly upgraded and if you are referring to the "look and feel" you have the ability to customize the appearance to look any way you want it to (something none of our competitors offer). While we do have offices in the USA, we have our customer support offices in Edmonton AB Canada and our sales office in Richmond VA. So, when you call for support you are talking to Canadians. Lastly, you have been billed your monthly subscription fees since Sept 2016 in Canadian funds not US Dollars as you claim. We appreciate that clients are free to have an opinion however yours is based on the fact that you told us yesterday that you were going bankrupt and told our staff member to go "eff herself." Please grow up and behave like an adult.

Replied March 2018

Jason

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Insight Salon Software is a great value

Salon Software does a great job with their Insight software. They recently updated their online booking software and it's much better. It's really nice to have an online booking that doesn't just make booking requests. It's real-time. The rest of the software and reports are really robust. There are things I could knit-pick about, but for the money, it's a really great value and it does a great job.

PROS

The real-time online booking, the mobile app for IOS & Andriod, and their customization settings.

CONS

Inability to build our own reports.

Kathy

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2018

Terrible Customer Support

Don't waste your time or money, there are much better products out there. Big thumbs down on this program.

PROS

It has potential to be a powerful program, but the lack of training and customer support, along with the terribly written instructions rendered most of the application useless to me.

CONS

Difficult to use, difficult to learn, terrible customer support, very little training or assistance with set-up. Lots of reports, however, most of them are pretty useless. I had to re-enter my data into other programs to get the reports I wanted. Instead of saving me time it added more time to manage my business. Way overpriced for what you get. Customer service people were not very nice or helpful. Caused me a lot of stress.

Anna

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Very Affordable

I have been using insight in my salon for six years. It was easy to learn and very affordable compared to other booking/POS systems that do not offer half of the features. The only thing that Disappointed me was that I purchased two additional licenses to run insight on other computers and they were VERY slow. I had IT come in and try to figure it out with no success. Customer service keeps saying it's a problem on our end... I'll never know! So we only use it on our main computer and the app.

PROS

Affordability

Angie

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

The Best Salon Software!

We've been with insight for 9 years and love it. It does everything going email need it to, and, most importantly, it supports full payroll. It makes everything so much easier!

PROS

Full payroll.

CONS

I wouldn't mind a few, more specific reports and some different functionality regarding resources.

Vendor Response

If you have any ideas for new reports, please feel free to submit them to requests@salon-software.com and we will do our best to work them into an upcoming future release.

Replied December 2016

Krista

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

I have had Insight for 10 years and it's improved greatly. I am very satisfied with this software.

PROS

The customer service is speedy and attentive. I enjoy the fact that they are always willing to problem solve with my team and improve reports when we need something changed. It's very easy to navigate through reports.

CONS

Sometimes the reports haven't made sense and we've called support and they usually try to fix it asap.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Krista!

Replied August 2017

Laura

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Insight for salon & spa

It has worked great for our salon! We are contemplating the online version but still reading reviews.

PROS

Record keeping

CONS

When it gives errors and that you cannot add a tip to the gift cards when people purchase them

Vendor Response

Tips can be added to the amount of the Gift Card purchased and you can also include the amount of the taxes as well. If you need help in knowing how to do this feel free to call customer support and ask.

Replied December 2016

Lori

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE