All Pikmykid Reviews

1-25 of 137 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Carrie

Education Management, 51 - 200 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2021

PikMyKid is a Game Changer!

Kathleen

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Great program that is up-to-date for the changing environment.

PROS

We have been using PikMyKid for many years now and find that it has really helped with our dismissal process. PMK made some very exciting upgrades to help schools during the COVID-19 crisis. We were able to make our own questions that parents needed to answer before they dropped of their child for the day. After using this for a while, we realized our questions were too general for the situation. It was very easy for us to go back in and change those questions, both English and Spanish. Dismissal is a breeze and quiet! We would recommend PMK to any school who has a need for an easy, organized dismissal system.

CONS

It is hard to find a "con" with this program.

Reasons for switching to Pikmykid

EPager is a generic dismissal system similar to PMK. It was designed by a college student for our school to have a dismissal system. We used it for many years before PMK was created.

Caroline

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Best Dismissal Management ever.

PROS

On the staff side, very user friendly. Much better than walkies and overhead announcements.

CONS

While the customer satisfaction reps are GREAT, I wish there was a way to upload corrections to the database. I also wish that rather than using their generated "School ID Number", that the primary key for students was the actual student number issued by the state.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy our platform is able to help schools like yours. We do have the ability for schools to use their own ID numbers for students, but mostly recommend against it for security purposes (used in the app for pick up, can be displayed on car-tags for quick lookup etc) and also length of numbers could effect efficiency in some cases during dismissal. If you would like to adjust the IDs ahead of the 2021-22 school year please let us know-- we would be glad to help. We also offer SFTP sync options if you would like to explore that for automatic data corrections via your SIS. We look forward to helping further enhance your PikMyKid experience!

Replied December 2020

Nino

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

student dismissal during pandamic

PROS

Easy way to manage dismissal for students to allow for social distancing.

CONS

announcement features in the classroom need to be more pronounced and visual. Several times throughout the year, it seems to be glitchy.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

"Makes dismissal a snap!" from Teacher

I use this product as a teacher and a parent. Once you learn how to use it, and from a parent's perspective, where you need to be in line to check-in; our school wisely put up a stop sign that says "PIKMYKID check in here," it works wonderfully. It is easy to see in real-time how a car/parent is moving through the lines so we can quickly and safely get students where they need to be. There was a ramp-up time of a few weeks, but now that we've been using it all school year, things are going quite well.

PROS

I can quickly see every student and where they need to be. The real-time aspects of the dismissal and dispatcher view are excellent. I can broadcast it in my classroom and students can see when and where they are in line, allowing for a quick and efficient dismissal process. Parents or school staff can update students pick up in real-time, allowing for last-minute changes for activities,

CONS

It took a while to learn how to correctly use the features, and which dashboard to be on to be able to accurately dismiss students from the classroom. You need to have robust parent training as well to ensure that parents only use the check-in feature when they are in line...or your dismissal will be off.

Megan

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Easy to implement, easy to sustain

PROS

Roll-out was stress-free. PikMyKid had prepared videos and PDFs to train both faculty and parents on how to use it. I spent zero time creating how-to documents! PikMyKid offers the ability to have a Spanish translation. The product is quite customizable! You can customize the alerts the teachers receive, the alerts that go home to parents (I especially love the notification for parents who have not yet filled out the morning health screener!), the check-in questions, and more! PikMyKid support has been super helpful and timely in their responses to both me and and the parents at my school.

CONS

We did encounter a few mistakes with student grades/phone numbers from the file we sent for PikMyKid to upload. While it was only a few students, we didn't know about it until it was in front of us and a problem. However, they were quick, easy fixes. The check-in feature is not that intuitive. After clicking the blue "check-in" button, then the parent has to also click the check mark by their child's name. Most parents think the check mark just means that they checked in successfully.

Aaron

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

Works Great!

Peace of mind. We now know exactly where our students are. Communication is better, and interrupting the classroom with change of dismissal for individual students is a thing of the past.

PROS

The software does exactly what it says it will. I can use this software with confidence that everything will just work. Notifications are huge for us! Parents are now consistently kept in the loop.

CONS

I wish the parents could have a web portal as well instead of forcing them to use an app. Also, you need to make sure you have good wifi outside for checking parents in. Once that is done, you are all set!

Vendor Response

Hey there Aaron, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Thank you for pointing out that "The software does exactly what it says it will". We work hard to stay loyal and true to all that we market to consumers. In regards to parents having a dashboard, we will discuss and work it into our next survey of improvements with our schools. And yes, good wifi is a must. Which we can now help with depending on the school's wifi structure. "Peace of mind" is what we strive for. Thank you, Aaron, The PikMyKid team

Replied October 2019

Hannah

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Efficient and easy to use!

PikMyKid has allowed us to streamline our dismissal process. We need fewer people to help supervise the students outside since we have fewer students waiting at one time. In addition, the app has cut out all the phone calls in the afternoon, freeing up our office staff to tend to other matters.

PROS

Launching PikMyKid was very easy to do. Our parents love the efficiency and only having students who are "announced" outside in the carpool line means we need less supervision during carpool time. We used to get lots of phone calls at the end of the day with parents changing their afternoon schedule and our office staff having to send messages to the classrooms, making dismissal time quite busy. We no longer get phone calls! Parents simply change their schedule on their app and the teacher is able to direct the students to the proper dismissal area, cutting out all the back and forth communication. Especially this year, with COVID, we are able to stagger our dismissal to keep the cohorts separate and it has helped us tremendously with our ability to open school, in-person.

CONS

I can't think of anything negative about the software/program.

Reason for choosing Pikmykid

We chose PMK for its ability to customize. You can use the simple basic functions of just carpool or add all the afterschool activities and even use it as a sign-in/out tool. The flexibility and the ease of use are the reasons for choosing this, and we are very happy with it.

Monica

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

PikMyKid

PikMyKid has completely changed the pick up process at our school. We are able to function more effectively and efficiently.

PROS

PikMyKid is an easy to use product that facilitates the management of students on campus. It enables safety and security of students and streamlines the pick up process.

CONS

Despite ease of use, older adults are hesitant to use it.

Cynth

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Assistant Director

Parents enjoy this type of pick up and drop off. It also allows us to know who is in the building.

PROS

I like being able to send immediate text messages to parents as well as know who has been announced for dismissal

CONS

Some parents seem to have a hard time with the ap working

User Profile

Samantha

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great for ease of mind and security each day.

PROS

We loved how we knew how each kidddo was going home each day and the accountability was on the parents to get us the right information in a timely manner and in a consistent way.

CONS

The confusion of the way things were labeled made a bit of a mess at dismissal time as well as the problems we had with the app.

Vendor Response

Samantha, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear you say the real-time paper trail has assisted your daily dismissal. Over time, we have taken similar feedback and have worked to make the dashboard more user-friendly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Replied October 2019

Chelsea

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

PikMyKid has gotten much better and easier to use over time

PROS

It's very comprehensive. If all stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately, it's possible to know the dismissal plans/whereabouts of each and every student within about 7 seconds.

CONS

There are a lot of small things that make PMK less user-friendly than we would like. You have to take absent students out of the system one-by-one, you need to log out and in each day in order to have updated dismissal plans (some teachers have a hard time with this), and it took a long time to get enough buy-in with all of our stakeholders for it to truly be effective.

Vendor Response

Chelsea, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to see you point out how well it works, especially if all of the stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately. This is crucial to implementing a new safety system. We appreciate you pointing out PikMyKid improving over time, we take criticism and feedback very seriously. We want our schools to have the best safety system in place for their students. Per the multiple similar feedback requests, we have updated the system to allow bulk selections. We hope this has helped resolve a few of these issues for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Replied October 2019

Tammi

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Pikmykid a Success Story

Pikmykid has definitely stream lined our dismissal process. We have much fewer incidents of children being in the wrong place at the end of the day. Our teachers have a way of verifying who should be in their bus line, in real time. The office has a way of checking for changes for all classes, at any given time.

PROS

The software has dramatically reduced the number of phone calls we field in regards to dismissal, especially at the end of the day. The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office.

CONS

I don't like that if a student moves out of the district and I delete the student from the system, and then the student returns to the district and I have to enter them as a new student - instead of just reactivating them from a stored data base.

Vendor Response

Tammi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. The part you mentioned about parents, "The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office." This makes us so happy. We are working out these data-based issues currently. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Replied October 2019

Brian

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

My experience has been good overall.

One of the benefits is that we are able to use a three digit numerical system to process our students in and out of school, making it easier and more efficient for parents and users at the school.

PROS

The Pikmykid software is relatively easy to use for everyone. The login process is very easy for users.

CONS

The software seems a little "glitchy" at times for parents and school users. There is no real "ALERT" feature that I am aware of at this time (to my knowledge). I would like to see the software offer some sort of ALERT feature that allows administrators to add-in for personnel NOT authorized to pick-up a child; the feature should be able to upload a photo when available; If the UNAUTHORIZED person attempts to pick-up the child, the person using Pikmykid could press a button/icon on the phone that would alert the teacher of the student and other designated personnel that he/she is onsite and the other parent or authorized guardian and the authorities should be called. If the incorrect student number is put in the system, it is usually easy to remove student by pressing the "x", but some times, the software only allows for the student to go into the "HOLD" section.

Brooke

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

PMK has really helped streamline our dismissal process!

PROS

I love that it is so easy to use. The customer service is amazing as well. Our rep is always there in a pinch to walk us through an issue.

CONS

There are too many ways to run reports. This should be a positive thing, but I find it difficult to know which report to have our teachers use. It is also confusing to distinguish between a delegation and a change mode. Parents use both.

Vendor Response

Brooke, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We love hearing that PikMyKid is user-friendly. We take many strides to make our app and dashboard as easy to use as possible. We understand the multiple reports being a bit of a nuisance. We are always working to improve based on school needs, stay tuned! Thank you, Brooke, The PikMyKid Team

Replied October 2019

Sandy

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Parent Pickup Plan

PROS

I was amazed at how convenient this was to implement. Adding new student information was also convenient. Parents appreciated using the APP to assign different pickup options. The teachers are able to see on their screens who is on campus before sending the students out to the pickup lane to be picked up. Thank you for the Stop Sign! It works great! It is a good reminder to parents to check-in.

CONS

There are a few things that would be useful. The ability to change the pickup time for the early dismissals earlier than the day of. A calendar where all the dismissal times could be put in for the year and then changed back the following day would be wonderful. Another change would be the ability to add more families to the active line. Another recommendation I have is to make the print darker. It is difficult to read the student names etc. The print is very light.

Latrice

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

We really like PikMyKid

PROS

The easy use of the app, the parents understand how to use the app, our teachers understand how to use the app, its very user friendly

CONS

There are cliches at the worst times but I don't think there is much we can do about that, if the user has an old version it doesn't work, communicate sooner when a new version is approaching

Vendor Response

Latrice, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. User-friendly is music to our ears. We work so hard to make sure our systems are easily used as we have a large variety of people that use it daily. We understand the updates can cause glitches. We update often to adjusting to the majority of schools' feedback. We will absolutely work on notifying schools prior to updates so you can notify your parents accordingly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Replied October 2019

Karin

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

PIkmyKid Review

PikMyKid has been an absolute lifesaver for our school. We quadrupled the number of parents picking up their kids in cars. There would have no way for us to manage the car line and pick up safely during Covid without this site and app. The teachers all control when the students leave their room based on bus and car arrival. We can even enter after school activities and tutoring. Parents love how easy it is to announce and it allows us to control the situation without face to face contact. It has been such a blessing.

PROS

I love that parents control where their child needs to go at the end of the day and it has eliminated the use of notes and paper trails.

CONS

I do not like how difficult it is to fix a dismissal mistake when a user accidentally dismisses a student. It is very challenging to get that student back into the que.

Joseph

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY