All Flowdock Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Art

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

next level chat tool

we use to have internal team chats + extra alerting from 3rd party services.

PROS

I like the way how Flowdock connects the team chats with external alerts that can be setup easily in the app.

CONS

it doesn't look as friendly as in slack, but again - way better than teams ;-) also the mobile app is slow sometimes.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Good IM but needs a little more to compete with other IM alternatives

Very good IM option, user friendly, promotes communication, just needs to include more functionality out of the box.

PROS

The threading system in flowdock is very intuitive, the thread replies are not hidden within the general chat, but instead they are color coded, so you can quickly identify what/who you are replying to, and at the same time, your reply is visible to everyone in the chat, not only to the people in the thread, which promotes communication between every contact in the chat. There is also an option to add hashtags to the messages, that is very useful when you have to search for specific things in the chat history.

CONS

A lot of functionality in flowdock comes in the form of an integration, you have to add plugins in order to do other things, like screen sharing, that could be already in the tool, like its competitors do.

Adam

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2020

It worked, but wasn't competitive

It was the convergence of tools and conversation, so effectively it did help. I always felt like developers could get more out of Flowdock than roles like mine, in Sales. I just used it for chatting with colleagues.

PROS

It did offer instant communication and it's best feature (compared to competitors) was it's notifications - which isn't really saying much

CONS

The app was very unstable on my Mac. I always had to use the browser version b/c the app crashed and was unreliable. The iOS app was probably worse than the Mac desktop app. That was a bummer - the app is vital.

Riswan

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Flowdock review

Easy to communicate and resolved communication gaps among the team. Everyone in the team is aware of what’s going on in the project and it helped our team to avoid some status meetings which saved all of us time.

PROS

Our first collaboration tool that saved our mailbox capacity and encouraged our team to instantly resolve any clarifications without waiting for too long. It helps our remote team to collaborate easily with all other teammates.

CONS

I don’t think a desktop version exist now for Mac. Browser based version is not so user friendly. Support by CA technology is limited now for this tool.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Nice way to collaborate

Overall pretty good at what it does. Allows conversations to happen where the whole team can see and interact with them.

PROS

It is pretty nice in terms of threading conversations and keeping multiple conversations separate so people can read an entire conversation together.

CONS

When someone screws up and doesn’t people thread they are the only one who can fix it, but only if they do it right away.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

The Diet Soda of Communication Apps

It's a fine option for certain companies I'm sure. I mean when mandated it's a useful communication platform where people can get work done and build relationships. I just have had a horrible mobile experience. From receiving notifications about new messages that when I go to read causes the app to freeze and crash, to being told while in the app there's a new app update and then not finding a new mobile update in my mobile app store. It's frustrating how the browser platform works well enough for me to want to consider the mobile app version, but then the mobile version makes me want to leave the software completely.

PROS

I like the ability to sync the software with Amazon S3 to keep an archive of all conversations/files. The desktop/browser version of the product is useful and dependable.

CONS

The mobile app experience is really quite painful.

User Profile

Rhondalynn

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Good solid product

PROS

There is a lot to like - it is easy to streamline and organize team communication.

CONS

I personally have had quite a few issues getting logged in via my iPhone every single time there is an update. That part is a pain in the backside. Not sure why the mobile set up is not as easy as the desktop - browser or app.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

The best Slack alternative out there

PROS

Flows were invented in this app basicallyVery lightweight design, nothing distractingQuite fast

CONS

Native mobile apps always had some sort of delay with notificationsNative mobile apps weren't as good designed as desktop

Rachel

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Searching is Difficult, but No Other Complaints

PROS

I like that you can custom sort your Flows in the order you need. I like that you can close images/gifs. I like how all threads show in the flow, and they are color coordinated to distinguish them.

CONS

The search tool returned too many results. You had to know what key words to search for, and it didn't seem to return the specific phrase you typed, but rather returned all posts that contained any word in your query.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Good product, but not as many features as competitors

PROS

You could customize a lot of the features of Flowdock to allow you to make this work for your organization.

CONS

Other software does the same thing, and more easily. Plus there is no native video chat available.

Adrian

Sports, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2019

Great Value Slack

PROS

It has a dark theme. But now other software does too. So not really worth anything.

CONS

This is the "great value" (read: Grocery store brand) of software. Its cheaply thrown together, it has none of the great developer features like slack does. All the plugins it says it has, have not been maintained in a very long time so most of them don't work. You are constantly barraged with notifications since it does not have granular notification options. This software is horrible.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

If Flowdock is cheaper than Slack for your organization, go with it.

PROS

It's the same features and functionality as Slack with the brand recognition for a cheaper cost.

CONS

Nothing, it works well at a cheaper cost. Which is efficient and okay for most small-medium organizations. I'm not sure how well it would scale with support.

Sneha

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Enhanced Team Communication

PROS

We used Flowdock's threads to organize our project discussions, which made it easy to find past conversations and kept everyone informed.

CONS

During a busy project phase, I found it hard to keep up with the constant stream of notifications and missed some important updates.

User Profile

Trey

Verified reviewer

Program Development, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Decent Communication Tool

PROS

Web, desktop, and phone applications Threading of messages Rethreading when you thread fail

CONS

Lack of multi-individual direct messages All messages of all threads showing up in the flow timeline

User Profile

Emilio

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Interesting yet simple IM client.

PROS

It is a web-based solution, so it can be accessed from anywhere. Threads are easy to follow.

CONS

Embedding web-content is not as well implemented as on other solutions (slack).

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

A very good communication tool

A very good communication tool

PROS

We are using flowdock for communicating with our onshore counter parts. It helps faster execution time without any delay in getting a reply compared to email. All team members will be on same page which is a great advantage.

CONS

Search is a bit confusing and should be better if we have more filters

User Profile

Mike

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2018

As good as slack

PROS

Very easy to use, lots of api features to connect with other apps, just as good as slack in my opinion.

CONS

The mobile app crashes every so often, not sure why.

Lawrence

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Everything all in one place (communication, integrations, and notifications)

PROS

I like how versatile the software is and how easy it is to use, at first you may think of it as just another chat application but in actuality it helps to make our teams more efficient by providing lots of integrations with different SaaS offerings. It also has the ability to search across those integrations which is great when you are on support and need to find something that happened in the past really fast!

CONS

I have only used it a short amount of time, but I found that it can kind of get overwhelming when you have a lot of flows in the organization. For example, we have over 200 flows setup and it is a little bit hard to know which flow to open to find what you want.

User Profile

Ben

Verified reviewer

Defense & Space, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Good Value Software

PROS

Good software and makes it easy to communicate with my team at work.

CONS

There are a few kinks which make it not as slick as Slack, but overall a good app.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2018

Too Clunky

PROS

I enjoyed the fun little reactions like slapping someone with a fish. It was a charming feature to an otherwise very uncharging product.

CONS

There's just not enough to it. Can customize anything, including colors or icons for your different groups, the design looks very dated, the mobile app glitches constantly, and messages hardly ever load. You can't suggest Flowdock if you've ever touched Slack.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Flowdock

Not worthy, some tools are cool due to constant use, I prefer more user friendly tools which works more well for me

PROS

+ Instant messages, you can create groups to connect with. + Logs are also a good part of the product. But most of the stuff is offered by other products as well.

CONS

+ Definately needs a better and user friendly Interface. + Needs more interactions with other tools like ca agile within a single product so anyone don't need multiple UI's.

Showing 1 - 21 of 21 Reviews