All On the Stage Reviews

1-25 of 64 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Josh

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

On The Stage - We Couldn’t Do Theatre Without Them!

Why would theatre people want to work with anyone other than theatre people? We wouldn’t, and OTS is the best there is. Not only do they understand the industry at a professional level on down to a small community theatre level, the team at OTS is actively working to make our main job easier - doing excellent theatre. I cannot recommend them enough, and I always recommend them new colleagues in the performing arts world.

PROS

It’s ease of use; ANYONE can learn how to use On The Stage quickly and effectively. From box office transactions to creating events to important analytics, OTS does it all easily. And guess what? If I can’t figure a feature out the AMAZING OTS support teams are always there with an answer.

CONS

Event registration is a new feature, and right now is it the absolute best? No, HOWEVER, given our past history with OTS this system will grow and change based on ease of use. Overall, I have no negative comments or thoughts about OTS.

Mallory

Performing Arts, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

The Perfect Platform for Small Theaters!

My experience with On The Stage has been incredible. I feel valued by the team and I've been over the moon checking out the customization and fundraising options. It's an incredible program backed by one of the best and most communicative teams in the industry.

PROS

On The Stage is an easy to use platform that is absolutely perfect for small companies that perform in traditional spaces. You can create your own customized website with a few clicks, easily sell ticket, create seating charts, integrate merchandise and fundraising, and even put out a high quality program for your show. I really can't recommend this site enough for any traditional theater companies or spaces.Also the team behind On The Stage is incredibly kind and attentive. They WANT you to succeed and are happy to help you get there. They are also always on hand to answer any questions, fix any problems, and listen to your requests for new options and features. Several new features have been created even in the short time I've been using this product.

CONS

As a non-traditional company ourselves we've realized that On The Stage isn't our best fit. We don't often produce shows on a stage. We create immersive and interactive shows where we need audiences to be part of the zoom experience, or where we need multiple showtimes in a single night because we're doing short immersive phone calls that have months long runs. I don't necessarily think that our problems should be something fixed, I just think this platform is for someone who isn't us. I still 100% recommend On The Stage to anyone doing traditional shows. I have suggested it to all of the small traditional companies in my area. It is an absolutely amazing product and service.

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

We were looking for more customization for our ticketing pages and fundraising integration.

Bennyroyce

Performing Arts, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

OTS Useful for Self-Producing Performing Artists

ON THE STAGE has helped me promote and sell tickets for my dance projects.

PROS

The customer service and support from OTS staff is great. They are very helpful and professional.

CONS

More design features and options for the ticketing website would be great, like changing font types, etc.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

Good customer service.

Adam

Performing Arts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

On The Stage is a great product for your theatre regardless of size.

Our overall experience has been great. They are very committed to raising the quality level of the online experience for even the smallest of theatres.

PROS

On The Stage makes online ticketing a breeze regardless of the size of your venue or event. OTS is extremely user friendly and their customer service is top notch. My company has used OTS for several years now and we couldn't' be happier with the product. They are constantly striving to improve an already great product, and on top of that they are a company that truly cares about your success. The wide array of features they offer make it your one stop shop for everything your theatre needs online, form ticketing, to programs, to fundraising. You can do it all at On The Stage.

CONS

Honestly there is very little we don't like about OTS. It has been super easy to integrate into our current website, and is very easy to use on the backend. Every time there has been something we had an issue with or thought might be improved on, we have mentioned it to the staff at OTS and if they aren't already working to improve it they take note and have seemed to address it in the future.

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

All the features that OTS offers and the overall professional looking appearance of the ticketing website that our patrons interact with.

Michelle

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

OTS Gets Us and Makes Us Look Good!

PROS

On The Stage has definitely provided a one stop show for our scheduling, ticketing and marketing purposes. It always looks good and is easy to navigate for our customers as well as our staff. As a small theater it feels good to know that our work looks good and compares well to the larger houses!

CONS

I wish we could automatically collect more data and upload contacts into our separate data base.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

They understand theater and the theater going experience. They care about small community theater and the customer service was real people who are ready and eager to help you!

Tim

Performing Arts, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Thank you, On the Stage.

Even with some of the notes above, I still appreciate the site and plan to continue use.

PROS

Love the relative ease of setting up ticketing, love the look of the individual ticketing site. Love the Cust Experience.

CONS

The platform is geared a little toward the middle of the road, trying to please both professional theatres, schools, community theatres and more. This can be frustrating at times; I need to have the professional tools, not the summer camp tools or the more youthful oriented things. Eventually, I think you'll have to split the services into a Pro and a School version with a different set of needs, ESPECIALLY around ease of use for reporting after a show has closed.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

pricing, ease of use, and readily available to address my issues during Covid

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

During Covid, I needed specific seating management to keep people safe as we returned to live performance.

Aaron

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

OG User of OTS

I've been a user since the beginning and I've never even considered going back to any previous vendor.

PROS

The responsive nature of the team and the agility that they demonstrate is only surpassed by their collective commitment to development and growth for their clients.

CONS

It isn't the cheapest option. It is by FAR the highest quality. The cost of quality is real. You get what you pay for...

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

I also used ShowTix4U previously. None of the other companies I've used offered the same level of attention, engagement, support, and inspiration. Truly, trying to push the envelope of my programming to meet the potential that OTS offers has really helped me grow.

Donna

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

So simple and easy

Mostly, setting up tickets for each show saved me a ton of time, I can check ticket sales anytime day or night at at glance, and questions were answered immediately. It is so easy, clear and quick.

PROS

I was so impressed with the ease of set up. Step by step instructions were logical and easy to follow. Personal assistant is amazing for quick answers to any questions.

CONS

There is NOTHING about it to dislike. We were a little hesitant about the price, but it is so worth it.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

Recommended by 2 other theater companies.

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

It took half a day to set up per show, was hard for patrons to navigate and understand, and most of the time door sales wouldn't work.

David

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

The Black Bullet Dichotomy

Good and user friendly

PROS

The Virtual capabilities allowed me to execute a smooth and good looking project.

CONS

I couldn’t obtain a copy of the livestream performance on tape

Reason for choosing On the Stage

Price point

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

To get an uninterrupted experience-copy of usable livestream

Jennifer

Performing Arts, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Great Customer Service

Overall, I feel On the Stage works incredibly well for ticket sales and fundraising for organizations that don't have a lot of time to commit to either function.

PROS

The customer service has been the best feature of On the Stage. Everyone has been wonderful to work with, and is very responsive to questions.

CONS

I wish I was able to use the program for communication with our donors and patrons, outside of ticket sales and fundraising.

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

Brown Paper Tickets made some terrible financial decisions that resulted in organizations not getting paid.

Sharon

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Love On The Stage

Always great and support is always available

PROS

Ease of use! I love that we don't even need to see a ticket from the customer. Everything is on the site.

CONS

I wish there was a website component. I think a website would make this product top tier.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

We were courted by your sales department

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

Ease of use and created by actors in the industry

Dan

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

On The Stage Delivers Excellence

On They Stage has completely allowed us to have an on-line ticketing presence that is easy for us to manage and easy for our patrons to use.

PROS

On The Stage has so many great features. As a small community theater, OTS handles so many functions that a full-time box office staff would normally handle. The features I like the most are ease of setting up an event, website hosting, payment processing, reports, marketing tied into social media, and fundraising. The OTS team has been wonderful every step of the way! The onboarding was wonderful and when new features are introduced the onboarding continues. Every time I have a question, one of the OTS team follow up with me quickly. We never feel alone when using this product!

CONS

There is very little that I do not like about On the Stage. One thing I wish was a little more maleable in the marketing messages tied into social media and email. I would like a little more control over when those posts happen and what the posts say. After almost 2 years, the messages are pretty much the same. Changes to the messages would allow us to be more fresh in out content.

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

OTS had better service, easier set ups, and is more nimble than other products.

Brent

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

OTS provides much more than ticketing for the Arts

OTS is the ticketing platform of choice at a great cost. I would recommend to any arts organization.

PROS

Our College switched to On the Stage this past year and we could not be any happier and pleased with the software and what OTS has to offer both for the internal and external customer. The Client Support is Superb with great communication from your account manager. The system provides layouts that make it easy to build events for your next show that look great online and easy to navigate by your guests to purchase tickets. Automated e-marketing which is a plus for all your events and they offer merchandise which is amazing as well as easy to use. All around a great ticketing platform that is easy to use by all.

CONS

I would appreciate updated and more efficient reports that generate from the platform for the shows.

Charles

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Exceptional Ticketing Service

Has made ticketing much easier and customer friendly.

PROS

Reliability, ability to have multiple users entering data simultaneously, features that enable us to provide good and individualized customer service

CONS

zoom in/zoom out function on seating chart is way too sensitive and results in screen getting shrunk or expanded to ridiculous proportions. Accessing some functions can be unnecessarily cumbersome and/or unintuitive.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

The start up was greatly helped by being able to speak with actual humans regularly

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

Original ticket service was cumbersome and rigid and it was nearly impossible to customize seating charts.

Samuel

Performing Arts, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Leighton Dance Project LOVES On the Stage

The autonomy found with this platform is wonderful. In the past we have experienced the inability to finish or edit things in a timely manner because we had to wait on a third party. But being able to have someone savvy in the platform from our internal team to make these edits has helped tremendously! Our industry moves so quickly and we have to change things on a whim. This has allowed us to do those things on a high level without waiting for another company to do it for us.

PROS

When researching the right product to use for our company I came across On the Stage and put it on my list to look into. I narrowed down our selection and scheduled a consult. Right off the bat the welcoming environment of all the team members I worked with solidified our choice. They were inviting, funny, and listened to our needs to see if we would be a good match for each other.After signing on their customer support and our account manager has been able to navigate us through the platform quickly, and make edits with me in our ever changing industry! What an amazing team.

CONS

As always the only feature that we are missing is one that integrates with our current CRM. It is through no fault of On the Stage, but our software will not integrate with the program. Something that would be helpful for performing arts management would be the ability to pull and send reports, cast lists, allow ticketing purchases, etc. between the platforms. We are a dance studio of around 700 kiddos and would love to have integration between these platforms.

Heath

Arts and Crafts, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Life-Altering for this Small Theater!

I did above, but I'll reiterate here:

PROS

For us, On the Stage was a no-brainer. We were doing ticketing and donor management and all of the other things on this list by hand before we transitioned to OTS, which was not only time-consuming and cumbersome, but also prone to human error. OTS has increased our efficiency and reach in ways that we could never have imagined. It makes ticketing and running reports and tracking show data SO EASY. It is very user-friendly and intuitive, even for Luddites like me. And don't get me started on customer service. Fast, friendly, highly responsive, and smart! I have recommended OTS to EVERY SINGLE THEATER GROUP I KNOW since we started. We at Black Swamp Players LOVE LOVE LOVE On the Stage!!!

CONS

Honestly, there is nothing I really dislike about OTS. When there is a new feature, I have a bit of a learning curve, but that is more me than OTS.

Reason for choosing On the Stage

Not applicable

Marty

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Very nice for community theater.

It is wonderful to have emails and social media posts go out automatically. Our volunteers have their hands full with all aspects of production, and the auto marketing is terrific! Also fantastic to know that any questions we might have are promptly and skillfully answered.

PROS

We are a small community theater. On The Stage has been very helpful for us in managing our online ticket sales at a very reasonable price. They are continuously adding new features, have some terrific resources and educational opportunities, and the customer service has always been responsive and helpful.

CONS

While we haven't found anything missing, we haven't taken full advantage of all of the features, as we are all volunteers and learning/implementing new features takes time, which is at a premium. One suggestion I would have is to allow the cast to be listed without character names. We have performances where there are no named characters - cabarets, etc...

Reasons for switching to On the Stage

On The Stage is easier to use and more economical.

Aubri

Performing Arts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: