User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(59)

59

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to navigate behind the scenes, from the dashboard to all the specific areas."

  • "the discounting system is great, it was really easy to create special deals. The ability to add marketing into the receipt was good. "

  • "It's pretty easy to use. It has a lot of features. The customer service is amazing."

  • Cons

  • "There are some rough edges as you dig behind the scenes, but things get better month after month."

  • "It's a good thing, but because the system does so much it can be a little complex for novice users/non-techy people. "

  • " We have a very hard time navigating the tasks we want to do. However if any questions come up VBO are always helpful in showing us the steeps. "

Browse VBO Tickets Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 76 results

June 2019

Paul from Fremont Symphony

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

A Symphony of value

Our experience with VBO has been outstanding! VBO has dramatically transformed our ticketing from a manual system. Not only can our patrons see and easily buy online, but we have complete control allowing dynamic pricing. We also have real-time information about who is buy and what is being purchased, critical needs to allow meaningful patron analysis.

Pros

We were looking for an affordable, clean, cloud-based ticketing solution. We needed to be able to let our patrons choose specific reserve seating and also enable staff to manage box office and season subscriptions. I especially like the fact that cost is entirely transactional with no upfront fees, no annual subscription or added training costs or support costs. I've also been happily surprised with the outstanding online and phone support.

Cons

Onboarding was a bit difficult as there was limited formal training. However, the online tutorials are good and online/phone support is exceptional. My primary issue with the platform is what it doesn't do. While it allows basic, online donations, it is far from an integrated donor platform. As a result, we have to maintain multiple platforms to accomplish all our tasks. However, I feel that is a very reasonable compromise for the value/price of the platform. There are also limits on the visual product; seating charts are good but could be presented in a stronger, more patron oriented manner such as using a visual picture of the auditorium and allowing a patron to click on a specific section.

Reasons for Choosing VBO Tickets

ROI: I found VBO Tickets met our overall needs and gave us the best value. For a robust, mature product, I especially like the low/ticket cost while still providing an excellent customer experience.

June 2019

Carey from Comedy Arts Theater of Charlotte

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Great for traditional theaters, not versatile enough for ad-hoc performances

The system is reliable and solid in what it does. Support does their best to help you find workarounds for non-traditional theaters, but are unwilling to consider enhancement requests without paying for the development. My one actual technical issue (notifications of credit card failure self-dismissed to quickly for the user to read) has been pretty much ignored. I recommended VBO for my local community theater, even with all of that because it does work well for that model. It absolutely is a bear for the rest of us (I run an improv theater).

Pros

The interface is generally easy to navigate and figure out on your own. There are so many useful features, it can feel a bit cluttered, but once one learns the process, it handles every aspect of selling. The API is nice for embedding on your own site.

Cons

The entire process — from setup to event management to the API — is centered around multiple performances of one run (show), as per a traditional theater. Setting up one-off shows and shows that run continuously is much more of a burden to maintain. Ad-hoc shows, especially, require that you set up a completely new event, including reminder emails, ticket setup, etc. even if that info doesn't change from show to show. Copying events does not copy all the pertinent information, such as event images. Setting up event dates under one event for ad-hoc shows is cumbersome because the API and the dashboard group them all together.

Reasons for Choosing VBO Tickets

It appeared to have the most robust set of options for a non-traditional theater.

Response from VBO Tickets

Replied June 2019

Hi Carey. Thank you for taking the time to review VBO Tickets so thoroughly. We really appreciate it. We've put a significant amount of time and work into our system for the multitude of features and functionality it provides. In fact, we're always getting feature requests and do our best to gauge the usefulness to all of our clients and prioritize development. We realize that ad-hoc shows like those at your improv theatre may require a unique approach. In fact, nearly 30% of our clientele are improv theatres. We offer many features with improv and comedy clubs in mind, such as recurring events with a scheduler, copying ticket setup for a new event date, a patron rewards program, global automated messaging for events, and much more. Your business and the fact that you've recommended us to local theatres, is truly appreciated. Thank you!

December 2016

Georgie from Art Party SJ

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2016

They need to provide a manual

Customer service was excellent and always available and very much appreciated by me, a not so tech savvy person. But, the website feature access is not intuitive and requires a lot of instruction as to why one should click that to get that report. Other than calling in there are no on-site instructions on how to do specific things. I would use the company again but will need a manual.

Response from VBO

Replied December 2016

Thank you for your response. We are adding new video tutorials and content to our knowledge base weekly. If there is general video that you think should be prioritized. please let us know. I would add, that because your event is one time per year, it can be difficult to go away from our system and come back a year later without some retraining. The good news, is that this information will continue to be updated and expanded. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to help you. Team VBO

June 2019

Lynn from Verona Area Community Theater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

VBO makes our ticketing accessible to all

We aren’t entirely volunteer Ronn community theater organization. Our board, members, and patrons range in age from five years old to 90 years old. Our biggest fear was having our retired Ticket ladies be able to understand the software and still sell tickets, and our customers being able to transition to an online sale. We have had A fantastic experience with this transition and it has only become easier for us to bring our shows to the community.

Pros

VBO has the best support and most flexible solution to meet all of our ticketing and registration needs. After evaluating numerous Solutions, but ease-of-use during set up all the way through the user experience has been a game changer for us. We went from selling 80% of our tickets In person or at the door to selling 95% of our tickets online. This helps us forecast revenue, understand the number of volunteers we will need at events, And communicate easily with our ticket buyers before and after events. Our ticket sales have increased dramatically over the past two years

Cons

After selling well over 30,000 tickets a year the number of complaints from users or ticket buyers have been able to be counted on two hands. Usually the complaint is that they don’t know how to scroll down to put the tickets in the cart. That has literally been the only complaint and it happened about 10 times.

Reasons for Choosing VBO Tickets

VBO tickets was less expensive, more flexible, easier to use and administer, more responsive to our questions and continually developing newFeatures and functionality

December 2017

Chris Crotty from CSz Sacramento - Home of ComedySportz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Powerful but sometimes confusing; lots of upkeep for optimal use

Runs ticketing and merchandise sales for my theater.

Pros

VBO offers a lot of features and options. Plus the company is willing (or used to be) to develop new features if you make a strong case. Ease of integration with existing sites is fairly easy. Customer support is generally quick, responsive, and thorough. The platform has never gone down in our many year use, so it's definitely stable.

Cons

The interface can be confusing at times. Also, the software glitches at times when using the Box Office function, e.g., asking for full account info when you don't want to add all fields. Usually logging out and in fixes the problem. Another minor complaint: when you copy and event, it won't automatically update the "end sale" by the relative date; you have to set it manually.

Response from VBO

Replied December 2017

Hi Chris, Thank you for the positive feedback you provided for VBO Tickets! We pride ourselves on our reliability track-record and responsive, professional Customer Support. We also appreciate your constructive feedback and will continue to make ongoing improvements to the system. We currently provide solutions for fifteen CSz Cities and have built some wonderful features specifically for the CSz organization over the years. We greatly value your business and all of your feedback. Thank you for being a valued client! Rique Villa VP of Sales VBO Tickets

March 2017

Peter from CMT San Jose

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Easy to use, robust and affordable

This a very robust system which allows us to manage ticket and subscriptions as well as class registrations in one single platform. VBO is very cost effective given the numerous features it offers. Our organization produces 10 productions annually, as well as dozens of classes, and our summer camp program, all of which we sell through VBO. Our customer base is very pleased with the online interface, which allows them to complete ticket purchases and registrations with clarity and ease. On the back end, basic sales transactions are very easy to complete with minimal staff training. Even more advanced features, like event setup and season ticket programming, are very streamlined and require far fewer steps than many other systems which I have used in the past. At the theater, we make us of the VBO app, which allows for speedy guest check in. The app also allows house staff to access ticketing information on their check-in device, without having to send patrons back to the box office should questions regarding ticketing arise. Overall, this product is extremely affordable, especially compared to similar products. We have been very happy with our relationship with VBO, and we have received a lot of positive feedback from our patrons as well.

June 2019

Katrina from Fairmont Opera House

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Farimont Opera House Review

We are saving time and giving the customers a chance to go online to purchase tickets themselves. Before it was call/ stop in only and recorded on paper.

Pros

I like that we have the ability to use an online ticketing system, it has made our work so much easier.

Cons

Sometimes when I have selected tickets and I go to apply the customer to the tickets, it essentially locks the tickets and we have to go reclaim them one by one, which can be time consuming if they are buying multiple tickets.

Reasons for Choosing VBO Tickets

Unsure of final decision process.

March 2017

Tyrone from CaribTix

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

VBO Tickets - A Complete Solution

CaribTix has special needs from ticket printing and online ticket sales, to mobile apps and ticket validation... The team at VBO has responded to ALL requests. One example: Several CaribTix clients use physical thermal tickets so we offer the service in addition to online ticketing, VBO was able to facilitate the import of printed thermal tickets so both physical and online tickets reside in the same database. Additionally, VBO was able to design an app to facilitate the sales, statistics and validation of all tickets online or offline. This has allowed us to provide a Closed Loop Solution for our clients. VBO is a very feature rich and robust platform... Additionally, the team is very helpful and responsive to support and new feature requests.

Pros

Robust features and functionality that covers many needs/requirements of today and some that may be needed in the future

Cons

A little difficult to navigate

June 2019

Dorothy from Kauai Community Players

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Terrific support

Ticket sales are a breeze. We are able to track memberships easily and without error, which is huge.

Pros

VBO created custom programs for us at no extra cost and were super responsive all along the way in our transition. It manages much more than just ticket sales - our membership program with four levels, comp tickets for our cast and crew, merchandise sales, discount prices for our members, emails to members when their memberships are going to expire and lots more.

Cons

It is fairly expensive, but we have the cost added to the ticket prices as a fee. Most buyers are used to such fees and do not complain. It is fairly complex, so it is difficult to keep our box office volunteers trained to use all its functions.

December 2016

Brian from North Central Colleget

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

New box office

We recently switched to VBO following an extended agreement with a different box office software company. The customer service features of VBO are unsurpassed. We are thrilled with the experience we are able to offer our patrons. What we are having issues with currently is the promise of a report that will help with all of our needs. We, or course, understand that all things take time and that everything good is worth waiting for. Unfortunately, we have had to make due with a hunt and peck method of reporting to both our business office and and marketing department for sales data. It is there, but it is currently far from user friendly. The staff at VBO continues to be extremely helpful in helping us find solutions to our problems, but it is not the panacea that we were hoping for. Perhaps a Christmas present of the new report is on the horizon so that the internal users can also experience the expediency that our patrons are witnessing. I still strongly recommend VBO to anyone who is interested in a box office system. I will give it an even stronger recommendation once the new report is available. Keep going, guys! The finish line must be close.

Pros

customer service. On line and hand held user friendliness.

Cons

The report structure. We need to be able to report in a more direct fashion instead of making due.

Response from VBO

Replied December 2016

Thank you for your review Brian. We hear you! And, yes we are working on it. Reporting is a challenging prospect as everyone wants something a little different. We are working to provide reporting structure that is migrating away from canned reports to user selectable output. It will be worth the wait and we thank you for working with us.

December 2016

Franco from San Jose Taiko

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Wonderful support. Indispensable tool.

We use VBO for almost all our class registrations as well as our home season ticketed concert. The support team has been supporting us from the very beginning: - Listening and implementing our suggestions to make the tool work for our needs. - Always available when we need to reach them. - Their overall passion for serving the arts community and making their product better.

Pros

Support: Extremely responsive to the customer needs.

Cons

Even though it was not originally designed for class registrations we've used VBO for this. There are some things that our staff would like to see to help make things easier so it's up to us to let VBO know.

March 2017

John from The Tabard Theatre Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Best ticketing partner, ever

Having used other ticketing services, VBO has been a strategic partner with Tabard in every sense. We have grown with them as they have continually improved the quality and functionality of software over the years. What truly stands out is their attention to personal service and making sure that things work correctly for the client, and that the client knows how to best use their immensely capable platform. I couldn't be happier with VBO.

Pros

Flexibility, complete feature set, sophisticated integration, ongoing product improvements, such as reporting and CRM

Cons

There are some rough edges as you dig behind the scenes, but things get better month after month.

June 2016

Chris from Lincoln Theater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2016

VBO is the BEST!!

First off, the company's customer service is top notch. Whenever I had a question or suggestion, they were understanding and worked really hard to get that project done within the day! Their customer base is small so they spend time with every customer creating a customized approach to ticketing.

Pros

Customer Service Coding Knowledge Wide Variety of products Cloud based Easy to get a hold of Flexible All in One ticketing (CRM, POS, Assigned and General Seating, Reporting, data tracking, discounts, donations, merchandise and more!)

Cons

None.

June 2019

Achmed Rauff from Uberschall Digital Sdn Bhd / UberTickets

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Powerful and Flexible

Go to market times are faster once familiar. Support is thus far is good but we are really hoping that response times would be better.

Pros

It's immense features that enables new ways to create sales and promotions. Fits almost all types of events at any scale.

Cons

There is a learning curve that requires sufficient training and familiarity. Due to the sheer number of features it is easy to get overwhelmed. A stronger build it email blast for CRM would be good to have instead on relying on 3rd party integration.

March 2017

Amy from Steinway Society The Bay Area

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

A Boon For Patrons and Marketers

Yea and Bravo! As the marketer in our organization, I love how easy VBO tickets is for our patrons, how seamless the experience is, how easy it is for me to integrate the VBO patron information into our marketing, and how responsive the VBO team is when I have questions. Problems are few, but when they've come up, the VBO team has provided effective and timely support. I removed one star from the Features & Functionality, not because I'm disappointed, but only because they are always working to improve features, reports and functionality and I love seeing what else they are providing. I believe they are "thinking" smart about what to bring to their users.

Pros

Ease of use. Availability of information that's most important to me as a marketer.

Cons

I'd like to see more videos that show me how to use the system in more advanced ways than I think of on my own. I do appreciate their available videos, however.

March 2017

Christian from Napa Valley Performing Arts Center at Lincoln Theater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Best value ticketing software, amazing management

VBO Tickets has been a great partner. Senior staff is unwaveringly willing to make changes to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of their product. The software has grown by leaps and bounds since it's inception and Management continues to improve the product on an almost daily basis. The reporting function could be more robust and customizable, but if I know VBO, upgrades are probably already in the works. I consistently receive ticketing system demos to keep my options open, and truly believe that there isn't another product on the market that even comes close to what VBO offers, at this price point.

Pros

Customizability

March 2017

TIiu from San Francisco Playhouse

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

San Francisco Playhouse loves VBO.

Customer support representatives are very responsive, and if what I need isn't possible in the system, they will build it for me. It's a powerful CRM that's user-friendly, my favorite ticketing system I've used so far (I'm familiar with 3 including Tessitura.) We've been trying to integrate it with salesforce, which has been a bit of a bother, but that's not my department!

Pros

Responsive, quick, user-friendly

Cons

updates sometimes come with no warning, Salesforce integration has been troublesome for our development team

March 2017

Josiah from Dragon Productions Theatre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Great for Superior Control

After looking at a lot of different ticket agents we found VBO tended to be comparable price (even on the less expensive end of the spectrum) and offer the best range of control over what we can do. The best part about this company however is that if there is ever something that we needed that is not already integrated into the system their fantastic customer service agents immediately get to work getting it to work for us. The only concern that I have with them is that because of all the control that they give to us it has taken a long time to get it to work the way we want it. Overall though, fantastic!

Response from VBO

Replied September 2017

Hi Josiah, Thank you for the positive feedback! Not only do we pride ourselves on delivering unique ticketing technology and a feature-rich platform, we also value Customer Service as much as our clients do. I'm happy to hear you received excellent service when it came to meeting your organization's needs! If you ever need anything in the future, we're here for you. Thank you again!

June 2019

Theresa from Verona Area Community Theater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Very Satisfied Community Theater User

It has completely changed how we do business. Our system was extremely manual and now everything is automated. In addition to using it for tickets, we use it for camp registrations as well as audition registrations. This has simplified our internal processes greatly.

Pros

The user friendliness is what I value most about VBO. It is extremely easy to use and to problem solve with. There are different levels of functionality so some people may use it minimally while others in your organization can learn the more in-debt features.

Cons

Some of the event setup seams redundant. I wish there was a better way to copy one event into the next.

December 2016

Donny from San Francisco Playhouse

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Reliable and Flexible

As a mid-sized nonprofit theatre, VBO's services have been invaluable to us. The front-end ticketing experience is second-to-none, and we've been able to customize it to fit our needs perfectly. With our old ticketing platform, customers had to leave our website to buy tickets -- now, it's a seamless experience. The VBO team's customer service and flexibility has been another major plus for us. They've helped us grow by implementing new features and designing solutions to fit our changing needs.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use, customer service.

Cons

Learning curve.

March 2017

Julia from sjDANCEco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great Service

The VBO team is great! They are always available to assist with use of any part of the product, and they really try to customize it so it works specifically for your company.

Pros

It's pretty easy to use. It has a lot of features. The customer service is amazing.

Cons

I don't always catch when there are updates, and so sometimes I am behind on new features. I wish there was a bit more customability with the CRM aspects of the software.

December 2016

Ben from CSz Houston

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Fantastic Customer Support for a Fantastic Product

I've been using VBO for over three years now and I cannot express how fantastic a program it is. Multiple times I've called support with a question about how to do something obscure and gotten a response of "Oh, you can't do that... but give me a few hours" and before the end of the day, they have programmed in new functionality to meet my request. A+

Pros

Ease of use, and functionality

Cons

I think the UI could be a little more friendly to new users. Could be more intuitive.

March 2017

Leah from The Custom Made Theatre Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great software for the unique needs of a non-profit theatre

I've been especially grateful for the uptake in add-on donations which is a direct result of VBO's software design that allows for a clear pop-up at time of ticket purchase. From a patron perspective, it is clean and easy to use - this hasn't always been the case with other ticketing software. The donation piece of the software has always been good, but has even improved during our tenure.

Pros

The pop-up donation with ticket purchase, donor management.

Cons

It's still not as user-friendly as I'd like from a back-end accounting perspective and reporting manipulation standpoint.

December 2016

Jekeva from CSz Seattle

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

VBO is an Excellent Tool!

If you are not computer savvy, learning VBO can be a bit daunting, but the customer service team is excellent. Each time I call them with a question, I talk to a real person who is helpful and kind. VBO is really good for tracking information and allows you to alter your ticketing info and events with ease. The mailing system for customers is OK, but they work well with other institutions such as Mailchimp to make e-newsletters a cinch. Creating pricing deals for customers is also quick and easy to do.

Pros

the discounting system is great, it was really easy to create special deals. The ability to add marketing into the receipt was good.

Cons

It is not a one-stop site. Things like creating a birthday club for our fans was extremely difficult. Newsletter features were very nil.

March 2017

Jeff from ComedySportz San Jose

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Best Customer Service.

VBO Tickets has been the backbone of our customer experience when selling tickets online. They have created a great product and are constantly refining it with new features. Other ticket companies ignored my requests for new features or promised to "look into it." VBO has always taken our requests seriously and sometimes new feature requests are implemented within 24 hours!

Pros

Ease of use

December 2016

Anne from City Lights Theater Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Good option for small orgs

VBO has a lot of really great features that were not available in our previous ticketing system. We especially like the fact that their ticketing pages are embedded into our web pages so the customer sees a seamless site from start to finish. They are continually making upgrades to all areas of the software which mean they're constantly improving. Their reporting features are not as intuitive or malleable as we'd like. It would be great for them to add a custom reporting center where the client can build their own reports based on specified criteria. Hope they do that soon!

July 2017

Sheryl Lynn from Living Jazz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Best all-in-one ticketing and CRM system!

Pros

That the software can do anything you need to do within ticketing, registration, donations, memberships and a CRM to keep track of it all!

Cons

It's a good thing, but because the system does so much it can be a little complex for novice users/non-techy people.

March 2017

Amy from Finest City Improv

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Most responsive support from a company

We have been with VBO for 3 years and have sold thousands of tickets. We have rarely had any issues and when we have we have received immediate assistance. They care about the customer and they are continually finding ways to improve the software.

Pros

Price. Reliability

Cons

Could be more user friendly on back end

March 2017

Susannah from Happy Hollow Park and Zoo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Why do business with anyone else!

Big business with personal, customized support! Time after time with various ticketing needs I have turned to VBO and been impressed with their professional, quick training, support, help and even the ability to create features and functions that didn't previously exist. Ticketing is hard and specific and ever changing but VBO has hit it out of the park every time; addressing challenges and coming up with the best short and long term solutions I've seen anywhere. Affordable and able to take on small or large jobs, it's my go to ticketing solution for their technically advanced product, user friendliness, and brilliant customer support. From small performing arts shows, to subscriptions, to large concert halls, Festivals, Zoo fundraising events and Corporate Conference dine-arounds, there's no environments or tasks they didn't take on for me with reliable, flawless execution. I've used several well know ticketing solutions both back and front end and my favorite is VBO for sure.

Pros

Ease of use and set up to adhere to marketing best practices.

Cons

I haven't run across any yet.

June 2019

Max from The Hammer Theatre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

VBO Review

Pros

The software is fairly flexible and has a very clean interface; both for patrons and theatre staff. The template function makes creating events extremely efficient.

Cons

A lot of the neat tricks VBO can pull off are not inherently explained. Some features are only applicable to general admission shows and not assigned seating shows (like group sales: 10+ tickets bought at once) and vice versa.

June 2019

Shawn from Music City Male Revue

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Music City Male Revue

The system works and they have helped us sellout almost every weekend.

Pros

It works every time my Customers want to purchase tickets . Once I Locate on the site it’s very simple to add more tickets.

Cons

We have a very hard time navigating the tasks we want to do. However if any questions come up VBO are always helpful in showing us the steeps.

March 2017

Dana from CMT San Jose

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

CMT loves VBO

We value our relationship with VBO. They have helped our organization carefully plan for registration and ticket purchases, updating reports and forms needed to serve our organization. The VBO team is responsive and offers good client support.

March 2017

Sheryl Lynn from California Jazz Conservatory

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

What A Treasure!

VBO has been an amazing addition to our online experience for our customers! The system is robust yet user friendly and the VBO staff is a pleasure to work with.

Pros

Customization

Cons

Need some experience with computers/software

June 2019

Bill from Third Coast Comedy Club

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Fantastic Service That Keeps Getting Better

I've been selling tickets with VBO for nearly a year and I'm glad to be doing so!

Pros

VBO Tickets is well rounded and can ultimately be shaped to be a solution for anything you need to get done. I have always been able to implement changes to my sales, and when I can't find the solution myself, the support team is always able to quickly let me know what to do.

Cons

As an ever improving service, sometimes you can get confused by older demos and setups.

March 2017

Aimee from Santa Cruz Shakespeare

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

VBO Tickets - Great software for nonprofits!

We just started with VBO last summer for our outdoor summer theater festival that has over 14,000 attendees in 8 weeks of performances. VBO staff were able to get us up and running in under two weeks, which was AMAZING. (Although I wouldn't recommend that timeline to anyone -- but they can do it!) The software is very user friendly to our patrons who had no trouble moving to a new user experience, and from the back end, with very little training, our entire staff was able to sell tickets over the phone successfully. The back end reporting does need a little help, but the company has worked hard over the last year to improve the functionality, and I am pleased with what the software is able to do now for us with regard to sales reports and data. Overall, I think it's a great ticketing / subscription / member software for the price and staff support. We researched five other CRM systems this fall and ended up sticking with VBO. I would highly suggest a demo with the company to see if it fits into what you need. And if you're not sure, they seem willing to customize the process so it works for you. Would be great for museums, theater companies, symphonies, ballets, operas, who operate year round, but also for music festivals, etc that need it on the occasional basis.

December 2016

Dave from CSz Richmond

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Excellent service & very responsive

We have been working with VBO for several years now. When the inevitable issue pops up, they have always been super quick to respond, and very attentive until all is resolved. We have been very happy, and expect to continue using VBO well into the future.

Pros

Easy to navigate behind the scenes, from the dashboard to all the specific areas.

Cons

Would maybe like a few more options, easily customizable, with how ticket options are presented graphically on our own website.

Response from VBO

Replied December 2016

Thank you for the kind review and great feedback. Gary Myrah VBO Tickets

March 2017

Don from CSz Philadelphia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great Ticketing Software, Great Customer Support

VBO is always responsive to my requests and customer support issues, which is very important when using software that is central to your business.

March 2017

Kasey from BATS Improv

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

LOVE VBO - a lot

VBO has dramatically improved our ticket integration on our website and cut our manual backend work in half! Literally. And their customer support has been outstanding

Pros

Intervention Flexibility Ease of use Customer service

Cons

Didn't switch sooner

June 2019

Lauren from Hole in the Wall Theater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Easy to Work With!

The sales and customer support team at VBO are great. They're always easy to get in touch with and very helpful. Getting started with their services only took a few days and was really painless!

Pros

There are tons of great things about VBO. I love that it looks very professional and easily integrates with our existing website. The backend platform is fairly easy to navigate once you get familiar with it, and there are tons of ways to customize your events.

Cons

You do sometimes have to jump around a bit as certain features only exist in certain places (you cannot create a new event pricing template from the event creation section, for example), but once you understand the flow it's pretty quick and easy to use.

June 2019

Luke from Third Coast Comedy Club

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Not Always Practical

It's been okay, but hard to get in touch for immediate contact without having a VBO support phone number and having to email only.

Pros

I like that we were able to seamlessly integrate it within our website.

Cons

The small things that don't make sense for us (i.e. ordering of shows in drop down menus), inability to customize for our specific needs.

March 2017

Laurel from Happy Hollow Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Super Easy and Responsive

We have used VBO for the past few years as the ticketing platform for my nonprofit organization's signature event, the Hoot & Howl. This party pulls in a guest list topping 750 people, and I really appreciate being able to use a friendly interface for both paid tickets and consignment tickets (for our sponsors). My technical assistance questions are always answered promptly, we receive electronic invoices in a timely fashion, our guests find VBO easy to use, and it's a tremendous help when it comes to check-in the night of the event, as well.

Pros

Easy to use- both for our guests and on the back end. Enough bells and whistles to be useful, but not so many that it's all just too bewildering.

Cons

I haven't yet figured out a way to de-segment guests from donors when it comes to targeting email addresses, but I'm sure it's doable.

March 2017

Mike from ComedySportz San Antonio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

VBO Tickets Changed my business

With the help and support of the VBO staff this software has completely changed the way we do business and has more than paid for itself. The staff is always more than willing to help out with anything they can do.

June 2019

Bea from North Central College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Outstanding Customer Support

The best part of my experience with VBO is the exceptional customer support. Ben, in particular, is highly responsive and dependable. The video tutorials are helpful, and they can troubleshoot pretty quickly.

Pros

The ability to create recurring events, and to pull various kinds of reports.

Cons

It's not intuitive (for example, to change the venue of an event, I have to remember to go "Manage Event Dates") and still am having trouble syncing to Constant Contact. I use Customer Support often, who have been extremely helpful.

October 2018

MICHAEL from ComedySportz San Antonio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

VBO

Customer service through VBO was amazing. They help walk you through every step so it makes set up and delivery of your products super easy

Pros

Easy to use. This software takes the guess work out of selling tickets online

Cons

It’s a little on the pricey side. We are a very small theater and it ended up being a little too expensive for us

December 2016

Ed from Hawaii Children's Theatre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

VBO Tickets ROCKS!

As the Executive Director for Hawaii Children's Theatre, I can say that we have had an absolutely exceptional experience with VBO Tickets. From our first contact with the company to setting up the site and linking it to our own website, to brilliant customer service and support, to well...everything. We have had a great experience. Additionally, my assistant has given me extremely positive feedback about all of her interactions with VBO Tickets and has relayed to me that the response time for addressing any of her questions has been incredible, so much so that she told another community theater company about our experience. Because of our experience, they too are excited about building a new partnership with VBO Tickets. Thank you very much for everything that you have done for us. We look forward to our continued partnership and growth with VBO Tickets!

Pros

Extremely user friendly. Absolutely TERRIFIC customer/user support.

Cons

N/A - Seriously, none that I can think of at the moment that is VBO Tickets' issue. I wish that Square was a little easier for them to work with, but that is NOT their issue.

March 2017

Carter from Backdoor Theatre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

The BEST Ticking Service We've Found

As a small nonprofit community theatre, ticketing services can often be way more complicated than what we need. When we discovered, we were not aware just how amazing they would be at customizing our experience for our small theatre. The customer service ALONE is worth the cost of use. If I ever have a question on how to do something and can't figure it out, they always respond promptly with more information than I would normally expect. I cannot recommend VBO Tickets enough, they're AMAZING!

Pros

Customer service, ease of use, low service fees, prompt response, website integration

Cons

It has it's minor bugs but they ALWAYS look into them when you bring it to their attention

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

All-In-One ticketing

Overall it is my go to ticket experience for any events and can embed directly onto my website for advanced and GA seating.

Pros

This is a cloud based platform that uses advanced tech to help plan the most advanced events. This is great to use for an event where you want different type of seating

Cons

This is great service! No cons here. works great for events.

March 2017

Sandy from TexARTS

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Awesome Business Partner

VBO is always innovating! Their customer support team is quick to get the answers your business needs and to solve your challenges.

Pros

Flexibility and client ease of use

Cons

Not always the easiest to configure on the business side

December 2016

Dottie from Kauai Community Players

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Amazing quality and support

VBO's willingness and ability to create special programs for us, a small community theater, continues to amaze me. It has allowed us to move our service up another level, and to rely less on one person (me) so that I can envision passing the ticketing/membership function on to someone else. The only suggestion I would make is that structure is needed in the overall training program. I am now at the point where I am wrestling with reconciling sales in VBO/Stripe/my bank account/chart of accounts and it is very difficult and non-uniform. Key information that I need (what was purchased - a subscription or tickets, and tickets to what event) are not passed over into Stripe, so I have to do a cumber reconcile process in order to allocate a deposit among the various bookkeeping accounts. I would suggest a chat feature. Stripe has it and it has really helped when I have questions.

March 2017

Stefanie from Palo Alto High School PAC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

VBO Tickets is Great!

Very powerful and flexible system. Love that it is cloud-based & updates are FAST & continual. Excellent cashier/box office system for operators & POS experience for patrons. Seamless & good-looking embed on ticketing webpage. Longer learning curve for main admin person, but that comes with depth of features. Excellent phone customer service: shout-out to the customer support! Excited about app for sales & scan management in cellular-only environments. Good how-to vids; keep going with more, please. Looking forward to those reporting upgrades, too.

Pros

Customer experience & POS for box office operators (ever-changing set of volunteers), Feature-rich, web embeds, cloud-based

Cons

slow printing still a problem at Paly box office.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 76 reviews