All Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite Reviews

1-25 of 43 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Cindy

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

City of Oakwood's Experience with VIP

As we move to a paperless environment, the system has assisted in that process. Ease of use has allowed many non finance users to run reports and find the information they need to do their job.

PROS

The ability to drill down into the detail and move seamlessly through the system is key to what we were looking for when we selected Software Solutions VIP. Ease of use and consistency between the various modules make the software intuititive.

CONS

Integration of the software into our processes was not difficult. We would still like to see improvement in some of the data entry functions (ie. accounts payable.)

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

In 2009, much of VIP had not even been written when we were looking to upgrade our software. We had the opportunity to see the vision Software Solutions had in mind with VIP. The City of Oakwood took the chance and we have not looked back.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

Our system in 2008 was very antiquated and difficult to use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind review! We always try to provide the best quality products and services to our customers, and we're happy for any feedback.

Replied July 2023

Linda

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

VIP is a great investment

I have been able to acclimate myself pretty well even without going through the proper training process—tech support has been patient with me and very helpful. It’s reassuring when I have an audit, if I need help finding an answer, SSI support will more than likely be able to help me find the solution.

PROS

Very user friendly, education options are very useful, and the tech support is great!

CONS

If we don’t pay for a certain aspect of VIP, ie, Utility Billing, I think it should be grayed out so we can’t use it; would eliminate opening something that serves no purpose.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

My predecessor made the switch. I used CMI in the late 90s early 00s. SSI is much friendlier, the options for reports is extensive, and the process of completing tasks is logical and easy to understand.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback! We're so glad we have helped and will continue to support you. Thanks for the ideas; we'll take them to our development team.

Replied October 2023

Edward

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

VIP review

PROS

VIP is Customizable Flexible example mygrids

CONS

VIP is not real intuitive or user friendly. Screen shots are great but videos on support sight would be helpful also.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We are actually working on adding videos to all of our support articles, because we know that will be helpful for all of our customers.

Replied October 2023

Shania

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

VIP NEW CUSTOMER

It was intimidating at first. After the classroom, training, and gaining access to the Sandbox, I’m more at ease. I think it will be great.

PROS

It has many functions and reports that will be useful that we didn’t have before. I think it will make utility billing go smoother.

CONS

We are still getting the hang of things. We’ve been playing in sandbox and taking classes. I don’t dislike anything yet.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

To get up to date on our software and practices.

Vendor Response

Glad to hear about your experience! We make sure to set up our customers for success, and the training process is a huge part of that.

Replied October 2023

Teri

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

VIP-Paperless Workflows - Great Customer Service - Easy to Use

VIP is positive overall! VIP solves the transparency issues that the Township had with its internal departments. We are able to train new staff pretty quickly due to its user-friendly environment. The ability to remove the cumbersome task of processing everything on paper makes VIP so wonderful. The township no longer has to pass paper purchase orders to be manually signed, manage paper invoices, file paper invoices, store paper invoices in boxes for the retention period required. It saves us so much time!

PROS

Love the workflows, paperless environments, ability for all departments to be able to run reports and or review grids to get information they need. The workflows provide internal controls in the purchasing process that are seamless after they are set up.We have had great results in training new staff on VIP in the area of creating requisitions and paying invoices. Our auditors didn't have to come on-site for our most recent audit as they were able to access so much of our information using VIP!We can import payroll from our timekeeping software.Customer service is AMAZING!

CONS

Would love to see more development in the reports area. The grids are great for reports but sometimes I need more information than what is provided and need to run a couple of reports to combine information for what we need. An all-inclusive reporting, budgeting, forecasting package would be a helpful addition.

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

The Township heard about VIP software from Greene County and followed their recommendation.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

The township switched accounting software so that all departments could have access to their financial information. The township was also focused on improving internal controls and VIP's workflow helped in achieving this goal.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback! We love hearing about our customers' needs and send all feedback to the development teams for review. Glad we're able to help the township out!

Replied September 2023

Patti

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite is the best software for our use

VIP has made separating our data for the required State of Ohio annual report (Hinkle) much easier. With eGOV, we had to separate items on spreadsheets which took hours. Now, with VIP, we can code the accounts ahead of time and VIP will combine the amounts for us. That alone has made VIP worth it. But we also love that it's easier to interpret the data and it's easier entry.

PROS

The integration from our old data to VIP was simple and accurate. VIP offers more functions and protections than our old system. It's much more difficult to make simple mistakes that were often made with our last system. VIP is very user friendly and we love the new functions that make our data more accessible to our auditors.

CONS

There were some hiccups with the payroll module and our data but those may have been worked out. We were previously on eGOV, and while VIP is much more updated, there were some reports and data that were easier to find in eGOV. However, my biggest complaint is that, personally, I'm a keyboarder. I prefer to tab through entry boxes and use keyboard shortcuts to update the screen, etc. I'm unable to do those with VIP and I find myself stumbling back and forth between the keyboard and mouse, which can be frustrating and time consuming.

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

Cost and we love the Software Solutions, Inc. company and brand. We have had their products and service for over 20 years and the support has always been top notch.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

Updated software system, especially when it comes to gathering data for our auditors.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback! We can see how the keyboarding differences can be frustrating, but we appreciate you sharing your experience so we can move forward and make your life easier. Glad to have served you for over 20 years!

Replied October 2023

Elizabeth

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

VIP Payroll

Overall, VIP has been an improvement over our prior eGov software, and made our jobs easier. Unfortunately, there are many features we're unable to use because departments are not willing, so I'm sure we haven't even touched the surface of what VIP can do!

PROS

Everything is at my fingertips; can be set up to access from any location; able to add a lot of info and notes in employee files; quicker payroll processing than prior software; can customize reports and grids; easy to pay invoices; good support; good instructions/reference tools on website; after a phone call with support, they send a summary email of what they helped with so you can save for future reference; can eliminate paper processing by using workflow.

CONS

Settings are very embedded, especially defaults. If there's a problem, it's hard to find where to go to fix it, and sometimes the fix needs to be done in multiple areas. Sometimes monthly, quarterly and yearly report totals are off a couple pennies and don't match.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

The City had eGov software dating back to 1993 - it had been updated over the years, but it was limited as to what it could do. It didn't have nearly as many features as VIP.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback! This gives us vital information about your process so we can look into improving our software. Love the kind words, too! We appreciate you.

Replied October 2023

Anne

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Very helpful for a Beginner user

Overall it has been very positive and the support staff have been excellent to work with.

PROS

My transition into payroll specialist for the county I work for was not one where the previous individual I was taking over for stayed and trained with me to make the transition smooth. The support staff with VIP has been incredibly helpful with any support ticket I have entered and have essentially trained me in my new position. Once learning how the software works, it is easy to navigate the system. I have just started using the knowledge base on the support site and it is highly useful for the many questions and issues that come up in this new position I am in.

CONS

It would be nice to be able to lock offices out of payroll when I begin processing payroll just for security reasons. I am very new to processing payroll and don't have much experience with other systems, so I might have more to say next year!

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

Our Commissioner's office made the switch because the former system was out of date, and our county needed an upgrade. This decision and implementation was done before I took over payroll for our county.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback! We do have a flag function to not allow people to adjust time while it is clicked. We also have a permissions function that may help. We would love to help you explore this further! If you call in and let us know what you want to do, our Customer Support team can help.

Replied October 2023

Marlena

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

My VIP Experience

We are currently using the Human Resource, Employee Portal , Utility Billing, Accounts Receivable and Payables and Purchasing modules. We have been very satisfied with each module. The software is easy to use, and the product support is wonderful.

PROS

I like the payroll or Human Resource module the best. The software time entry and payroll processing is easy to use and the reports are easy to manage. I look forward to obtaining the new time entry module through the VIP Employee Portal.

CONS

We are most disappointed that there is no income tax program available. We can integrate the old EGOV tax program but feel that a VIP platform would offer so much more. I was excited at the beginning for the interface of new utility accounts and the automation of income tax accounts so when a platform was not designed for income tax I was disappointed.

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

I was an EGOV user for twenty years, when VIP was developed, we upgraded, and I have been very satisfied. It was a huge change, but after a while its quite easy to navigate and the product support is AMAZING.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the honest feedback! We understand the frustration and continue to work towards helping customers with their needs. Glad you like the VIP suite!

Replied September 2023

Megan

Utilities, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Why you should use VIP/SSI

The customer service reps respond quickly. They are patient, friendly and they are there to help you.

PROS

I was overwhelmed when I started this new position as the Utility Billing technician, however, the software and the customer service reps are there to help you.

CONS

I can't think of any cons. Before my time, our finance department used CMI. They switched over to VIP/SSI in 2019. I've heard nothing but good things since they switched.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

It was before my time in 2019.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review! We pride ourselves on our customer service and have some truly great people who help our customers. So glad we can help and provide you the service you want and need!

Replied August 2023

Emily

Libraries, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

VIP is Great!

VIP has increased efficiency and creates a clear auditable trail of all activity in the software.

PROS

VIP has created significant efficiency in my organization. Having the ability for electronic workflows has increased our turn around times from a week to one day. Having VIP has also made it easier for audit as the auditor can have access to the software with customized access and VIP has reports already created the auditor to expecting to execute their job. In addition to the efficiency is that VIP has an extremely helpful support staff that quickly resolves tickets and does an excellent job explaining how they fixed the issue to ensure you can prevent the problem in the future.

CONS

There not anything I like the least about VIP

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

VIP came highly recommended by other organizations. New staff at the organization had worked with VIP in the past.

Reasons for switching to Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

Reporting, efficiency, and support team

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind review! We are always striving to provide the best products and services to our customers, and we're happy for the positive feedback.

Replied June 2023

Arica

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

VIP gives you all the support you need.

I have never worked with a software company before like VIP and at first it was very scary to me, but with the support of the employees with VIP I have gotten the support needed to accomplish my job. The VIP system is very user friendly and if you get stuck you just just put a ticket in and someone will be with you shortly to help you out, which says a lot about a product. VIP comes highly recommended by me.

PROS

What I like most about VIP is how there is so many reports that are available to you when it comes to vendor payments, payroll, and accounts. The support line is also a great help. The employees there are so nice and willing to help you out anytime. I couldn't do my job without them.

CONS

What I don't like about VIP is adding a job to an employee. If they move to a different position I just would like to document it in the memo and just change the title because transferring accruals and making sure everything is set up correctly is time consuming.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words! We love to hear about customer experiences and your pain points so we can constantly improve our software. Your feedback is valuable and we appreciate you!

Replied October 2023

Greg

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great system for Government Accounting

VIP has allowed not only our office more access to the County's Financial and Payroll information, but now all of our departments have access to their accounts at their fingertips as well. It has improved our ease of retrieving data and documents even remotely. This came at the right time with COVID and the transition to working from home with ease.

PROS

Being able to access your data at your fingertips including attached supporting documentation is one of the biggest plusses in VIP. The transition from our old system was a big change, but has proven to be a change for the better. VIP is doing the same processes in less step as many of those processes are automated. Also, with the use of imports, we have saved a lot of time on data entry on payroll, payment requests and year end processing. Being able to work remotely has been a big benefit with VIP as well.

CONS

Coming from a Human Resources aspect, tracking insurance information for employees is not something that VIP does well.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback so we can provide even more value to our customers.

Replied July 2023

Stephanie

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

VIP Customer Review

Ease, speed, support system, and employees have made working with VIP pleasant

PROS

I enjoy the ease of using VIP and integrating from one section of software into a different section and setting up page columns to individual specifications. The support integrating from E-Gov to VIP was extremely helpful and important.

CONS

The feature that we would have liked to see when purchasing the VIP is Income Tax program. It would of been more convenient if we could of had all our programs with VIP. Also, certain reports could of been better without purchasing another package. An all-inclusive reporting, budgeting, forecasting package would be more convenient, rather than price each one separately.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback! We price our modules separately so that our customers can pick and choose which ones will benefit them the most. We appreciate the comments to help us know where our customers are at and what their pain points are.

Replied August 2023

David

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

David's Review

VIP has allowed us to decentralize our accounting functions and allowed our departments to maintain and view their own data in real time. SSI is very responsive to request for changes and work arounds to solve problems.

PROS

Flexibility to create grids specific to a particular task.

CONS

Some grids take significant time to load. For example vendors grid brings in all the vendors instead of allowing the user to key in search criteria first. With the number of vendors we have this can take significant time. Similar issue with payments search.

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

We have been a long-time SSI client and have had a positive relationship with the company for more years than I have been around. There has been no reason to look elsewhere.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the honest feedback. We are consistently improving our software to benefit our clients and releasing updates, including grid-loading speed improvements. We appreciate the information!

Replied August 2023

Maggie

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

VIP Review

The ease and efficiency of the VIP system is a huge benefit in providing the administration and residents of the City with the financial information that they need.

PROS

VIP is very easy to navigate, drill down features make researching very simple, copying feature is a great time saver especially for journaling and entering requisitions, corrections are easily fixable, and option to open new month and still continue to make adjustments in previous month is helpful especially during busy months and when end of month time is limited. There are many other great features that I probably haven't mentioned.

CONS

Haven't really found any issues with VIP that I do not like.

Reason for choosing Visual Intelligence Portfolio Suite

The City was using the E-Gov product from SSI and were super impressed with the new VIP product.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback! We're so pleased we've been able to help your city out!

Replied August 2023

Parker

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Awesome software for our county

VIP has been a great asset to Lawrence County. All of our departments seem to be very happy using it. We have a couple departments that are located pretty far away from our offices that are always eager to tell us how they are happy with the switch.

PROS

VIP is an easy to use software that has really streamlined the process in which the county processes payroll and pays bills. It has streamlined the process of expending money in the county that provides services to the citizens.

CONS

There are a couple of minor problems with VIP but all of our issues are heard by the staff at SSI and they do everything in their power to help fix the problems.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review! Glad our products help your county and we appreciate your feedback. Our customer support always tries to respond quickly and thoroughly to resolve issues that pop up.

Replied July 2023

Chris

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE