All Shepherd Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Nicole

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

We LOVE Shepherd

PROS

The look is very clean and simple. Very user friendly. They have hands down the best customer support in any PIMS we shopped or ever used prior.

CONS

That I didn't use them sooner. Can't think of anything else.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Customer care and overall look, were far above the others in these categories.

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Horrible customer support, expensive, out of date.

Morgan

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

A game changer for our practice!

Every single person that helped us transition was beyond amazing and patient. The training was simple with the available walkthroughs.

PROS

The software itself is fantastic alone, but the customer service is too notch. Transitioning from our previous software to this one was as simple as it could be- of course, work on our end was involved and sometimes tedious, but it was easier than I expected.

CONS

I would love the ability to have the reminders for preventions update automatically for the quantity purchased. Currently we are going in manually to change them, which works since I created an automatic task to remind us to do it.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

The flow of it made sense, staff was happy with it during the demos.

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

I was going to cause harm to something or someone if I had to continue to deal with hippo on a daily basis. No customer support after the first 5-6 months. Literally would take weeks for a response. The new update caused my vaccination due dates to disappear, reports didn’t work correctly (some of them didn’t from the beginning and they could never get the fixed for some reason), signing every chart and medication was ridiculously time consuming so it was making us less efficient overall.

Rex

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great Cloud Based Vet Practice Software!

Great, its easy to setup and use. Transferring data from other software had no issues. Would recommend to anyone looking for a simple, cost effective cloud based software for their practice.

PROS

Cost, easy of use, and training. The cost is affordable for any size practice. The user interface is straight forward and simple to understand. Workflow is great, and easy between modules. Training is fast for new employees. Recommended cost effective!

CONS

No cons! Reporting could be done a little better, and hopefully will improve with updates. Customization of user interface could be done.

Meredith

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Sheperd for Vet Start Up

Love it! Thanks [sensitive content hidden] and Shepherd! I wouldn't have got my PIMS up and running without Shepherd.

PROS

I LOVED getting set up with Shepherd for my start up vet practice. It's stressful to set up PIMS, but they couldn't have been more helpful! I loved [sensitive content hidden], the advisor I was assigned to. She was so helpful. I asked her the same questions probably over and over, but she was so patient.

CONS

Hmm, it was all amazing, can't think of one thing I didn't like

Reason for choosing Shepherd

IT was just easy, and started by a vet mom!

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

The staff there wasn't helpful. They just sent me videos and left me to just do all of my PIM set up for a start up with little help.

Jeska

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

I would 10/10 recommend Shepherd!

We tried a different software and it was horrible. My team was skeptical of anything cloud based and not having paper charts but now we would never want to use anything else. Shepherd is so easy and the support group really cares and are always willing to help.

PROS

I love how easy it is to use and how anyone could use it with minimal training. I love that support listens to us and helps us. Its clean looking and things are easy to find.

CONS

When we first started there were additions that hadn't been added yet, like boarding and inventory. However, now they have these. Other than new additions like mass messaging and forms, I cant think of anything bad.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Shepherd had what we wanted and were willing to listen to what we needed in the future. The cost was great and the team was helpful

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Our software wasn't going to be supported anymore and we wanted to go paperless

Lisa

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Great Software, Easy to Learn and Use

Records are more complete, faster, and more accurate. We are not missing as many charges, and get a more complete invoice.

PROS

Easy Easy Easy. It is very user friendly and intuitive.

CONS

There is not much I don't like. I'm the only doctor, so it would be cool if it autopopulated my name on everything, but you can always submit a feature request and see if they'll add it.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

I've heard from current EZvetpro users that there are frequent outages/slow run times.

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Cornerstone was not doing a great job with our records. Shepherd allows us to have easy records.

Laney

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Shepherd the Start Up Vet's best friend

Shepherd makes it possible for us to run our house call practice as a small team. Without Sheperd, we would need a full time receptionist.

PROS

Sheperd is easy to use and learn. The support chat is a REAL person and they are the same people day to day so they understand how you need the software to function best for your practice. The support team also seems to have a veterinary background so you can use the correct terminology to communicate with them.

CONS

The biggest con's were that it did not integrate with laboratories, but now they connect to Idexx and Antech so we are happy!

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

I have used many software in my time as a tech this is by far the most user-friendly.

Jacqueline

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Worth It!

PROS

Easy to use! Amazing Staff willing to help.

CONS

Having to take time and set everything up, but it was worth it in the end.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Friendly Staff, Better Price, Cloud Service

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Avimark was outdated and customer service was horrible.

Lauren

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

We LOVE Shepherd!!

We transitioned two vet hospitals from paper-light, using Avimark and Impromed. We demo'd half a dozen other software systems before going with Shepherd. We started using Shepherd 1.0, which didn't have all the features, but Shepherd promised they would be coming. Shepherd 2.0 was NOT a disappointment, and they have delivered on all of their promises. The customer service could not be better, and they have never forgotten about us - we feel as valued and as important as day 1. Having been a frustrated Avimark and Impromed user, Shepherd has been nothing short of amazing. Updates are frequent, well-communicated, and makes the Shepherd experience continuously better. Our staff has varying skill levels with technology, but all of them made the transition to Shepherd flawlessly. New staff members jump right into Shepherd's easy, logical, and user-friendly design. Shepherd makes case management super easy and allows us to do what we do best - treating patients.

PROS

Shepherd is so user-friendly. It just makes sense. The customer service is phenomenal. They are quick to respond and uber helpful regardless of who contacts them or what the problem is. I could go on and on, but those are my favorites about the software.

CONS

We would love to see the schedule have automatic or template blocks. Currently, we have to manually enter schedule blocks such as "well visits only" or "same day sick appointments only" for every moment we are open, which is time intensive.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Customer service and ease of use!

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

December 2018

Julie

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Best software I've used in over 20 years in the field!

Comfort in knowing that my records are complete, and knowing that I have more time to take care of my pTIENTS.

PROS

The software is extremely easy to transition to. There is virtually no learning curve, and coming from someone who is generally technologically challenged, that says a lot. One of my favorite things about the software is the simplicity of it. It doesn't take 10 steps to achieve 1 goal, it only takes 1. When you are trying to take care of critical patients, or any patients for that matter, no one wants to spend more time than they have to putting things in the computer. This software makes our use of time more efficient.

CONS

The only "con" so to speak, was when we were first transitioning, and that also falls under ease of use. Coming from software that was complicate, and all over the place, and took several steps to complete one task, it was difficult to how easy Shepherd is to use. We often felt as if we were missing steps.

Dakota

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Shepherd review

Very happy and would recommend

PROS

How easy it is and how it makes our jobs less hectic!

CONS

Couple things missing but the are working on it!

Reason for choosing Shepherd

How simple and effective it was

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

They were awful

KKat

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Most responsive developer team, bar none!

PROS

So easy to use, easy to learn, with new features added seamlessly without negatively impacting the clean layout and intuitive functions. Development team has unparalleled responsiveness to user needs and questions.

CONS

I started using Shepherd as a start-up, so I didn't have to switch from a different process/software. That also means I got used to doing things without the integrations that are now available, so I need to step up my game to use all the available features!

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Cost, vet-owned, opportunity to be with a new business creating a product for vets, by vets.

Melissa

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Of the 4 software packages I have worked at in various clinics, Shepherd is hands down the best

PROS

The software is so intuitive, we were up and running immediately. The interface is slick and visually appealing without a busy cluttered appearance. Support is multimodal and rapid. I always have the help I need right when I need it. Data transfer was smooth too. I love the preloaded diagnoses and client information sheets which save me a ton of time at discharge. The customizable physical exam templates allow me to chart as I go with each patient so I am out the door on time and I have had much fewer missed charges. I can't say enough good things about this software, it was the best choice for our start up and I know Shepherd will grow with my practice.

CONS

There are a few features that I would like to see such as a way to email invoices/receipts with one click, however so far everyone I have asked for already has had a scheduled release date and an easy work around that Shepherd could offer in the meantime. This is obviously just a function of it being a relatively newer program and very soon everything I want will be available. I haven't come across any bugs or problems with it functioning as intended so they definitely did lots of beta testing to make sure it would be smooth sailing for their customers.

Sarah

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Easily the most user-friendly software in my experience

PROS

Very user friendly, navigation through software and patient records is extremely easy Extremely easy to upload lab results, radiographs, images, and other documents to patient record Remote access is available on any computer with internet Drug doses are automatically calulated minimizing error Charges are automatically captured when treatments are entered as completed Estimates are fast and easy to prepare

CONS

Search mechanism is limited to patient and client names, unable to search by breed or diagnosis, etc. at this time Populated Physical Exam is limited to companion mammals and isn't quite 100% applicable to avian and reptile species (or amphibian, fish, invertebrates, etc)

Sarah

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

All the bells and whistles with none of the headaches

Exceptional. One of the single best customer support experiences of my life, professional and otherwise.

PROS

The ease of use for the full functionality of this software is incredible. I've used software at so many clinics where the program is so glitchy, and complex, they are only using about 10% of the functions (meaning wasting money on program function they don't use) Shepherd is robust, and so easy to use every component of the program!

CONS

Must have internet connection. No offline mode (mobile practice, and some work does not get saved if the internet connection glitches)

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Started my own practice

Julie

Veterinary, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Overall great program!

Overall things have been great. They were helpful during setup and have continue to be helpful with the few minor issues I've run into.

PROS

It is very intuitive and easy to figure out 90% of the time, and the things I can't figure out on my own, customer service has been helpful in dealing with. It is somewhat customizable to what I need (some things can't be changed) and makes writing records fairly quick.

CONS

It does not integrate with my online pharmacy (Vetsource) so it's really tedious having to enter all those prescriptions twice. It is also expensive for a solo mobile practice with no employees- I like the program so I'm willing to pay for it, but would love if it were a little less.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Intuitive, easy to use, cloud based

Cindy

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

The First And Last Veterinary Software You Will Ever Need

Great! The overall experience has been helpful, technical support always helpful and fast response. Teaching us was a positive non dreaded experience

PROS

Ease of use! The software is intuitive for users. Love that we can see an entire SOAP entry at once. Abnormal show up in red.

CONS

Sometimes it is difficult to remove an entry even with authority. Makes great sense for medical records though as it leads to people being more attentive.

Reason for choosing Shepherd

Layout, clean and easy to read format. SOAP options, the support personnel. Designed by a veterinarian for veterinarians!

Reasons for switching to Shepherd

Slow support, features promised weren’t there within software

Jessica

Veterinary, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: