What are iDeals Virtual Data Room users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using iDeals Virtual Data Room software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.79

242 Reviews

5
195
4
44
3
3
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The platform is user-oriented and the ability that reads all documents so the search feature is extremely useful, faster and efficient."
  • icon"I used intermittantly but found it easy to use even for a non-tech person like myself. Responses were rapid and the notifications were useful."
  • icon"Excellent platform which is very easy for VDR users to access/use. Our clients and VDR invitees all like using iDeals - most important."
  • icon"Limitation of file types and the lack of granular user and user group administration."
  • icon"The lack of capacity to replicate the same file on multiple folders."
  • icon"It's very difficult find a lack in every side of Ideals."

Jump to:

Browse all iDeals Virtual Data Room Reviews

  • Have you used iDeals Virtual Data Room and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 242 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 242 reviews

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

iDeals VDR review

Pros

we typically use iDeals software to run and manage virtual data rooms for ongoing transactions. We benchmarked the product against their key competitors and found iDeals to offer comparable product features at competitive pricing

Cons

No issues noted to date. Everything from initial set-up to operation has been flawless

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

primarily due to value for money and functionality. Although, previous VDR software provider package became expensive on a per page basis when we exceeded our initial signed-up storage capacity

Mark

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

iDeals Virtual Data Room Review

We use iDeals as a central repository of key company data. This helps us to have one source of truth for information that could be communicated outside the company. We also use our data room to communicate with external parties. iDeals makes the experience easy for all parties. Initial setup took minutes, training and support resources have been readily available, system performance is reliable, and user feedback has been positive.

Pros

There are many things that my company loves about iDeals. First, the user interface is intuitive. We are often sharing access with external parties, and we rarely need to answer questions about how to use the software. As an administrator, the help resources and customer support have been fantastic. Pricing has been reasonable, and the iDeals team has been able to work quickly when we have needed their help.

Cons

Some of the reporting features are not quite as intuitive as other aspects of the software.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

We preferred the user interface of iDeals over Merrill DatasiteOne. iDeals also had a more complete set of features at the time we were evaluating software.

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

We mainly needed software that allowed for multiple administrators, and we were pleased with the user interface of iDeals compared to our previous data room software. iDeals just felt more modern, and since we are communicating with external parties through our data room we wanted their experience to be professional.

Chuan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Highly recommendable

I would choose it again should there be a need.

Pros

Easy to set up, manage, and use with partners

Cons

Maybe it would be helpful to make it possibe to set different permission levels for people within the same user group - currently rule seems to be that all people in the same group have the same permission level.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Just felt right.

Colby

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Easy to use, great service

Very positive.

Pros

Easy to set up. Large batch file upload. Easy access from iphone app.

Cons

Many steps to see/confirm who has access to each file

Márcio

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Review - Márcio

All my clients had trouble to access the platform, it is not user friendly.

Pros

The Price was the only thing that made some difference.

Cons

Asking for confirmation code everytime I wanted to login, in addition to the password.

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Marcio, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are constantly working on the improvement of our service and your input is very valuable for us. Regarding the specific feature you mentioned, please note there is a possibility to turn off 2-step authentication in case you do not need it and leave an option to enter the room only with a password. Please let us know if you need any help to proceed. We will be happy to assist. Best regards, Alexandra O'Brien

Replied March 2020

Cary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Not so "Ideal"s

Data room seems good once you're in. But if you actually want users to be able to get in easily, you'd be best looking elsewhere. Spam blocking has made this almost impossible for users to receive invitations. Then they are instructed to "and @ideals and Ip address" to whitelist ... so then you need to get your corporate IT department involved and ask everyone you invite to do the same; so in this case, not really "ideal"s.

Pros

like the features once in

Cons

can't get users into the room easily. 100% of the users I've invited have spent lots of time trying to figure out how to get in, even AFTER searching spam to find the link.

Piotr

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Virtual data room for due diligence purposes

Pros

Easy to use, works quickly and without any bugs.

Cons

There should be more advanced features related to management of Q&A session as well as settings related to files availability, option which can be printed / downloaded / viewed (now it can be only done per document)

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

The same feature for better price by iDeals

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

Cost effectiveness while similar key features that were important to us.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

User friendly and Ease of Use

Just superb. We have closed M&A deals with help of this. Even we are keeping it to manage office data.

Pros

All the files are uploaded and can be used by the useres very easiliy. It is easy for the user to understand the interface and functions of the date room. We have got very good feedback from the the users - they just used to reguster and start viewing and using the files instantly. Administrators can control the way files can be viewed or downloaded by the users. We can Just drop the files and Indexing will be done in seconds. I cannot summarise the functions in words here - just start using it and will get to know the importance of the data room in manageing the data in all aspects of business.

Cons

Long name files could not be uploaded - it did not even gave warnings or any pop up. It was quite difficult to undrstand the issue but now well versed with it.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

By comparing the ease of use of functions with other product in trial period.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Review

I am very satisfied with their product.

Pros

It is easy to use and can be easily understood by our clients (including older ones). There are some other VDRs that are a bit more complicated to use.

Cons

I can not come up with anything that I do not find convenient in the VDR, everything seems to be just in the right place.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Because I have had a pleasant previous experience with them.

Harsh

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Amazing

Amazing, the software as well as the team (both Support & Sales) at Ideals was way to helpful.

Pros

1. Data Security 2. Ease of use 3. Customer Support 4. Good User Interface

Cons

User reports should be more concised and crisp

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

1. Data Security 2. Cost Effective 3. Excellent support team

Marco

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

E' la soluzione che ho proposto ed ha scelto la mia azienda

Ottimo prodotto ci ha permesso di superare degli audit impegnativi senza problemi

Pros

Sono state determinanti per la scelta la professionalità del supporto sia tecnico che commerciale e la semplicità di utilizzo del software.

Cons

Non ho critiche di nessun tipo al momento ci troviamo bene

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Per il supporto tecnico e commerciale inoltre soddisfa ogni nostra necessità

Emanuele

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Great Product and Services

Pros

When we select a software application, we are not buy only the service, but we are creating a relationship, a partnership with sales, support and other supplier departments. In this case all the players were great: the application was intuitive and easy to be used, but we were satisfied especcially for the higher level of services as sales, support and post sales.

Cons

It's very difficult find a lack in every side of Ideals.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

The approach of Ideals in pre sales [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was very positive and fast on the delivery of the proposal. The cost was competitive and all the companies that have worked before us were a primary companies in the business world.

Ralph

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

All VDR you need

Pros

Compared to our look the former VDR it's very user friendly, easy to set up and has all the features needed.

Cons

For our needs I miss nothing. Maybe the automated index could be improved.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Best value for money and I like the user interface most.

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

Very expensive, old fashioned and the worse support experience I had as a customer.

Mayra

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

The best virtual data room in the market

It is so easy to move, rename, download and upload files within the data room. Also, the customer service is fast when you need their help and they are pretty knowledge of the platform.

Pros

The platform is user-oriented and the ability that reads all documents so the search feature is extremely useful, faster and efficient.

Cons

Our file names require a large amount of characters so when our file names are too large, iDeals does not read them.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

mainly because most users dont want to deal with a complex system but a system that is easy to navigate.

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

It was too expensive and the platform was not too user friendly

Alexander

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Would Highly Recommend

I have had really good use of the product so far with a good customer experience

Pros

iDeals is a very good easy to use and intuitive software that other people can quickly pick up and use. It was easy to implement internally and get access to both key internal stakeholders and external personnel. Would highly recommend

Cons

It really has limited flaws; it lacks in the complexity of some of the larger competitors however I feel that these parts of the software can be found in other places

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Better recommended and better priced

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

Easier to use and more people recommended iDeals

Cem

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Affordable price, ease of use

Pros

It is very easy to use and manage. The price is cheap compared to others.

Cons

There was nothing that I did not like about the product.

Andrea

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Project consultants

Overall, iDeals exceeded our expectations! iDeals is our trustful partner already (no doubts we would choose them also in the future) and we strongly recommend iDeals to any potential users. Thank you very much for the excelent mutual cooperation.

Pros

The tool is unbelievably comprehensive but still very flexible and user friendly. We appreciated the "intro online-training" - it was really helpful, very practical, we received so many hints in a short time (our "iDeals contact" was able to answer any question very clearly and was supportive during the whole project). We also liked the 24hours support (we used it and it worked to our satisfaction). The tool itself is precisely built to the smallest detail, it has a very clear structure, enormous number of various helpful reports and you can tailor it to your most specific needs. We were fascinated also by the speed of data loading. We value also a very professional and prompt communication and helpful approach of the whole iDeals team.

Cons

There was one thing at the end we learned from the whole process - we used a robust structure of folders and files within one dataroom (lots of subfolders and too long file names). This brought us some extra work at the end (when we needed to "archive" the whole database) - we had to "rethink" the structure a little bit to be able to archive it. The most practical way for us was to shorten some file names (that were making the whole "path" too long to be processed). So I would just make a recommendation to any users to be careful when they are building their datarooms not to go to extreme "file paths" like we did:-) But apart of this little extra work for us, we must say that iDeals was very supportive also at this stage and we managed also the final archiving process with no problems.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

We had no other previous experience with any similar Virtual Data Room provider and we chose iDeals based on very good references from our business partners (lawyers) and also based on the references found on the internet.

Jaimin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Great product with great features!

Pros

Special features of iDeals data room which are not available in other data rooms as per our previous experience. The best feature in the iDeals data room is sharing the confidential documents with the external parties in a way that they cannot download/print the documents. Also the watermark in background will be generated automatically. Multiple admins can manage the data room, also the log can be monitored (i.e. timestamp of activity, who spent how much time on which document, etc.) Admin can limit the data room use in advance by setting up the end date and make it unable for external users. This helps to complete the review in timely manner.

Cons

I could not find any cons for this product.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Better price, user friendly, better customer service as well as partners were familiar with this product better than the other!

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

iDeals was able to provide the confidential platform with no downloads, no prints and automatic watermarks which helped us to share the documents with better security and confidence.

Pablo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Excellent platform for M&A deals with a competitive price

10/10 with a competitive price and an easy-to-use platform

Pros

Easy to use with a wide range of functionabilities including a well designed Q&A section

Cons

Lack of Spanish local team for a fast support

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Good past experience with the product in past M&A deals

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

Very expensive

Antoine

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

High Value for Money: a Complete Solution

iDeals truly made our lives and that of the clients easier. The user-face is extremely user friendly and easy to manage, while the fees are very affordable to the client as well.

Pros

User friendly product and easily customizable: the interface is very flexible and allows you to truly customize the accessibility of every single file to each user on an individual basis. The support team is extremely helpful as well. The support team is available 24/7 and are very responsive and quick in tackling any issues. The value for money of this software compared to competitors put iDeals at a clear advantage point.

Cons

I honestly could not find anything to dislike about the software. It is truly a great product 360 degrees.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

The value for money is unbelievable. iDeals offers you a complete and thorough solutions for a relatively cheaper price compared to competitors

Reasons for switching to iDeals Virtual Data Room

Merrill DatasiteOne was 2 to 4 times more expensive than iDeals for the exact same services in terms of user-face and customization, 24/7 customer support and professionalism.

Naasik

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Best bang for the buck VDR!

iDeals is definitely one of my go-to products now! Great overall product, very intuitive and unbeatable pricing!

Pros

Having used 10+ other VDR providers, I can say iDeals has my favorite UI / UX and ease of use. The price point is unbeatable by a mile so for budget conscious clients. For a typical middle market / lower-middle market M&A deal, the feature sets are more than adequate. I like the easy drag and drop functionality and I must say iDeals is the only vendor who allows drag and drop from email client function. Easy permissioning and user invites.

Cons

I have not faced this issue myself but I am told by other colleagues they have had some security concerns about the platform. The customer support is also not as robust but frankly I did not need to use them as the product is very intuitive!

Alternatives Considered

Firmex Virtual Data Room and Datasite Diligence

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Bang for the buck!

BINA

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Great for Series A stage company

Pros

No automatic payment, hard to navigate through and edit per user options for document security

Cons

The customer service and response time was terrible, had to make multiple follow ups. No customer service available for the end user. Issues with invite emails.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Cheaper, easier platform

Response from iDeals Solutions Group

Dear Bina, Thanks very much for your feedback! We are sorry you had difficulties in communication with customer support. We have double-checked the situation. A spam filter was a reason for delays, therefore your requests could not be processed quickly. This issue is already taken care of. Please do not hesitate to contact us in case of any open topics. Kind regards, Alexandra O'Brien

Replied March 2020

Raul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great Software

iDeals is a great product. Provides the level of security needed to ensure your documents are protected. Ease of use was fantastic and customer service is excellent.

Pros

Security, User interface, and permissions flexibility.

Cons

Installation needed for downloading of encrypted files. Should be easier.

Alternatives Considered

Firmex Virtual Data Room and Datasite Diligence

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Pricing, Functionality, Security, Server Location Options, Friendly User Interface.

Ken

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Pritchard Griffin iDeals review

We have been on the platform for approx 4 years and are very satisfied with the product in comparison with other VDR we see.

Pros

Excellent platform which is very easy for VDR users to access/use. Our clients and VDR invitees all like using iDeals - most important.

Cons

Need better macro-level reporting for client to see total storage used and available capacity. We have had instances in which we exceeded our contracted capacity as our deal teams did not know how much space was being consumed in total. Also suggest having a tutorial for using the desktop version. Our team did not fully appreciate the functionality of the desktop version. The desktop version vastly accelerates upload times and users should be keenly aware at the time they first start using iDeals.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Quality of overall package and value in comparison with alternate VDR packages.

Vinod Kumar

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Simple and effective

We used iDeals virtual data room to host few documents for review by our consultants. The reviews were done without the need for a travel or meeting, yet the documents were shared in a secure and simple way than sending them through an emails.

Pros

The ease of use is unparalleled. It take less than 20 minutes to set up the virtual data-room and roll-out go-live. Security features are as expected. Users can be restricted from printing, downloading or viewing documents. Downloaded files are encrypted and watermarked. Q&A can be monitored through the tool. Allows visual customization such as adding your own logo.

Cons

Nothing specific. Allowing for pop-up message at the time of login to remind about confidentiality would've been nice.

Reasons for choosing iDeals Virtual Data Room

Ease of use and time taken for go-live.

Showing 1 - 25 of 242 reviews
iDeals Virtual Data Room

iDeals Virtual Data Room

4.79/5 out of 242 reviews
Learn More