All Cisco Unified Communications Manager Reviews

1-25 of 73 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Oscar

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Call Manager - Good for medium and large companies

In general I liked it. I stayed in version 11.5 and it works very well, it still has support and I can upgrade phone firmwares without problem. I think I will stick with this version for a bit longer before migrating to a subscription scheme with the new licensing.

PROS

The versatility of the tool is what we like the most. It supports all protocols and is easy to integrate with third parties. Policies can be created very easily and user control is simplified with the integration to LDAP.

CONS

Being able to upgrade software and IOS is no longer so simple. The new version 12 and 14 no longer support perpetual licensing. I think this is something that will affect small clients and will be very limited in the future.

Reason for choosing Cisco Unified Communications Manager

In itself it is much more versatile and allows a simpler growth. It is very easy to add new nodes with the same licenses and maintain a diversified high availability scheme across multiple remote offices. Other vendors do not offer this versatility.

Robert

Management Consulting

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2015

More than just VoIP - A Powerful UC and Collaboration Suite

PROS

Cisco Unified Communications Manager and its associated products (Unity Connection voicemail, Contact Center Express, etc.) provide a full suite of unified communications and collaboration capabilities. The solution can scale to from SMB to large enterprise and is highly flexible, allowing it to accommodate a wide range of business needs. The latest versions transition both voice and video communication onto a unified platform to drive the ubiquity of video adoption and impact the speed of business. Support for a wide range of endpoints, including PC, tablet, and mobile devices, allows for the adoption of collaboration tools by remote and mobile workers. The product is powerful and lends itself easily to fulfilling business goals.

CONS

One of the primary negatives about Cisco UCM would be the cost, especially at smaller scales and when competing against a legacy TDM solution. Even for businesses that are driven primarily by cost though, the additional benefits such as integrated instant messaging, point to point video, and mobile device integration may prove to be enough of a differentiator to justify the extra expense. Organizations that are interested in managing their own solution will typically need to hire or have on staff a fairly high level engineer, though most IT people would be capable of learning how to handle at least basic moves, adds, and changes. The importance of solid solution architecture and maintenance can not be overstated enough.

Matthew

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Robust product set with strong functionality but a lot to learn

Great way to monitor and manage on-premise phone systems without paying a substantial fee to a consultant/product provider for management. Allows for a very robust amount of phone service management and integrate with several other third-party products for additional tools (have their own quirks and requirements for management and account permissions). All around great, and very matured, product for voice systems management.

PROS

- Extremely robust feature set with depth in configuration and customization. - Diversified technology with a strong security interface. - Configuration rich interfaces with strong delineation of permission sets and redirects. - Administrative overhead easily reduced by account permissions sets

CONS

- So robust can feel a bit overwhelming (version specific) - Deployment time frames can be long from purchase to full production implementation (good support though) - More hardware specific as far as integration than some other agnostic products.

User Profile

Justin

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Enterprise Banking VoIP Solution

We have a very complex design of 4 clusters implementing 10 digit dialing scheme for everything nationwide. We were able to accomplish this with CUCM and it's extremely granular configuration ability.

PROS

I have been administering Unified Communications Manager for almost 10 years . The stability of CUCM is unrivaled. The uptime of our voice environment in the last 4 years has been over 99.99% with the only downtime being due to patch/security updates and maintenance. I sleep well at night knowing that our environment is stable.

CONS

The only complaints that I've had about CUCM have all been addressed in newer versions. The complexity of licensing was addressed with Enterprise License Manager. The difficulty of upgrades was addressed with Prime Collaboration Deployment. It's very difficult to find any cons with the current version of CUCM.

Marsha

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

A very reliable and stable solution which we are have been using for years

I like that the solution is fully featured, we currently use this solution and have been for years and must say it is very reliable and stable. CM is fully featured and is a flexible IP telephony solution. We have it across multiple sites, with publisher and subscriber the solution provides full redundancy in the event of a disaster. The phone deployment is quick and simple, and bulk imports make large scale deployment of telephony endpoints quick and seamless. It is helpful to consult with another organization to construct a plan and design prior to implementation.

CONS

It takes some training and continuous use to fully master CM as it is not very simple at first. It is helpful to consult with another organization to construct a plan and design prior to implementation. Once you have been using CM for sometime you become more comfortable with the solution and deployment. The licensing model can become costly and upgrade can at times get complicated.

User Profile

Javier

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Excellent Call Control with multiple advanced telephony functions.

Cisco Unified Comminication Manager already has many years in the market and is an excellent solution for IP telephony in small, medium or large companies, since it adapts to any type of company. It also allows you to gradually add more features with other solutions that are integrated natively.

PROS

The best thing about Cisco Unified Comminication Manager is the possibility of having any type of phone registered even from third parties. It brings many features that help users to move in and out of the company. It also allows you to incorporate collaboration tools, Video Conference, Voice Mail, etc. All integrated

CONS

Some traditional functions of telephone exchanges do not have them, however it is possible to incorporate them but with the development of third parties.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Cisco Unified Call Manager Review

PROS

CUCM has very strong redundancy mechanism which enable up to 9 Nodes in one cluster. You can integrate IM and Presence, Unity, Contact Center and Expressway Servers to this cluster without any problem. They work very coordinated together. The CUCM Nodes share and replicate their database continuously so that every change on any Node, replicate to the others. So you are able to manage all in one server's GUI.

CONS

It is quite expensive by means of license and support. Also the IP Telephones are also expensive in comparison to market.

User Profile

Juan Carlos

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Great and robust product, however is for advanced users

If you are looking for a robust and secure communication solution, it's great, I would only advise against its reporting.

PROS

It's a good product, high quality, and very robust security-wise, it has all the tools and functionalities for your communication needs, I used it personally for a Call Center and I had little to no downtime.

CONS

I really disliked its reporting system, is not user friendly also cisco does not allow you to tamper its software and it makes it really difficult to extract valuable information for analysis.

User Profile

Abigail

Verified reviewer

Investment Management

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Cisco's Unified Communications Manager made my workplace phone system so much easier to control!

This software helped me to control and organize my phone system according to my business and even my employees.

PROS

The aspect I like the most about this software is that I can control every phone in the office. If I want only 3 people's phones to ring when a main line call comes in, I can do that. If I want to group certain phones to roll over certain calls, I can do that as well.

CONS

One con about this software is that without instruction, you would never be able to use it. Written instructions are simply too complicated and there are a lot of shortcuts, tips, and tricks you can learn by having a cisco rep come out! However..it is time consuming!

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

The most powerfull tool

I work for more than 10 years with systems associated with the UCM and I present few failures and these were never associated with the software was hardware or bad configuration, really excellent.

PROS

Its stability is impressive, practically without maintenance it is able to work a lot of time.

CONS

At present, a state of maturity has been achieved that allows it to be one of the best in the market, although it requires a little more time than other brands.

Omar

Plastics, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Excellent sound quality and very reliable

We needed to renew our old communication manager and decided to evaluate IP telephony, we reviewed several options and Cisco was the one we liked the most. Cisco allows us to have IP phones, analog phones, PC clients and other collaboration tools. We migrated from another brand to Cisco and the voice quality improved a lot. We have remote offices to which we send telephone extensions through a VPN, and it is totally imperceptible to our clients due to the high quality of the voice. It allows us to be in contact between offices with calls, video calls or through the internal messenger (Cisco Jabber) We can receive directly voice mail in our email.

PROS

This Call Manager is the best we have ever had, the voice quality is unbeatable even in remote offices connected by VPN, 100% recommended. It is a very good investment. Allows you to consolidate the telecommunications infrastructure. With video calls it allows us to place a camera phone in a boardroom and directors make calls to this room for meetings and it's as if they were there saving us travel expenses. This tool is very complete, we have Cisco Unity Connection (Voice Mail) and Cisco IM and Presence. It allows us to have the phones installed in a PC with a client on windows without losing quality in the calls, and even make video calls from the PC.

CONS

The cost of licenses or phones are a little high and sometimes limits you a little to take better advantage of their capabilities.

Reason for choosing Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Cisco is a premium brand and its products are worth what they cost for that, you have to be careful with the sizing of the project so that it does not go over budget.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Unified Communications Manager

We needed to renew our old communication manager.

Chirag

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2021

Reliable phone system

Overall, Cisco Unified Communication Manager was one of the most stable products that we didn't have to worry about at all. It powered our VoIP communication, voicemail delivery by email, allowed us to automate certain feature changes and more. It was rich in feature and features were hard to find. We stayed with default feature-set as much as possible.

PROS

Cisco's unified communication manager is rock solid once set up. You won't have to worry about this system going down. We used it on-prem. While it has a lot of capabilities, we used only fraction of it. They also have APIs you could use to communicate programmatically and change ring groups/hunt groups, round-robin and more. It takes a while to master the features.

CONS

The user interface has not been thought through very well. It looks old school. In today's day and age where the user interface design is clean, well-organized and easy to find, Cisco's Unified Communication Manager looks clunky (but it works)! There are lot of opportunities for Cisco to change its look and feel to make features easier to find.

Mark

Mining & Metals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Cisco CallManager - easy choice for a Cisco shop

Been using call manager for over 10 years - this is one of the better call systems out there - sure cloud based services are popular but for enterprise with thousands of phones this is a solid option.

PROS

CallManager is a phone system seemingly built by "network guys" - it has all the major features of a call control server and is easy to manage from a network perspective. The software is solid and runs well - programming phones is very easy as well.

CONS

Updates can be cumbersome in addition some device support can be problematic. If you stick to an all Cisco ecosystem it works well but when trying to integrate its not the best. Call reporting\details can be a bit harder to dig into without some sort of front end software.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Old Nortel system, end of life and support, needed something VoIP based.

User Profile

Cynthia

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

GUI Interface is not that intuitive. Requires a lot of patience and time to read user manuals.

PROS

I will have to admit that as long as you have a service contract with Cisco, they have excellent customer service. They've resolved many issues for us that were mission critical. But this is strictly for the CUCM itself. If you need help with specific physical phones, that requires a separate service contract and they will NOT help you.

CONS

I do not like that there is no consistent way in knowing which DID phone numbers have already been used and which ones are available. The biggest issue I have is when I think a phone number is available to assign to staff person, but often times that same number is being used as a voicemail box only for messages. Since the voicemail system is different, I have to constantly check both systems as well as a spreadsheet we have to ensure the phone number I'm assigning is actually available for use. Plus, we have several different call blocks so I never know which prefix goes with which extension. CUCM does not show the full phone number, only the last 4 digits. So unless you have running documentation knowing all the phone numbers in your call blocks, it's not very intuitive.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Communication Manager Best Choice of Tomorrows Telecom Needs

its easy to use Its easy to Configure Its pride using CM 10 and CM 11 for MP and Presence feature

PROS

1) Its HW Specific , it can be customized either to work on Appliance or in Virtual Environment 2)Main Advantage is that its Converged i.e. Voice and Data One One Single CISCO Network 3) Its Product Portfolio makes you to take immediate Decision either CM on Router or On Server or on VM. 4) SIP integration is Some What Tricky but stable 5)REAL Unified Communication Comes on Track When Presence , MP need to integrates and System Proves its Capability as VALUE FOR MONEY.

CONS

1) System Should prompt to next Section and Next Section if to implement Features and Programming. 2) By making this it will be More Easy to implement fast and Compete other Brands

Larry

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

I use Cisco UCM nearly every day. It is a robust software, but has a learning curve.

We never have to worry about down time on our phone system. We also find it easy to manage day to day changes.

PROS

You can do just about anything with a phone system that you would want to do through the software. It is low maintenance. Typically there are no problems unless you are performing an upgrade or making a major configuration change.

CONS

The cost is always a bummer. There are other solutions that are a lower cost but don't provide all of the advanced features that you get with Cisco. I also don't like how complicated some parts of the software are seems like the user interface could be much more simplified. The user interface also needs an update... perhaps it's time for it to move to HTML 5 and get rid of all of the popup windows.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Cisco Unified Communication Manager (CUCM) 12.5

PROS

Multi party conference, no distortion in voice, highly reliability, safe

CONS

Good software, sometime TEC support is not up to the mark

shauna

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: