All Phone.com Reviews

1-25 of 65 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Rick

Verified reviewer

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Phone.com is the best VOIP Office phone service

Overall I absolutely love Phone.com. It's by far the best business grade phone service I've ever used. We also use it for our home phone service and it's been rock solid. I've recommended it to several friends.

PROS

Phone.com is by far the best VOIP phone system I've ever used. It has a variety of features and a good mobile app. Plus their mobile app is good. The best part is their customer service though. It is bar none.

CONS

Their mobile app could be a little better and it's been a long time but it used to be a tiny bit confusing but I heard they've fixed it. I set up our services once and haven't been back in years to change anything.

Reasons for switching to Phone.com

Phone.com had the best customer service and good plans.

Chassity

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Look professional like a big organization

My experience with Phone.com has been a wonderful experience. I will continue to use phone.com due to the wonderful customer service, the price and the ease of use.

PROS

I love that I am able to have a 1800 number and I can also text from that number and receive messages as well. Their customer service is very helpful and if the agent at the time isn't able to find the solution, which has been a rare case for me, they forward you to someone that can assist you or make a ticket for you and someone with the answer will get back to you within no later than a couple of hours.

CONS

I honestly don't have any cons that I can think of at the moment due to me having a pretty good experience so far and the software meets all of my business needs.

Reason for choosing Phone.com

I picked phone.com because of the customer service they provide, their prices are great for a business just starting out and I love all of the features they offer.

Reasons for switching to Phone.com

The customer service was bad, and it was pretty difficult to setup the software and I am tech savvy. Did not offer a 1800 number for business use.

Jennifer

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2024

Beware, not compatible with Android cell phones!

PROS

Seems to work well with laptop. It is easy to use when operating properly. Easy to reach tech support.

CONS

It seems to be incompatible with Android cell phone. I have spent many hours and days with tech support and still no solution. I have to reinstall app at least 1x weekly just to make a phone call from my cell. Caller ID will not show my company name on receiving end.

Brent

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Billing nightmare and missing critical Self-Help solutions/support

we have saved money by moving 10 of our toll free number to phone.com from the bigBell (AT&T) We are able to have phones at our new remote warehouse using phone.com where our Avaya System has failed to work through a VPN setup.

PROS

functionality of the phone.com feature as a whole, work fine. support is generally able to answer the call in a few minutes and are open 24/7. They include most features you would need in most situations in a business environment.

CONS

To say that the invoices are confusing would be a gross understatement. they are so bad that on several occasions, I have had to call support for billing, and each time, even the billing support reps are unable to break it down for me and make any sense of it. On 2 occasions I have spent well over an hour on the phone trying to understand the bill. they issue a charge then issue a credit 10s of times on each invoice. even after getting rid of all the charges and equal credits on the invoice, there are still usual discrepancies that have to be fixed. each time finding errors in the billing that needed to be overridden by a manager and credited back to the account. When you purchase an unlimited plan, they don't tell you that the unlimited minutes are only for calls routed through the extension with unlimited minutes. routing calls or forwarding directly to a number and not through an extension will incur per minute charges over the basic minimums. to make matters worse, the extension setup is far from streamlined and have to bounce all over the website to get it configured and set up properly making it extremely complex to setup for 19 phone numbers and we still wound up paying for overage minutes because this lack of communication. this type of thing is critical for customers to know in order to get the services they are paying for for the price they are paying.

Reasons for switching to Phone.com

Save money overall and compatibility with our unique system configuration

Craig

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Phone.com Needs Some Work

Still using Phone.com because I paid for 12 months upfront to get the best price. They system works, but I feel it is not working well or helping my company look "good" to my callers.

PROS

IP phone system for on-the-go small business owners - great features that can make you look like a full-fledged company. Prices are competitive, too. There customer service is really good, answered quickly, no holding on line and they answered my questions and helped with using my recorded message as my first answer greeting. However, see below as they help with answering the questions but not being pro-active

CONS

The buttons they use to get to your messages, calls, etc. is called "Configure" then "manage users & extensions" - how crazy is that? Then, setting up a call trail - knowing full well what you want to happen is so complicated that you go nuts trying to figure it out. Recording and using messages and setting up the phone trail is a nightmare - I know others have had the same feelings so why haven't they taken any of these suggestions and improve the product - they really are so close! They answer quickly as noted above but you have to know what you are asking - they will help but seems not to "guide" you with best practices in setting up your phone system. I can buy a landline and the installer sets everything up for me - why can't Phone.com help me like that?

Reason for choosing Phone.com

Wanted some of their features I needed - like faxing from my laptop and having extensions and messages and being able to direct callers to various areas.

Fernando

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

DECENT VOIP SYSTEM FOR SMALL BUSINESS

i have had a pleasant experience with it but it has its limitations.

PROS

dont need any hardware for this system and can use it anywhere. has built in fax and sms capability and contact management, like the online portal for sms messaging very good and quick.

CONS

if you are on an iphone text messages dont come over quickly, you dont get notifications have called many a times to figure out the issue and i cant imagine its a hardware issue as my partners and i have had the issue on all of our iphones. pictures dont come over that well. cant transfer very well to other extensions or outside of the phone system

Vendor Response

Fernando, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that the service is generally working well for you. I have asked our customer success team to reach out and see if we can find a solution for the text messaging issue. You will hear from someone soon.

Replied September 2020

Naomi

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Do not make this mistake

PROS

No long wait times to connect to representatives

CONS

Save yourself the anxiety and headache / and also the money - this is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever put myself through . If it’s not one thing it’s the other , one associate fixes one thing while simultaneously messesing up another . It’s been over a month and I have still not been able to successfully use this service . Hands down, the worse decision- lost money off my bussiness because they mistakenly completely added the phones . They have one job, and they absolutely fail at it, over and over and over again .

Erin

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Phone.com

PROS

I like that it's all internet based and easy to use.

CONS

It was very spotty. We pay for amazing internet so that wasn't the problem.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

phone.com great customer service team

I have always had a great experience with every customer service/support rep I have worked with. They will escalate easily if things are not working as you expect and they are cheerful and thoughtful.

PROS

There are a lot of options and the tool is very flexible. If you ever need help their support team is just a live chat away and they are always very helpful and creative. Willing to offer ideas on how to best set up your system to meet your needs.

CONS

It is not easy to figure out on your own. It takes time to understand how all of the settings work and what is the best process for your needs.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

The Phone.com app ticks all the boxes

Phone.com is so easy to use. It was a little tedious to set up, but once it's done, it's done. I use the app on an iPhone and it looks much like the default call interface, but I would never confuse the two. I appreciate that the design looks nice. It keeps everything tied to my business number, together in one place. My only frame of reference is as an end user; I do not have access to the phone.com web interface so I cannot comment on that. But as a user, it's perfect! Anywhere I happen to be, I know I'll be able to get those important phone calls. And I can easily tell when a call comes through that it's via phone.com.

PROS

The app design (for iPhone) is sleek and consistent with Apple products

CONS

It is sometimes slow to connect calls, annoying at first setup

Mick

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great Product. Great Support. Misleading Pricing.

Overall, I like it although it ended up being more than anticipated. With taxes and fees, $119yr is really $160/yr, but they get you on devices, (even softphones) where $60/year is really $100/year per phone. They are adding their own fees to this, so they should just be upfront. One chat support person was kind of rude suggesting that "I should have gotten a quote" and "Who told me it was free". I compared several providers and it's still a good value. No regrets.

PROS

I was able to use my established Google Voice number and easily port it over to something more business-friendly. I like that it's scalable as my business grows and I can put a high-quality Polycom SIP phone right in my home office. The Android app is also useful if I want to make calls from that number remotely.

CONS

When signing up, it wasn't clear to me that adding a device (desk phone or softphone) wasn't included in the price. I incorrectly assumed one would be included with the plan. How else would you use the service, I thought. (I later learned that only forwarding calls to cell phones is included) I already had a phone and nothing was mentioned during sign up or during my support call while the phone was being provisioned. I only realized it when I got a bill for $100 the next month. My own fault for not getting a quote, I guess. In any case, I didn't care. It just wasn't clear at all and I wanted to make sure it wasn't a mistake.

Reason for choosing Phone.com

Price, features

Reasons for switching to Phone.com

Quality of Magic Jack and the needs of my business.

Vendor Response

Mick, We appreciate your honest feedback. While our base plans have 40+ features included, there are certain features that require an additional monthly fee. We do strive to ensure that this is communicated when signing up for additional services. We also understand your frustration and will make sure to pass this on to our development team to make sure our pricing/features page set clear expectations.

Replied December 2019

Joyce

Furniture, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Best Customer Service

[sensitive content hidden] willingness to go to bat for me to get their phone back was dedicated teamwork and definitely going above and beyond the call of duty.

PROS

The customer service is top notch! [sensitive content hidden] and the team at Phone.com are the best. They work very hard to satisfy their customers. I have been a long time customer of Phone.com. Many times I have had trouble paying my bill. They usually work very hard to help me keep it. Unfortunately, I recently lost my business 800 number because I couldn't afford to pay my bill again, this time it was too long. I have had that number for years and it was published everywhere. I don't recommend not paying your bill cause you run the risk of losing it. Sell something, anything, but pay your bill! It definitely hurt my business when I went to run ads and that number was all over the internet. No way can you change decades of publishing and sharing of that number. In both print and online. I really want to thank everyone for getting my phone number back as it was in the process of being assigned to another company. Blessing to you all. Phone.com is the best company for your business.

CONS

Nothing, I have no complaints what-so-ever.

Reason for choosing Phone.com

Because I wanted full service if I need it.

Michael

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2023

The Worst Customer Service

When transferring an account to another individual, phone.com did not update the payment method and is refusing to remove my payment method from an account that I originally setup. Their customer service could not understand the request that I was communicating and refused to transfer me to a supervisor. Any business that doesn't respect a customer current, past or potential future, - enough to allow them to speak with a supervisor for further assistance in disconnecting a bank account that belongs to a different individual than the account is connected to - does not deserve your business. There are other companies that have better customer service departments and better supervisors that respect their clientelle, understand the issues at hand and work to assist anyone that calls into their department. They were not helpful and refused to transfer me to supervisor because - even though I was previously listed on the account, I'm no longer listed on the account - so in their eyes, I am not their customer and the supervisors apparently don't have time to speak with me. I would never use phone.com and would recommend to my friends and real family - that they highly consider a different voip service that is customer service oriented instead of phone.com - who is not customer service oriented.

PROS

online functionality and ability to forward a toll free voip to personal phone

CONS

Customer Service is the worst, they do not attempt to help and they refuse to let you speak with a supervisor regardless of the issue you are trying to resolve. They do not listen and instead refer back to the script they were given.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Work Calls Made Easy

PROS

I appreciate the versatility that phone.com has to offer when it comes to how you want to handle calls. It's very easy to switch back and forth from sending calls directly to my desk to forwarding them to my cell phone when I'm working from home. I like that you can also make calls from the computer if needed. Once you learn how to navigate the website, it's easy to do everything necessary on your computer, from recording and applying greetings to seeing your call logs all in one place.

CONS

Although the website is very useful, it is somewhat outdated and thus difficult to navigate at first. Some settings are difficult to find and are not intuitive at all. But, once you figure out where everything is and how to set things, up, it's not so bad. It also seems like it can be pretty tough to add a new physical Polycom phone to the system, as it requires calling phone.com from the Polycom phone and potentially staying on the line for a while - this can be inconvenient during a work day.

Vendor Response

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Our teams are currently working on bringing our portal up to date. If you are using SMS or need to listen to your VM's you can now do it in a more convenient way! You can now go to my.phone.com to access your SMS and VM's and access Control Panel. Also, if you need to add another device to your account in the future you can always email support@phone.com, provide your express service code, devices MAC address, and indicate which existing or new extension you want the device added to and our support team will have this done ASAP.

Replied January 2020

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2023

They will torture you when you cancel

PROS

Good price, good number, decent reliability.

CONS

I don't want to associate with ANY company that puts you on hold for one hour when cancelling service. You have no other option. YOU HAVE TO CALL. And then they put you one hold for 1+ hour. And the person was difficult to understand when I finally got through.

Reasons for switching to Phone.com

Comcast was expensive. Phone.com was a better price.

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Affordable but buggy

PROS

Phone.com does everything I was looking for in a VOIP. As a small business owner, it sure beats having to purchase a stand-alone phone.

CONS

My biggest issue with Phone.com is the app. It's super buggy and slow (unresponsive) to use. Given the affordability of the phone plan, I've decided I can live with the bugs, but they're still a pain.

Reason for choosing Phone.com

Affordability, HIPPA compliance

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback, Matthew! We are always looking for ways to improve our app to ensure a better mobile experience. Give us a call at 833-782-2355 and let us know what kind of issues you are running into and we will gladly assist you.

Replied August 2019

Andrew

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Phone.com useful for privacy

Phone.com is helpful and I have not had too many problems using it, though I wish the UX was a bit better.

PROS

I like having phone.com because I am able to give clients a phone.com number that is different and distinct from my actual cellphone number.

CONS

The audio transcription of voicemail could use some improvement, as there are inaccuracies. Also, at times it takes a long time to log in and it can be frustrating if you need to access the app quickly.

Vendor Response

Hello Andrew, We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experiences related to Phone.com. Our teams continue to work on improving our services and your feedback is most valuable in this process. It saddens us to hear that some of our services have not met your expectations. Phone.com does offer Human Assisted transcriptions that might better suit your needs. This can be added and/or removed per extension at anytime. In regards to your experience with the app please feel free to call into our 24/7 support line at 1 800 998 7087 or send an email with your concerns to support@phone.com and we will be happy to assist you further. We would like to lastly thank you for being a Phone.com customer and we appreciate your business

Replied November 2019

Wilmer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY