All Rocket.Chat Reviews

1-25 of 151 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jesse

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

As close as you can get to Slack without being Slack

Overall I have been using Rocket Chat for over a year now and it's been a great tool for collaboration and communication internally.

PROS

Rocket Chat is, in my opinion, the best alternative to Slack that is available today. The best part about Rocket Chat is that you can install it on your own local servers so you're no reliant on someone else storing your data on their servers on the Internet. This can be particularly valuable for those who may distrust the Internet a good deal. Rocket Chat offers a wide variety of features that make it, again in my opinion, the best contender to face off against the Slack platform.

CONS

Rocket Chat can sometimes be tricky or actually impossible to update and the features and settings can sometimes be a little difficult to understand what exactly they do.

Vendor Response

Hello Jesse, we're happy to read that you've been having such a positive experience with Rocket.Chat. Whatever problems you face, you can always take it to our community on Github or to our support team on support@rocket.chat :) Thank you and keep rock(et)ing! Rocket.Chat Team

Replied August 2020

Faraan

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Love for in company communication

To summarize, makes communicating within company very easy. Love ability to create groups, send a variety of message formats, and chat history logging.

PROS

Number one thing -> love the fact that it keeps all logs of chats saved. Very easy to message code snippets or images or any sort of file to coworkers.

CONS

Haven't found anything I disliked about rocketchat yet. It is quite a big upgrade over our last messaging tool (skype).

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

I am not sure why the company decided to make the switch but the biggest upgrades over skype was the way Rocketchat saves chat histories is a lot better than Skype and I always had issues sending larger files or code snippets over skype.

Vendor Response

Dear Faraan, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Felix

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2021

Rocket Chat - Good But not Great

Rocket Chat is a cost-effective communication solution for small businesses. However, when compared to its competitors (particularly Slack), it's not a product I'd suggest to someone trying to get the most out of it. The development team must work harder to stabilize the program and make it more user-friendly.

PROS

1. I like the notification system. It's highly unlikely that you will miss a crucial notification. When the status is set to busy, the notifications will stay in the background 2. It is definitely cheaper compared to its competitors 3. It's good for team collaboration and communication with the ability to create changes 4. The emojis spice up the communication 5. It also offers SSO functionality where users can log in with their GSUITE credentials

CONS

1. The major con has to be the User Interface. It could definitely use a lot of improvements to make it smooth 2. When starting it for the first time, the servers actually take forever to load 3. It hangs quite a lot even with a very strong internet connection and high spec laptop 4. The file sharing option could be made smoother. 5. The video call option is still missing 6. It's very easy to miss notifications while using the mobile app

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

1. Cost 2. Features offered

Gavin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

A great, free Slack replacement

Cross-country communications have been simplified and we've been able to move from Slack to Rocket.chat with very little learning curve for our users. While gaining an unlimited amount of messages being saved, nearly unlimited storage space, and still keeping a familiar appearance, we've been able to implement SSO and created a number of custom data integrations with our ticketing system.

PROS

OpenSource, free, and self hosted, gives us the freedom to manage and maintain a nationwide communications platform while keeping the costs very low.

CONS

The biggest issue we have with Rocket.chat is somewhat inconsistent notifications being received to some mobile phones.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Slack was costing too much for the many users we had, and we had little control over the infrastructure outages and associated costs.

Vendor Response

Hi Gavin, Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Replied August 2020

User Profile

Mudssar

Verified reviewer

Consumer Electronics, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Rocket Chat Messanger in Customer Service.

Effectieve business communication among clients/internal and customers. happy to use i.

PROS

easy to use, configure, can be installed on many forum like ubuntu,ocean,docker etc. Android/IOS application supported. text formatting is value aded feature. file can be sent or recieved. hence at server level restriction can be made to avoid data sharing. channel/grouping can be made. 2 step security is good option.

CONS

User cant made group, does not work with windows server active user directory, if you paste large data, it will convert it to text file, editor do not support for medium large data.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Unable to handel client outside windows users, i.e users needs to be registered on domain.

Vendor Response

Hello Mudssar, we're glad your happy with the overall performance of our product. :) About the problems you're facing, you can always contact support@rocket.chat and we'll be happy to help you! Kind regards, Rocket.Chat Team

Replied August 2020

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Internet

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Rocket.Chat is an open-source discord or slack. A chat program you can host on your own server.

I used this product as a secure chat interface to get away from facebook.

PROS

Well, amazingly it's free for personal and commercial use. On top of that it works very well, and you can even deploy in a docker, which means you can get it up fast. It has tons of functions that you can integrate to compete with the discord and slack. Tons. Also, you can integrate bots, which seems like the latest thing.

CONS

I can't really think of any Cons, except maybe not great for the technologically challenged. This software is robust, so you can get lost in settings pages if you don't know where to go. Still, I think anyone who can follow directions can get this working.

Vendor Response

Dear Adam, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Rocket - useful tool

PROS

It can work on Your internal server, You can manage it by yourself, and thanks to that with the proper approach it can make your communication more secure.

CONS

Sometimes popups with new messages are disappearing or software behaves strangely.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

To secure our communication

User Profile

Joram

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Rocket.Chat the easy way of communicating

a company may use rocket chart as its own patform or channel of communication and collaboration and it will be useful since its fast and friendly to use and work with

PROS

rocket chat allows multiple users to join and collaborate in channels that allows for free flow of communication on a regular basis, it is a very interactive tool for project managers to communicate to large number of people and to allow them to share information freely. one can also use rocket chat to send direct messages to users who have access to the rocket chat platformone can download rocket chat on the mobile platform both Android and iOS and on desktop both for Windows, macOS and Linux

CONS

sometimes if the app fails you have to use the browser to log in

Vendor Response

Dear Joram, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Sandeep

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Best chat tool for organisations

I can discuss with my group about the ongoing projects without visiting each and every employee working on same project. Apart from project we can also discuss the problems faced during any phase of the development.

PROS

We can use Rocket.Chat to communicate directly, that is one to one, or we can use it for group chats. The user interface is very user friendly. The best thing about this software is that it is an open source product. I can chat with my colleagues even if I am not in the office. It also has a web version which makes it easy when the desktop application is not working

CONS

We can not drag and drop files in the group chats, we have to open the file attachment window to open an file. Sometimes while chatting, in the middle of the chat the desktop application hangs a lot.

Vendor Response

Dear Sandeep, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Will

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2018

A good open source alternative to Slack

PROS

Can be deployed easily on your own infrastructure. Easy to integrate with other applications, using web hooks. The fact that it's open source makes it accessible to so many companies!

CONS

Some functionality doesn't seem to be thought through, for example the colour of the room title changes based on the room title and can't be customised. It would be great if you could just pick a colour. The current threaded conversations don't stop multiple conversations in a room turning into a complicated conversation. The slackbot equivalent 'Hubot' isn't heavily worked on, so lags behind Slack in this department.

Vendor Response

Dear Will, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Bruno

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Rocket.Chat is good, but needs some work

PROS

Rocket.Chat is an awesome solution for enterprise chat. As a remote employee, its my main tool to connect with my peers. It enables me in a easy way to contact and share information and files. Also, since the company hosts it, I find it secure to share sensitive data

CONS

The big problem with Rocket.Chat is usability. The mac application has a poor implementation , that resembles old chat applications like MSN Messenger. Its an outdated design that needs innovation ASAP

Vendor Response

Dear Bruno, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Excellent alternative to Slack - has everything you need without the paywall

Rocket.Chat is perfect for setting up a communications channel with a lot of people where investing money for using the software is not an option (e.g. leisure clubs etc.)

PROS

Rocket Chat was a welcome alternative to Slack when we were facing hefty monthly fees to continue using it. Rocket Chat pretty much can do exactly what Slack also can, but it costs absolutely nothing which is great.

CONS

You need to have basic skills in terms of Linux, webhosting etc. to be able to set up Rocket.Chat. Otherwise you're going to be in for a headache.

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

Because it's 100% free all the time.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Slack was getting too expensive.

Renae

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Rocket Chat is very User Friendly

I havent seen too many issues with Rocket Chat. All systems have the occassional stall or update that needs to be done and when it does go down it isnt for too long. The other features it has outweigh the cons.

PROS

I like using rocket chat cause its an easy tool for communication. You can type in it with ease, the room you have set up is easy to find. I also like that you can search chats from prior days using the search/filter option. I also like that you can send private messages via the chat itself outside of the rooms. I also like how you can edit a posted chat if needing to update it or delete it entirely.

CONS

I dont like that when someone sends you a private message theres no way to delete the message. You can hide it but i feel there should be a delete option also. I also dont like the reply thread cause the writing is soo tiny and everyone in the room can see what you are replying. I think that feature should be done away with.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Not sure as that was up to the company i contract through

Bob

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Remarkably Good!

Rocket Chat allows our widely distributed development and management teams to work almost as if we were in the same location. The ability to add third-parties to meetings ad-hoc gives us a completely integrated solution. We are very satisfied!

PROS

The feature set is very strong. It allows our distributed teams to work much more tightly together. For our developers, the voice and screen-sharing allow widely separated coders to pair-program as if they were in the same room. The messaging is robust, and the voice quality is good. Overall, Rocket Chat is extremely solid, plenty strong enough to be used in a mission-critical capacity.

CONS

Most complaints center around the various quirks of the Jitsi subsystem, and related usability issues. For example, the only calling choice offered is "Video Chat". All we want is a voice call. Most of our machines intentionally do not have webcams, yet we have no choice but to select "Video Chat" and then dismiss the dialogs warning us that no camera was found. Every time, with every call. It gets tedious. This is a great example of a very small thing gradually becoming a significant usability issue. Also, for those of us who do have cameras, the default initial setting for a call should be camera OFF for heavens sake. There have already been a couple of embarrassing accidents.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Ability to self-host; Data confidentiality; Cost savings.

Vendor Response

Hi Bob, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied October 2019

Ailed

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Stay in touch.

Is excellent! You can stay in touch and continue the work without being present.

PROS

Is great that you can have all your users and create different groups to mantain control of the correct communications.

CONS

The notifications do not always are synchronized in the mobile app.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Good corporate chat software, but it can be better

I've used a lot of corporate chat chats. This is software that needs to be improved. It has few resources.

PROS

This software has web version and desktop version. I can create private and public conversation groups. Colleagues mentioned in conversations receive notifications quickly. The icon library is large.

CONS

- It is not possible to search for images and texts within the conversation. - Most of the time, I can't attach a file. - There is no library of the images exchanged. - It is difficult to locate old texts. - There is no sending of audios. - No voice and video conversations.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Option of the company.

Vendor Response

Dear Rocketeer, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Rocket.Chat. We're happy to help you and your team to communicate better :) However, it is possible to send audios through our platform and we do have an integration for video and voice calls! :) You can read more about video conferences on Rocket.Chat on https://docs.rocket.chat/guides/user-guides/voice-and-video-conferencing. As to the other suggestions, we'll report them to our Product Team and take them in careful consideration. Thanks for your helpful feedback, it will help us to continually improve our platform! Warmest Regards, Rocket.Chat Team

Replied July 2020

User Profile

César

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2022

Very Bad Experience -

Very bad. Very sorry to leave this company, but we will like to really be able to use.

PROS

The idea to have WhatsApp and other platforms in the communication channel.

CONS

Not working. Plan and simple not working at all.

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

Onminachannel

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Yes

Mbongiseni

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Rocket Experience

Its the best chat tool for organisations and its the closest you can get to slack

PROS

Its free to use its also great for sharing files you get emails for all rocket messages, makes it easy to catch missed messages its open source Its way better than sending emails to colleagues you can host it in your own server

CONS

When its running in the background the desktop app doesn't open when you open using the shortcut icon to open it. there is nothing to hate about this app

Vendor Response

Dear Mbongiseni, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied September 2019

User Profile

Carlos

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Rocket.Chat is simple and easy to use instant messaging.

The solution positively surprised us and we found it simple to install and configure on our network for use in internal communication using chat and alerts. It is an effective solution and fulfills its objective very well.

PROS

Rocket.Chat software was implemented early in the COVID-19 pandemic to keep people in our department active and collaborative while working remotely. We customized the layout and created workgroups to integrate the team and it worked very well. No delays and no communication failures.

CONS

Support is a bit of a downside, but it's rarely used. The tool works well and we have not had any reports of serious problems.

User Profile

Ramindu

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years