All Twilio Reviews

1-25 of 436 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Allen

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2024

Twilio Review: A great SMS campaign manager

User Profile

Sebastian

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Very useful but getting more and more expensive

You have to build your own interface to use the Twilio API. Or pay for a software that can use the API, which is easier and cheaper. The Twilio interface only allows you to monitor usage, create reports, billing management, and program IVR. It doesn't provide an interface for your sales team to use.

PROS

I like how complete it is and all the API possibilities. You can achieve so much if you know what you're doing. You can create a call center and monitor everything, including recordings. SMS marketing, ringless voicemail, etc..

CONS

As you scale, it gets very expensive (no discounts at all for loyalty). Zapier is losing its market share to Make, Pipedream, and Pabbly. Soon the same will happen to Twilio.

Reason for choosing Twilio

Vonage was much more expensive, and integration with the CRM would have to be built manually. The CRM we chose was already built to integrate with Twilio.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

I found a better CRM that uses the Twilio API to enable VOIP features for the sales team that uses the CRM sales funnel.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Can do everything, for all businesses but with a steep learning curve...

Twilio handles all the inbound calls for my website. I ported a vanity 800 number from a another provider to Twilio and after a quite lengthy setup process that involved lots of customer service calls it was up and running. After that you can pretty much leave it or do some minor changes relatively easy. Now when customers call they can choose from an option tree to troubleshoot their issue or they can choose to talk to an agent (me) and if it's during business hours the call gets forwarded to my cell, if outside of business hours they get my voicemail. Works great! I also have it embedded in my website for a chat option that more people actually use.

PROS

Twilio has every option under the sun, there's nothing call center related that they can't do for you. You could set up automated systems to perform mundane tasks for you, record and inscribe all your calls and even have a call center set up to help troubleshoot issues and direct calls. You can get add-ons from GitHub, integrate into your website especially Shopify and answer calls with a number that you can bring with you or they provide straight to your cell phone. We're talking local numbers and 800 numbers even though you may have to pay extra.

CONS

Very steep learning curve. There are so many options and so many ways to use this service including third party apps that you could get confused quite easily. Also their 2FA process is tedious which if you're not careful could result in you losing your number.

Reason for choosing Twilio

They bill by usage so in many ways they are a cheaper option. Plus if your needing to use Twilio on a computer they are the absolute best. And they have a whole marketplace of third party apps that can compliment this service immensely.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

As a student I received a free trial from GitHub and I really liked how many options and integrations Twilio has.

Necati

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2023

Its ok...until you have to deal with the support.

PROS

We used Twilio since 2018 (an eternity in the software world). Good API and mostly without any big technical issues.

CONS

There was a big fraud/spam issue on our account. We are pretty sure it was not our fault. But things happened and we lost about 900$ due credit card charging (still no refund from Twilio). Contacted the support but we got only some general advices and they insisted that it was our fault. And apparently it was more important for them that we "Confirm that you will not be disputing the charges with your bank" then finding a solution. After 2 months without any progress, we decided to Switch to Amazon. Our first impression: great support from Amazon!

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Amazing Company Building A Place for businesses of all sizes

The company exceeds expectations and has a lot of products in the ecosystem, that interconnect businesses better with their customers

PROS

I like the company proposition, how there are tutorials and thorough documentation for everything that you will rarely talk to support about an error for example.

CONS

They have some limitations when it comes to the WhatsApp API. A lot of bureaucracy and long wait times are not suitable for businesses looking for a solution.

Aseel

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Egypt

I benefited a lot from the application, as it provided me with many functions and capabilities that helped me greatly in performing the work and presented it to me smoothly, quickly and concisely in one place, many benefits in the success of the work and the communication process, I was able to see the workflow, control it and follow it up, and I solved Many of the problems with the application that some employees made with some customers, and I dealt with these problems quickly and amicably. I realized many facts and reached many information and benefits..

PROS

I found many advantages of making voice calls and sending text messages through the application and using them in the performance of the company's work, so that the application has become an indispensable main reference in life Daily and practical, I found integration in job performance in a very large way and it provided me with many things and benefits in performing work and controlling it, communicating with customers, suppliers and employees, monitoring them and their performance, knowing the desires and needs of customers, voice mail service, call recording, and many, many features in this application .

CONS

It has an easy, simple, practical interface that all groups can use and benefit from in a smooth and uncomplicated manner. It has advantages when the internet is cut off or the network is weak. I found integration in the performance of the current practical work and doing it to the fullest by means of this application, but it contains something that I think it lacks, which is the support of the Arabic language Some customers face a problem because of the availability of the language only, and we hope that the application will pay attention to this point and focus on it.

Reason for choosing Twilio

Because of its speed and provision of integration in functionality and ease of use and benefit from all its services.

Robert

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Great APIs, terrible customer support and sales

PROS

Twilio is generally easy to set up and manage, their APIs are generally well-documented. The developer parts of the company that don't involve human interaction seem to be good. It is the backbone of a lot of our core company infrastructure.

CONS

The (now terminated) salesperson we originally worked with was very helpful at the beginning and even roped in engineers to have discussions with us. They poorly explained the contract and even made promises that were not true. After we inked a volume deal with them, the support from sales became practically non-existent. The salesperson locked us into a contract.We were able to get a refund and have the contract terminated, although the refund process took months and lots of book and forth.

Reason for choosing Twilio

They're the market leader and have a developer-focused offering.

User Profile

Julien

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Amazing powers - not for anyone

We did our transfer from Dialpad to Twilio after seeing the price difference + all the missing options (automation and integration) Dialup was missing. We faced a huge issue when we realized we had to code our own phone system to be able to receive or send sms and calls. Happened at a moment where the firm didn't have the time to read the 3000 pages tutorial offered on Twilio. Our transfer made our whole phone system out of service for 3 weeks. We finally found other companies offering what Twilio should offer : a basic interface to the basic needs of a phone number (call + sms). This workaround finally made the deal much less advantageous than expected. We now pay almost the same price as we were paying with Dialpad, for a less powerful interface.. until we have the time to focus on building our own app to use it.

PROS

Twilio can do absolutely everything you need to do with a phone number. Automate, Record, SMS, Call, Chatbot, Integrations, Number verification.

CONS

Very complex to setup. You absolutely NEED to know how to code. No easy user software available to simply use your number from day 1.

Reason for choosing Twilio

For all the added functionalities offered on Twilio (automation + integrations) and the much lower cost.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

For all the added functionalities offered on Twilio (automation + integrations) and the much lower cost.

Fernando

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Great Service, for experienced users

The experience has been really good over the years, we don’t see ourselves switching to another service anytime soon.

PROS

It works really well, they are good at making sure users are compliant with relevant regulations.

CONS

Customer service is slow, their system is not the friendliest.

Reason for choosing Twilio

Cost and ease of deployment at the time were seen as a better value.

User Profile

Manuel

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Amazing programmable number service

We have been able to deploy a whole Marketing Center, phone automation with payments systems. Call recording for training, conferences and waiting lines.

PROS

The service has many good features, the guides are easy to use and you can start deploying from day one. The Studio flow helps a lot if you do not have knowledge of programming, the customer service is also great. There is a lot you can do with Twilio no matter the size of your business.

CONS

It can be overwhelming because the tons of features, is it much better if you at least know for sure what you want to start

Reason for choosing Twilio

Twilio features are great, we also found customer service is much better with twilio

User Profile

Suzi

Verified reviewer

Semiconductors, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Twilio is an excellent tool in relation to quality and price, I recommend it.

In generally, companies of any size may stand to gain a significant amount by putting Twilio's powerful communication capabilities into action.

PROS

Twilio allows programmers to effortlessly create and release new forms of communication. Twilio provides a number of application programming interfaces (APIs), software development kits (SDKs), and libraries for adding telephony functionality to software. It also offers a variety of ways to get in touch, including phone, text, video, and electronic mail, so that each user's experience can be tailored to their own needs.

CONS

Until now, I haven't been able to find a single drawback to using Twilio. My interactions with Twilio have always been positive.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Decided to use this program because it has many features and integrations, and customer service is excellent.

Cameron

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Good for business, not so much for residential use

Twilio was good, but I ended up moving to Voip.ms because of the better residential support Voip.ms has.

PROS

Intuitive web user interfaceAmazing and responsive customer support

CONS

Tailored towards businessesOnly supports the ULAW codec, whereas other VoIP providers are moving towards G.722

Reason for choosing Twilio

I used Twilio in conjunction with Voip.ms, until recently I ported everything over to Voip.ms. Twilio was really cheap, had an intuitive interface, amazing customer support, and seemed to be really reliable.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Telnyx and Twilio were very similar, I went with Twilio because it seemed to be more of an established brand.

Alok

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Twilio user review

Sending bulk communication to our users via SMS or WhatsApp , Twilio provides the good platform.

PROS

following reasons to use Twilio- 1. Good UI and easy to understand 2. Pricing wrt to a competitor 3. Sticky sender feature. 4. Programmable Messaging service 5. Logging and debug feature 6. Webhook configuration

CONS

1. SMS success rate and charges are better wrt to competitors. 2. Sender numbers tier is not in users' control 3. Sticky sender feature needs more clarity on usage

Reason for choosing Twilio

Good success rate and pricing for WA communication Better support from the Twilio team.

User Profile

Efezino

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Dependable

Overall, however, Twilio is a solid choice for businesses and organizations looking for a comprehensive communications platform. From a developer's perspective, it is one of the simplest solutions to integrate with.

PROS

Twilio is a powerful and effective communications platform that allows businesses and organizations to easily integrate voice, video, messaging, and other forms of communication into their systems and applications. Some of the key benefits of using Twilio include:Flexibility: Twilio provides a range of different APIs and tools that can be easily integrated into a variety of different platforms and applications. This allows organizations to use Twilio in a way that best fits their needs and requirements.Scalability: Twilio is designed to handle high volumes of traffic, making it a good choice for organizations that need to send or receive large numbers of communications on a regular basis. The service can easily be scaled up or down to meet changing needs.Features: Twilio offers a range of advanced features, including tracking and analytics, voice recognition, and integration with other tools and services. These features can help organizations optimize their communications and improve their overall effectiveness.

CONS

Despite its many benefits, there are some potential drawbacks to consider when using Twilio. For example, the cost of the service can be a barrier for some organizations, and the advanced features may not be necessary for all users. Additionally, the service may require some technical expertise to set up and use effectively.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

I was being charged for messages that were not delivered while using other platforms. The deliverability rate of messages sent using other platforms was low. Ever since we made the switch to Twilio, we have a 100% deliverability rate.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Unlock the full potential of your communication and messaging with Twilio

Twilio is a powerful and flexible communication and messaging platform that offers a wide range of features and services, including SMS, MMS, voice messaging, video and voice calling, and its ease of integration with other tools and platforms. allows me to easily add messaging, calling, and other features to their web and mobile applications.

PROS

the ease of use, the cost-effectiveness, and the support resources, and it offers a wide range of pre-built connectors, SDKs, and libraries that make it easy to integrate with popular languages and frameworks such as Java, Python, Ruby, and JavaScript. Additionally, Twilio's API makes it easy to integrate its services into your web or mobile applications.

CONS

Twilio is a powerful platform for communication and messaging but it can be challenging for those without technical expertise to fully utilize its capabilities, it may require hiring an expert to fully unlock the platform's features. Despite this, those who master it will find it is a powerful and versatile solution.

User Profile

Sam

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Twilio is great, but the learning curve is greater

Because I don't make any changes to Twilio on my own, the barrier to entry requires me to rely on third-party developers to fulfill all my requests due to my technological limitations. While this could be considered a good thing, as most business owners should not be screwing around with their phone system, it does mean that I need to be reliant on a third party to help make the Twilio implementation I dream up. When everything is set up correctly, I never have issues with Twilio. That level of reliability means a lot when it comes to a business phone system. Because of this, I wholeheartedly recommend Twilio to any business. Just be prepared to take a deep dive into the learning curve or hire a third party.

PROS

Twilio has set the bar pretty high with the customizability of telephony. You can do incredible things with Twilio. From a simple phone tree to complex actions that integrate other applications with the likes of Zapier and other no-code services, the sky is the limit for most small business owners to create great solutions.

CONS

The downside is the learning curve. In comparison, I consider myself tutorial literate when coding and setting systems up. I can't seem the find the ability to build proficiency in Twilio. And while this is my own doing, it is my only con. Twilio is incredible. For whatever reason, I have difficulty handling the tweaking on my own.

Ian

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

So easy it almost seems too easy.

We use Twilio Programmable Voice for a number of different use-cases. It is used to create trackable phone numbers for ads, internal phone/sms systems for sales/support and also integrated directly with our marketing automation platform, Autopilot. All of this had a fairly steep learning curve for a non-developer, but taking the time to do the work through Twilio (rather than a 3rd party software built on top of Twilio) has saved us a large amount of money and preserved a great deal of operational flexibility by preventing unwanted layers in our broader communications stack.

PROS

Twilio programable voice lets you build localized internet phone systems using numbers from anywhere in the world. I don't know of another comparable solution that isn't just another interface built on-top of Twilio. More importantly, it lets you customize these phone systems in every way imaginable (from drag/drop coding in Studio to custom apps) in just a few clicks. In terms of cost and flexibility, it is the clear winner in this space.

CONS

The product is trying to become increasingly friendly to non-developers, but it is still really positioned as a developer-first platform. It is a true platform technology, which is the root of most of Twilio's benefits – but that does come at the cost of being intimidating/less user-friendly to non-developers.

Reason for choosing Twilio

Google Voice is cool if you need an internet-based phone number for personal use or light business use. However, it is not scalable and lacks any of the functionality to be a real business too. Also, I think the terms of service say you shouldn't use Google Voice numbers for business, even though that is the main reason people get them? I guess that is another good reason to look at Twilio.

Regina

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Powerful Call Management

I have had a great overall experience with Twilio. Call quality is great, the users have the option to switch between bridge dial (using a physical phone linked to Twilio) or voice over IP calling. Implementation is relatively easy and call management is done in the cloud so it can be done from anywhere.

PROS

We use Twilio in conjunction with Groove (Twilio is Groove's voice provider). It is an awesomely powerful software for call center-like call management. The voice provider lives in the cloud so Twilio is very easy to implement and get up and running very quickly with minimal development. It is pretty intuitive but has a learning curve for less tech-savvy users. The help articles are well-documented.

CONS

Twilio is very powerful, but could use more features, like the ability to have conference calls and drop off the conference call without transferring the call somewhere else. The ability to call someone, then conference in another line on the current call is not available on the platform which could be a deal-breaker for call center use.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Twilio offered a more comprehensive call center package that fit our needs better than the dialer provided by InsideSales.com.

Brent

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: