MarketDirect StoreFront Software Reviews

MarketDirect StoreFront Software Reviews

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.10

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process."
  • icon"We have previewed other options in the past and StoreFront is always the clear winner."
  • icon"Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users."
  • icon"Awful administration page. Very difficult to master."
  • icon"Lack of reporting and doesn't integrate with Australian shipping companies and can't connect to external DAM."
  • icon"So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors."

Have you used MarketDirect StoreFront and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All MarketDirect StoreFront Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Tony

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Great storefront on it's own

Overall the building process can be quite easy after using the software for a while and learning what works with our product management system (PrintSmith). SmartCanvas has been quite hard to figure out with little guidance from EFI but is very promising. In general by its self MarketDirect Storefront is strong, but could use a lot of tweaking when talking to other modules. After a few years we have grown our ticket templates to a few hundred and have grown our products to a few thousand. Planning out your categories up front will be crucial for customers to be able to find what they are looking for.

Pros

I like all the different type of options when it comes to products, I appreciate the level of customization across the entire backend such as printing services, papers, products, design, etc.

Cons

Some services and specs, filled out by the customer, don't come across to our PrintSmith depending how you have that setup. We had to rebuild all ticket templates in PrintSmith (yes a second time) in order to link products up to ticket templates from our storefront. This was our workaround, some things still don't come across until recently, SIZE wouldn't come over from the storefront into PrintSmith, so I think there is room for improvement here. I like the idea of product overrides, but in the new version it is not working. This could also use some updating keeping ticket templeting to a minimum. Can't copy products that have overrides. Because of this alone, I typically have to create a new ticket template for every product, usually due to the paper. SmartCanvas is very promising, but comes with a large learning curve and even then I feel that a well thought-out guide would be very helpful. Fonts don't show up correctly in certain views and makes paragraph styled text boxes extremely hard to see how type will flow from the customer side. I will say the level of control with SmartCanvas is very nice locking fonts, colors, sizing or allowing the buyer to fully customize the product in anyway.

Reasons for choosing MarketDirect StoreFront

Compared to alternative products, MarketDirect StoreFront proofing won us over. We wanted a product that our clients could easily proof their jobs knowing little to nothing about printing. A great example of this would be in booklet proofing. Saddlestitched booklets paginated uploaded files into printer spreads then showed the proof in reader spreads how the finished product would look in animated pages. It even showed the staple placement in the center spread. Coil bond books included the punched holes on the side along with what ever color coil the customer chooses. This is helpful if the customer doesn't include enough margin for the punch for the coil. This level of detail won us over making proofing for our customers effortless showing exactly how the finished product will look.

Amy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Great functionality but alot of work up front

With the new system we are utilizing some of the features like business card templates where the client fills in their information and proofs it themselves before we even see it. Then its direct to print from there. Do no real work on our part is needed. We are able to do less work on the backend of things from an administrative standpoint and that takes a huge work load away from very few staff.

Pros

I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process. Clients seem to find the navigation of the new site very user friendly and easy to use. The integration however was a very difficult item to over come. It was a very time consumer task to accomplish.

Cons

There are certainly features in the old system that would be nice to have in the new system - such as being able to drag and drop line items from one to reorganize things. It would also be very helpful if you were able to have more than 1 invoice open at a time to be able to create new orders based off multiple invoices by dragging and dropping into a new one. The integration with PrintSmith was not an easy thing - you basically had to recreate everything you had on PrintSmith again in MarketDirect StoreFront. We have spent years creating templates in PrintSmith and now having to basically recreate them again is crazy when before it was seamless. It’s also difficult that the pricing isn’t exactly the same from one platform to the other. Now we are forced to round up or down in MarketDirect instead of PrintSmiths pricing just automatically transferring.

Reasons for switching to MarketDirect StoreFront

We were forces to switch since the shelf life had expired on the option we were using.

Kenzie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2020

MDSF is Easy to Use! Improvements can be made but an overall nice product!

My experience has been positive. While there are many improvements I think could be made, it's functional for my company and easy to know your way around it!

Pros

I like MDSF because it's easy to use. I believe anyone can easily work within it to create basic offerings for their company!

Cons

There are a lot of missing features that in today's day, I believe should be a part of the software. It is very hard to collect information from a client ordering products. The only way to do so is through accounting codes. This should be a priority to implement.

Reasons for switching to MarketDirect StoreFront

OPS was missing important features MDSF offered.

David

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Big positives and small negatives for us

It has definitely impacted our workflow and efficiency in a very positive way. We are a large healthcare system with lots of form inour storefront. The ability of our users to see and interact with documents when ordering is a HUGE improvement over our old "blind" ordering system. Now that jobs flow autmatically into our PrintSmith Vision system, we no longer have to do the massive amount of data entry for billing that our old system required. This saves 10-15 hours per week on the admin side of things.

Pros

Fairly easy customization of look and feel. Plenty of built in UI templates for those that can't/won't play with code. Good user management controls. We haven't any any load handling issues even with almost 2000 products and 900 users. EFI support has been responsive and proficient. Good user support forums. It has integrated well with our PrintSmith Vision install.

Cons

Redundancy of some settings. The admin interface has lots of redundacy and is cluttered and inefficient. Batch product import or creation needs a LOT more work. No ability to batch publish items to categories. No ability to create snapshots or backups of settings to revert to in case of user error. Occasional random little glitches/changes (like sort order settings or other fine detail) that pop up occasional or following an upgrade. The inability to create a job template "on the fly" when creating a product that doesn't fit an existing template.

Scott

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Long time user, and still happy.

I've been working with MDSF for over 10 years and have seen quite a bit of improvements over the years. Now it really does seem to be an exciting time to be working with it, as they have made some changes to the administration interface that will drastically improve the usability. Somethings I have been wishing for, for a long time. There might be other products that do one of the things that MDSF does well, and maybe even better, but not all of the things that MDSF does combined. We are talking about one off items, variable items, finished goods, shipping, kits and integration with different MIS.

Pros

There is quite a bit of customization and security that can be done with the interface, even with multiple storefronts. I really like some of the new changes to the administration pages, which makes it much easier to manage all of the data we have in MDSF currently. Seems like EFI sees that their customers are using it for more products than they originally had planed. We started our over 10 years ago with maybe 50 products, and now we have almost 8,000 products being offered to about 120 different storefronts.

Cons

Tech support is hard to reach at times. Especially by phone. But at least when you do, the techs are quite knowledgeable. Calculating taxes is a problem if you are selling outside of your state. But there are add-on options for that.

Jacques

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Having this storefront has been highly beneficial to ColorMark. Many orders are received everyday with very little effort. With the automation built into the system, orders are take and sent directly to Rips for printing.

Pros

Straight forward setups. You can have a client online in very little time. Connects well with Pace for ease of job tickets and inventory control. As well as bi-directional communication with all the above as well as Process shipper.

Cons

In some cases we have stores that might have more than 1000 franchises that buy through the store front. When it is necessary to make changes and it needs to be done to many of the stores there is no easy way to address this problem. Opening up one customer at a time make a change and close, way to cumbersome when you compare that to either the universal importer or pace connection, where all changes can be made in under a few minutes. Additionally, the reporting is completely non-existent. After adding individuals to a site it would be nice to download all of the data to look for errors, missed data etc. No way to do that with this software. Can't even get to the Database to download from there.

Reasons for switching to MarketDirect StoreFront

Market direct was compatible with Pace / Process Shipper and gave us more ability to add custom features.

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Mid Market Suite

There is no doubt the Market Direct Storefront is a huge time saver for us. BUT it has also opened up opportunities for clients around the world, where they wish to offer a "storefront" to their staff around the world, helping them maintain brand consistency. DSF was one of the main reasons for engaging with EFI.

Pros

The software really is end to end with full integration and automation. EFI are also very open, easy to work with and it feels like a true partnership. The solution they offer covers everything we want and need to run our business and there is a constant drive to improve, to listen to customers and work with you to ensure you are getting the most out of the product. I particularly like the integrations with our equipment and other systems, which aids automation and efficiency. And for us the connection with DSF is a real plus, enabling us to process regular orders and open up opportunities we wouldn't normally be able to fulfill.

Cons

it is a little unfair to comment on this as we are about to upgrade to the latest version, but its fair to say my biggest bug bear at present is the number of clicks. This is something I know has been addressed in the latest version. My only other grumble would be that the software can get "stuck" if you change a production method from say litho to digital within an estimate, it can sometimes take a few attempts for it to recognise the change.

Melinda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Market Direct for InPlant

We have not yet fully launched the system after having it for many years. It was purchased long before any of us that are here now began. It is my understanding that the system was launched and being used then it was learned that it was not a full MIS system. The organization then purchased another EFI product, PrintSmith to do the management functions for the shop that were desired and the integration between the 2 systems was difficult.

Pros

Unfortunately I am not yet conversant with the software. The previous employee set it all up and then left abruptly so I am not yet trained in it. It seems to work fine and I know many others that use it - however, as with most integrations, it doesn't work easily with other MIS systems such as PrintSmith Vision. We had to have programmers do things for us that it seems others would have encountered and would have been made part of the 'normal' programming of the software.

Cons

Ease of integration with other systems. Redundancy with information needed - mainly multiple price lists that have to be maintained and be consistent. For example, we must set pricing in PrintSmith, then convert the pricing structures for Digital Storefront in a way that matches - so that when a customer brings work through the on-line site, the pricing is consistent if they bring work direct to the shop and we use PrintSmith. So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors.

Reasons for choosing MarketDirect StoreFront

I was not part of that decision

Clayton

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Digital Storefront

Overall the usage of the MarketDirect Storefront platform is positive. We are able to easily receive orders and move them into production. We are also able to easily customize sites to fulfill different customer needs.

Pros

Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users. For end users the sites are very easy to navigate and use. For administrators it is easy to customize site HTML and CSS if you have the skills, or it is easy to use the default templates if you do not. It is also easy to create and manage products, users, and user groups. We have several thousand products hosted on our sites. We are able to run our storefront job tickets into our MIS system with ease.

Cons

While the software is easy to use for basic tasks, there are issues with more high level functionality. Part of the issues we have, stem from some of the administrative menus being cluttered and confusing. There are also some settings that are only available as overall site settings, and are not customizable for individual companies. Batch uploads/changes of products needs work, as it is currently very basic and the products need further configuration after they are uploaded.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2021

Bare bones way to sell your products

Pros

We use this software to allow internal clients the ability to order their own marketing materials once we have them finalized. It saves us a ton of time since we no longer have to respond and coordinate each order.

Cons

The web design feels like it hasn't been updated since the early 2000s. For new users, it can be confusing on how to access specific files and whether an account is necessary or not. Generally not a great uer experience, but it gets the job done.

George

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Underlying customer service with personalized customer sites.

The personalized customer sites have allowed us to gain more of the print business from every client using this product. We simply create what they are asking for so it can be reordered easily online through their own website. More revenue, and increased productivity.

Pros

The ability to personalize an ordering process specific to one customer allows us to build a relationship and trust without additional customer service personnel or sales staff. Once the site is in place the customer can order their own products, approve them, and include special instructions on a job ticket that is emailed directly to production without the help from our staff ( reducing costs and increasing efficiency).

Cons

Design tools for creating art within the storefront are limited and require extra training of our customers and in house users.

Michelle

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Sense of Urgency

At the moment - getting a report of payment history to pull more than 1000 items. I had to file a case to get this and waiting to get the results to provide to my customer. Day 3 of waiting. I wish there were maybe a technical drop down menu that would possibly walk me thru doing this on my own. This would allow me to provide the results to my customer very timely rather than waiting days. Each case that I have personally filed have been answered but it is the waiting for the results or how-to.

Pros

Very user friendly, works very well and never experience lags or delays daily on creating invoices.

Cons

I feel that some of the features should allow us to make changes to so we don't have to create a case each time. For example - creating queries for reports.

Zach

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Ease of use with EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Overall, MarketDirect StoreFront's are the future of easy and simple ordering in our industry. Customers can see the real time cost and order their product and that allows us (the printer) to see what they are needing and increase our response time from a few days to a few hours.

Pros

This software makes the ordering process for our customers streamlined. From logging in to checking out, the ordering process allows our customers to complete their request in a matter of minutes.

Cons

Sometimes the setup of a new site can be tedious. There are a lot of areas that you need to setup and sometimes it can get a little confusing.

Cyndi

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Easy to use

MDSF makes the daily workflow much easier. Inventory control is very easy with MDSF.

Pros

Market Direct Store Front's integration with EFI PrintSmith is very helpful on a daily basis. It allows customers to place orders and the orders come directly into Printsmith. It allows for easy creation of job tickets.

Cons

Two way talking with Printsmith would be helpful. It does on some things but not everything. If this could be worked out it would be a superior product in my opinion.

Reasons for switching to MarketDirect StoreFront

Not satisfied with previous software

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

MarketDirect StoreFront is a solid platform for selling print and fulfillment

As we see more and more apparel sites, storefront has been able to fill that need. Storefront has been the answer for most of our fulfillment customers and it sure streamlines business cards.

Pros

The software is easy to use. It makes managing multiple storefronts easy. The templates for storefronts are a great place to start. It fits most of our customers needs. It integrates well with our MIS system, PACE.

Cons

Help is not always easy to navigate and search.

Bryan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY