All Toast POS Reviews

1-25 of 510 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Zhait

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed February 2023

Toast makes life easier!

User Profile

Jeff

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

So Great to Have Everything Consolidated

Overall I think after a lot of research and a couple of trials Toast seemed to be the best option as a long-term solution. I believe it can grow with us over the years.

PROS

One stop shop plug and play solution! I was not interested in having to switch between systems and wanted easy reporting across the business.

CONS

Takes a while to learn all the functionality but worth it once learned. Although it’s not a problem with the software itself, either a better hard copy training manual or disk would be helpful.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

More robust and offered more scale as we grow to keep everything on one platform.

Vendor Response

Hi Jeff, Jasmine from Toast here. We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying your all-in-one, Toast POS System! For helpful training material, encourage you to refer to Toast Central at https://central.toasttab.com/s/.

Replied November 2019

ROB

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2023

Over all a good decision

We are happy, server dig it and we are looking at otherways to see it. SOme of the features like event management or online ordering are too pricey for a small store.

PROS

Working with toast on the set up was great and easy. As we have grown their support has been solid. Not like other POS we have used in the past.

CONS

Reporting is eh and needs work...mostly data is there, just not obvious how to get what you need and they have to data dump and email it. Also, menus for serving customers can get a little much drilling sometimes 2-3 levels deep to do an 8 oz brown ale.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Better support upfront making the decision, price was fair, and cc pro fees were good.,

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

It was too basic and lacking. Was good for a first year brewpub but as we grew, it did not.

Vendor Response

Hi Rob, thanks for sharing your experience using Toast.

Replied January 2024

Jimmy

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Toast Review

PROS

Toast has been seamless for us to use. Customer service is always top notch and the amount of mistakes in restaurant has decreased dramatically.

CONS

Online order was a bit tricky to set up and has been a little harder to implement.

Vendor Response

Hi Jimmy, thanks for leaving us a review!

Replied May 2024

Mark

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2024

Worst Customer Service

Horrible. Now I have to cancel Toast from all my restaurants and start with a new company. Not happy. All because they will not get anything accomplished for you if you are being overcharged, to online ordering isn't working correctly, to menu manager not functioning properly. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SOFTWARE even though the functionality appears to be great. Not worth the hassle.

PROS

I did like the functionality but the service is so bad, it does not matter how good the software is.

CONS

Customer service, Toast adding billable products and never taking them off because you cannot get a hold of customer service.

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Because I could not get my issues resolved with toast. I physically could not get a hold of someone except my rep and he said there is nothing he can do and he doesn't even have a number to call. He only puts i requests and waits like anyone else. He advised me rto cancel to stop the billing that has been going on for 2 years without my knowledge and ability to stop it. Lawsuit will have to be filed now. It doesn't even make sense but, this is how they operate.

Vendor Response

Hi Mark, I'm sorry to hear that this has been your experience. I'll be reaching out to directly to learn more how we can help support you here.

Replied January 2024

User Profile

Don Reno

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Horrendous customer service.

The product was good enough until we experienced an issue that needed support and this is where they dropped the ball entirely. I would not recommend this product for anybody that needs reliable support.

PROS

The app works well and it's fairly easy to use, although they forced an update recently that made the system worse.

CONS

We use toast at our Food Truck in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. We tried integrating doordash into toast and when we visited the shop on Toast it was locked and we were unable to add the integration. After reaching out to our onboarding contact [sensitive content hidden] who was unable to resolve the issue and directed us to Customer Care. After contacting customer care they gave us the runaround yet again ultimately telling us it was not a billing hold but a hold placed by the onboarding team. This hold has persisted now for 5 days with 0 resolution or support from Toast, they have dropped the ball completely on us. We expressed we had an advertisement running for several days that we spent money on to promote that we were on doordash and that money has now been wasted, not to mention the potential sales we have lost. Toast's support has been horrendous. If I knew this was going to be the case we would have never gone with toast.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

It was supposed to be the superior product but unfortunately support is miserably bad.

Vendor Response

Hi Don, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that this was your experience. We will be reaching out directly to get this resolved.

Replied March 2024

Sanford

Sports, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Have Some Toast With Your Brunch. Or Lunch.

With over fifteen years of customer service experience covering all types of industries imaginable, the Toast POS software stands out when regraded by it's ease of integration, system set-up and navigation, customization and guest interaction interface. High marks all around and a resounding cheers to Toast's user friendly design.

PROS

Simple and easy to integrate into my workplace's numerous departments, Toast POS offers a user friendly platform to build an inventory into with the option to edit the information therein whenever required, even in real time when alterations are needed to complete a guest's order. Toast POS has a sharp and clean visual design that utilizes an equally well developed workplace layout sure to please no matter what industry you're part of.

CONS

A small setback I've noticed is the required input of a guest's name or information to initiate the 'tap to pay' option. There is a button to 'skip' this input, however if guest recall is pertinent to completing an order then the name or number attached to the order is required. I would like to see the guest's digital pay pad screen offer the ability to input a name or number if only to make interactions conclude in a quicker, more proficient manner.

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Pre-existing software used at my current place of employment, Toast, movie from being a small business owner using Square.

Vendor Response

Hi Sanford, Thanks for your positive review. We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to know we're meeting your expectations as a platform. If you haven't already, join our Toast online community at community.toasttab.com. Hope to see you there!

Replied September 2023

KRISTEN

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Toast for High-End Restaurant that is part of a Hotel/Banquet/Spa Resport

Positive, for both POS and Payroll. While we have had a few hiccups, I have been impressed with Customer Service and Tech Support in most instances

PROS

Self-Install was a little bit complicated but Toast Support was very helpful. The interface is very intuitive and overall simple to follow and teach. Some financial reports don;t show exactly what we'd like, but Toast Support is helping us create custom reports for everything we need.

CONS

Setting up the menu and revenue centers, especially chaging the revenue centers has been less simple than I'd like.

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Aloha was out of date, and expensive to update

Vendor Response

Hi Kristen, thanks for taking the time to share your experience using Toast! We're thrilled that the interface is simple enough for you to follow and teach your team. We're always here to help support you! If you haven't already, please join our online community at community.toasttab.com to connect with other restaurant leaders. - Carrisa

Replied November 2023

charles

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Very Robust and Versatile POS w/ minor hiccups and One NO NO Add-On Feature

I'm now pretty savvy w/ Toast POS after 6 mo of use.

PROS

Robust and Versatile POS for full service restaurant. Perfect for full service restaurant. it does have some minor hiccups. Probably the best POS on the market. Integrates well w/ Open Table. Good support w/ little wait time most time.

CONS

Toast offers many useful integration except One major NO NO Add-on is Toast Payroll - it's a disaster. totally user unfriendly. clumsy, many non-sense system questions that cause confusion, lack of even the simplest and most basic yet required reporting. Even it's nice to have the time cards get carried over automatically, you would be better off using 3rd party time management and payroll app.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Features and integrations were not as comprehensive

Vendor Response

Hi Charles, we appreciate your review. We'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our team. - Carrisa

Replied September 2023

Joshua

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2023

A Start Up Micro Brewery

Really like toast. However, as we grow the cost is getting quite high to test and implement new functions. Almost to the point where I am considering having a program written specifically for our business. Still, toast is great.

PROS

Customer Service is excellent. Easy to teach and easy to learn. Intutitve

CONS

With costs of integrations and addons feels like we are getting nickled and dimed.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

More intuitive, customer support was rated higher and Toast came recommended

Vendor Response

Hi Joshua, thanks for sharing your experience using Toast. We encourage you to join our online community at community.toasttab.com to connect with other Toast customers. - Carrisa

Replied October 2023

Charles

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

An Affordable Alternative to Aloha and Micros

A perfect system for a small restaurant with a lot of very handy features. They are extremely flexible with pricing options.

PROS

TOAST is a solid point of sale system available for a very reasonable price. Adding, editing and removing menu items can be done quickly and remotely. Printer routing and other back of house set up is a breeze. Customer service staff is well trained and very reliable.

CONS

Not really designed for large scale/ high volume operations. KDS screens have some issues.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Was able to negotiate a great price and has some really fantastic features.

Matt

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Be Prepared for nickel and dimming

Overall it runs smoothly 90% of the tine with no issues. When there is an issue, good luck getting the resolution you were hoping for and be prepared to get very frustrated with them. Unless you're adding on services to increase your monthly bill, your not important to them anymore. Also the install was a complete joke, do yourself a favor and do the self install and save your money from the start.

PROS

Very easy to use and make on the fly changes

CONS

The constant Nickel & Dimming! I have multiple restaurants and its so frustrating that each one has different pricing. I have had toast for over 5 years now and it constantly has changed so much so fast that the customer service line employees have no idea how to get things done. If you power on and off and it does not work you will have to wait for someone to call you back that has higher credentials. Also I have had their special router go out 2x now (funny just a week after warranty both times) and my restaurant could no longer use the POS and they could care less. Its been 1 week and still no replacement. Such a shame their customer service is so bad and it just feels like a money grab at times.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

AT the time it was the only POS that could continue to accept CC when the internet went down. Now that many offers this, we are currently looking at other alternative companies.

Valentina

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Beware of their promises

After 6 months, I am not impressed. I am spending so much more money than I was before, and put in so much effort and time into setting everything up, but nothing is ever on point with Toast.

PROS

Nice features and ways to set up the menu for ease of use by employees. User-friendly up to a certain extent.

CONS

Most of the features promised by the sales rep were all available at an extra cost, after paying a lot of money already for the system and the hardware, you have to pay extra for EVERYTHING. Their customer support is very unreliable, sometimes you have someone great who knows exactly what you are talking about, sometimes it seems like the person has never even used the POS before... They put you on hold for 10+ minutes at a time too.

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

The image depicted by the sales rep of Toast was that it had all these funcitonalities and features that would make my life so much easier, but the truth is, everything is at an extra cost AND most of the things are just launched so they have no idea how to work it properly. For example, she said they had a marketing thing to collect emails. You can't even send out newsletters to your customers through the system, which I could do with Square for $20/month. Their rewards system is very complicated and customers are always confused about how many points they have and how they can use them.

Vendor Response

Hi Valentina, Jasmine from Toast here. We greatly appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide best-in-class customer support and offer solutions for all of our customers. We encourage you to reach out to your Restaurant Success Manager so we can help your business thrive on Toast.

Replied November 2019

Wendy

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Essential

The best pos out there for all restaurants.

PROS

Toast offers all the tools we need as a business. We initially adopted to get away from our legacy system that did not offer affordable POS option with cloud-based services at the time. Toast makes it easy for me to manage all three of my locations.

CONS

There are a few glitches in the system that could be fixed faster. They generally do update and fix quickly but some things take away as they gather user feedback. Also, it would be nice to enterprise our menu management for multi-locations.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Toast was restaurant specific and a good mix of user friendly and robust reporting and integrations.

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Micros sucked. It went down a lot and we had to constantly deal with a mess of cables and connections to fix and you always had to go to the physical location to do anything for the menu or labor or reports. It was an ancient system compared to these days.

Nick

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Review

very happy

PROS

sales and labor summaries and ease of menu edits

CONS

one half star for tech support...almost worthless compared to Aloha's professional and knowledgeable tech pros, absolutely awesome

Reason for choosing Toast POS

better overall score

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

features for restaurant, ease of report access

Vendor Response

Hi Nick! We're pleased to know you're very happy with your experience using Toast and appreciate your feedback on tech support.

Replied August 2023

Nathan

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Toast is best POS we have ever used!

This has hands down been the best experience with a POS company and software that I have had in over 35 years in the industry.

PROS

Functionality, ease of use, price, adaptability, continues upgrades with additions of new features, ability to request features

CONS

Customer phone service is very poor. Often get new and/or not well trained agent.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Better features, better price, and best of all it was the most all in one solution

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Unhappy with the features and price of Heartland. I compared over a dozen POS systems over the course of 2 months before deciding that Toast would be the perfect fit for us.

Anang

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Glad we selected this solution

Very pleased with our decision to replace our old solution with Toast.

PROS

Very feature rich with a robust online delivery platform that seamlessly integrates with the POS solution. Synchronization is almost immediate and we have seen a huge increase in online ordering already. The self service kiosk was easy to setup and has a great look and feel

CONS

Overwhelming and we have barely begun to turn on all the other features - customer loyalty, customer feedback, delivery and so on.

Reason for choosing Toast POS

Lower TCO and features we were looking for. Also has a bigger footprint in our city

Reasons for switching to Toast POS

Looking for increased capabilities such as kds and better customer support

Vendor Response

Hi Anang, Jasmine from Toast here. We're thrilled to hear you have been driving online orders with Toast Digital Ordering as well as enjoying Toast Kiosk. We hope you will soon be able to take advantage of everything Toast has to offer! Please refer to Toast Central at https://central.toasttab.com/s/ for best practices and educational material while you get rolling.

Replied November 2019

Paulette

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT