Is GoCodes right for your business?

We’re here to help you make the best Accounting Software choice.

best for

  • Accounting
  • Best For All Business Sizes
  • Supports Multiple Platforms

what reviewers say

  • Great value for money
  • Great ease of use
  • Great functionality
Frontrunners

Frontrunner 2021

Software Advice's FrontRunners report ranks top products based on user reviews, which helps businesses find the right software.

What is GoCodes?

GoCodes is a cloud-based asset and inventory tracking solution for small and midsize companies in the accounting, education, construction, engineering and health care industries. Key modules include fixed asset accounting, inventory management, field service request, maintenance management and GPS tracking. GoCodes has a central database that tracks asset information like maintenance scheduling, cost, depreciation, warranty, check in/out and location. It also updates inventory information by tracking product using smart devices. The GoCodes solution includes patented QR code asset tags and labels. Once the asset tag is scanned, public asset and company information can be viewed, and a message is sent to the company. Employees can log in to view and update asset inf... read more

Jump to:

Works on all your devices
Works on all your devices
Designed for iPad too
Designed for iPad too
Easy to use
Easy to use
iPhone friendly
iPhone friendly
Map view
Map view
Click to open gallery

User Review Highlights

4.32

197 Reviews

5
99
4
69
3
24
2
3
1
2
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The app is very easy to use and haven't had any complaints about it not working. Pinpoints the location almost spot on."
  • icon"This software is very easy to use and you're able to customize a lot of the fields. It works seamless from an iPad and the cost is affordable."
  • icon"It is a good way to track tools and things like iPhones, iPads, and other devices."
  • icon"Set up was a little frustrating because we had a different inventory system."
  • icon"Website did crash on me once, but nothing that's uncommon. Wish there was a way that we could get more heavy duty QR codes."
  • icon"No GPS tracking, no way to conveniently send calibration reminders for test equipment, size of sticker is too big for some equipment."

Read user reviews

Which features does GoCodes offer?

Core features:

Accounting IntegrationActivity TrackingAd hoc ReportingAlerts/NotificationsAPIAsset AccountingAsset LibraryAsset Lifecycle ManagementAsset TrackingAssignment ManagementShow more features +

People who reviewed this software give it a 4 star rating for functionality.

How easy is GoCodes to use and deploy?

GoCodes supports multiple deployment options, including: Cloud, SaaS, Web-based, iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows, Mac, Linux.

People who reviewed this software give it a 4.5 star rating for ease-of-use.

What do verified users say about GoCodes

4.32/5 out of 197 Reviews

Showing 1 - 5 of 197 reviews

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Managing iPads

I am a repeat purchaser and its a reasonably priced product that gives a lot of functionality for the price.

Pros

The online activation and tracking is excellent. I have a rental business and checking assets in and out is quick and simple compared to the time consuming manual way I did it before. Simple to add new assets once you get the hang of it,

Cons

I cannot really figure out the depreciation reports but thats not why I bought the tags so it does not matter to me. Would be nice to have a feature to add multiple activations where say only the serial number of the asset needed changing.

Response from GoCodes

Hello Michael, thanks for providing your feedback. We would be happy to explain how our IRS GAAP deprecation reports work is needed. Also, did you know that there are three ways to add lots of assets quickly. There is a scan and copy feature, mass update feature and an upload. These three should really help you with data entry for new assets. As always call or email for additional assistance.

Replied January 2019

Elizabeth

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Great product & experience

Free trial was helpful and helped us decide to move forward with the purchase of the subscription.

Pros

Easy to add/delete things, very intuitive product (easy to use).

Cons

I wish the customized columns had a "paragraph" type of option so that we would have another area to make notes about the asset.

Reasons for choosing GoCodes

Liked GoCodes options and ease of use compared to Charms. Using Destiny in conjunction with GoCodes.

Response from GoCodes

Hi Elizabeth, thanks for the awesome review. I'll share your feedback on the customized columns with the development team.

Replied May 2021

User Profile

Ruth

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

stock overview

Great thing. Happy what we have reached on automazation so far (using the customized fields for our specific needs). And very happy that the alert on minimum quantities was introduced so fast. Looking forward to more improvements.

Pros

Easy check-in/out, automated emails when low quantity is reached, ability to draw inventory/order list

Cons

reports need to be formatted to excel each time manually. I also need to delete many fields each time manually. Would be great if I could create a template of my customized report and would have it on one click in future. I also calculate order quantity minus stock quantity (enter formula in excel) each time I prepare material order. would be great to have this report automated. Why can I scan codes without logging in? was confusing until I found out (why it was that I was asked if it was my item). I guess there is a reason but does it make sence to be on first level? Your format of labels are only available in US as far as I know...

Response from GoCodes

Hello Ruth, thanks for the review and glad to hear you like using GoCodes. Did you know we have an optional reporting module that would allow you to design and save custom reports charts and dashboards?

Replied January 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Meets Expectations

For what we pay, and as a bare minimum of our needs it meets the bar. While there is certainly room for improvement, it is still a valuable resource and database that was created with a good amount of thought and effort.

Pros

When it comes to meeting expectation for creating a database for physical assets, GoCodes does an excellent job at that. The app is very easy to use, it makes it easy in check things in/out as well adding photos and creating fields. There's minimal lag time between holding a camera over the code and it recognizing and reading it. The sites search functionality works great as well, I'm able to search and it will find those keywords within any of the fields available for an asset. This makes it easier to use a secondary way to reference an asset

Cons

A bit archaic. The site could definitely use a facelift that aligns more with 2018/19. It would be nice to create secondary databases, for example where I can just search once specific type of asset and see if something is checked in or not. It would also be nice to be able to create customizable views and dashboards that I can share internally with other departments who may be affected by the status of a specific asset

Response from GoCodes

Thanks for the review and detailed feedback. You will be pleased to hear that GoCodes 2.0 is coming in Q1 2019 and will be a complete modern overhaul of the web based UI and user experience.

Replied January 2019

User Profile

Tom

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Held my inventory list hostage

As a small Photographer in DC we didn't find ourselves needing to use it every day or in some cases every month. Therefore we simply wanted to use it when and as needed. Sadly the team had no interest in helping us when we needed the files. We had started to use them very early on when you could create your own asset tags - we had ordered a bunch of them and it took us a long time and we still haven't even gotten to use them all however the GoCodes teams wouldn't let us use them or even refund us just because we didn't really meet their client model.

Pros

The concept of it is great, However for us it just seemed like they didn't have services for the little guy

Cons

wasn't friendly to the small business owner

Response from GoCodes

Hello Tom, sorry to hear that things did not go as planned. As a GoCodes customer, you can view and download your asset data at any time. We always make it available to you from your online account. If you contact us with more information we can work to resolve any issue you had with our services.

Replied January 2019

Showing 1 - 5 of 197 reviews

Popular GoCodes Comparisons

GoCodes

GoCodes

4.32/5 out of 197 reviews
PriceWatch Demo