All PayScale Suite Reviews

1-25 of 48 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Stephanie

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Amazing team offering great data to help remain competitive with out compensation program

All of our comp data in one place. We have employees in other states and PayScale comp experts helped us create labor markets for each area we have remote staff. This allowed us to have salary ranges applicable to those locations to ensure we were paying them relative to the COL vs. the DC market.

PROS

We have 125 jobs in our company and we were able to match all but two with this one system. These two were very niche to our industry and company so we are very pleased with that. The data is very comprehensive and made our salary structure review project very easy.

CONS

Some customization for us to be able to upload specialized job details would be helpful. We may find that other companies in similar industries have jobs that are hard to match.

Liam

Facilities Services, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Easy to use remuneration review software

Curo has helped us to put our remuneration review process into the cloud. It has helped us to cut out the multiple versions of excel review sheets going back and forth, and has provided a clear and easy to follow audit trail as to what is happening, and what has happened in previous review. It also makes it very easy to manage the process and see which managers are still to complete their reviews, so we can follow up with the relevant delinquent reviewers efficiently.

PROS

Easy to use and set up. The constant save feature has helped a lot of our managers who have had some poor internet connections avoid losing their work. It's highly configurable, and easy for admins to get around normal issues that occur when conducting remuneration reviews e.g. more people being added/moved/changed last minute, managers going on leave unexpectedly etc, all while having a really robust audit system.

CONS

The system was mainly really intuitive, the only slight drawback being that the filtering system is slightly clunky to use for first time users. However, you can see the logic in setting things up that way, and it's still very easy to learn so it's not too much of an issue - it's overall extremely easy software to use.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your Feedback. We are pleased to see that the benefits of the Curo tool are being seen by your end users as well as making your overall process easier. We are increasing our end user manual portfolio, so it is good to know that filters may be a key topic to include to help your user with their experience.

Replied March 2019

Nichole

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2023

Not Reliable

We started out on the original PayScale product, it worked ok but it took literal hours to load and occasionally data from api pulls was miss matched. We were told that to fix this we should upgrade to the new Insight Lab product, which we did of course at an additional cost. The interface was faster but the reports were still unreliable. The response was to upgrade to the new PayFactors product to fix this. We declined as it didn't meat our customization needs, the sales man was not able to answer any of the questions we posed to him, and ultimately we weren't willing to pay more for a product again just to fix the unreliablity of the product they sold us. A year later we are still experiencing issues every review season, they asked to meet about our issues. I told them three times at least that we would meet but do not try to sell us PayFactors, we aren't willing to continue going through the pains of a data migration just to pay more and continue to face the same issues. Of course they came to the meeting with a sales pitch for PayFactors and were surprised that we weren't interested in their "generous" offer of the new platform at the same price. The point was made that there is a trust issue at this point and there is no reason to continue trying the newest, latest, greatest product when nothing has worked as promised yet.

PROS

There is versatility, it takes into account things that deviate from the normal duties and requirements of a role.

CONS

It is not reliable, data doesn't update appropriately, the sytem is slow.

Reason for choosing PayScale Suite

PayScale had customization options that other companies did not offer.

Janine

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Know your value - it's invaluable!

Self confidence, a vision for where I want to aim my career, and an abundance of resources.

PROS

From gaining confidence in your current job, embarking on a promotion, to looking for a new job... this is an invaluable resource!! Knowing your worth can be liberating and empowering. It can also give you the much-needed boost to get a certification that would significantly increase your worth. The career advice and informative materials on Payscale are a huge bonus to really get a grip on the current employment climate. Things are changing at a rapid pace and even if you start a new job now, chances are high that things will be very different in a few years if you are looking for a new opportunity again.

CONS

I was a little weary of having to put my current company's name in my report because I am part of a VERY small team and they would know it is me. I still get good information from the site without having a complete profile.

User Profile

Sparsh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

One perfect tool for any HR dept.

I am using using software since last many years and can say that it is a totally reliable and trustworthy tool for the dept. Very much happy with the software.

PROS

PayScale Suite provides the right level of data, Assembles a modern compensation strategy and structure and communicate compensation with confidence. Forestall costly turnover and ensure pricing is accurate for every job. Rich in unique features and totally friendly tool to work with.

CONS

Only works on Desktop and Laptop, Android and iPhone/iPad platforms are not supported.

Deborah

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Dissatisfied Customer

Utilizing the software is great! The customer service in trying to talk to a person was terrible. They don't answer the phone. If you want to talk to someone they do not get back to you. If you get a person they lie and tell you that they will call you back and never do. The CUSTOMER SERVICE STINKS! I needed some additional service and had to go elsewhere to get it, because the customer service department failed to get back with me. Their webinars, they rush you through them as if they can't wait to get to finish and get you out of their hair. Another company I worked for we used Payscale exclusively and could not ask for better customer service. That is why when I came to my current organization, I recommended them for here. They must have received their customer model from a 4th world country. Get better customer service and answer your phones with a human being. I promise they do not get back with you.

PROS

The ease, functionality, and over job reviews

CONS

Does not allow you to put enough information in regarding the job duties and not enough job titles

User Profile

Aimee

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

I have used payscale to price positions as well as to benchmark my own compensation.

Its a helpful tool whether you are looking to price out your 'worth' in consideration of a potential job offer, or you are looking to bench mark positions within your organization.

PROS

It's a great tool--they have an impressive amount of data from which they are pulling results. It's one of the more impressive salary tools out there because it takes into consideration factors that other tools are not - such as level of experience, region of the country, how much education you've had, and drills down even more specific than that. You can price by a job title if you are a recruiter or other HR professional or you can price out a potential offer for a position for which you've applied as a potential candidate.

CONS

While it seems to drill down specifically enough to differentiate between the non-profit and for-profit sector, I don't always agree with the results for my region. From my 15+ yrs experience, they seem to be pricing certain positions in the non-profit sector a bit lower. Perhaps they need to survey and add more non-profit data.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Great Tool for Employees and Administrators

We were looking for a robust solution that would take us away from using excel for our annual bonus, equity and compensation cycles. With this solution, we found it. Feedback from our management team has been overwhelmingly positive in a tool that was intuitive, easy to use, but also gave management added visibility which many of them were craving. The overall implementation was smooth and thought out. We had a very tight timeline to execute in, but the team accommodated and we were able to launch the tool within our given time frame with no issues.

PROS

-One of the more progressive tools we reviewed -Intuitive UI and easy for managers to navigate with little / no instruction or guidance -Managers liked the ability to drill down within the teams to see what allocations are being made -Easy for administrators to navigate and review the organization -Implementation team was fantastic to work with and were able to translate all of our needs into the end product -Flexibility of the tool to add / distribute funding, move budgets / employees, etc. proved to be very easy to do within the tool -The team delivered on what was promised

CONS

No cons thus far with the tool - overall, we have been happy with the end result.

Anonymous

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

I learned where I could be from information about my position, education, and experience

I was able to see where I ranked in terms of salary among people in my region with similar titles. I could possibly use this in future salary negotiations, but I think I would need a good bit more proof to really make my case.

PROS

PayScale showed me where I ranked in terms of salary and benefits among people in my region with similar titles and backgrounds.

CONS

It relies heavily on keyword matching, and people who have similar titles at different companies could be performing vastly different functions. It would be nice if they included some responsibilities in their questionnaire for a sanity check.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Huge help

PROS

PayScale has helped us build pay ranges throughout our organization. We now feel like we have a deeper understanding of what the pay should be in our different locations.

CONS

Not a con necessarily but we have several jobs that are hard to match up correctly. Our industry is very specific and pays more with certain experience.

Jordan

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

MarketPay works well, Insight Lab is TERRIBLE

We implemented the payscale platforms (insight lab first then moved to MarketPay when we realized how bad the Insight Lab product is) to store all of our external salary surveys in one place. We are able to run analytics off of the data directly in the platform. We previously housed all of the data in excel worksheets, so this has removed the need for massive spreadsheets.

PROS

The MarketPay product is easy to set up, create and pull reports, and manage from and administrator perspective. The UI is pretty basic without any bells and whistles, but the product works well to store compensation data and to report off of it. Ad hoc pricing is great for pulling data for new roles.

CONS

The MarketPay platform UI is pretty dated, but I don’t believe that takes away from the product. The Insight Lab platform is terrible for anyone who needs to price more than 50 or so jobs. The amount of manual work that must be done to match each job is ridiculous, and I don’t know why anyone would think the process is acceptable.

Kim

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Easy to use

We use it for our annual merit reviews. It accommodates most of our expectations - easy to use, multiple countries. And then it provides the letters we need to communicate to our staff.

PROS

From a user standpoint, the tool is very easy to use - just like a spreadsheet. As the administrator, it meets most of our requirements.

CONS

In V3, as the administrator, I feel like I had to go to Curo to make many of the changes, corrections or updates. While they were prompt in doing so, it would be easier if I could do certain things myself.

Vendor Response

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that the Curo tool is meeting your needs for your Merit reviews. One of the advantages of the V4 platform over V3 is the easier configuration settings and back end usability. We can certainly look at showing you have to do some of the changes within the V4 platform when you move across this year.

Replied March 2019

Sam

Banking

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2015

Annual compensation tool for global FS firm

PROS

From a reward professional's perspective the product is very customisable, has excellent reporting functionality and fully meets our needs. From an end user perspective it is also easy to use and we have received very good feedback from managers across the business. The support we receive from the vendor is first class - they are very responsive, flexible and really understand our business and our requirements.

CONS

Like any product of this nature there are some limitations but these are generally very small and have no impact on the efficiency and effectiveness of our year-end cycle.

Jeremy

Management Consulting

Used less than 12 months

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2015

Review of pay-review system from a global Professional Services firm

PROS

There were many things to like about the service and product offered, but to list a few: 1) CuroComp is a simple tool that does exactly what it is supposed to do and it does it very well. There is no superfluous functionality. 2) Having come from a position where the annual pay-review was a very manual, labour intensive process, Curo enabled us to make the transition from spreadsheets to online system easily and quickly (engagement to roll-out was 4 months). Feedback across the organisation has been very positive - including at our Executive Committee level. 3) The team are fantastic. They were always on hand to answer questions and solve any problems.

CONS

Whilst the system is in its infancy, there is still room for improvements, but the team are pro-actively seeking to improve the software by asking for client feedback so that future iterations will meet their needs.

Andy

Legal Services

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2015

Existing customer in the UK

PROS

This provides a clear method to collate, accurately record and manage compensation decisions across our business in a simple and effective way, allowing our compensation experts to focus on just that rather than being wholly wrapped up in processes (albeit valuable proceses but not value add). Curo are a very friendly team and are easy to work with, offering a fast growing and developing software solution.

CONS

You will probably find that you need to improve your own processes and your own data before being able to utilise the full functionality - we did and still are!

Meg

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Good information as a base

I'm not very impressed since there is no way to determine where the numbers come from or how many it is based off of.

PROS

I think this gives a good idea where a position is valued as a starting point. I think more information is helpful.

CONS

I don't like that the information in totally accurate for all positions nor do I believe that it should be taken as gold. It's a starting point. Not the end all, be all. What is the value of the employee? Not what is everyone else worth to everyone else!

CHRISTIAN

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

PayScale is a necessary tool to know what market value pay is for professional roles.

The ability to use real data in order to estimate market rates for pay. This accuracy proves necessary for anyone in HR or an employee wanting to get a better idea of financial brackets for their roles.

PROS

PayScale helps you determine market rates and is a great help to any HR Department and employee. I find it to be fairly accurate to current marketplace pay rates and it is a trustworthy reflection of the current pay scale. If you need to gather supporting data and information on pay rates, this is a good source.

CONS

It can be a little one note, but it is targeted for a specific purpose, so it cannot be faulted for that.

Victoria

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed May 2016

Maitland Implementation 2015

Likes Best There are many things that have impressed us about Curo - here are the top three: - The system itself - it is extremely flexible, simple to use and user-friendly. - The implementation process - we were guided by Curo throughout the project and they did a fantastic job making it as stress-free as possible - The service - customer service at its finest! Every question we asked had a positive response, nothing was too much trouble and even when things changed after the system was built it was never an issue to make amendments. The team at Curo are approachable, friendly and extremely knowledgeable, not only about the system but also about running compensation/remuneration reviews in practice. Likes Least There is nothing specific that we disliked about the product or vendor, in fact we were impressed by how flexible the system was and the team at Curo were always willing to implement our suggestions for improvement where ever practicable. Recommendations Make sure that you are clear about your process/requirements and ensure that you do extensive testing prior to implementation. Be open / flexible and use the knowledge and expertise of the Curo team.

MARY

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Curo's Team is very responsive

Experience with staff and platform was positive.

PROS

Their team worked diligently with us on an aggressive go live date. Their staff were very helpful as we worked through issues and found resolutions through UAT instances. It's important that clients thoroughly test their data.

CONS

Managers are missing the ability to indicate when they have reviewed certain recommendations. For Sr level management which everything rolls up to, it makes it difficult to pick up where they left off in the process. Something to think about.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to work with your team through your project, and agree with your data comment! Identifying recommended/non recommended employees within a review is something we are evaluating within the tool, so will keep you updated.

Replied March 2019

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY