All Mode Reviews

1-25 of 88 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Rohan

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501 - 1,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Internship Experience: Smooth and Exciting

User Profile

Gaurav

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Good tool for attribution modelling.

Overall experience is postive but the can be made little more simple

PROS

Best way to track independent teams performanceHas multiple functions and features and can be used by multiple people from different teams at the same time.

CONS

Is expensive to use and gives error when queries are run multiple timesTracking can be some times buggy if some other team implements something from engineering endsRequires very proper data science modellingIntial Definitions are sometimes tough to understand, so most of the data is to be added to confluence

Reasons for switching to Mode

More features and multiple login features

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

White Label Imbeds fit perfectly into our software.

Overall, it has changed our company. Internally, our teams have data pushed to them daily or weekly. Our end users have significantly more dynamic systems. And overall, our analytics stack has a very predictable cost structure. We love Mode!

PROS

We love Mode's ability to push analytics into Slack for internal analytics. We also heavily use Mode's White Label Embed capability into our website. We are able to configure Mode's look and feel to be perfectly on-brand. Mode's analytics plug perfectly into our site.

CONS

Mode's Grid and Pivot grids still have a long way to go. We end up plugging DevExtreme into Mode - which accomplishes exactly what we need... but it's a lot of work. It would have been nice to have beautiful pivot grids and data grids out-of-the-box. Mode also needs the ability to have triggers (only send this report if X>Y). Right now, Mode can only send on a schedule... but many of our needs are warning systems (if X<=0 then send an alert to this team).

Reason for choosing Mode

First, our engineering team vetoed all vendors requiring a Microsoft server. We were looking for excellent pivot grid capabilities - which none of the vendors provided. They were all competing for the best bar charts. However, a company called DevExtreme has a wonderful Javascript plugin PivotGrid - and Mode plays nicely with javascript plugins. So it's really that Mode played nicely with our technology stack + Mode played nicely with DevExtreme's Pivot Grid capabilities + Mode's White Label Embed Licensing fit into our business model and our team has SQL and Python skills - so Mode didn't require retraining. They just fit.

Reasons for switching to Mode

We chose Mode for their White Label Embed functionality. Mode offered a more modern and customizable user experience and Mode's licensing mode fit our business model better than Tableau. Tableau was getting too expensive.

Laural

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

experience as a user

Overall mode helps me perform my daily duties with efficiency however the glitches and slow running can cause downtime

PROS

relatively easy to use to run a report and export the report

CONS

the glitches, the freezing, the delay in running the report sometimes so I have to refresh it

Alexander

Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Great for sharing data

Mode has improved a LOT since we first began using it in the spring of 2019. The notebook interface is much faster and more stable (it could still be snappier and closer to 'native', but it's much much better), and the plotting abilities are much more flexible and nice to look at. Big props to the mode team for integrating so many useful features and improvements!

PROS

Mode has made it much faster to write + share small dashboards for internal consumption. My team gets a lot of random last-minute inbound requests for analytics regarding different parts of our research program, and Mode really makes it easy to make that data available and re-generable for the leadership teams who make those requests.

CONS

Some analytics, like almost-automatic chart and table generation using SQL queries, are streamlined in a way I find confusing and hard to use. I find that I have to structure my SQL query in such a way that data comes out just right for mode to display/plot the way I want. SQL is designed for database manipulation and is not great for manipulating data. If the purpose of directly plotting SQL results is to bypass the python notebook toolchain, it would be nice if there were slightly more configuration tools for data resulting from SQL to help customize plots/chart display. I would also like the ability to share charts that automatically run on a set time schedule; I find that I frequently share dashboards with supervisors who are perhaps less tech savvy and who inadvertently look at outdated runs of notebooks. Mode *does* indicate that notebook runs are outdated, but it would be nice to be able to push this a step further and have a static link to a dashboard/notebook that re-runs automatically every 30 minutes in the background.

Madison

Publishing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Mode Review

I think the software is great, it helps us show non-technical folks data.

PROS

Lots of visualizations to use, easy for non-technical people on our team to use it.

CONS

There is an issue with PDF exporting cutting off tables and visualizations and i have been asking for it to be fixed for almost a month now and no one has fixed it. It affects my ability to send reports to my co-workers, and that puts the software in jeopardy. If we can't show people in the company that it's great and functional we may lose the software

Joseph

Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Mode was a game changer for us, but some aspects remain hard to use

PROS

The tight integration of Mode's SQL editor and python notebooks really brought new functionality to our team. I personally hadn't used SQL queries before attempting to write them in Mode, and the editor made it easy to learn. Suddenly, not only did our company have a single, centralized source of truth for jupyter notebooks that had previously been continually passed around in private messages, but we also had a clearer and simpler way to populate those notebooks with data from multiple databases. It was a a game changer.

CONS

Speed of editing is really my only complaint. I write any python notebook functionality outside of Mode and just copy and paste the cells I need to avoid having to write new code within the hosted notebook and deal with the slow refresh rates. This is just an inconvenience though, not a deal breaker. And its definitely seemed to have improved since a year ago. Another complaint is that the dashboard layout editor doesn't feel as intuitive as the rest of the Mode platform. It is specifically often difficult to get the intended result when resizing things relative to each other without iteratively adjusting window sizes in the dashboard editor and actual notebook output.

Jon

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Great Analytical insights from Mode

This has allowed us to view any licence mismatches across our own portal and CRM, allowing us to solve any discrepancies before they become issues.

PROS

This BI software is very easy to use, it has allowed us to gather great insights comparing data from our CRM to our own in house Portal software.

CONS

Occasionally some of the coding can be difficult unless you have a very experienced Data Analyst to work with.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

"Mode Analytics Review: A Comprehensive Look at the Data Analysis Platform"

"Overall, Mode Analytics is a powerful tool for data analysis, with the ability to connect, analyze and visualize data from various sources. The SQL-based interface allows for complex queries and advanced analysis. However, the learning curve can be steep, and the pricing can be expensive."

PROS

"Mode Analytics allows me to easily connect, analyze, and visualize data from various sources, making it a great tool for SEO data analysis""The platform's SQL-based interface allows me to create complex queries and perform advanced data analysis, helping me to identify important trends and insights.""The ability to share and collaborate on data analyses and reports with team members and stakeholders makes it easy to make data-driven decisions.""The platform provides a wide range of visualization options, allowing me to effectively communicate data insights to my team and clients."

CONS

"The steep learning curve for the SQL-based interface may make it difficult for new users to fully utilize the platform's capabilities""The platform's pricing model can be expensive for some teams, especially for larger organizations with many users."

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

My favorite sql software Ive ever used

Overall efficiency. Better organization, collaboration, and code writing

PROS

Incredible organization for my sets of code, great sharing amongst teams, great visual display of information

CONS

It's pretty hard to think about what I don't like. Dynamic variables have not always worked properly in my experience and charting can be a bit rigid

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Mode Platform

PROS

Getting data is simple and intuitive. I use mode to track an Ecommerce website and it is easy to use and clean.

CONS

I would like to have more feature and an easy way to automate it with other softwares or programs.

Herman

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Amazing tool for a data-driven company

Mode is a very powerful tool for reporting and visualising insights. It has helped us make key data-driven business decisions in our first years of growth - without it we would be flying blind.

PROS

The UI is clean and simple. I was new to the world of Business Intelligence software and getting used to it was very easy.

CONS

It can work out quite pricey if you have a lot of casual/read only users.

Ragnar

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

A great tool overall

PROS

Once you learn how to use its features, it's very easy to use; building the reports, sharing them, and reading them

CONS

I sometimes have to refresh the browser to see the latest changes I made and make certain features work The graphing options are much more limited than Excel's

Patrick

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Drops that data on your plate like breakfast in bed

Compiling what we need in concise reports improves our team's daily functions.

PROS

Daily data report drops into my inbox helps our Ops team triple their efficiency when it comes to follow-ups.

CONS

No striking dislikes come to mind. Mode's been helpful enough day-to-day for over a year now where I can't think of anything I'm missing as a light-moderate user.

Gregory

Internet, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Mode Review

In short, we use Mode to ensure we are making Data Driven decisions at every level. We use Mode to find average price per unit, how long inventory is staying on a shelf relative to price point, which units are staying on the shelf the longest and what are their similarities.

PROS

How easy it is to duplicate a query you're using to answer similar problems. The ability to schedule reports with .CSVs to run for email recipients .

CONS

I would prefer that when I select a report from a list, such as in a space, that when I return to that list the report I was just viewing should be the first selection. In current state, when I revert back to the list I have to locate the report each time to amend it.

Jane

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Easy for a SQL noob, but more templates + help with chart building needed

PROS

As someone new to SQL, the error messages are relatively easy to parse and it's really simple to copy and tweak queries and reports.

CONS

The chart building is not super intuitive; it would be great if there were easy templates to use.

Priyanka

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Mode Performance Review

I have been using Mode pretty much every single day and could not do without it. very handy platform.

PROS

Flexibility and ease of access are the highlights. It can be used from any where and on any platform. Very handy and easy to use.

CONS

Very less options on plotting charts. It should have more options to get even better insights while using it for big data.

Charlotte

Consumer Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Saves me Time

Brilliant. Has mede life so much easier!

PROS

Mode has all of the details I need at my fingertips. This makes my metrics so much easier and I can find . it all in the one place

CONS

It does take a little while to generate the reports, not bother though as I just load a couple at a time and while the second is loading the first is ready

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

Mode is the SQL kit you wish you always had

SQL queries, database lookup, results graphing, BI.

PROS

Mode makes it easy to add data from a wide variety of sources, run live queries on that data, and produce detailed graphs and sheets with your results. Its free plan is comprehensive and great for public data collections.

CONS

Mode can be limited in its visualizations and sources. If you're looking for more comprehensive BI toolsets, you may want to consider more expensive options. The cons at this price point are essentially zero though.

Suleman

Internet, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Mode review

PROS

- Ease of use - autocompletion is very good - easy to generate complicated analytic reports - easy export for reports

CONS

- long query time or inexplicable time outs - very limited options for data visualization

Drew

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY