TotalMD Software

4.41 / 5 (38)

Our advisors have recommended this product 23 times in the last 30 days

About TotalMD


TotalMD is a practice management solution suitable for small and midsize practices. TotalMD provides an integrated suite of features that includes e-claim services, patient scheduling, financial reporting, EMR integration and more.

The solution enables users to collect and manage payments and collections, schedule patient appointments and access reporting tools. The system can be deployed on premise or as a cloud-based solution.

On the billing side, every version of TotalMD is ICD10 and 5010 ready, and offers additional capabilities for insurance collection management, patient accounting, advanced scheduling and a report designer, as well as online eligibility, EHR integration and a collections module. The solution offers free data conversion from Medisoft and Lytec and conversion from any other system is available.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

38 Reviews of TotalMD

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.41 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(20)

4 stars

(13)

3 stars

(3)

2 stars

(1)

1 stars

(1)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

April 2018

Ana from Jupiter Gardens Medical Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

Nothing bad to say about the software. It is an excellent product.

Very easy to learn and use. Fair price. Excellent tech support. Being able to use it from any computer, even when I was abroad.

Pros

Very easy to learn (we are all women in the mid 50's, some with little comp experience). Switched from Medisoft in 2015, and a couple of weeks later, we were asking ourselves, why didn't we do the change 5 years before. It makes insurance and patient billing extremely quick and accurate. The tech support in AZ is great, and they all have the patience of monks. We have to call maybe twice a year now with questions, since they are no glitches. I love the fact that we can get access to it from every computer. Also, we will be signing for EMR with TotalMD (after previously checking other software), and I have no doubt that it will be as easy to work and as well supported as the billing part.

Cons

Sometimes the wait time when we call tech support, however once they are in the line, we have their undivided attention until the problem is solved.

March 2018

Scott from Ability Clinical Technologies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2018

TotalMD gives our clients high-performance billing and practice management efficiency, challenging systems costing thousands more.

This software is "bullet-proof" as far as data corruption is concerned, from what we've observed over the years, in comparison to other systems we support (Medisoft, Lytec, et al.) However, as with any software, we always insist our clients make daily backups.

Pros

Reliability, ease-of-use, error-reduction capabilities and high-performance collection tools have been a few of the many reasons so many of our clients have switched from Medisoft, AltaPoint, Lytec, Chiro8000 and more over the years. As a dealer, we enjoy the easy setup and very low support requirements of this product line. Continuous additions to TotalMD's free video library provide a wealth of knowledge for users to get the most out of their system.

Cons

For larger offices (more than 20 providers) there is a slight lag of performance if older equipment (servers, routers, etc.) is used. We always recommend an evaluation of current systems before performing an installation.

September 2016

Sally from Sandia Neurology PC


Ease-of-use

1.5 of 5

Value for money

2.5 of 5

Customer support

1.5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2016

Private practice use since 2009

Pros

It provides all the capabilities needed to create 1500s, electronically edit and send them, make corrections, post payments, and keep track of balances.

Cons

It definitely has lots of bugs. Having designed software before I became a doctor, I appreciate the complexity of the multi level platform. It takes time and motivation to surmount many of them. I have to pay for support, for example if I have a question about technique, I have to buy a punch card of how many calls I am allowed. I have to pay for training if i hire yet another biller. I am now doing my own billing and can figure out most of it, but there are still balances that are off and inaccurate statements. It is a headache but hard to change.

Response from Laurel of TotalMD

Replied February 2017

Dear Sally, Thank you for your review of TotalMD. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns. TotalMD makes every effort possible to thoroughly test and release error free software. On occasion, as with any software program, our customers may encounter instances in which the software does not perform as they expect. We value and encourage this feedback from our clients so we can continue to ensure the product is of the highest standards. We also issue free Service Pack Updates which are designed to fix any minor items we find after a release (just like updating an app on your cell phone). Service Pack Updates are always free and available for easy download by the customer. We do have an in-house support team available, and their ability to assist you is increased with a current support contract, which allows them to log into your computer and see what you see. However, Support would be happy to walk you through any troubleshooting necessary, even without obtaining a support contract. Our support department is also always available to discuss any instances you’ve encountered in which TotalMD is not performing as you expect, and will report those issues to program development as necessary. In many situations, these issues can be resolved by having a short training session, or changing program settings, without the involvement of programming/development. TotalMD never requires you to purchase additional training for new office staff, however, we do offer training sessions available for purchase in one hour increments should you choose to have a TotalMD trainer conduct a live training session to cover basic functionality. Of course, you always have the option of providing your new staff with training by one of your existing staff members, in addition to the numerous webinars and training videos we offer for free on our YouTube channel. We have attempted to contact your office to address these concerns but have been unable to reach you. Please feel free to contact our support department so that we may further discuss your experience and help you to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback.

January 2013

Victoria from Vyrien, LLC


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2013

We are a medical billing/coding company and work with numerous private practice specialty doctors. Prior to switching to TotalMD, our biggest complaint with the previous system was the lack of ease to use. Our employees would have to maneuver over numerous screens/tabs in order to find what they were looking for. The patient ledger was simply a nightmare! It was so difficult to match up "doc numbers" to see what was paid to what. That was the biggest factor of frustration for my staff. It was all too time consuming when they needed to answer patient questions about payments, etc. So, as I went on my hunt for a new practice management program, the readable patient ledger and ease of use was top on my list. After an exhausting search for a program, I finally found TotalMD. Aside from the simplicity of use, the patient ledger was gorgeous. All the line items were organized according to date and each line item had its own readable story. Being able to attach notes to each line item so clearly made everyone's job so much easier. There was no guessing game nor calling another member for explanation on a patient's account. TotalMD's reports (customizable!) are glorious. I was able to get any report I wanted. I could request for any type of filters imaginable. TotalMD is by far, the easiest and most comprehensive of all the products I researched. For small to medium sized practices, it is a dream come true. Easy to use, easy to customize and all my doctors absolutely love the scheduling feature. I can auto post e.o.bs directly onto TotalMD from my clearinghouse and my doctors have seamless connections with their EHR programs. I cannot rave about how much time TotalMD has given back to me and my staff thanks to their easy to use, easy to read, easy to customize program. They have great tech and sales support. We are never left more than a day without some sort of answer or communication. TotalMD really delivered 5 stars on this product.

August 2017

Robert from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

Easy to use but could use some updating for facility billing and report staff

If they did some updating on facility billing and found a new report writer (or provided customer support training to their existing report writer), I'd be much more comfortable recommending them to colleagues.

Pros

Easy enough to learn and easy enough to use. It's fairly customizable as far as viewing and some of the support staff can help accommodate issues.

Cons

They don't seem 100% ready for UB04 (facility) billing. They have one report writer and he always seems inconvenienced if we need help. He also refuses to work on any reports that were sent to us by someone else (within their company) or if we have had any changes made to the reports. We have found it very hard to get help from him and there are no other options when it comes to reports or forms (including a printed UB04 form).

January 2013

Ganesh from Pediatric Physicians, PA


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2013

We are a busy 3 pediatric board certified doctors group in Flower Mound, Texas and we have been in practice for the last 24 years. Our old practice management software MEDX which we have used to manage all aspects of our practice was approaching to end of its life and we needed to replace it. About two years ago when we started looking for something to replace our previous practice management software program and we realized there were many solutions available. We started doing some research to try to narrow down our options. We wanted something affordable but that still gave us all the features we needed. We really hoped there would be something that fit both of those needs and luckily we finally found it with TotalMD. Not only is TotalMD extremely affordable compared to the other options out there but they also provide a feature rich program that we have been able to customize for our needs. It also is extremely easy to learn and the staff is very grateful for that. The worst part about switching programs is that first few months when people are trying to learn and understand the new program. For us, with TotalMD it was as easy as 1,2,3. We finally switched to TotalMD in May, 2012. We literally did not lose a single hour of production or anything when we switched over to TotalMD. The transition was more seamless than I could have imagined. When I talk to other doctors about our experience they are flabbergasted by our awesome experience. It is also great to know that we can always call and speak to someone that can help us out at any time. They really seem to care about us whenever we call (which is hardly ever since the system is so great) and they are always very helpful. We couldn’t be happier with our decision to switch and we always recommend TotalMD to other offices.

January 2018

Mark from Crouch Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Many great features for the price

Overall good value for the price. There are 3 levels of service/features/prices. We had a catastrophic failure of our previous practice management system and had to quickly choose software to meet our needs. The install was quick and smooth. Training was well done. Program is easy to use. The fully functional demo was a great tool to help us learn how to use the program before it was installed. The other practice management software venders we contacted had live demonstrations or demo videos you can watch but no fully functional demo to download and use. Being able to play with and learn on the demo helped us make our decision to go with this software. We feel like we chose the right software for our needs.

Pros

Great features, Easy to learn, Good training and support, Customizable Pages, Text reminders, Interactive real-time texting, Customizable scheduling templates, Customizable reports. There is a fully functional demo you can download and instantly play with. There are a number of training videos on YouTube. You can learn by watching these videos while playing with the demo before you buy anything.

Cons

Small Icons, No way to enlarge fonts, Received texts do not show patient's name, No patient recall for lost patients,

June 2017

Tracy from Especially Births

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2017

Diamond in the Rough

I love how they charge me by user instead of by provider. This allows me to serve small practices cost effectively.

Pros

A very feature rich program for an affordable price. They also have fantastic customer service and support that is completely US based.

Cons

I wish they had an address verification tool built into the software. I am told they will have that when the next version is released.

July 2018

Robert from UR1 Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

July 2018

Great software but could improve in institutional billing

I currently use this software and am not considering leaving.

Pros

Mostly great customer service and fairly responsive. Our concerns seem to actually be taken into consideration. Claims submission is easy once completely set up.

Cons

They are not set up completely for institutional billing although there have been many improvements. We have not had access to submitting claims in ANSI format however one of our facilities has started beta testing ANSI claims for them so I don't see that being an issue in the future.

January 2013

Laura from LG Medical Billing Service, LLC


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2013

I own a small billing company and was just starting out when I needed a better management system. I have over 25 years experience in billing and management, in those years I have implemented several of the top of the line systems. I have to say that TotalMD has been the best and easiest by far, who would have known that an affordable system would be the best! I started with the basic and just upgraded to the Avanced version. I have been extremly happy with my system and with the support that I get from customer service. I know from past experiences with other systems that they seem to get most of your money when it comes to the support, not with TotalMD. They let you go at your own speed of training, they do not pressure you to train. They let you use the system and then just call when you get ready for some training or you just need a little help with small tasks. I have been loving the reports that they can produce, they can make just about any report you want for a very reasoable price and in some cases they do not charge, just depends on how extensive the report is. You can also create your own if you have some knowledge in that area. I would highly recommend (and do) to anyone looking for a reasonable system that will do anything you want and need. There is no yearly fee which is unheard of with other systems, that is one area that really caught my attention. I have worked on several systems over the years, expensive systems and you can trust me when I tell you this one has risen to the top, I cannot see myself using any other system!

November 2018

Debbie from DT Medical Billing

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Good Software

Great

Pros

The ease of usage and the customer service is great

Cons

Some times while typing in the account number, the screen would flip off it but once you hit Enter, the patient's account would pop up anyways. It was just typing where you could not see the curser.

June 2015

Barry from Quick Claims Processing


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

4.5 of 5

Functionality

4.5 of 5

June 2015

Billing Service review of TotalMD

Pros

The product supports all our needs as a Billing Service, and the vendor is very responsive to our requests for Support and Product Improvement

Cons

The product doesn't support electronic Secondary claims; first level Support is not suited to our needs (but second level Support is excellent!)

December 2012

Katherine from Robert Rath MD PC


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2012

We are a busy family practice group in Oregon. We purchased Total MD two years ago after years of working on an outdated billing system. The years we spent on the outdated program lingered due to the fact that all the other software we looked into had many problems, and poor ease of use. When I first downloaded the Total MD demo program, I was so excited to see that not only was this a very user friendly system, but I was able to self train just using the Demo! The program is also one of the best priced systems available. You have the option of purchasing the system, or doing monthly access contract that also frees up your staff from backups and IT work. That is all done by the Total MD staff. If you wonder then about the Total MD staff, I can tell you that they are great! You get a person on the phone immediately when you call, no waiting for call backs. They are always willing to train, answer questions, show you shortcuts, and assist in adding to the system things I find would help me in my work. We are doing scheduling, billing (electronic), and practice reports. Both in office and with login from remote. This allows you to work on weekends, or check your schedule from home if your snowed in. You and the doctor can also access patient information from other sites for on-call emergencies. In the two years we have had this system I have had no complaints. I love it. My staff also feels that Total MD is great and easy to use.

September 2016

Judy from clinic on the park


Ease-of-use

2.5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4.5 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

September 2016

mixed results

Pros

the product was well supported and my questions were answered promptly

Cons

it was not easy to transfer the data from the existing program. The vendor is in AZ which is in Pacific time when we have Daylight Savings Time

Response from Nelson of TotalMD

Replied December 2016

Judy, thank you very much for letting us know your feelings about the TotalMD product as the feedback we get from customers is very valuable to our company. I did review your account and I understand a little bit better where you are coming from in your review. I know you were made aware of this at the time of purchase you but I want to remind you that you purchased the TotalMD Essentials program which is the most basic program we offer. At the $199 price tag it is very limited in its functionality and it not quite as easy to use. If you would like the ease-of-use and functionality that our other customers enjoy then please consider our other programs that are specifically designed for that. Also, it is important to note that the conversion was a little more difficult because you purchased our tool for $199 so you could do it yourself. I don’t know of any other company that allows you that option so you can save that money instead of using our conversion services but we are glad you took advantage of it. In the future, if you have any ideas, questions or concerns regarding TotalMD then please feel free to contact us. We look forward to continuing to work with you and we very much appreciate your thoughts.

December 2018

Jodi from Healing Ground LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

Friendly customer service!

We are a small Chiropractic office with one provider. I feel like Total MD was great for our practice and very affordable.

Pros

I like our customer service rep. ! She was awesome with answering all my questions. It was a painless switch from my previous software. I feel it's a good deal for a small to medium office.

Cons

I wish there was a manual for training that I could have referred to from time to time. But I always received good support on the phone.

February 2013

Janice from medical-billing-guide.com


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2013

Our company operates a medical billing service and we also provide software and training to medical practices and other medical billing companies. We have been resellers of Medisoft for the past 18 years. We discovered TotalMD three years ago and it was love at first sight. Here's what we love about TotalMD: TotalMD is very easy to use. Just about anyone can learn to use this software in a few hours. The navigation around the program is great and it has all the features you need for billing and scheduling. Medisoft users can move to TotalMD very easily because it does a seamless conversion of Medisoft data and the program similarities make it very easy to learn. TotalMD is very reasonably priced and has a lot of extra features you will appreciate like email appointment confirmations, automatic EOB posting, an electronic claims module, and direct connectivity to several electronic health records systems. The software is designed so that most tasks can be done from the patient ledger window. The color coding makes it easy to review patient accounts and reallocating payments is quick and easy. The technical support at TotalMD is superior to any software company I have every worked with. Everyone needs some technical support occasionally, and I have always gotten courteous and timely help when I need it.

January 2013

Tami from Quick Claims Processing


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2013

I'm an owner at Quick Claims Processing. We're an insurance billing service out of Florida. We have 45+ clients across the U.S. Our clients represent a wide range of specialties including General Medicine, Mental Health, Optometry, Chiropractic, Physical and Occupational Therapy, and more. The TotalMD software is easy to learn and easy to use. It supports the various coding requirements across specialties and across a wide range of insurers. It’s a full featured application and the screens are customizable to meet specific needs. The reporting section is very nice - as you can design your own reports or modify existing reports fairly easily. The quality and expertise of the people at TotalMD is what sealed the deal for us. We’re a small company and we wanted a software vendor who would act and feel like a partner to us. The folks at TotalMD are accessible and focused on customer satisfaction. They ask for our input, listen to our ideas, and incorporate suggestions where possible. As a customer of theirs, we feel like we have a voice in the direction of the software. That doesn’t happen with the big vendors! We’ve been using the TotalMD software for about 4 years now, and we’re very happy with our decision. We’d highly recommend them.

January 2013

Cynthia from White Mountain Psychiatric Services


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2013

We started using TotalMD in May of 2008. We had been using Lytec for several years previously and were looking for a better and preferably less expensive option. With TotalMD we got both! Not only is the software much easier to use but it also offers more functionality for our office. We also got a much better deal than what we were paying with Lytec. We decided to go with the online version which ended up being perfect for us. This allowed me to not only work from the office but I could also work from home when necessary. In addition, when things started getting busy I was able to have my sister help from her home in another state. I also need to mention the amazing support. I can call and speak to someone who will help me right then and there. I don’t have to leave messages and wait for a call back or anything like that. The immediate help I receive is great. I feel like they really care about me as a customer. The pricing, support and features of TotalMD create a package that cannot be beat. Give them a try and I think you’ll be as thrilled as I am.

March 2016

Katherine from Impact Chiropractic Clinic


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2016

Cost Effective Customizable and User friendly product

Pros

TotalMD is user friendly, very easier to learn. We had been on Medisoft for years and find that TotalMD Cloud version is a much better product. Easily Customizable. Questions are answered very promptly and accurately. Tech support is always personable and able to solve issues quickly. The cloud based version is very economical for your chiropractic practice.

Cons

would like to see a better month end spreadsheet. and comparisons by month.

September 2015

Christi from Holcomb Data Services


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2015

LOVE TotalMD

Pros

The total package!! Great software, wonderful technical support and fabulous training!!!! Customer support is their mantra. The sofrware has turned out great for my uses as a Billing Service and whenever you call regarding training or tech support you are always met with a "happy" voice and all questions are always answered. They also keep current on all industry updates and make sure we are following the latest guidelines and formats.

Cons

I don't really have a bad word to say about the program. I guess I could say that having the note screen pop up on the same patient each time you change from ledger to account is an unnecessary additional step.