User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.87

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"This software was easy to learn with informative instructional training videos. If I have a question or suggestion, customer service always responds timely and makes me feel important."
  • icon"Their customer support team is one of the best I've encountered. They are consistently friendly and knowledgeable."
  • icon"The ease of use and the availability for help. We have interns and some staff who only use RealTime for specific things, like referencing the calendar, or scheduling appointments."
  • icon"Hard to enter a refund if the sponsor overpays."
  • icon"We want to utilize the RealTime-Text feature but are concerned that many patients would get confused with the military time format."
  • icon"Navigating on a web-based platform can be a little slower than a desktop install at times, even on a quick connection, but I would say the convenience of connecting outweighs the downside."

All RealTime-CTMS Reviews

1-25 of 63 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Gary L.

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

RealTime: It's Far More Than A CTMS

Having so our processes and materials sensibly organized and readily accessible in one place has improved our overall efficiency. It supports our QA/ QC processes in ways that have allowed us to improve the quality of our data and accounts receivable. We are especially impressed with all the the staff at RealTime. The quality of training, support and maintenance has been excellent.

Pros

Great user interface, sensible workflow/ navigation and exceptional functionality aside, it was designed, developed and continues to be enhanced by people who have actually done clinical trials. This is evident in every aspect of the software. The whole product suite and related offerings, e.g., eDocs, eSource, SitePAY and Text are terrific, and for us it is evolving to be an overall Business Management System.

Cons

We would like to see more granularity in access privileges.

Lindsey

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

RealTime has been a big help for our finances!

We needed a CTMS that helped us separate from our SMO and go into research on our own. This software helped us get set up and organized from Day 1, easing the transition to perform all administrative functions in house instead of outsourcing.

Pros

I love how the accounting side helps link patient visits to reimbursements. This has made my job so much better for AP/AR and tracking payments.

Cons

There is a learning curve, but once you get past that, it really is easy to use!

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

Created by study coordinators with study coordinators in mind. The entire format and workflow just made sense to us!

Philippa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2016

NZ site review

Finding our way around the system has been relatively easy. A few items are not that applicable to sites not based in US. An edit function on existing invoices would be a real bonus.

Pros

All trial information in one place for staff. Lots of fields for patient information is great too.

Cons

Would like to be able to add GST to our invoices. Would like to be able to amend invoices after created.

Response from RealTime-CTMS

Thank you, Phillippa, for your feedback. We love to listen to our customers and make updates to RealTime based on their needs. I am happy to tell you that Invoices are now completely editable in RealTime. Additionally, we are working on an update for our non-US customers to track government taxes such as GST. We hope to have this update deployed in Q1 of 2017. Please let us know if there are any other areas of the system that you would like to see improved to better suite your local environment.

Replied December 2016

Ashley

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

RealTime at SRA

RealTime is something of a go to at our company. Any time anyone has a question regarding a study, a participant, scheduling, our answer to each other is always, "did you check RealTime?" The best part is that through RealTime we're always able to get the answers that we need. And if it's not something we're sure RealTime can give us, the support staff is always more than happy to walk us through a feature that we may not have realized existed. We have been using RealTime for close to two years now, and through updates and additional features, there really isn't anything RealTime can't provide for us. In regulatory, I especially love the document feature. It centralizes a place for our consents and protocols so that when coordinators or the marketing department has a question, they can reference the source material. The addition of subject documents has been invaluable as well. Rather than coming up with a filing system that's arguably archaic, it makes it easy to reference a participant's prescreen right in their profile. It saves us space and time to be able to have this information readily available. The best thing, though, I could say about RealTime is that is has features we didn't know we wanted. I could try to come up with things that could be added or improved on, but the truth is RealTime is always a step ahead of us. Every time a new feature is launched, I find myself saying, "oh yeah, that would be helpful!"

Pros

The ease of use and the availability for help. We have interns and some staff who only use RealTime for specific things, like referencing the calendar, or scheduling appointments. Because RealTime is so user friendly, we don't have to spend much time training our new staff on how it works. And even if a training session is required, it's great that the team at RealTime can provide this for us.

Cons

I honestly do not have any complaints at this time.

Response from RealTime-CTMS

Ashley, thank you so much for the great review! This is great news that RealTime has become such an important system for your site and staff. We enjoy working with your team as much as you enjoy working with RealTime!

Replied March 2017

Fabian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Each year they impress us more

Form day one it has been WONDERFUL. I enjoy the progress the company continues to make, which in turn benefits my research site, and the costs keep low. Thanks to the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] I have always felt that this leadership always takes into account the inform form sites in order to continue to improve the system. Having the direct line of communication to these two leaders, ensures that RealTime values our input and takes the time to work closely with its clients regardless of our company size.

Pros

The system is very user friendly and intuitive. I like the way the system has features in place where the study coordinators must complete sections before completing a visit, as this helps speed up the QC process for proper billing to our customers. The system does EVERYTHING we need from patient visits and Text reminders to invoice and payments to patients. The new customized reloadable cards that we give our patients are a wonderful addition and has saved us lots of time and money, plus take us to a new level of professionalism. providers, and support organizations also like the way we can provide a breakdown of payment to them. This one stop system keeps our research site moving smoothly.

Cons

There is a learning curve to integrate eSource, but they have a good help desk to teach you.

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

Cost, ease of use, and easy access to customer service.

Amy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Provides all the tools to be able manage clinical trials efficiently and effectively.

As I mentioned, having all of the tools available in one spot makes it easy and efficient to use. Using our time efficiently is very important in research and RealTime helps us do so. From Recruiters, Coordinators, Regulatory, and Managers all use this system with ease.

Pros

Provides all the tools to be able manage clinical trials efficiently and effectively. From Organizing our referrals, scheduling visits with RealTime Calendar, Contacting and communicating with patients by text, keeping track of visits, using RealTime Pay, edocs, etc. RealTime really does it all and does it well. It's a one stop shop for keeping our studies well organized!

Cons

We don't really having anything at this time that stands out as a con. All of our team works really well with this system. None at this time.

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

Provides all the tools to be able manage clinical trials efficiently and effectively. From Organizing our referrals, scheduling visits with RealTime Calendar, Contacting and communicating with patients by text, keeping track of visits, using RealTime Pay, edocs, etc. RealTime really does it all and does it well. It's a one stop shop for keeping our studies well organized!

Reasons for switching to RealTime-CTMS

Functionality

Brent

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Cool Software that is always improving

Great way to implement a paperless trial site without using disparate systems. Awesome support and always improving features.

Pros

Support is friendly and quick to respond. Improvements are implemented on a regular basis and suggestions are taken seriously. The product is always evolving. Training is excellent. Cost of the product is very competitive and allows you to scale without taking on too much risk. Product features are progressive for the industry such as offering eSOURCE. The system is pretty easy to learn overall. The ability to purchase different pieces of the system a la carte is very nice and integration between the different pieces is reasonably good, though some future improvements would really make it stand out. Overall, RealTime is a fantastic company to work with and they have a great product.

Cons

Navigating on a web-based platform can be a little slower than a desktop install at times, even on a quick connection, but I would say the convenience of connecting outweighs the downside. The phone app is still a work in progress but is a bit limited at this point compared to the web version. Some features are buried in the menus and not the most intuitive or efficient to navigate to, but overall the system is very easy to use.

Meghan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

The best and the easiest

Pros

RealTime makes it so easy to keep track of every referral, patient information, paperwork, study details, etc. They are integrated with our website, so those who apply for a study there go directly into our patient database. They have also started to integrate with marketing companies, so each referral from that ad campaign is put directly into our database, instead of having to access a portal and put them in manually. It really couldn't be easier. Being able to text patients directly from RealTime and send appointment reminders is a feature that I love as well. I can't think of anything they don't do. On top of that, I have had a great costumer service experience. Every team member I work with goes above and beyond to make sure all my concerns are addressed as soon as possible.

Cons

I am hoping that they integrate with more marketing companies in the future.

Ashleigh

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Manage your patients with ease

Overall experience is really good. The customer service team are lovely and really knowledgeable. Response times are quick even considering the time difference (we are in NZ, they are in US).

Pros

The ability to monitor and track easily where every patient is within a trial. Having a database full of potential patients that is easy to manage, access and view. Having the access for all study team means we can all be on the same page with patient care. EDOCS portal where the CRA and sponsor can have access to site documents such as CVs, training and calibration information. They can access it from anywhere so it saves us having to email things and constantly print and send documents to sponsors they can access it remotely and print it themselves.

Cons

There are no real cons as such. The ESOURCE system we have been trialling still needs some further development but RealTime offer a lot of great solutions.

User Profile

Emmet

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

RealTime-CTMS has directly contributed to our site's success!

Endeavor Clinical Trials is capitalizing on the detailed reporting features built-in with RealTime to help us keep accurate metrics on recruitment and marketing.

Pros

RealTime-CTMS is a user-friendly clinical trials management software that allows us to process potential candidates for studies from recruitment to completion! As the manager of recruitment, I am particularly excited about the API integration with our ad agency's digital advertising campaigns. If a potential patient clicks on a digital ad, our database is populated with the data from the patient in the specific study! It makes recruiting a breeze.

Cons

Sometimes the server can be a bit sluggish.

Denise

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Financial Reports sold us!

Pros

1. One of our biggest must haves when selecting a new CTMS was the financials. We love the fact we can do study revenue reports and many others! 2. The ease of building studies. Especially the copy feature for visits as well as copy and past of arms into other studies. 3. We like the many options to accommodate the complicated budgets we need to enter.

Cons

1. It is not very easy to post a check that is paid with many line items and payment amounts that need to be adjusted to match the sponsor payment. 2. When emailing invoice to sponsor, there is no mechanism to ensure email was received such as a reach receipt by Sponsor. Also, there is no option to assign your own invoice # to invoices or accept RT number given. The system automatically assigns # based on last invoice. When you have multiple sites, it can pose a challenge. We can narrow it down by site and study under the manage study invoices for viewing only. 3. When adding arms… the arms have to go in alphabetical order of the arm name, instead of the order we choose. When we do arms 1-20, arm 10 falls after arm 1 and before arm 2, instead of after arm 9, and that is because the system reads everything alphabetically and numbers only up to 9. It should give us the option.

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

Financial reporting and overall ease of using the system

Reasons for switching to RealTime-CTMS

Merge was sunsetting

Kristina

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

CTMS, eDocs and eSource all in one package

Pros

I like that everything is integrated in one place and it is easy to toggle between each side. Quality checks are easy to be completed because you can toggle from one place to another. When you load a new consent in eDocs it can automatically show and be tracked in the source and a log is made. I love the new electronic delegation log which prevents us from having to go to each person and get signatures. Once you put a patient into the CTMS you can easily attach that patient to a study and follow the patient throughout the process. You can build the budget and as visits are completed easily see the funds due and send invoices if needed. When we have concerns we have voiced them and the team listens and finds solutions or upgrades to make the system more user friendly.

Cons

If the internet goes out there is a problem. I wish there was a way to work offline when that happens. It doesn't happen often but when it does we have to get creative and use hot spots to continue to work.

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

Because it had everything in one neat integrated system.

Miguel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Valuable Software Package

The customer service is exceptional. There is a learning curve but there is sufficient training and site support to help the system administrator get acclimated to the system.

Pros

The eSource, eDocs and invoicing features are intuitive, functional and help streamline our processes.

Cons

Would like to see an updated accounting dashboard.

Reasons for choosing RealTime-CTMS

RealTime-CTMS provided more features.

Reasons for switching to RealTime-CTMS

Our company outgrew the software.

Dalyn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2016

BEST CTMS OUT THERE

Having used other systems I can emphatically state that this is the best system available no matter what your size is. It has paid for itself over and over. Most systems have you frustrated for the first several months getting used to little quirks. This system is so easy to use that frustration has not been an issue. The online video tutorials are great for bringing on new staff. This system was created by a site and it shows! Don't make my mistake and choose a less expensive system first because trust me doing it right from the beginning would have been much easier. Although when you look at the new features of this system you will save time and money over the other systems. If you have another system though they are great to work with and migration was easier than I thought it would be.

Pros

This system is so user-friendly. Training is done in a third of the time as compared to other systems and I feel that I can use all of the features because they are easy to understand.

Cons

We are having some calendar issues with outside MDs seeing the company calendar

Response from RealTime-CTMS

Hello Dalyn, thank you for your glowing review! We are happy that RealTime is so instrumental in helping your site conduct clinical trials. Our system allows for assigning and unassigning calendars to providers. If we haven't already, we will reach out to make sure your site is configured for this.

Replied February 2017

Megan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

How did we even function before RealTime-CTMS??

Pros

RealTime-CTMS makes it possible to complete tasks quickly. Having used other systems in the past, it was daunting to complete the most basic tasks such as adding a new patient and scheduling an appointment. Our biggest complaint with other systems was it took "too many clicks" to get these things done. This is not the case with RealTime-CTMS. This was clearly created by people who know about clinical trial ops. Everything we do on a daily basis is present in this