User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Resource Space is a robust warehouse platform with useful features. The ability to customize your account is great and its easy to have outside photographers upload and tag directly to the system."

  • "How flexible it is and how easy it is to have custom needs built into the system. The ability to create multiple user groups and give access to certain users for certain things. "

  • "The price. We are big fans of open source software and we also have a bunch of clients that really need Digital Asset Management but cannot afford Widen or similar solutions."

  • Cons

  • "While generally easy to use, it feels like Resource Space was developed by developers in that it can be very technical and all about the features (vs what an average user might need/want)"

  • "I literally have no cons. The system is easy to set up and there's an extensive how-to library. You can also add plugins which makes it even better."

  • "It does not offer more advanced features, like image/video editing, graphical workflow engine, annotations, advanced collaboration and asset sharing features."

Browse ResourceSpace Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

October 2017

Charles Andrew from Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

A simple yet powerful platform with a good degree of flexibility

Pros

ResourceSpace is simple yet powerful. I would say that the most important aspect is that it's user-friendly for end-users, and that has made a big difference. I found the Montala team to also be friendly and efficient in sorting out a few issues and bugs. There are many functionalities that we at this point do not make use of, but it's good to know they are there in case we need them.

Cons

The collections system at the bottom of the screen offer a simple interface to manage your selections but it's also easy to make mistakes and modify previously created collections. I would suggest that when logging back into a new session, that the "current collection" be reset to a new collection to avoid mistakes.

October 2017

James from Williams College Museum of Art

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Excellent support from Montala. The time differential US Eastern to UK was not a problem

It is a great time saver for our Communications department. Our museum had a technically demanding implementation requiring integration with our TMS system of record.

Pros

The feature list is very competitive among digital asset management systems and it is growing all the time. Montala support is exceptional. Implementation was smooth with plentiful help from Montala. The help desk responds very quickly and is willing to explain the nature of your issues as well as fix them. The cost is a tremendous bargain.

Cons

Setting privileges is not as straightforward as it could be but Montala is very helpful if you get stuck. The setup pages for granting privileges needs to be improved, but I believe that such a revamp is on Montala's upgrade path. The online documentation was spotty at first but it is becoming first rate very quickly.

March 2019

Anthony from DesignStudio.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Price is good. The UX... not so much

Sadly we pitched this software to a big enterprise level client without realizing the full extent how rough it is to work with. We made a bit of a mess for ourselves because trying to teach the client how to use this was incredibly painful and ultimately led to us looking for new solutions.

Pros

The price. We are big fans of open source software and we also have a bunch of clients that really need Digital Asset Management but cannot afford Widen or similar solutions.

Cons

The UX is terrible. Figuring out how to get a lot of assets into the system and to organize them into folders is amazingly counter-intuitive. It would be utterly impossible to teach clients on how to use the system unless they are very technically savvy and have tons of patience. Also, uploading assets in bulk is theoretically possible but not really sensible. Let's say you want to upload 100 images of people all at once. The file names might be like john.jpg, wendy.jpg, amy.jpg, etc. When you go to upload those 100 photos, you can only set one name for all of them. So, wendy.jpg is going to be named "John" and amy.jpg is also going to be named "John". So after you upload them all, then you have to go in and re-name 99 of the images to the filenames that you wanted. What a terrible waste of time. Also, if you want to store assets in folders within folders, I would not bother with Resource Space. There are bugs with this which you can work around but it is so painful that it is not worth it. This system probably really good if you are OK with just dumping everything into the system with no organization and then forcing your users to use the search feature to find everything.

Response from Montala

Replied August 2019

Hi Anthony, Many thanks for the constructive review! It's great to receive feedback even if it's not all positive as we're always looking to develop the software. Regarding organising things into folders, ResourceSpace was built from the outset to use metadata, not folders, for organising assets as this allows multi-dimensional structures. We found folders could be very limiting. However we appreciate some people like to see a folder structure so for 9.0 we added the Browse Bar, a sliding panel on the left that shows metadata, featured and public collections in a tree structure and allows this to be extended just like regular folders on a disk. I hope this goes a long way to addressing your concerns.

October 2017

Tony from OMF International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

An excellent digital asset management system

Photo and video distribution to our design teams and workers.

Pros

We were looking for a solution that was suitable for taking from DVD based photo distribution to global online digital distribution. We started self-hosting the free version of Resoucespace and moved to the managed hosted solution as soon as we had traction in the organisation.

Cons

There's very little we don't like, and each version is bringing useful features. There are probably some areas around user and admin permission settings that could have a better interface, but there's so much granularity in permissions it's good to have them all available.

October 2017

Janice from Lake County Public Library

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Having our historical database online for our researchers has been an amazing experience.

We are able to provide online access to the amazing history of Leadville, Colorado.

Pros

I love the flexibility of the interface. The software allows us to present our collection in its many formats. Our database works seamlessly with our website. The tech staff is most helpful and always have great suggestions for making our collection shine.

March 2018

Ciprian from LWT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best free DAM there is

Price. It's free!

Pros

The different options for deploying. I took the easy one of installing via Bitnami however they have tutorials for any option and OS you want.

Cons

I literally have no cons. The system is easy to set up and there's an extensive how-to library. You can also add plugins which makes it even better.

Response from Montala

Replied May 2018

Hi Ciprian, Thanks for your very positive review! We're pleased that you find the knowledge-base so useful, and the plugin options. You know where we are, if you ever need us! Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team

October 2017

Jason from Schultz Family Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

A practical resource

Pros

Resource Space is a robust warehouse platform with useful features. The ability to customize your account is great and its easy to have outside photographers upload and tag directly to the system.

Cons

While generally easy to use, it feels like Resource Space was developed by developers in that it can be very technical and all about the features (vs what an average user might need/want)

December 2016

Megan from Metropolitan Family Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Great organizational tool for our photo database

We have decades worth of photos, and Resource Space gives us an easy way to search them. The ability to caption photos is hugely helpful, and the collections give us a way to browse photos when we need something more general. The ability to directly share items (especially video files), without needing to download them and then upload them again to Dropbox or Hightail, is invaluable.

Pros

Having so many ways to identify and describe assets: tags, captions, subjects, etc. The ability to create and browse collections, and the ability to share directly from Resource Space.

Cons

Could be a little easier to navigate.

October 2017

Anna from Google

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Working closely with resource space on an asset management system in google.

Pros

How flexible it is and how easy it is to have custom needs built into the system. The ability to create multiple user groups and give access to certain users for certain things.

Cons

Setup is fairly manual. It takes a little bit of coding knowledge and the organization of the content on the site is a bit confusing. I don't always know where to find the settings I need (user groups, assets, etc.) We don't LOVE the main page and would love to adjust this a little more easily to fit our brand aesthetic.

October 2017

Michelle from The Gideons International In Canada | ShareWord Global

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

ResourceSpace is an extremely powerful tool, and has been very helpful for our organization.

Pros

The software is extremely customizable, and we've been able to adjust it to our organization's specific needs. Already, even after a short time of using it, we've seen the potential it has to manage the many different assets we have to store. We're excited about its huge capacity to help us keep, track, and recall our resources in a moment with its powerful search mechanisms.

Cons

Though the customer support is excellent, the documentation is not always easy to understand, and answers can be difficult to find. Where the user interface is not intuitive, it can make it difficult to teach and demonstrate to new users, especially ones who are unfamiliar with the concept of data asset storage.

March 2017

Keith from OxfamAustralia

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

A solid option

A very solid option in this space. It provides significant levels of customisation of the UI and importantly for our organisation many levels of customisable access to assets. With a sizeable database the ability to add very specific metadata keeps the search functions healthy. Probably one of the best aspects is the Montala support team, who despite being based in the UK are quick to answer any queries and work on them remotely.

Pros

- Interface is clean and highly customisable - Search is powerful and precise - It handles our 80,000+ assets well - Support is extremely helpful and quick

Cons

- Some customisation options are tricky to find and often located in the backend config.php file, requiring specific php knowledge.

February 2018

James from CSS

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Simple and pure DAM solution

Pros

It is free, offers a simple uer interface for end users, and get's the job done. Especially the user interface is very easy to use, so everybody will be able to get a quick start. On the other hand, more advanced users might be missing useful features. But you can't make everybody happy.

Cons

It does not offer more advanced features, like image/video editing, graphical workflow engine, annotations, advanced collaboration and asset sharing features.

Response from Montala

Replied May 2018

Hi James, Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you're enjoying ResourceSpace, and happy that you find it so simple to use! We also offer custom development to clients if you need it; for more information, contact us anytime: https://www.resourcespace.com/contact Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team

April 2018

Michelle from The Gideons International In Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Lots of potential, difficult to use.

Pros

The search function is extremely powerful! Great for storing all our assets and retrieving them, as long as everything is tagged right. Everything can be customized, and our company has been able to tailor it exactly to our needs.

Cons

Training new users on the software has been a challenge. The user interface is not intuitive, and some of the concepts are difficult to teach, so it's been difficult to onboard users, especially remote ones.

Response from Montala

Replied May 2018

Hi Michelle, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy that you find the search and customisation options so useful, but sorry that you've been having some trouble onboarding new users! If you need help at all, at anytime, please reach out to our support team and we'll be happy to help. Thanks, Charlotte -ResourceSpace Team

March 2019

Urko

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


March 2019

Response from Montala

Replied August 2019

Many thanks for the 5 stars Urko - if there's anything you need just let us know via the "Contact" function on our website.