All Gist Reviews

1-25 of 148 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Stuart

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Superb all-in-one support and engagement portal

It gives me a single portal from which I can do marketing, lead capture and customer support.

PROS

That I can manage all of my contacts and capture new leads. That I can offer a knowledge base. That I can carry out segmented email campaigns.

CONS

A bit of a learning curve for some parts but now that I have it set up I find it very intuitive.

Reasons for switching to Gist

More modern interface. More impressive roadmap. More features.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Course Creator's Dream: marketing, customer service, booking, knowledge base - It's all here

PROS

Love that everything is integrated and works together. Chat is cross platform with twitter, facebook and your website (javascript can be placed on any website that allows it including many 3rd party apps). Email product is maturing really well compared to others in the market in just 2 short years.

CONS

Having an all-in-one product is really ambitious. Doing that in 2 years is spectacular. Although some features aren't yet fully developed, the product is definitely a player against others in the space. Also needs updates to customer service/communications especially in the area of product updates.

Reason for choosing Gist

Cost/feature sets.

Reasons for switching to Gist

Mautic is self hosted and required a lot of setup/admin. Not very user friendly without an admin to support you. CovertFox (now Gist) had a lifetime deal that I couldn't pass up as an early adopter.

Bart

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

The all-in-one copy cat solution (and that is not necesarilly bad)

We liked it at first, we used it quite a lot, but got annoyed by its "beta" status. We wanted something that worked perfect or at least good, not just OK most of the times. I still believe they have a promising product and it probably improved quite a bit, but - although I have a lifetime subscription - I am not going back given I got so used to dealing with their alternatives.

PROS

I discovered Gist (when it was still called differently) and immediately bought a lifetime subscription. Its promise was to build the next Hubspot / Intercom killer solution at a way more affordable pricing point. We started off using all that was on offer: sending emails, chatbot integration, interaction tracking, building profiles, ... The team is very responsive and helped me out with multiple questions or remarks in the past. Today, we are using it only for the knowledge base solution it has on offer - which works as you expect. We switched to a more expensive alternative, Hubspot, but were not satisfied with the overall Gist experience.

CONS

Many of the features I have come to discover had its quirks from time to time. It was clearly a work in progress, a very promising one, yet a product that fails from time to time remains a product that fails. On the other hand, I found it sometimes hard to set things up. Once I understood how it worked, there was no issue, but being a copy cat at heart, they could have taken some of the typical flows for setup from their competitors as well.

Reason for choosing Gist

Pricing won us over, yet features & performance drove us away again (towards Hubspot).

Dakotah

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great CRM that is both simple, but powerful

PROS

Gist has been essential to allow us to build processes, categorize leads, and manage interactions with our clients. We started to implement it as we wanted a good overall solution for the platform and kept using it for the last two years for the business. The leads trackers is super basic, but that simplicity worked for us to track the different lanes and statues of our clients and their projects. The chat bot was by far the most affordable option for us, and allowed our customers to simply reach out anytime they had a question.We did have a few questions for them a few times, and their customer support was a bit slow due to timezones, but they were always able to get to the bottom of the issue.

CONS

Gist's platform has become a bit bloated making it hard to find certain options until you get familiar with how it works. Most of the settings are intuitive, but there are many times when you think a setting should be in one place, and it is in a submenu somewhere else. Not too bad once you get used to it, but after using it for a while, you do get a feel for how it is organized.Also, some of the tools are not super intuitive to setup and integrate with your existing solutions. They do support Zapier, but that requires a Zapier subscription to master the implementation.

Reason for choosing Gist

We went with Gist as it is well suited if you want an all-in-one solution or a good starting point for managing your customer relational management. The price is right to get started if you don't know exactly what you need for your process.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Happy User = Happy Customers!

We are using it mainly for customer service. The reliable live chat is perfect for us who are always on the go. We also use it for email marketing, complete with automation and tracking. Gist's team inbox works perfectly for our small team and deliverability is commendable! Gist is very east to set up, it took a few hours for a non techy person like me to put it up & running! Booking feature = WOW The live view helps us upsell & gain more confidence for customers who are visiting our site = more sales Their customer service is brilliant, nothing more to ask for

PROS

The chat widget is customizable and mobile friendly. Never miss a live chat from a customer with its very reliable mobile app. Reliable customer tracking and live view is pretty amazing so we can help customers exactly when they need it. Email deliverability & tracking is great!

CONS

Contact form to be pushed straight to conversations (I already requested this)

Reason for choosing Gist

Price point and Gist has almost everything that we need in one app! Plus deliverability score is very important to us.

Reasons for switching to Gist

their mobile app is very glitchy & user interface does not look good

User Profile

Vinson Matthew

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

A Marketing Suite anyone can use

So far I'm very happy with Gist and their support team was outstanding. They will definitely guide and help you if your stuck into a feature or experiencing some problems or issues with a certain technology that you think is not working the way it should be.

PROS

Really love their live chat feature as we are seeing a lot of enquiries compared to any other communication channels such as email, and phone call. We also love how you can segment all the leads who have contacted your website using their livechat, plus the other features will help you nurture your leads.

CONS

Their basic lead capture forms, pop-ups. Hope they can create a better editor for this one so that we can build good looking forms that are enticing for our website visitors.

Reason for choosing Gist

More flexibility and more features

Reasons for switching to Gist

Gist is way more powerful and it comes with a lot of features

Luke

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

All-In-One Marketing Automation Software - Covers Most Features Needed

PROS

I’ve been a fan of Gist (formely Convertfox) since after they launched their product. Since then, the product has developed with updates and new features being rolled out to assist business owners. The fact that it’s an all-in-one marketing automation platform is where it demonstrates its value. It incorporates: • Automations based on events • Email automation • Live chat & bots • Scheduling • Help desk/ knowledge base • Forms • Tracking • Plenty of integrations The platform essentially saves you connected different apps via APIs as it’s an all in one where contact data is updated along the way, from lead to customer.

CONS

Gist are constantly improving and listening to customer feedback which is great, but sometimes it does take time to implement. This is to be expected though from any company especially when there’s many users wanting all types of integrations and features added.

Reason for choosing Gist

The simple fact that it provided all the features that I needed compared to the competition, and also at an affordable price. The competition is quite expensive or doesn't provide the features Gist does - meaning you need to integrate more software etc.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Gist is ALL-IN-Awesome!

Rough start, but after a while it really helps us automate en make our business a lot more efficient.

PROS

Workflows between al the tools. This really helps our team get on it with support but also sales and nurturing our excisting customers.

CONS

The learningcurve is steap. It took me a while to fully understand the workflow, but once you get it, it works awesome!

Reason for choosing Gist

Completeness of the Gist product. It's just a lot better and more mature.

Reasons for switching to Gist

Completeness of the Gist product. It's just a lot better and more mature.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

All-in-one Support and Marketing Suite

A great tool for the marketing & support area of a small to medium sized organization.

PROS

- simple and fast set-up - Linking between crm and supportdesk - engaged support - messenger

CONS

- onboarding for new users could be even simpler

Reason for choosing Gist

Because it could be implemented and tested easily and quickly. Attractive pricing.

Reasons for switching to Gist

Mismatch between price and performance

User Profile

Stefan

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Great customer support tool with live chat & bots

PROS

Gist has a lot of great features and a fantastic UX for both site visitors and support agents. The onboarding was very intuitive, also thanks to their detailed documentation. So far we have only used the live chat and bots, but we are already working on migrating the custom knowledge base of our SaaS to Gist. Finally, Gist’s own support team is spot on!

CONS

We would like to see more integrations, especially with BuddyBoss, Frill, SureMembers and SureCart.

Reason for choosing Gist

It was the value for money and the great set of features that made us choose Gist over its competitors.

Daniele

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Affordable price for Essential Marketing Tools

PROS

8 powerful tools to increase my business. GIST is the perfect tool to handle automation: marketing, support, knowledge base, forms, bots, tracking and much more. Your perfect ally!

CONS

I do not dislike anything. GIST has a LOT of functions and it's not always so easy to understand which tool to use for a specific goal. They have many article and videos, but I would suggest to add more documentation for advanced functions and scenarios. The support team is always available and ready to help though.

Reason for choosing Gist

GIST is a very complete tool, an unique platform to mange automations and support for your customers.

Reasons for switching to Gist

GIST has much more functions at cheaper price!

Vibhor

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Gist - One stop live chat and support solution

Been using gist for a while now and it has been amazing in our testing phase and we have evolved over this time as we tested and implemented all the templates that we created and knowledge base that we increased. It has the potential and capabilities to handle the incoming influx and can render the information contained within. Live chat, email responses, inter-team connectivity, bots, behaviour you name it it has it

PROS

All in one feature is amazing. Love chat, email automations, funnels, email templates, integration and the list goes on.

CONS

Nothing so far. However a live call feature would be a plus.

Reasons for switching to Gist

Value for money and respectful Support from team at gist.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Really great all-in-one-tool

Overall my experience of Gist is great. They have a quality product and whenever I need support their team is there to help me.

PROS

Gist is a great tool that I use for live chat, email support, chat bot, knowledgebase, newsletters. It covers all my needs.

CONS

I do feel that th level of the translation to Swedish is a bit low. It could have been done in a more profesional way, some of the content is badly translated.

Reason for choosing Gist

Gist had better functionallity and better support.

Reasons for switching to Gist

I changed due to the higher pricing level on Intercom platform.

Amit

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Gist - Perfect companion

Overall, it has been pleasant experience using Gist. They have built many exciting functionality over a period of last one year and that has made it worthwhile.

PROS

Live chat, Live view, Knowledge base and email broadcasting.

CONS

Mobile app. No integration with Facebook messenger

Reasons for switching to Gist

It was not offering what we needed the most - Usability on the front end.

Bret

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Happy with Gist

Managing support via email is untenable. Stuff gets lost. Wires get crossed. Aggregating support enables us to provide higher quality service to our customers. It also allows team members to add notes, so we can have a record of why any given decision was achieved.

PROS

Gist is similar to Intercom. It's a platform for managing your customer contacts and your communications with them. I like that, you can field inquiries for onsite chat, Facebook Messenger, and Twitter Direct Messages in a single location. Gist aggregates all your support channels. We use Gist for managing support and for communicating with property owners. I've not once experienced an outage. It always performs quickly. There's an iOS app. User experience is more than an app. It's the support you receive with it and how quickly the team responds to feedback. I genuinely like Gist's support team. They're a great bunch of people. On couple occasions, they're deployed changes in the same day. They always follow-up. A+ on the people side.

CONS

The one major change I want to see is how Gist user identity is managed. A single user can have multiple projects. That's fine. However, user identity is persistent across projects in an account, and there is no concept of an admin user. So, if you're communicating as two different entities -- abc.com and xyz.com -- you need to create a separate Gist account. While that's manageable, it's unmanageable in the iOS app. You can only be logged-in with one account at a time. If the model will continue as multi-project to single-domain, that's okay. However, in that configuration, the iOS app needs multi-account support.

Reason for choosing Gist

Gist is a startup. I liked their roadmap. Theyr'e the underdog. They came in at a competitive price.

Reasons for switching to Gist

Our prior provider made a 20x price increase.

Mark

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Gist is a powerful all-in-one platform for sales and service

Gist gives us a single product for so much - live customer support, Knowledge Base, autoresponder messaging, targeted email drip campaigns, automations, inbound and outbound marketing, contact management, website popup forms, online calendar bookings, tracking activity across our application and our website, and more.

PROS

Gist provides us with a single, all-in-one software platform with incredible power to support our clients and enhance our sales and marketing. Gist allowed us to replace several very high profile applications (like Zendesk, Mailchimp and others) with one platform. At the same time, they have additional features well beyond those platforms that we did not expect. That is saving us money and time. More importantly, we can support our clients and potential clients 24 hours a day and seven days a week and we can serve them with very targeted messaging and help. When it comes to their own support, Gist give us very responsive support using their application. From our experience, they care very much about their clients. They have a clear vision for the future and continue to live up to their promises by regularly delivering release new features.

CONS

For us, there is nothing to dislike. We cannot fault their product or their customer service.

User Profile

Kartik Ahuja

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY