User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(50)

50

4 stars

(31)

31

3 stars

(13)

13

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(6)

6

  • Pros

  • "The remote program is really good. Very simple and quick when a caller has called in."

  • "Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine."

  • "Works well for the intended purpose. Customizable for each client. great support and communication from the support staff."

  • Cons

  • "Navigation in the console could be improved. There is a slight learning curve, but once you discover where all of the features are it becomes easy to use."

  • "Definitely full featured, but a little too pricey to be used for stand alone in house Corporate use, really designed more for MSP's."

  • "Although the software is very feature rich, it seems very cumbersome and not easy to use from day one. In almost every step, we have had to take classes to figure out how to do things."

Browse ConnectWise Automate Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 105 results

May 2020

User Profile Picture

James from Fire Rover

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

By far the best RMM in the network of RMM

Overall, we have been happy with connectwise automate. After coming from Teamviewer, Connectwise is a very robust system that can do way more than we even have the knowledge or time to make happen. Very happy with the software itself.

Pros

The best part about Connectwise Automate is the amount of power that it has. We are able to deploy auto run scrips on our very critical infrastructure. The systems are always monitored for down time and automate sends out an alert any time there is an issue. The control console is easy to use and even non-technical users are able to remote into our customer's systems to see what they need. Scripting is robust to say the least.

Cons

Ticketing is a challenge in this platform. It is included, but isn't a very customer friendly interface to work in. Tech support is a challenge to contact and they don't consider much an emergency for support purposes. Being cloud managed, we find that it is slow for time to time and requires a bit more patients than we would prefer. The management console is not Mac OS supported, so using this in an Apple environment can be challenging. You are limited to the web version and it's functions are limited.

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

The cost for Teamviewer was by user, the cost for automate is by device. Teamviewer is very expensive for larger environments and not worth the cost at all.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Daren from Big D Technology Solutions, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Connectwise Automate

We are using Connectwise Automate for taking care of customers on a managed service contract.

Pros

There are many, many features in Connectwise Automate that will help you help your customers with their computer needs.

Cons

Although the software is very feature rich, it seems very cumbersome and not easy to use from day one. In almost every step, we have had to take classes to figure out how to do things.

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

As mentioned before, we switched because we wanted to have all our products on one platform and not a piece there and a piece here.

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

We were already using Connectwise Connect and Manage so wanted one general product instead of some of this and some of that.

March 2021

Andrew from Quartet Service Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2021

ConnectWise Automate - box of LEGO with no instructions

Pros

ConnectWise Automate empowers users to perform generally complex tasks such as patching and monitoring with ease. The scripting engine is extremely powerful and allows anyone with zero to little programming knowledge to perform automation tasks.

Cons

ConnectWise has yet to realized the world is moving to the cloud. Monitoring servers is no longer important, cloud services are. There is no cloud awareness in the system, which is going to force partners to pilot to other systems.

April 2020

Benjamin from VPT

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2020

Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft"

The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros

The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons

It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

The sales pitch promised support, working automation, and a cost reduction. All of it was a lie. This product costs more money than it saves and is a terrible investment.

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

Kaskersky partnership forced via DoD Contracts

March 2021

Jordan from RJ Productions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Connectwise Automate

Connectwise Automate has great customer support as well as an amazing slack group of other sys admins and developers that are more than willing to help out others and get them going on the right track. I have loved using Automate and I don't think I will ever use anything else.

Pros

Connectwise automate is by far the best RMM tool on the market, It allows you to create a ton of custom monitoring alerts and the wizard makes it super easy to accomplish.

Cons

The implementation can be very dry but just hang in there as it is all worth it.

March 2020

Sam from Sam Houk Creations

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Connectwise Automate

Connectwise Automate is a critical part of my business that I use. I could not work without it and I really enjoy working with this tool!

Pros

I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.

Cons

The only issue we have with this software is the customer support and occasional instability of the software.

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

Connectwise offers what all of these tools do with many other additional options!

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Digital 323

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Manage multiple environments with ease

Companies I have been working for have been leveraging this application for machine management for years.

Pros

This software provides multiple connectivity options. It can show a lot of information (see least favorite list below) Great organization! Easy integration with Connectwise Control and Manage Lots of option for Scripting and API connectivity to outside applications

Cons

The interface was changed to a much less intuitive environment about a year ago. I use it and have started to get used to it somewhat, but it still is not what I would call good. There's problems if you don't run the Control Center as an Admin, but it doesn't want to run as admin by default The uninstaller for the client can sometimes not uninstall.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Luke from KC Computers

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Automate ( formerly Labtech) is a great RMM tool for MSP customers.

Pros

The ease of setup and installation for customers is substantial when considering this tool for MSP. New customers can be setup with ease, configured and once agents are installed Automate can significantly reduce information gathering for system resources, and discovery of behind the scenes issues. Scripting and Automating are easy to do with the built in examples and wizards, which makes customizing alerts and monitors a breeze.

Cons

The monitoring will come with lots of defaults right out of the box, so there will be a lot of "noise" to sort through and remove/adjust after initial installation.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Arthur from Covenant Technology Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

I used this product all the time

It makes managing thousands of machines easy.

Pros

It is a very powerful tool to manage our clients machines. It can run custom scripts and do a lot of proactive maintenance. It is very fast when remote controlling other computers The scripting engine is very powerful It pulls a huge amount of data It is very customizable

Cons

It can be a little complex for new users The integration with Connectwise: Manage can cause some issues with ticket entries Customizing it for your needs can be time consuming I

March 2021

Maribeth from Cutting Edge Technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Keeps us organized

I have worked in ConnedtWise since day one with the company.

Pros

The software is fairly easy to navigate. The system keeps Finance and Sales in touch with each other.

Cons

Sometimes I have issues with the setup of Invoices and how to change the template.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Jared from Doberman Technologies, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

RMM to the stars

We used this tool when it was LabTech - and even in those days there was no comparing this to any other RMM platform. For years it had the edge in so many ways. To those willing to learn it this tool was capable of being the entirety of your platform for doing business!

Pros

The feature set has been astounding from day one. With the big rebrand and integration with ConnectWise Manage the duo are now all that much better, complementing each others previous, non-focused features.

Cons

Truly forward progress was the main issue. During the time we actively used LabTech/Automate was during the transition years of the name and aesthetic. Things are definitely driving into the right, unified direction for all of their tools and that is exciting to see! Learning the tool, like most ConnectWise products, can be daunting but there are lots of resources to pull from and well worth the investment. Again, I suspect due to the years of bringing the tools together, Automate seemed to somewhat stall/lag on added features for awhile. They certainly had the most initially so it wasn't a drastic fall-behind, but new tools were taking the slow moving to catch up and the market is certainly competitive again.

July 2018

Mike from i.t.NOW

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Automate - IT automation software for IT Service Providers

I work for an MSP, and we have the luxury of having a full time guy that is our Automate administrator. He's amazing, and has made this software do some really incredible stuff for us. It had good functionality out of the box, but we've been adding scripts and automation to it for 5 years at this point. The sky is the limit on what you can do, but you will need to invest the time and energy into doing it.

Pros

We love Automate. We use it to manage patches and updates across thousands of computers. We also use it for customized monitoring and alerting on workstations and servers. Monitoring is really robust and granular. It does a great job of gathering a TON of data about the network, and that data is searchable. There are a bunch of different reports built in. Integrates with Manage, Control, and other applications. It does a ton of stuff out of the box, and has endless customization options.

Cons

It may not do quite as much as you want right out of the box, and it will take some work to set it up. You'll need someone on your team willing to invest the time and energy into making this software do everything you want.

January 2017

Chris from MSP based in North East England

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Great Software with a great learning curve

I've been using it for 2 years now. Overall I'm impressed with the software. "Screenconnect" software is brilliant, fast and reliable connections to your managed agents. Pricing is competitive for what it delivers however it is expensive. Make sure you NEED all of it's features before investing otherwise your potentially just burning money you don't need too. However the learning curve required to get the best from this software is vast, documentation is sparse. The documentation that does exist is out of date. For example the knowledge base article regarding configuring the agent to utilise a proxy server doesn't seem to match up with the latest version. You're left either fending for your self on the forums or waiting in line for a chat with their tech support, which to be fair once you get there is very good. Looking elsewhere simply because of two price rises in 2016 with more likely in 2017.

Pros

Screenconnect - A real asset to the platform. Scripting Tunnel options - Can tunnel into your customer network using the agent. Powerful Automation and patch management

Cons

Complex Growing expense Out of date knowledge base / manuals.

March 2018

Jamenn from DCS

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Connectwise Automate, formerly Labtech, works well for the most part.

Pros

Before Automate/Labtech 12 the best thing about this software was being able to see, at a glance, all the information you needed about a particular managed computer. They are moving back in this direction it appears. The scripting and monitoring systems are robust and allow you to do pretty much anything you can think of.

Cons

The GUI update that came with version 12 is not good. It uses a bunch of giant squares to present information and you have to drill into each one to find the specific info you are looking for rather than the at-a-glance experience I had before. Support leaves something to be desired. Just starting to chat with someone there can take 45+ minutes, then the person you are chatting with does not have the knowledge to fix the problem so you have to open a ticket anyway. Lots of time wasted there. Furthermore sometimes the inexperienced technician will offer suggestions to resolve the problem that have nothing to do with the problem which underlines the fact that they do not understand the problem.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

ConnectWise Automate, a great software

Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage. Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros

It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons

CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

April 2019

Ahmed from Integrated Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The BEST tool for an IT Army of One

Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros

You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons

Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

November 2018

Jeffrey from Hilltop

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Fantastic system for remote management, scripting and much more

Used Kaseya before switching and love the overall layout, features and in-depth information you can retrieve very easily. Wish I could set a few things with some customization, which might be possible by working with connectwise engineers but that would be above my paygrade.

Pros

Set up monitoring alerts, script automated processes, control end user and servers remotely with a couple clicks. Ad-hoc sessions allow admin access remotely, even if the user does not have rights. Fantastic experience overall and only have minor pieces I wish I could see

Cons

Wish there was some more customization is some of the views. Would like to see some more basic information on the main screens, as opposed to having to dive into the properties to find. Seems that it can get a bit slow and unresponsive with certain actions. Not sure if this is our server or the software though.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

The best tool I've used in desktop support.

With this software we are able to not only sort users by client, but also location. The network scans and ability to distribute software is killer. When working I am able to easily assist multiple people because of the features of this product. I can remotely connect to a computer, run command line scripts, create custom scripts, and check general health. That's all in the console view. If you want to setup the alerts to prompt you for specific actions, it's all there.

Pros

The amount of features that you have at your fingertips to remotely assist users is phenomenal. I can't count how many times this software has made life so much easier.

Cons

When the app is slow to load, it's slow to load. It's the only downside I've had with this application.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I believe this is still the best RMM around, but it's a bit clunky and often slow.

RMM, Scripting, Easy MSP setup and management of our clients systems.

Pros

If you can imagine it, you can do it. It really does have all the tools to do whatever you desire remotely. You can access almost any aspect of a managed machine without even interrupting the end user. The built-in ignite monitors are pretty amazing on their own.

Cons

It can be incredibly slow at times, you have to have a lot of patience. The script editor being object and mouse based is very clunky, I'd prefer to learn the syntax and just type it all out, but that option isn't readily available in the GUI you have to dig into the guts to do that. If you use ignite monitors you'll need to parse out the noise they create for items you don't want to be notified about. Integration with Connectwise Manage is still a bit quirky but it works.

December 2018

Grant from True Blue Technology

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Really powerful tool

We chose Automate over everything else for a reason; Price and functionality simply could not be beat.

Pros

- Mostly intuitive GUI - Packed with tons of functionality; Been using the product a little over 2 years now and still learning neat tricks/tools to use - Great asset management - Great at pushing remote commands - ConnectWise University offers tons of training on their products

Cons

- Because it is so powerful, there is a lot of training that needs reviewed to become proficient in working and navigating - Been experiencing an issue where I need to re-launch the control center because otherwise the agent tree will refresh forever -

March 2021

Pat from CalTech

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Large MSP View

My complaints aside, Automate has been a good investment for us. Although I must point out that support, while never the best, seems to have gotten worse over the past two years. This is a significant disappointment. Calling in a ticket seems to have vanished. Chat support rarely is able to resolve an issue on the first attempt. Indeed, it's pretty much a given that opening a case in chat will usually end up with the case being escalated.

Pros

The inclusion of ConnectWise Control is the single greatest part of using ConnectWise Automate. It is amazing. The scripting features are very good. The ability to create custom processes is exceptional.

Cons

The ability to monitor and manage network devices is not good at all. Automate struggles to manage devices across subnets that other platforms seem to be able to do with ease. So bad that we had to bring in Auvik to do this task. It was money we would have rather just spent with ConnectWise. Reporting is also a disappointment. The included reports are very simple and not geared toward a C level. They are also not easy to build or manipulate.

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

What we saw at the time as a slightly better integration with ConnectWise Manage. However, I am not certain that argument would hold up today. The integration has changed little over the years and seems clumsy and out dated.

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

We had some significant problems related to patch management with N-Able. We also had some serious concerns related to scalability.

January 2017

Alex from SJU Technology Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Best Thing Ever

We've been using Labtech to manage our 70+ computers across multiple clients for a couple years now and it's been very worth the price to have a remote management software to take care of windows updates and be alerted on hardware issues from the event logs. The integration to other software is pretty flawless as well, such as webroot AV and ScreenConnect. It's cut down management time by 80%!

Pros

I like that the management of a lot of computers

Cons

Not really much to not like about it, but sometimes the windows updates aren't always working correctly, and sometimes it reports disk space critically low when there's is 50+GBs left on the system

February 2020

Boston from Bryce Computers

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Must have for MSP

Have been using it for years, love it.. Price is a bit steep for someone just starting out, but otherwise it offers alot of function, and ease of use once everything is setup and you know how to use it.

Pros

For a small to midsized MSP, connectwise makes a few must-have's. Connectwise Automate makes it easy to monitor, and perform tasks on remote systems, as well as offers a decent out of the box ticketing system, with end user ease.

Cons

Many Many options, Which is good, but a pain to setup and have working how you want it. Should have more out of box preset configs to get up and running quicker.

May 2018

Bryan from NetSource One

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I utilize this software daily to perform my job duties, managing all aspects of over 6,000 endpoints

Pros

Clients and Locations are organized in an easy-to-view tree, which allows easy access to a customer's inventory. Several dataviews are available from a Client or Location to quickly gather information of an environment. For example, a list of 'scheduled tasks' configured on every system can be gathered from all systems to determine why a particular event occurs every Saturday at 4am. Remote Control of a system can be envoked with standard tools such as VNC or RDP, as well as ConnectWise Control (formerly Screen Connect). Reports of client environments are just a click away, whether a question regarding system health is of issue, or if all systems have the latest patches and Anti-Virus updated.

Cons

Software runs on a MySQL backend, but only on Windows. Keeping MySQL tuned properly for environment size can be chore, whereas DB Engines such as MSSQL are a bit more automated and forgiving. As you bring more agents into the system, it's a good idea to run performance metrics on the MySQL server to see if any adjustments are necessary to maintain best performance of the system. Telephone Support for the MySQL backend tends to yield different answers from each representative you talk to, and in my experience it was best to use general MySQL tuning documents that are available from Oracle.

May 2019

Phillipp from Emsco Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

An MSP's dream

We run all of our managed client workstations with Automate.

Pros

Intergration with so many services, multiple service boards, permissions and project management. BILLING and managing agreements? I've yet to find a replacement for the sheer amount of features Automate brings to our business. There is even a web interface that can be dispatched to users!

Cons

It can be a little fiddly when it comes to custom applications and processes - there are often changes that completely change the way the software looks and feels.

March 2020

Rachel from Chi Alpha

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The most powerful automation tool.

I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros

I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons

The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

January 2018

Geoff from Birkemeier Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I have been using this for about 5 years, since it was Labtech.

I run my company on it.

Pros

Very powerfull management software. They continue to add value to the product by incorporating new features.

Cons

I much prefer the old interface to the new one. It seems that the company is not listening to the users and trying to make the software pretty at the expense of functional. Support is so, so, and often tells me that my "problem" needs to be sent to their custom programming department at additional cost.

July 2017

Brian from PCA Technology Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Very powerful remote monitoring software

Remote monitoring and alerting as well as some automated remediation. More efficient usage of engineering time.

Pros

Once setup and configured properly does a great job of monitoring devices and alerting of potential or real-time issues. Tons of options that can be configured.

Cons

Very difficult to set up and tweak all of the settings to meet your needs. Sometimes common things that should be setup out of the box are not and need to be manually configured

August 2020

Steven from Global Online Computers

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

CW only tool you need

We use this tool in our everyday work day and it helps us get organized for the day and throughout the day.

Pros

The format of the software and also how it keeps you updated to current events going on. The layout of the product is great and easy to understand.

Cons

Some of the reporting is off but mostly it pretty accurate. Also noticed when a user is inside a ticket and they change it the notes disappear.

September 2017

Jerry from Human Resources Technologies, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

MSP Supporting 50 Client Networks

Would recommend to my friends. Very useful and catches a lot of failures before things get out of control

Pros

Seamless PSA Integration, Scripting and automation. Pricing is moderate. Can provide customers with valued reporting and upgrade recommendations based on built-in reporting capabilities.

Cons

A lot of bells and whistles that I don't use. You have to pay for it as well. Uses MYSQL in the on premises implementation.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

For managing your IT components no matter where

Pros

After using a lot management tooling, I'm now using ConnectWise Automate (former Labtech). Monitoring, manage, implement manually or thru scripts, almost everything is possible with this software.

Cons

Setup is easy with their support, but getting completely up and running is a differnt story. Especially in small IT companies where maintaining this software is just very small part of your job it sometimes getting complicated. Adjusting reports can be improved. A simple report where you select the begin and end date in the past is not possible.

August 2018

Tom from Virtual Technologies Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

CW Automate

I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros

Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons

Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

May 2020

James from Client Technology Solutions LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Extremely Powerful MSP Software

Automate is feature rich and I find it very easy to use. There's just so much that you can do to improve workflows and "automate" tasks. I highly recommend this for mature MSPs.

Pros

The automation that can be performed is amazing. This was deployed primarily on Windows machines. It does an incredible job at managing updates. The recent integration of Third Wall, though rough in the beginning, has made this the most powerful MSP software.

Cons

The desktop software can be sluggish. Rolling out Third Wall was very rough. After working out all of the kinks it's makes some fantastic improvements and adds some much needed solutions. Physical machines need a display connected. This can be annoying.

June 2020

Shannon from Computer & Network Security

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2020

Beware of working with Conectwise Automate

Terrible. Your RMM tool is really important and you want a company that is trying to help your business grow by having great additions for the platform and services that you can then offer your clients and perspective clients. Connectwise has wanted to exact as many dollars out of my pocket and have no intention of having a business relationship what so ever. In my 24 years in the industry I have never had a company treat me this way but they did and continue to. I have heard from 30+ other companies ceo's saying similar things that there is not partnership just a money grab.

Pros

The remote program is really good. Very simple and quick when a caller has called in.

Cons

First year was good. At the beginning of the second year they doubled the cost saying "its in the contract" I said I want to cancel or fix the price and for a year we went around in circles. "ok we will do at the same price you just need to double your agents" I don't need more agents. Then I had a new person over and over. I then send a formal letter to cancel service and they say we won't except this. I have now asked twice to move to 25 agents and again the same thing is happening.

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

The platform had been around longer and had many endpoints so we assumed that with that many we would have more already created options to chose from rather than a new startup.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

ConnectWise Automate

It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros

It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons

Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Chris from Cherry Bekaert LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Improved ROI on Manged services by 35% in first 3 years.

We have changed our business model based on this software and increased ROI on all services by 35 % in less then 3 years.

Pros

Once setup it does what it does well. Very few issue after setup and config. Gives a wealth of information on devices managed.

Cons

Can be a burden to setup and config Takes a good amount of training to really use it well Being good a scripting is a must

May 2018

Victor from Stoneleaf Construction LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

ConnectWise for wiser IT Admins

Pros

ConnectWise Automate solutions is a remarkable ITSM Solution that has a strong and accurate agent that will make a complete inventory of all the IT assets of your organization. Strong scripts capabilities to automate tasks of maintenance and preventive support. Provides simple, fast, and powerful remote access capabilities.

Cons

For Junior IT Admins has a higher complexity to achieve proficiency to manage the tool. New versions are kind of unintuitive and sometimes difficult to figure out.

March 2021

Neal from IT Weapons

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Connectwise Automate - one of the most powerful RMMs out there

I still love the product and it would be hard to switch but some of the issues we run into lately are making it harder to remain with it as well.

Pros

Automate allows you to pretty much do anything you need for an RMM. It allows tons of customization and enhancement to increase its power. There are also tons of free and paid integrations that even make it work better. You can also script pretty much anything throughout the product.

Cons

In order to get the full power you really need to dedicate the time and resources to add what you want to it. Reporting is abhorant and got even worse with the new reporting engine. There seems to be more increasing bugs in later releases and all new patches focus on bug fixes rather than any enhancements so the functionality of the product really isn't improving. The quality of first level support has also slipped. They used to be able to address most issues, now it tends to be limited what they can help with.

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

Limited functionality and major issues in their patching engine. Very poor scripting support too.

March 2018

Marc from NetSource One

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great option for the managed services firm

Pros

It does a lot of things and helps us keep tabs on hundreds of clients. Remote access, patch management, remote diagnostics, integration with ConnectWise PSA and a host of other third party products.

Cons

Setup time can be cumbersome and some of the advanced features you really need to work with a lot in order to become a master at it.

February 2019

Jim from M2 Tecnologias

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

The solution for any size MSP

Awesome piece of software that allows to take your MSP to the next level

Pros

Provides you the tools that you need in order to streamline your systems and automate a lot of your processes as a MSP

Cons

Overwhelming for new users, need to introduce them slowly to all the features that it includes

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

RMM

This program helps us bring together all of our management abilities without the guessing game. Update and scripts works like a charm, ability to audit end user.

Pros

This RMM Toll will integrate with nearly every tool available. One pane of glass for management. Great support through implementation and afterward.

Cons

This can be costly and I would not suggest it for a small company. It takes a 2 to 6 months to be fully deployed depending on what your needs are.

September 2018

Mike from Plymouth Tube Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

An IT professional's trusty sidekick!!

I use this software on a daily basis extensively. Even with the cons, I would not use any other software!

Pros

This software is robust. Management of assets within this software seems endless. Company locations can be organized as groups ("locations") and further broken down into subgroups. Hardware and software on each machine the agent is installed can be closely monitored. Alerts can be configured for just about anything, then delivered in a preferred method of logs or emails. Can also be integrated with Chocolatey to provide IT professionals with the ease of installing and updating software remotely. It can also be configured to handle Windows updates!

Cons

Slow to load. I recommend loading this software at the beginning of the day, because you never know when you have to immediately ScreenConnect to a machine and resolve an issue. There is also a huge learning curve. My company contracted someone to come out and train us and help us configure it.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Automate has helped us to manage multiple endpoints for multiple clients from a single console.

Pros

One of the best features of the software is the ability to create and quickly deploy custom scripts and receive accurate reporting.

Cons

Navigation in the console could be improved. There is a slight learning curve, but once you discover where all of the features are it becomes easy to use.

July 2019

Javier from adroIT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

We calle it the 7 headed Hydra

Pros

It has SO MANY options and can do pretty much everything that you would need maintenance-wise. Powerful scripts, lots of dashboards. You can see everything that's going on with that device and avoid costly on-site visits. The automatic remediation is great once you get it set up.

Cons

It has SO MANY options (yes, I know I also listed it as a pro), therefore it's not very user-friendly and easy to lose yourself among the plethora of tabs and buttons and doo-dads. It HAS come a long way from when it was still LabTech, but still. User interface needs a facelift.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Packed with Features and Information

We use Connectwise Automate to get on top of client issues before reaching out so that we can have a better, more knowledgeable interaction with them. It's a very necessary tool in our organization.

Pros

There are tons of features in this software. It provides a console interface with verbose information that allows a tech to do quite a bit of troubleshooting before having to remote onto the computer. You're able to run commands from CMD, view mapped drives, view/add local user accounts, and more. What I also like is, after establishing a connection to the computer remotely, you can also close the console window without having to close the remote session window.

Cons

Some info in the console can be hard to find because there is just so much information. There are two features I feel are missing from the console though: 1. The ability to view and edit the registry from the console. 2. The ability to view the file system from the console.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Adrian from Infotrans Caribbean N.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

we use internally labtech

ease connectivity for my cloud environment

Pros

LT has big amount of great functionalities right out of the box. Lots of custom alerting and monitoring sets. It will allow you to completely automate patches and updates from Microsoft. A great built-in remote support tool with screen connect.

Cons

normally to make the complete setup takes a while due all the custom options of alerting and patching but I think is normally in this kind of tools

October 2018

Justin from i.t.NOW

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

The capabilities are amazing, but slowness is not fun

Pros

we love that we are able to do so much with the computers that we manage on this software. Also love that we can find out hardware information through this secure application.

Cons

do not like the time it takes to load, but it makes up for the capabilities that it does.

February 2018

Matt from CTS

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Full featured program that allows technicians to complete full system administration remotely

Pros

Feature set is large and allows a lot of system administration tasks to be done without needing to remotely control the computer.

Cons

Inferface can be clunky Updates often break more things than they fix Support can take days to resolve issues when the issue is a work stopage

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Overall good product, steep learning curve.

Pros

This is a good product to deploy for Manage Service Providers that need remote monitoring and some self-healing capabilities.

Cons

The learning curve is very step. While initial training is provided, its takes a lot of time investment to get the most out of the software

April 2019

Daniel from Run Business Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Easy to understand, difficult to master

Pros

The ability to connect via web portal or application. I can see my items on the fly even when I'm out of the office

Cons

The application crashes quite a bit when not a very steady connection which makes it difficult to open items

Displaying 1 - 50 of 105 reviews